DETAILED ACTION
The remarks filed on 09/03/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Terminal Disclaimer filed and approved on 09/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Double Patenting rejections: Applicant’s filing and approval of the Terminal Disclaimer has overcome the Double Patenting rejections raised in the previous action; therefore the Double Patenting rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-15, and 17-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kent et al. (USPGPub 2020/0333782).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
processing apparatus configured to access/ detect/ match/ determine/ control in claim 1
processing apparatus - Figure 1 - item 130, paragraph 0051
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (USPGPub 2019/0101649) in view of Kent et al. (USPGPub 2020/0333782). As per claim 1, Jensen discloses a system, comprising: a distance sensor connected to a vehicle (see at least paragraph 0025; wherein the sensor 104 may be a LIDAR sensor…see at least paragraph 0034; wherein LIDAR system can measure distances); actuators configured to control motion of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0044; wherein a vehicle controller 116 that controls one or more vehicle controls 108 (e.g., actuators or other devices that control gas flow, acceleration, steering, braking, etc.) to execute the selected motion plan); and a processing apparatus (see at least Figure 1; item 106) configured to: access a map data structure storing a map representing locations of physical objects in a geographic area (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the perception system 110 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 118 that provides detailed information about the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle 102. The map data 118 can provide information regarding: the identity and location of objects); access current point cloud data captured using the distance sensor (see at least paragraph 0045; wherein the vehicle controller 106 may be configured to capture multiple point cloud data sets from the sensor 104 and compare the point cloud data sets to map data in the map database 118); and control one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to move from the current location of the vehicle to a target location (see at least paragraph 0075; wherein sending a signal to one or more of a steering controller, engine controller, or braking controller based on the motion plan). Jensen does not explicitly mention detect a crop row based on the current point cloud data; match the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map; and determine an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row. However Kent does disclose: detect a crop row based on the current point cloud data (see at least paragraph 0150; wherein a map of the crops 14 in the target area is generated, for example by using regression techniques based on multispectral analysis of the input visual data, optionally coupled with RGBd or 3D point cloud data); match the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map (see at least paragraph 0151; wherein the method 2400 of mapping the location of crops may of course equally be applied to mapping the locations of other objects associated with the growing environment. The locations of further objects may be mapped at intervals and compared the map of crop locations to allow for improved routes to be generated); and determine an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row (see at least paragraph 0160; wherein routes for the operating unit 1200 are generated, the map of the crops 14 in the target area 20 is used as an input to a route-finding algorithm (implemented by the central processor and/or a cloud server) to generate an efficient route (i.e. time-efficient) for an operating unit 1300 (or a plurality of efficient routes for a plurality of operating units 1300) between the crops. The routes are routes in 3D, such that they relate to routes in 3D between crops (i.e. requiring both movement of the operating unit itself, which can only move along the floor of the growing environment, and movement of the operator 1218, which can vary in height and position). The routes may comprise an order in which the crops should be operated on (in which case the operating unit calculates the exact movements required), and/or may further comprise details of the exact movements required). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kent with the teachings as in Jensen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved speed of harvesting and improved yield, see Kent paragraph 0005.
As per claim 8, Jensen discloses a method comprising: accessing a map data structure storing a map representing locations of physical objects in a geographic area (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the perception system 110 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 118 that provides detailed information about the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle 102. The map data 118 can provide information regarding: the identity and location of objects); accessing current point cloud data captured using a distance sensor connected to a vehicle (see at least paragraph 0045; wherein the vehicle controller 106 may be configured to capture multiple point cloud data sets from the sensor 104 and compare the point cloud data sets to map data in the map database 118); controlling one or more actuators to cause the vehicle to move from the current location of the vehicle to a target location (see at least paragraph 0075; wherein sending a signal to one or more of a steering controller, engine controller, or braking controller based on the motion plan). Jensen does not explicitly mention detecting a crop row based on the current point cloud data; matching the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map; determining an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row. However Kent does disclose:
detecting a crop row based on the current point cloud data (see at least paragraph 0150; wherein a map of the crops 14 in the target area is generated, for example by using regression techniques based on multispectral analysis of the input visual data, optionally coupled with RGBd or 3D point cloud data); matching the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map (see at least paragraph 0151; wherein the method 2400 of mapping the location of crops may of course equally be applied to mapping the locations of other objects associated with the growing environment. The locations of further objects may be mapped at intervals and compared the map of crop locations to allow for improved routes to be generated); determining an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row (see at least paragraph 0160; wherein routes for the operating unit 1200 are generated, the map of the crops 14 in the target area 20 is used as an input to a route-finding algorithm (implemented by the central processor and/or a cloud server) to generate an efficient route (i.e. time-efficient) for an operating unit 1300 (or a plurality of efficient routes for a plurality of operating units 1300) between the crops. The routes are routes in 3D, such that they relate to routes in 3D between crops (i.e. requiring both movement of the operating unit itself, which can only move along the floor of the growing environment, and movement of the operator 1218, which can vary in height and position). The routes may comprise an order in which the crops should be operated on (in which case the operating unit calculates the exact movements required), and/or may further comprise details of the exact movements required). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kent with the teachings as in Jensen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved speed of harvesting and improved yield, see Kent paragraph 0005.
As per claim 15, Jensen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations comprising: accessing a map data structure storing a map representing locations of physical objects in a geographic area (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the perception system 110 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 118 that provides detailed information about the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle 102. The map data 118 can provide information regarding: the identity and location of objects); accessing current point cloud data captured using a distance sensor connected to a vehicle (see at least paragraph 0045; wherein the vehicle controller 106 may be configured to capture multiple point cloud data sets from the sensor 104 and compare the point cloud data sets to map data in the map database 118); and controlling one or more actuators to cause the vehicle to move from the current location of the vehicle to a target location (see at least paragraph 0075; wherein sending a signal to one or more of a steering controller, engine controller, or braking controller based on the motion plan). Jensen does not explicitly mention detecting a crop row based on the current point cloud data; matching the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map; and determining an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row. However Kent does disclose: detecting a crop row based on the current point cloud data (see at least paragraph 0150; wherein a map of the crops 14 in the target area is generated, for example by using regression techniques based on multispectral analysis of the input visual data, optionally coupled with RGBd or 3D point cloud data); matching the detected crop row with a crop row represented in the map (see at least paragraph 0151; wherein the method 2400 of mapping the location of crops may of course equally be applied to mapping the locations of other objects associated with the growing environment. The locations of further objects may be mapped at intervals and compared the map of crop locations to allow for improved routes to be generated); and determining an estimate of a current location of the vehicle based on a current position in relation to the detected crop row (see at least paragraph 0160; wherein routes for the operating unit 1200 are generated, the map of the crops 14 in the target area 20 is used as an input to a route-finding algorithm (implemented by the central processor and/or a cloud server) to generate an efficient route (i.e. time-efficient) for an operating unit 1300 (or a plurality of efficient routes for a plurality of operating units 1300) between the crops. The routes are routes in 3D, such that they relate to routes in 3D between crops (i.e. requiring both movement of the operating unit itself, which can only move along the floor of the growing environment, and movement of the operator 1218, which can vary in height and position). The routes may comprise an order in which the crops should be operated on (in which case the operating unit calculates the exact movements required), and/or may further comprise details of the exact movements required). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kent with the teachings as in Jensen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved speed of harvesting and improved yield, see Kent paragraph 0005.
Claims 2, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (USPGPub 2019/0101649), in view of Kent et al. (USPGPub 2020/0333782), and further in view of Schmidt (USPGPub 2015/0142308). As per claim 2, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention filter the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle. However Schmidt does disclose: filter the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein the operator may select the waypoints labeled "H" for a wayline that corresponds to the highest elevation of the field, or may select the waypoints labeled "L" for a wayline that connects the lowest points of the field on opposite sides of a ridge. Assuming that a straight line intersecting locations 52 and 54 represents a ridge in the field, a wayline intersecting those two locations would allow the tractor to work the field along lines that are parallel with the ridge. Similarly, a wayline intersecting locations 56 and 58 would allow the tractor 10 to work the field 30 along lines that are perpendicular to the ridge. The operator's preference for one of the two waylines (or an entirely different wayline) may depend on the operation being performed and the type of machine used to perform the operation. In the two above examples, the operator intends to work the field along paths that are parallel with or perpendicular to a direction of changing elevation of a surface of the field 30. The operator may desire to use the elevation information in other ways when selecting waypoints). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Schmidt with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a guidance systems that can maximize efficiency by selecting a travel course or pattern that minimizes time in the field, which then reduces the cost of fuel and the amount of time an operator spends in the machine, see Schmidt paragraph 0002. As per claim 9, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention filtering the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle. However Schmidt does disclose:
filtering the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein the operator may select the waypoints labeled "H" for a wayline that corresponds to the highest elevation of the field, or may select the waypoints labeled "L" for a wayline that connects the lowest points of the field on opposite sides of a ridge. Assuming that a straight line intersecting locations 52 and 54 represents a ridge in the field, a wayline intersecting those two locations would allow the tractor to work the field along lines that are parallel with the ridge. Similarly, a wayline intersecting locations 56 and 58 would allow the tractor 10 to work the field 30 along lines that are perpendicular to the ridge. The operator's preference for one of the two waylines (or an entirely different wayline) may depend on the operation being performed and the type of machine used to perform the operation. In the two above examples, the operator intends to work the field along paths that are parallel with or perpendicular to a direction of changing elevation of a surface of the field 30. The operator may desire to use the elevation information in other ways when selecting waypoints). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Schmidt with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a guidance systems that can maximize efficiency by selecting a travel course or pattern that minimizes time in the field, which then reduces the cost of fuel and the amount of time an operator spends in the machine, see Schmidt paragraph 0002.
As per claim 17, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention filtering the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle. However Schmidt does disclose: filtering the current point cloud data to consider only points in a zone of interest when comparing the current point cloud data to point cloud data of the map to match the detected crop row with the crop row represented in the map, where in the zone of interest is limited to a range of heights and a maximum distance from the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein the operator may select the waypoints labeled "H" for a wayline that corresponds to the highest elevation of the field, or may select the waypoints labeled "L" for a wayline that connects the lowest points of the field on opposite sides of a ridge. Assuming that a straight line intersecting locations 52 and 54 represents a ridge in the field, a wayline intersecting those two locations would allow the tractor to work the field along lines that are parallel with the ridge. Similarly, a wayline intersecting locations 56 and 58 would allow the tractor 10 to work the field 30 along lines that are perpendicular to the ridge. The operator's preference for one of the two waylines (or an entirely different wayline) may depend on the operation being performed and the type of machine used to perform the operation. In the two above examples, the operator intends to work the field along paths that are parallel with or perpendicular to a direction of changing elevation of a surface of the field 30. The operator may desire to use the elevation information in other ways when selecting waypoints). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Schmidt with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a guidance systems that can maximize efficiency by selecting a travel course or pattern that minimizes time in the field, which then reduces the cost of fuel and the amount of time an operator spends in the machine, see Schmidt paragraph 0002.
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (USPGPub 2019/0101649), in view of Kent et al. (USPGPub 2020/0333782), and further in view of Schmidt (USPGPub 2015/0142308).
As per claim 3, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle; and actuators configured to control operation of an implement, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively perform an operation in a vicinity of the vehicle, and in which the processing apparatus is configured to: receive image data, captured using the one or more image sensors, depicting one or more plants in the vicinity of the vehicle; detect the one or more plants based on the image data; responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjust implement control data; and control one or more of the actuators, based on the adjusted implement control data, to cause the implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants. However Polzounov does disclose: one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); and actuators configured to control operation of an implement, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively perform an operation in a vicinity of the -62-vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles), and in which the processing apparatus is configured to: receive image data, captured using the one or more image sensors, depicting one or more plants in the vicinity of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); detect the one or more plants based on the image data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjust implement control data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); and control one or more of the actuators, based on the adjusted implement control data, to cause the implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Polzounov with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a semantic segmentation model to identify and treat plants in a field, see Polzounov paragraph 0002. As per claim 4, Polzounov discloses one or more image sensors comprise a normalized difference vegetation index camera connected to the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles), in which the processing apparatus is configured to: receive normalized difference vegetation index data, captured using the normalized difference vegetation index camera, for the one or more plants, wherein adjusting the implement control data includes adjusting an amount of input to be deposited on the one or more plants based on the normalized difference vegetation index data (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein farming machine 100 can operate in a field according to a treatment plan. A treatment plan determines which identified objects in the field are treated by the treatment mechanisms 120 of the farming machine 100. For example, a treatment plan can indicate the farming machine to treat weeds with herbicides, plants with growth promoters, soil with fungicides, etc. Whatever the treatment plan, as the farming machine 100 travels through the field, the detection mechanism 110 identifies the objects and treatment mechanisms 120 treats the objects). As per claim 5, Polzounov discloses in which the vehicle is a tractor and the implement is a sprayer (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). As per claim 7, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention in which the vehicle is a tractor. However Polzounov does disclose: in which the vehicle is a tractor (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein the farming machine 100 may also include a coupling mechanism 142, such as a hitch, that functions to removably or statically couple to a drive mechanism, such as a tractor). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Polzounov with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a semantic segmentation model to identify and treat plants in a field, see Polzounov paragraph 0002. As per claim 10, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention comprising: receiving image data, captured using one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle, depicting one or more plants in a vicinity of the vehicle; detecting the one or more plants based on the image data; responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjusting implement control data; and controlling, based on the adjusted implement control data, an implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively deposit input in a vicinity of the vehicle. However Polzounov does disclose: comprising: receiving image data, captured using one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle, depicting one or more plants in a vicinity of the vehicle (Polzounov see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); detecting the one or more plants based on the image data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjusting implement control data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); and controlling, based on the adjusted implement control data, an implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively deposit input in a vicinity of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Polzounov with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a semantic segmentation model to identify and treat plants in a field, see Polzounov paragraph 0002. As per claim 11, Polzounov discloses in which the one or more image sensors comprise a normalized difference vegetation index camera connected to the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles), and the method comprising: receiving normalized difference vegetation index data, captured using the normalized difference vegetation index camera, for the one or more plants, wherein adjusting the implement control data includes adjusting an amount of input to be deposited on the one or more plants based on the normalized difference vegetation index data (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein farming machine 100 can operate in a field according to a treatment plan. A treatment plan determines which identified objects in the field are treated by the treatment mechanisms 120 of the farming machine 100. For example, a treatment plan can indicate the farming machine to treat weeds with herbicides, plants with growth promoters, soil with fungicides, etc. Whatever the treatment plan, as the farming machine 100 travels through the field, the detection mechanism 110 identifies the objects and treatment mechanisms 120 treats the objects). As per claim 12, Polzounov discloses in which the vehicle is a tractor and the implement is a sprayer (Polzounov see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). As per claim 14, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention in which the vehicle is a tractor. However Polzounov does disclose: in which the vehicle is a tractor (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein the farming machine 100 may also include a coupling mechanism 142, such as a hitch, that functions to removably or statically couple to a drive mechanism, such as a tractor). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Polzounov with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a semantic segmentation model to identify and treat plants in a field, see Polzounov paragraph 0002. As per claim 18, Jensen and Kent do not explicitly mention in which the operations comprise: receiving image data, captured using one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle, depicting one or more plants in a vicinity of the vehicle; detecting the one or more plants based on the image data; responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjusting implement control data; and controlling, based on the adjusted implement control data, an implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively deposit input in a vicinity of the vehicle. However Polzounov does disclose:
in which the operations comprise: receiving image data, captured using one or more image sensors connected to the vehicle, depicting one or more plants in a vicinity of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); detecting the one or more plants based on the image data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); responsive to detecting the one or more plants, adjusting implement control data (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles); and controlling, based on the adjusted implement control data, an implement to deposit an input on the one or more plants, wherein the implement is connected to the vehicle and configured to selectively deposit input in a vicinity of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Polzounov with the teachings as in Jensen and Kent. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a semantic segmentation model to identify and treat plants in a field, see Polzounov paragraph 0002. As per claim 19, Polzounov discloses in which the vehicle is a tractor and the implement is a sprayer (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles). As per claim 20, Polzounov discloses in which the operations comprise: receiving normalized difference vegetation index data, captured using a normalized difference vegetation index camera connected to the vehicle (see at least paragraph 0090; wherein the farming machine 100 includes a detection mechanism 110 that captures images of plants in the field as the farming machine 100 travels down the cotton crop rows. Further, the farming machine 110 includes a control system 130 that identifies plants in the field and controls the spray nozzles), for the one or more plants, wherein adjusting the implement control data includes adjusting an amount of input to be deposited on the one or more plants based on the normalized difference vegetation index data (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein farming machine 100 can operate in a field according to a treatment plan. A treatment plan determines which identified objects in the field are treated by the treatment mechanisms 120 of the farming machine 100. For example, a treatment plan can indicate the farming machine to treat weeds with herbicides, plants with growth promoters, soil with fungicides, etc. Whatever the treatment plan, as the farming machine 100 travels through the field, the detection mechanism 110 identifies the objects and treatment mechanisms 120 treats the objects).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach detect an end of the crop row based on point cloud data captured using the distance sensor; plan a turn at the end of the crop row; control one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to execute the turn; after executing the turn, detect a last seen plant at the end of the crop row; based on a position of the last seen plant, identify a trajectory to enter a next agricultural lane bounded by the crop row; and control one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to enter the next agricultural lane.
Claim(s) 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach detecting an end of the crop row based on point cloud data captured using the distance sensor; planning a turn at the end of the crop row; controlling one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to execute the turn; after executing the turn, detecting a last seen plant at the end of the crop row; based on a position of the last seen plant, identifying a trajectory to enter a next agricultural lane bounded by the crop row; and controlling one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to enter the next agricultural lane.
Claim(s) 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach detecting an end of the crop row based on point cloud data captured using the distance sensor; planning a turn at the end of the crop row; controlling one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to execute the turn; after executing the turn, detecting a last seen plant at the end of the crop row; based on a position of the last seen plant, identifying a trajectory to enter a next agricultural lane bounded by the crop row; and controlling one or more of the actuators to cause the vehicle to enter the next agricultural lane.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2019/0351434 – Provide a farming machine including a number of treatment mechanisms treats plants according to a treatment plan as the farming machine moves through the field. The control system of the farming machine executes a plant identification model configured to identify plants in the field for treatment. The control system generates a treatment map identifying which treatment mechanisms to actuate to treat the plants in the field. To generate a treatment map, the farming machine captures an image of plants, processes the image to identify plants, and generates a treatment map. The plant identification model can be a convolutional neural network having an input layer, an identification layer, and an output layer. The input layer has the dimensionality of the image, the identification layer has a greatly reduced dimensionality, and the output layer has the dimensionality of the treatment mechanisms.
US 6,336,051 – Provide an agricultural harvesting machine (harvester) is automatically controlled and steered so as to completely harvest all crop in a field. A Global Positioning System (GPS) and an Inertial Navigation System provide data regarding the position and orientation of the harvester in a field. A Field Coverage Planner constructs a field coverage plan which defines a path for the harvester to follow in cutting crop from a field. Video images of the field in front of the harvester are derived alternately from two video cameras mounted on opposite sides of the harvester. The video images are processed in a Video Processing Computer to detect the crop line between cut and uncut crop and generate steering signals for steering the harvester along the crop line.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662