DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20240008577 A1 (ISOBE; Eiji).
Per claim 8, Isobe teaches a helmet [1], comprising: a shell [2]; a face shield movably connected to the shell [3, see paragraph 0021: “The support mechanisms 4 support the shield 3 to be movable between the open position and the closed position”]; a screen located adjacent to the face shield [10]; and adjustment mechanisms in communication with the screen so that the screen is movable relative to the shell [11].
Per claim 9, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 8, wherein a portion of the screen overlaps the shell and a portion of the screen overlaps the face shield [as the screen is formed inside the helmet, it inherently overlaps both the shell and shield depending on the point of view].
Per claim 13, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 8, wherein the adjustment mechanisms comprise fasteners that assist in moving the adjustment mechanisms, fixing the adjustment mechanisms, or both [53 and 42].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240008577 A1 (ISOBE; Eiji).
Per claim 1, Isobe teaches a helmet [1], comprising: a face shield [3], comprising: a screen [10] that is flexible; and adjustment mechanisms that are configured to move the screen toward or away from an eye of a user of the helmet to change a focal length of the screen relative the eye of the user [11]. Though Isobe teaches using materials such as polycarbonate, Isobe does not explicitly teach screen 10 is formed from a flexible polymer. However, official notice is taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the screen 10 from a flexible polycarbonate in order to prevent injury to the user during use. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 2, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 1, wherein the adjustment mechanisms are connected to the face shield so that as the adjustment mechanisms move, the screen moves [3, see paragraph 0021: “The support mechanisms 4 support the shield 3 to be movable between the open position and the closed position.”]
Per claim 3, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 2, but lacks the adjustment mechanisms are threaded members that rotate about axes, and wherein the screen moves along the axes to change the focal length of the screen. However, official notice is taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the adjustment mechanisms with threaded members that rotate about axes, and wherein the screen moves along the axes to change the focal length of the screen to simplify manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 4, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 2, but lacks the adjustment mechanisms are hand knobs that are rotatable from an outside of the helmet. However, official notice is taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the adjustment mechanisms are hand knobs that are rotatable from an outside of the helmet to simplify user screen adjustments. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 5, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 1, wherein the face shield further comprises: an outer frame; and an inner frame that is in communication with the screen, wherein the inner frame and the screen are movable relative to the outer frame by the adjustment mechanisms [inherent, as the screen, shell, and shield form a single unit with thus allowing communication amongst all the helmet elements].
Per claim 6, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 1, wherein the adjustment mechanisms are further configured to rotate the screen about a longitudinal axis of the screen [inherent, as the longitudinal axis is a relative term and is not clearly defined].
Per claim 7, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 1, further comprising: an anchor point that prevents a portion of the screen from being moved by the adjustment mechanisms [11, see the slot shown in figure 2].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 10, Isobe teaches the helmet of claim 8, wherein the screen is part of an electronic module [module shown in figure 5 including projector 60] and the electronic module comprises: an outer frame located on a first side of the screen; an inner frame on a second side of the screen [see figure 5]. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach lenses located at ends of the inner frame that are movable with the inner frame when the inner frame is moved by the adjustment mechanisms.
Per claim 14, the prior art teaches the helmet of claim 8. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach a first lens located at a first end of the screen; and a second lens located at a second end of the screen, wherein the adjustment mechanisms are configured to independently move the first end and the second end of the screen.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Per claim 15, the prior art teaches a helmet [1], comprising: a shell [2] including an eyeport [region corresponding to shield 3]; an electronic module located within the shell adjacent to the eyeport [10] and adjustment mechanisms having adjustment components [11]. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach adjustment mechanisms having adjustment components located adjacent to opposing ends of the electronic module so that the opposing ends of the electronic module are movable independently and relative to the shell using the adjustment components.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871