DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control assembly” and “mounting assembly” in claim 1, “resetting member” in claim 4, “limiting structure” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colloca US 2007/0150004.
Regarding Claim 1, Colloca discloses a correction device (Figs 7-11) for correcting a first rib (paragraph 3 capable of correcting a first rib through “electromechanical adjusting instruments that have a waveform tuned to the nature of the body to allow more bone movement and broader neural receptor stimulation with less force”), comprising:
a housing assembly provided with a receiving cavity (see Fig below), the receiving cavity having a clearance hole (see Fig below);
an electromagnet comprising a coil (#180) and an armature (#182, see Fig below), the coil having a clearance channel, and the armature passing through the clearance channel (see Fig below) and being movable in an axial direction of the coil (paragraph 38);
a correction assembly disposed on the housing assembly and movable along the axial direction of the coil (see Fig below, paragraph 34, 38), an end of the correction assembly being connected to the armature (see Fig below), and a further end of the correction assembly passing through the clearance hole (see Fig below);
a control assembly (#330) disposed on the housing assembly (Fig 5, 7), the control assembly being electrically connected to the coil to control the coil to be energized or de-energized (paragraph 54); and
a mounting assembly disposed on the housing assembly (see Fig below), the mounting assembly being configured to mount the correction device to a support (see Fig below, it can be plugged into a support, examiner notes that the support is not positively recited and not claiming how it mounts to the support),
wherein the armature is configured to, upon the coil being energized, push the further end of the correction assembly to move in a direction extending out of the housing assembly (paragraph 34, 38, 42, 54).
Regarding Claim 2, Colloca discloses the correction assembly comprises a correction member (#130) and a first piston (#170, Fig 9), the first piston being connected to an end of the armature (Fig 9), the correction member passing through the clearance hole (Fig 7), and the first piston, upon the coil being energized, being able to push the correction member to extend out of the housing assembly (Fig 9, paragraph 38, moves with the armature #182).
Regarding Claim 3, Colloca disclose the correction assembly further comprises a second piston (see fig in claim 2), an end of the second piston being connected to the correction member (Fig 9), and the first piston is configured in such a way that, upon the coil being energized, an end of the first piston (end facing the second piston, Fig 8, 12-13) away from the armature abuts against an end (end facing the first piston, Fig 8, 12-13) of the second piston away from the correction member (as seen in configuration going from Fig 12 to Fig 13 and back, paragraph 42, the pistons are abutting each other, it is noted that the plain meaning of abut can also include “lie adjacent” and “be next to”, see, https://www.thefreedictionary.com/abut ).
Regarding Claim 4, Colloca disclose wherein the correction assembly further comprises a resetting member (#160), the resetting member being disposed between the first piston and the second piston (Fig 9, 11), and the resetting member being configured to reset the first piston (paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 5, Colloca disclose the correction assembly further comprises an elastic member (#145), the elastic member being configured to move the second piston (#131) in the direction extending out of the housing assembly (Fig 11, paragraph 34, as seen in Fig 12-13 where the spring is compressed and then released and helps to move the second piston in the direction extending out of the housing).
Regarding Claim 6, Colloca disclose a guide structure (#151) is provided between the first piston and the second piston (Fig 9, 11).
Regarding Claim 6, Colloca disclose the guide structure comprises a guide shaft (#151) provided in the second piston (Fig 9) and a guide hole provided in the first piston (as seen in Fig 9 where the guide shaft #151 extends out from a guide hole of the first piston #170), the guide shaft passing through the guide hole and being connectable to a side wall of the guide hole (see Fig below).
Regarding Claim 8, Colloca disclose a limiting structure (see limiting projection and limiting recess below) is provided between the second piston and the housing assembly (see Fig below), and the limiting structure is configured to limit a movement stroke of the second piston (paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 9, Colloca disclose the limiting structure comprises a limiting recess provided in a side wall of the receiving cavity (see Fig below) and a limiting projection provided on the second piston (see Fig below), the limiting projection being accommodated in the limiting recess and being able to abut against a side wall of the limiting recess (see Fig below, paragraph 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colloca US 2007/0150004 in view of Zhu CN 215900312 (reference is made to the English Translation attached herein).
Regarding Claim 1, Colloca discloses a correction device (Figs 7-11) for correcting a first rib (paragraph 3 capable of correcting a first rib through “electromechanical adjusting instruments that have a waveform tuned to the nature of the body to allow more bone movement and broader neural receptor stimulation with less force”), comprising:
a housing assembly provided with a receiving cavity (see Fig below), the receiving cavity having a clearance hole (see Fig below);
an electromagnet comprising a coil (#180) and an armature (#182, see Fig below), the coil having a clearance channel, and the armature passing through the clearance channel (see Fig below) and being movable in an axial direction of the coil (paragraph 38);
a correction assembly disposed on the housing assembly and movable along the axial direction of the coil (see Fig below, paragraph 34, 38), an end of the correction assembly being connected to the armature (see Fig below), and a further end of the correction assembly passing through the clearance hole (see Fig below);
a control assembly (#330) disposed on the housing assembly (Fig 5, 7), the control assembly being electrically connected to the coil to control the coil to be energized or de-energized (paragraph 54); and
wherein the armature is configured to, upon the coil being energized, push the further end of the correction assembly to move in a direction extending out of the housing assembly (paragraph 34, 38, 42, 54).
Colloca discloses that the housing assembly has first and second lateral sides (see Fig below) but does not disclose a mounting assembly disposed on the housing assembly, the mounting assembly being configured to mount the correction device to a support, wherein the mounting assembly comprises a first clamping member and a second clamping member arranged opposite each other, the housing assembly is provided with a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion arranged opposite each other, the first clamping member is disposed on the first connecting portion, the second clamping member is disposed on the second connecting portion, the first clamping member is configured to abut against a side of the support, and the second clamping member is configured to abut against a further opposite side of the support.
Zhu discloses a correction device (Fig 1) having a housing assembly (see Fig below), a mounting assembly disposed on the housing assembly (see Fig below), the mounting assembly being configured to mount the correction device to a support (Fig 3, see Fig below), wherein the mounting assembly comprises a first clamping member and a second clamping member arranged opposite each other (see Fig below, the clamping members in the form of screws #16 with a knob #4), the housing assembly is provided with a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion arranged opposite each other (Fig below, the first and second connection portions in the form of respective openings on opposites of the housing assembly that receive the first and second clamping members), the first clamping member is disposed on the first connecting portion (see Fig below), the second clamping member is disposed on the second connecting portion (see Fig below), the first clamping member is configured to abut against a side of the support (see Fig below), and the second clamping member is configured to abut against a further opposite side of the support (see Fig below), where the mounting assembly allows one to secure the correction device to a support, which can then be mounted to a table or the ground to liberate the hand of the user so that the user is more comfortable to use the device (page 3 lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the correction device of Colloca to include the mounting assembly in view of Zhu (where the first and second lateral sides would include first and second connecting portions that receive the first and second clamping members) because this allows one to secure the correction device to a support, which can then be mounted to a table or the ground to liberate the hand of the user so that the user is more comfortable to use the device. Examiner notes that since the clamping members are threaded, they can also be removed such that the correction device can be used with out the support attached to the correction device.
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for art of cited interest, in particular other correction devices.
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773