DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 12, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948).
With respect to claim 1, Aggarwal discloses a method for switching at least one display device to at least one preset mode (par 0002; discloses invention relates to the automatic identification of a media device and its power state), comprising: utilizing a storage device to store first preset identification information of a first preset device, second preset identification information of a second preset device (fig. 1; device signature storage 128; par 0079; discloses device signature storage 128 may contain a repository of previously generated signatures for commonly available device brands, makes, and/or models. A repository may be generated in various ways. For instance, identification data may be obtained from a sink device (e.g., one of sink media device(s) 102B) as described herein. In some examples, a signature may also be generated for the sink device as described above. The identification data and/or device signature for the sink device may then be stored as a data structure (e.g., a database or table, or the like) in a repository that associates the identification data with a device brand, make, and/or model),; utilizing a third device to obtain first identification information of a first device from the first device and obtain second identification information of a second device from the second device (par 0050; discloses In step 302, identification data is received from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to a device hub, the plurality of devices including an intermediate device and a sink media device. For instance, with reference to FIGS. 1, 2 and 4, device signature manager 402 that may be implemented as part of switching device 104 may be configured to receive identification information 210 from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to the switching device; par 0044; discloses identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B); utilizing the third device to determine whether the first device and the second device are ,respectively, the first preset device and the second preset device according to the first identification information, the second identification information, the first preset identification information and the second preset identification information, in order to generate a determination result (par 0056; discloses with reference to FIG. 4, device correlator 406 may associate attributes identified by attribute identifier 404 with one or more of the plurality of devices (e.g., sink device 102B and/or intermediate device 202 as shown in the illustrative example of FIG. 2). As discussed above, device signature storage 128 may be configured to store a mapping of devices and identification information (e.g., attributes) for each such device. For example, a particular sink device identified in device signature storage 128 may be associated with one or more attributes (such as a set of attributes or other device signature); par 0028; discloses the generated signature may be compared against a plurality of signatures stored in a data structure (e.g., a local or remote database) to identify the device brand, make, or model); and in response to the determination result indicating that the first device and the second device are, respectively, the first preset device and the second preset device, utilizing the third device to apply the setting information stored in the storage device to the at least one display device, in order to switch the at least one display device to the at least one preset mode (par 0044; discloses Control logic 112 may include media device identifier 114 configured to automatically identify a media device based on identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. In some further examples, media device identifier 114 may be configured to automatically determine a power state of one or more sink media device(s) 102B based on the identification data received from one or more port(s) 110; par 0039; discloses Switching device 104 may be further configured to transmit a control signal to any of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. The control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. par 0060; discloses As a result, switching device 104, or any other device that may implement media device identifier 114, may intelligently control each coupled device in the appropriate manner. For instance, if switching device 104 determines that a particular sink device is powered off that may cause a network interface of the sink device to be inoperable, switching device 104 may be configured to utilize a particular communication protocol to power on the device (e.g., an infrared protocol, rather than an IP protocol) until the interface is functional); wherein the third device represents one of a signal source device, a DisplayPort (DP) hub circuit and the at least one display device, (fig. 1; discloses switching device (i.e. third device); par 0030; discloses Switching device 104 includes any type of media device hub, such as a multimedia switching device, an AVR, a repeater, or any other device that may comprise a media device hub or may operate as a hub for media devices. For instance, a media device hub as used herein may include a plurality of input and/or output AV ports and be operable to select an appropriate input and/or output port based on a selection (e.g., a user selection); par 0032; discloses As further shown in FIG. 1, source media devices 102A and/or sink media device(s) 102B is/are coupled to AV port(s) 110, source media devices 102A and/or sink media device(s) 102B may be coupled to AV port(s) 110 via a multimedia cable such as an HDMI cable 108. It is noted, however, that implementations are not limited to coupling devices as shown in FIG. 1 using an HDMI cable, but may comprise other types of multimedia cables, including standard definition cables, coaxial cables, USB (Universal Serial Bus) cables, Digital Video Interface (DVI) cables, DisplayPort interface cables, and wireless AV interfaces) the first device and the second device represent the other two of the signal source device, the DP hub circuit and the at least one display device (fig. 1; sink media devices 102B; par 0025; discloses a sink device may be (e.g., a display device such as a television, a monitor, or a projector, a repeater, audio video receiver (AVR), or a switching device acting as a sink device, etc.); par 0030; discloses As shown in FIG. 1, system 100 includes one or more sink media devices 102B, (i.e. plurality of sink devices may correspond to claimed first device and second device) ), and the DP hub circuit is coupled between the signal source device and the at least one display device (fig. 1; discloses switching circuit 104 connected between the source media devices 102A and sink media devices 102B);
Aggarwal discloses setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode (par 0039; discloses the control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B ); wherein the first preset device or the second preset device is owned by a user (par 0025; discloses par 0025; discloses a sink device may be (e.g., a display device such as a television, a monitor, or a projector, a repeater, audio video receiver (AVR), or a switching device acting as a sink device, etc.); par 0037; discloses A user may use the control device to select a source device and/or a sink device that the user would like to use for providing and/or presenting content; par 0101; discloses For instance, embodiments may be included, without limitation, in processing devices (e.g., illustrated in FIG. 8) such as computers and servers, as well as communication systems such as switches, routers, gateways, and/or the like, communication devices such as smart phones, home electronics, gaming consoles, entertainment devices/systems, etc. ; i.e. embodiments may be implemented on devices that are owned by a user);
Aggarwal don’t expressly disclose utilizing a storage device to store setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode; and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user;
In the same field of endeavor, LIN discloses system and method for adjusting setting of external display (see abstract); LIN discloses utilizing a storage device to store setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode (par 0050; discloses At step 404, the controller 316 of the computing device 304 may obtain a display setting for the external display device 302. In an example, the display setting may be a current display setting of an integrated display device (not shown) of the computing device 304. In another example, the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302. For example, the controller 316 may obtain the display setting from a memory, such as a non-volatile memory of the computing device 304. In an example, the NVM may be a random-access memory (RAM) of a firmware, such as Basic Input/Output System (BIOS)); and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user (par 0050; discloses the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal to incorporate the teachings of LIN to store the pre-defined setting information in a memory such that pre-defined settings may be accessed quickly and transmitted to the external display for automatically changing the settings of the external display based on device identification and user preferences.
With respect to claim 2, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the third device represents the DP hub circuit, (Aggarwal; fig. 1; switching device 104 (i.e. third device); par 0030; discloses Switching device 104 includes any type of media device hub, such as a multimedia switching device, an AVR, a repeater, or any other device that may comprise a media device hub or may operate as a hub for media devices; par 0032; discloses source media devices 102A and/or sink media device(s) 102B may be coupled to AV port(s) 110 via a multimedia cable such as DisplayPort interface) and the first device and the second device represent the signal source device and the at least one display device, respectively (Aggarwal; fig. 1; source media device 102A (i.e. first device) and Sink media device 102B (i.e. display device); see par 002; discloses techniques are described that enable an automatic identification of a media device acting as a sink device (e.g., a display device such as a television, a monitor, or a projector, a repeater, audio video receiver (AVR), or a switching device acting as a sink device, etc.) using identification data received over a connection interface. In accordance with embodiments, upon connecting a sink media device to another electronic device acting as a source media device (e.g., a media player, a gaming console, a switching device, AVR, or repeater acting as a source device, etc.),).
With respect to claim 6, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the first identification information comprises information of an organizational unique identifier (OUT), a device identification string (DIS) or a source specific field (SSF) of the signal source device (Aggarwal; par 0075; discloses the device signature (or received signature, as described previously) may comprise a unique string that may be associated with a particular device brand, make, and/or model; par 0041; discloses device signature storage 128 may indicate that a particular model of a sink media device (or a device acting as a sink media device) comprises a particular device signature based on the sink media device's identification data (e.g., EDID information) or attributes (e.g., attributes such as or capabilities of the device) identified therein. Device signatures, as used herein, may comprise any set of information that may correspond, or be based on, identification data received from a sink media device. In one example, the device signature may comprise a subset of attributes comprised in the identification data, may comprise all of the attributes identified therein, or may comprise a unique set of information (e.g., a string of bits or the like) generated using some or all of the received identification data).
With respect to claim 7, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the second identification information comprises extended display identification data (EDID) of the at least one display device (Aggarwal; par 0074; discloses identification data 108A may comprise EDID information of the sink media device as described herein).
With respect to claim 8, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the third device represents the signal source device, and the first device and the second device represent the DP hub circuit and the at least one display device, respectively (fig. 1; discloses source device 102A, sink device 102b(i.e. display device) and switching device 104 (i.e hub); par 0048; discloses although one or more components in accordance with the automatic identification techniques described herein are illustrated as part of switching device 104, it is understood and appreciated that the automatic identification of a device may be carried out by any type of media device (e.g., a source media device, a sink media device, or a switching device). For example, any one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B may comprise media device identifier 114 and/or storage 126 as described herein).
With respect to claim 12, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the third device represent the at least one display device, and the first device and the second device represent the signal source device and the DP hub circuit, respectively (fig. 1; discloses source device 102A, sink device 102b(i.e. display device) and switching device 104 (i.e hub); par 0048; discloses although one or more components in accordance with the automatic identification techniques described herein are illustrated as part of switching device 104, it is understood and appreciated that the automatic identification of a device may be carried out by any type of media device (e.g., a source media device, a sink media device, or a switching device). For example, any one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B may comprise media device identifier 114 and/or storage 126 as described herein).
With respect to claim 15, Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose wherein the setting information comprises brightness, contrast or sharpness of the at least one display device;
LIN further discloses wherein the setting information comprises brightness, contrast or sharpness of the at least one display device (par 0023; discloses the display setting may include, but are not limited to, a brightness setting, a sharpness setting, and a language setting);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of LIN to automatically adjust display parameters such as brightness, sharpness based on the device identification in order to prevent the need for manually adjusting such parameters.
With respect to claim 19, Aggarwal discloses a DisplayPort (DP) hub circuit, (fig. 1; switching device 104; par 0032; discloses source media devices 102A and/or sink media device(s) 102B may be coupled to AV port(s) 110 via DisplayPort interfaces) comprising: a controller, coupled to a read only memory (ROM), (fig. 1; control logic 112 connected to storage 126) configured to control operations of the DP hub circuit according to a program code stored in the ROM; wherein: the controller writes preset signal source identification information of a preset signal source device, preset display identification information of a preset display device (fig. 1; device signature storage 128; par 0079; discloses device signature storage 128 may contain a repository of previously generated signatures for commonly available device brands, makes, and/or models. A repository may be generated in various ways. For instance, identification data may be obtained from a sink device (e.g., one of sink media device(s) 102B) as described herein. In some examples, a signature may also be generated for the sink device as described above. The identification data and/or device signature for the sink device may then be stored as a data structure (e.g., a database or table, or the like) in a repository that associates the identification data with a device brand, make, and/or model); when a signal source device and at least one display device are coupled to the DP hub circuit, the controller obtains signal source identification information of the signal source device from the signal source device and obtains display identification information of the at least one display device from the at least one display device (par 0050; discloses In step 302, identification data is received from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to a device hub, the plurality of devices including an intermediate device and a sink media device. For instance, with reference to FIGS. 1, 2 and 4, device signature manager 402 that may be implemented as part of switching device 104 may be configured to receive identification information 210 from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to the switching device; par 0044; discloses identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B); the controller determines whether the signal source device and the at least one display device are, respectively, the preset signal source device and the preset display device according to the signal source identification information, the display identification information, the preset signal source identification information and the preset display identification information, in order to generate a determination result (par 0056; discloses with reference to FIG. 4, device correlator 406 may associate attributes identified by attribute identifier 404 with one or more of the plurality of devices (e.g., sink device 102B and/or intermediate device 202 as shown in the illustrative example of FIG. 2). As discussed above, device signature storage 128 may be configured to store a mapping of devices and identification information (e.g., attributes) for each such device. For example, a particular sink device identified in device signature storage 128 may be associated with one or more attributes (such as a set of attributes or other device signature); par 0028; discloses the generated signature may be compared against a plurality of signatures stored in a data structure (e.g., a local or remote database) to identify the device brand, make, or model); and when the determination result indicates that the signal source device and the at least one display device are, respectively, the preset signal source device and the preset display device, the controller applies the setting information stored in the storage device to the at least one display device, in order to switch the at least one display device to the at least one preset mode (par 0044; discloses Control logic 112 may include media device identifier 114 configured to automatically identify a media device based on identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. In some further examples, media device identifier 114 may be configured to automatically determine a power state of one or more sink media device(s) 102B based on the identification data received from one or more port(s) 110; par 0039; discloses Switching device 104 may be further configured to transmit a control signal to any of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. The control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. par 0060; discloses As a result, switching device 104, or any other device that may implement media device identifier 114, may intelligently control each coupled device in the appropriate manner. For instance, if switching device 104 determines that a particular sink device is powered off that may cause a network interface of the sink device to be inoperable, switching device 104 may be configured to utilize a particular communication protocol to power on the device (e.g., an infrared protocol, rather than an IP protocol) until the interface is functional);
Aggarwal discloses setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode (par 0039; discloses the control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B ); wherein the first preset device or the second preset device is owned by a user (par 0025; discloses par 0025; discloses a sink device may be (e.g., a display device such as a television, a monitor, or a projector, a repeater, audio video receiver (AVR), or a switching device acting as a sink device, etc.); par 0037; discloses A user may use the control device to select a source device and/or a sink device that the user would like to use for providing and/or presenting content; par 0101; discloses For instance, embodiments may be included, without limitation, in processing devices (e.g., illustrated in FIG. 8) such as computers and servers, as well as communication systems such as switches, routers, gateways, and/or the like, communication devices such as smart phones, home electronics, gaming consoles, entertainment devices/systems, etc. ; i.e. embodiments may be implemented on devices that are owned by a user);
Aggarwal don’t expressly disclose the controller writes setting information corresponding to at least one preset mode of the preset display device into a storage device; and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user;
In the same field of endeavor, LIN discloses system and method for adjusting setting of external display (see abstract); LIN discloses the controller writes setting information corresponding to at least one preset mode of the preset display device into a storage device; (par 0050; discloses At step 404, the controller 316 of the computing device 304 may obtain a display setting for the external display device 302. In an example, the display setting may be a current display setting of an integrated display device (not shown) of the computing device 304. In another example, the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302. For example, the controller 316 may obtain the display setting from a memory, such as a non-volatile memory of the computing device 304. In an example, the NVM may be a random-access memory (RAM) of a firmware, such as Basic Input/Output System (BIOS)); and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user (par 0050; discloses the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal to incorporate the teachings of LIN to store the pre-defined setting information in a memory such that pre-defined settings may be accessed quickly and transmitted to the external display for automatically changing the settings of the external display based on device identification and user preferences.
With respect to claim 20, Aggarwal discloses an image processor of a display device, (fig. 8; device 800) comprising: a controller, coupled to a read only memory (ROM), (fig. 8; processor 806 connected to memory 808) configured to control operations of the image processor according to a program code stored in the ROM; (par 0048; discloses although one or more components in accordance with the automatic identification techniques described herein are illustrated as part of switching device 104, it is understood and appreciated that the automatic identification of a device may be carried out by any type of media device (e.g., a source media device, a sink media device, or a switching device). For example, any one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B may comprise media device identifier 114 and/or storage 126 as described herein); wherein: the controller writes preset signal source identification information of a preset signal source device, preset DisplayPort (DP) hub identification information of a preset DP hub circuit, (par 0079; discloses device signature storage 128 may contain a repository of previously generated signatures for commonly available device brands, makes, and/or models. A repository may be generated in various ways. For instance, identification data may be obtained from a sink device (e.g., one of sink media device(s) 102B) as described herein. In some examples, a signature may also be generated for the sink device as described above. The identification data and/or device signature for the sink device may then be stored as a data structure (e.g., a database or table, or the like) in a repository that associates the identification data with a device brand, make, and/or model); when a signal source device and the display device are coupled to a DP hub circuit, (fig. 1; discloses switching circuit 104 connected between the source media devices 102A and sink media devices 102B) the controller obtains signal source identification information of the signal source device from the signal source device and obtains DP hub identification information of the DP hub circuit from the DP hub circuit (par 0050; discloses In step 302, identification data is received from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to a device hub, the plurality of devices including an intermediate device and a sink media device. For instance, with reference to FIGS. 1, 2 and 4, device signature manager 402 that may be implemented as part of switching device 104 may be configured to receive identification information 210 from at least one of a plurality of devices coupled to the switching device; par 0044; discloses identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B);; the controller determines whether the signal source device and the DP hub circuit are, respectively, the preset signal source device and the preset DP hub circuit according to the signal source identification information, the DP hub identification information, the preset signal source identification information and the preset DP hub identification information, in order to generate a determination result (par 0056; discloses with reference to FIG. 4, device correlator 406 may associate attributes identified by attribute identifier 404 with one or more of the plurality of devices (e.g., sink device 102B and/or intermediate device 202 as shown in the illustrative example of FIG. 2). As discussed above, device signature storage 128 may be configured to store a mapping of devices and identification information (e.g., attributes) for each such device. For example, a particular sink device identified in device signature storage 128 may be associated with one or more attributes (such as a set of attributes or other device signature); par 0028; discloses the generated signature may be compared against a plurality of signatures stored in a data structure (e.g., a local or remote database) to identify the device brand, make, or model); and when the determination result indicates that the signal source device and the DP hub circuit are, respectively, the preset signal source device and the preset DP hub circuit, the controller applies the setting information stored in the storage device to the display device, in order to switch the display device to the at least one preset mode (par 0044; discloses Control logic 112 may include media device identifier 114 configured to automatically identify a media device based on identification data received from one of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. In some further examples, media device identifier 114 may be configured to automatically determine a power state of one or more sink media device(s) 102B based on the identification data received from one or more port(s) 110; par 0039; discloses Switching device 104 may be further configured to transmit a control signal to any of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. The control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B. par 0060; discloses As a result, switching device 104, or any other device that may implement media device identifier 114, may intelligently control each coupled device in the appropriate manner. For instance, if switching device 104 determines that a particular sink device is powered off that may cause a network interface of the sink device to be inoperable, switching device 104 may be configured to utilize a particular communication protocol to power on the device (e.g., an infrared protocol, rather than an IP protocol) until the interface is functional);
Aggarwal discloses setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode (par 0039; discloses the control signal may be any type of signal to control one or more source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B, such as a signal to control a power state, an input, an output, an audio setting, a video setting, or any other setting of source or sink media device(s) 102A or 102B ); wherein the first preset device or the second preset device is owned by a user (par 0025; discloses par 0025; discloses a sink device may be (e.g., a display device such as a television, a monitor, or a projector, a repeater, audio video receiver (AVR), or a switching device acting as a sink device, etc.); par 0037; discloses A user may use the control device to select a source device and/or a sink device that the user would like to use for providing and/or presenting content; par 0101; discloses For instance, embodiments may be included, without limitation, in processing devices (e.g., illustrated in FIG. 8) such as computers and servers, as well as communication systems such as switches, routers, gateways, and/or the like, communication devices such as smart phones, home electronics, gaming consoles, entertainment devices/systems, etc. ; i.e. embodiments may be implemented on devices that are owned by a user);
Aggarwal don’t expressly disclose the controller writes setting information corresponding to at least one preset mode of the preset display device into a storage device; and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user
In the same field of endeavor, LIN discloses system and method for adjusting setting of external display (see abstract); LIN discloses the controller writes setting information corresponding to at least one preset mode of the preset display device into a storage device; (par 0050; discloses At step 404, the controller 316 of the computing device 304 may obtain a display setting for the external display device 302. In an example, the display setting may be a current display setting of an integrated display device (not shown) of the computing device 304. In another example, the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302. For example, the controller 316 may obtain the display setting from a memory, such as a non-volatile memory of the computing device 304. In an example, the NVM may be a random-access memory (RAM) of a firmware, such as Basic Input/Output System (BIOS)); and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user (par 0050; discloses the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal to incorporate the teachings of LIN to store the pre-defined setting information in a memory such that pre-defined settings may be accessed quickly and transmitted to the external display for automatically changing the settings of the external display based on device identification and user preferences.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948) and Whitby-Strevens et al (US Pub 2012/0299939).
With respect to claim 3, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the first identification information of the first device from the first device comprises: utilizing an auxiliary channel to write the first identification information into a storage from the signal source device (Aggarwal; par 0051; discloses Device signature manager 402 may receive identification information 210 via one or more port(s) 110 of switching device 104. For example, where port(s) 110 comprise HDMI ports, identification information 210 may be received over one or more control signal lines of an HDMI cable coupled to one of port(s) 110. In some further examples, identification information may EDID associated with one or more coupled devices. Implementations, however, are not limited to receiving identification information 210 via an HDMI cable or as EDID, and may include receiving identification information in any other manner via any suitable multimedia cable);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose write the first identification information into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses DisplayPort control and data register (see abstract); Whitby-Strevens discloses write the first identification information into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit (par 0037; the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes DisplayPort control and data registers 430. These registers are specific to DisplayPort, therefore they are connected to the auxiliary data input 412 rather than the I.sup.2C bus 414. In other embodiments of the present invention, the DisplayPort control and data registers 430 are coupled to the I.sup.2C bus 414. These registers may include information regarding the manufacture and model, as well as information regarding software and firmware revisions. Information regarding the source or host devices, sink or display devices, and branches or adapters, may be included.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to store identification data into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register in order to quickly retrieve stored identification data for authentication and use information for work around errors, employ enhancements, report errors, and test compliance.
With respect to claim 4, Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (I2C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the at least one display device from the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses an adapter connected between a host and a display (par 0035; discloses FIG. 4 illustrates circuitry that may be employed by an adapter or display according to an embodiment of the present invention. Again, with these newer DisplayPort displays, an auxiliary channel is used to communicate support information between a host and a display); Whitby-Strevens discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (I2C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the at least one display device from the DP hub circuit (par 0035; discloses the current extended display identification data circuitry sends and receives data using the I.sup.2C protocol. Accordingly, the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes an auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410. The auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410 provides and receives auxiliary channel signals on lines 412 and provides and receives I.sup.2C signals on line 414. Specifically, the auxiliary channel signals on line 412 employ a tunneling protocol, that is, I.sup.2C signals are sent using auxiliary channel compatible signaling. The extended device identification circuitry 420 provides information regarding supported resolutions, refresh rates, as well as other information. The extended device identification circuitry 420 may also employ I.sup.2C registers 440);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to use I2C bus to communicate data between the connecting device and the display device such that improved data transfers are achieved between the connecting device and the display device.
With respect to claim 9, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the first identification information of the first device from the first device comprises: utilizing an auxiliary channel to transmit the first identification information to the signal source device from the DP hub circuit ((Aggarwal; par 0051; discloses Device signature manager 402 may receive identification information 210 via one or more port(s) 110 of switching device 104. For example, where port(s) 110 comprise HDMI ports, identification information 210 may be received over one or more control signal lines of an HDMI cable coupled to one of port(s) 110. In some further examples, identification information may EDID associated with one or more coupled devices. Implementations, however, are not limited to receiving identification information 210 via an HDMI cable or as EDID, and may include receiving identification information in any other manner via any suitable multimedia cable);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose transmit the first identification information to the signal source device from a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses DisplayPort control and data register (see abstract); Whitby-Strevens discloses storing the first identification information into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit (par 0037; the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes DisplayPort control and data registers 430. These registers are specific to DisplayPort, therefore they are connected to the auxiliary data input 412 rather than the I.sup.2C bus 414. In other embodiments of the present invention, the DisplayPort control and data registers 430 are coupled to the I.sup.2C bus 414. These registers may include information regarding the manufacture and model, as well as information regarding software and firmware revisions. Information regarding the source or host devices, sink or display devices, and branches or adapters, may be included.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to store identification data into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register in order to quickly retrieve stored identification data for authentication and use information for work around errors, employ enhancements, report errors, and test compliance.
With respect to claim 10, Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (12C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the DP hub circuit from the at least one display device, to transmit the second identification information to the signal source device via the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses an adapter connected between a host and a display (par 0035; discloses FIG. 4 illustrates circuitry that may be employed by an adapter or display according to an embodiment of the present invention. Again, with these newer DisplayPort displays, an auxiliary channel is used to communicate support information between a host and a display); Whitby-Strevens discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (12C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the DP hub circuit from the at least one display device, to transmit the second identification information to the signal source device via the DP hub circuit; (par 0035; discloses the current extended display identification data circuitry sends and receives data using the I.sup.2C protocol. Accordingly, the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes an auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410. The auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410 provides and receives auxiliary channel signals on lines 412 and provides and receives I.sup.2C signals on line 414. Specifically, the auxiliary channel signals on line 412 employ a tunneling protocol, that is, I.sup.2C signals are sent using auxiliary channel compatible signaling. The extended device identification circuitry 420 provides information regarding supported resolutions, refresh rates, as well as other information. The extended device identification circuitry 420 may also employ I.sup.2C registers 440);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to use I2C bus to communicate data between the connecting device and the display device such that improved data transfers are achieved between the connecting device and the display device.
With respect to claim 13, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the first identification information of the first device from the first device comprises: utilizing an auxiliary channel to write the first identification information DP hub circuit from the signal source device, in order to make the at least one display device to obtain the first identification information from the DP hub circuit ((Aggarwal; par 0051; discloses Device signature manager 402 may receive identification information 210 via one or more port(s) 110 of switching device 104. For example, where port(s) 110 comprise HDMI ports, identification information 210 may be received over one or more control signal lines of an HDMI cable coupled to one of port(s) 110. In some further examples, identification information may EDID associated with one or more coupled devices. Implementations, however, are not limited to receiving identification information 210 via an HDMI cable or as EDID, and may include receiving identification information in any other manner via any suitable multimedia cable);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose write the first identification information into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses DisplayPort control and data register (see abstract); Whitby-Strevens discloses storing the first identification information into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit (par 0037; the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes DisplayPort control and data registers 430. These registers are specific to DisplayPort, therefore they are connected to the auxiliary data input 412 rather than the I.sup.2C bus 414. In other embodiments of the present invention, the DisplayPort control and data registers 430 are coupled to the I.sup.2C bus 414. These registers may include information regarding the manufacture and model, as well as information regarding software and firmware revisions. Information regarding the source or host devices, sink or display devices, and branches or adapters, may be included.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to store identification data into a DP configuration data (DPCD) register in order to quickly retrieve stored identification data for authentication and use information for work around errors, employ enhancements, report errors, and test compliance.
With respect to claim 14, Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (12C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the at least one display device from a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit;
In the same field of endeavor, Whitby-Strevens discloses an adapter connected between a host and a display (par 0035; discloses FIG. 4 illustrates circuitry that may be employed by an adapter or display according to an embodiment of the present invention. Again, with these newer DisplayPort displays, an auxiliary channel is used to communicate support information between a host and a display); Whitby-Strevens discloses wherein an operation of utilizing the third device to obtain the second identification information of the second device from the second device comprises: utilizing an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) over auxiliary channel (12C-over-AUX channel) to transmit the second identification information to the at least one display device from a DP configuration data (DPCD) register of the DP hub circuit;
(par 0035; discloses the current extended display identification data circuitry sends and receives data using the I.sup.2C protocol. Accordingly, the circuitry in FIG. 4 includes an auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410. The auxiliary-to-I.sup.2C translator 410 provides and receives auxiliary channel signals on lines 412 and provides and receives I.sup.2C signals on line 414. Specifically, the auxiliary channel signals on line 412 employ a tunneling protocol, that is, I.sup.2C signals are sent using auxiliary channel compatible signaling. The extended device identification circuitry 420 provides information regarding supported resolutions, refresh rates, as well as other information. The extended device identification circuitry 420 may also employ I.sup.2C registers 440);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Whitby-Strevens to use I2C bus to communicate data between the connecting device and the display device such that improved data transfers are achieved between the connecting device and the display device.
Claim(s) 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948) and Kaplanis et al (US Pub 2024/0021175).
With respect to claim 5, Aggarwal as modified by LIN disclose wherein an operation of utilizing the storage device to store the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode comprises: utilizing a display data USB interface to transmit the setting information to the DP hub circuit from the at least one display device, in order to write the setting information into the storage device via the DP hub circuit (LIN; par 0051; discloses upon receiving the display setting from the controller 316, the PD controller 318 may transmit the display setting to the external display device 302 via a PD protocol. For example, the PD controller 318 may embed the display setting in a PD protocol-based message and transmit the PD protocol-based message to the external display device 302; see par 0017 as well);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose utilizing a display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit the information;
In the same field of endeavor, Kaplanis discloses system and method for displaying contents (see abstract); Kaplanis discloses utilizing a display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit the information to the at least one display device (par 0028; discloses the communication link may be implemented according to cable port specifications used to convey data to the display device 100. Some examples of cable port specifications include Display Data Channel Command Interface (DDCCI) communication via virtual control panel (VCP) on DisplayPort cables);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Kaplanis to use display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit information between devices in order to achieve the same predictable result of transmitting the stored display setting between devices.
With respect to claim 11, Aggarwal as modified by LIN disclose wherein an operation of utilizing the storage device to store the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode comprises: utilizing a multimedia cables to transmit the setting information to the DP hub circuit from the at least one display device, in order to transmit the setting information to the signal source device via the DP hub circuit; and utilizing the signal source device to write the setting information into the storage (Aggarwal; par 0032; discloses source media devices 102A and/or sink media device(s) 102B may be coupled to AV port(s) 110 via a multimedia cable such as an HDMI cable 108. It is noted, however, that implementations are not limited to coupling devices as shown in FIG. 1 using an HDMI cable, but may comprise other types of multimedia cables, including standard definition cables, coaxial cables, USB (Universal Serial Bus) cables, Digital Video Interface (DVI) cables, DisplayPort interface cables, and wireless AV interfaces. Port(s) 110 may be further configured to receive identification data 108A via the cable 108);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose utilizing a display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit the information;
In the same field of endeavor, Kaplanis discloses system and method for displaying contents (see abstract); Kaplanis discloses utilizing a display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit the information to the at least one display device (par 0028; discloses the communication link may be implemented according to cable port specifications used to convey data to the display device 100. Some examples of cable port specifications include Display Data Channel Command Interface (DDCCI) communication via virtual control panel (VCP) on DisplayPort cables);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Kaplanis to use display data channel command interface (DDCCI) to transmit information between devices in order to achieve the same predictable result of transmitting the stored display setting between devices.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948) and CHIEN et al (US Pub 2021/0048859).
With respect to claim 16, Aggarwal as modified by LIN discloses wherein the at least one preset mode comprises multiple preset modes, the setting information comprise multiple sets of setting information respectively corresponding to the multiple preset modes, (LIN; par 0022; discloses the display setting may include, but are not limited to, a brightness setting, a sharpness setting, and a language setting, In an example, the controller 206 may receive the display setting of the external display device 204 from a memory (not shown) of the computing device 200.);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose an operation of utilizing the third device to apply the setting information stored in the storage device to the at least one display device for switching the at least one display device to the at least one preset mode comprises: selecting a set of setting information to be applied to the at least one display device from the multiple sets of setting information according to operations of a physical button of the third device or a hot key of the third device, to enable a user to control the at least one display device to switch among the multiple preset modes via the operations of the physical button or the hotkey;
In the same field of endeavor, CHIEN discloses system and method for connecting a first device with second device (see abstract); CHEIN discloses selecting a set of setting information to be applied to the at least one display device from the multiple sets of setting information according to operations of a physical button of the third device or a hot key of the third device, to enable a user to control the at least one display device to switch among the multiple preset modes via the operations of the physical button or the hotkey (par 0048; discloses the user may manipulate the user interface device 302 to issue a mode setting command, or may issue instructions to the user interface device 302 by using voice control approach, so that the user interface device 302 generates a corresponding mode setting command. In this situation, the command interface 310 transmits the mode setting command generated by the user interface device 302 to the control circuit 140, and the control circuit 140 adjusts the method of selecting the candidate operation mode from the first data section 210 or the second data section 220 according to the mode setting command issued from the user. Par 0046; discloses the user interface device 302 may be realized with various devices that allow a user to input setting commands, such as a button, a switch, a keyboard, a touching panel, a voice control device, or the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of CHIEN to use a physical button as a user interface to provide command to select one preset mode among plurality of preset mode in order to provide the user with an easy way to switch among plurality of preset mode just by pressing the button.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948) and Ogura et al (US Pub 2004/0095292).
With respect to claim 17, Aggarwal as modified by LIN wherein the at least one display device comprises multiple display devices, (Aggarwal; par 0031; discloses Sink media device(s) 102B may include sink devices configured to receive audio and/or video signals, such as a display device. As used herein, a sink device may also comprise one or more other devices, such as a media device hub that may act as an intermediate device by receiving audio and/or video content from a source device and provide such content to another device (e.g., a TV) for playback; par 0047 as well);
Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose an operation of utilizing the third device to apply the setting information stored in the storage device to the at least one display device to switch the at least one display device to the at least one preset mode comprises: applying the setting information to the multiple display devices, in order to make all of the multiple display devices operate in the at least one preset mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Ogura discloses information processing apparatus and display switching method (see abstract); Ogura discloses an operation of utilizing the third device to apply the setting information stored in the storage device to the at least one display device to switch the at least one display device to the at least one preset mode comprises: applying the setting information to the multiple display devices, in order to make all of the multiple display devices operate in the at least one preset mode (par 0023; discloses FIG. 1 shows operations and the switching procedure when the presentation button is allocated a function of switching from the sole display mode in which the LCD as the internal display device is solely driven to display an image to the simultaneous display mode in which the same image is displayed on two or more display devices);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Ogura to simultaneously apply the preset setting to plurality of displays in order to present content similarly across plurality of displays during sharing or collaboration.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US Pub 2019/0230318) in view of LIN et al (US Pub 2023/0133948), Suzuki et al (US Pub 2023/0393560) and Kizawa (US Pat 7,634,801).
With respect to claim 18, Aggarwal as modified by LIN don’t expressly disclose wherein the storage device is an external storage device equipped with a universal serial bus (USB) interface or a memory card equipped with a wireless radio frequency (RF) identification (RFID) function;
In the same field of endeavor, Suzuki discloses a control device and control method wherein the storage device is an external storage device equipped with a universal serial bus (USB) interface (par 0029; discloses Control programs or various settings data, for example, to be used for the control of the controlled objects 3a and 3b are read from the external equipment 72. Control programs and settings data edited in the control device 1 may be stored in external storage media such as a CF card or USB memory (not shown) via the external equipment 72);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki to store the setting data in an external storage such that setting data are safely stored in an external storage and memory requirement of third device is reduced;
Aggarwal as modified by LIN and Suzuki don’t expressly disclose wherein the storage device is a memory card equipped with a wireless radio frequency (RF) identification (RFID) function;
Kizawa discloses an electronic device and control method where the storage device is a memory card equipped with a wireless radio frequency (RF) identification (RFID) function (col 3; lines 32-54; discloses Multifunction machine 100 has RFID controller 206 that detects contents (data) stored in memory card 300 over a radio (through a wireless wave). When RFID controller 206 radiates a magnetic field toward memory card 300, the returned magnetic field includes effects (information) based on the contents stored in memory card 300. RFID controller 206 detects the contents stored in memory card 300 from the returned magnetic field);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal as modified by LIN and Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Kizawa to store the setting data in a memory card accessible via RFID in order to allow device to wireless access the setting data from the external storage while reducing the memory requirement of third device;
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 1, 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and do not put the application in condition for allowance.
With respect to claim 1, 19 and 20, applicants representative argued that Aggarwal in view of LIN fails to disclose wherein the first preset device or the second preset device is owned by a user, and the setting information corresponding to the at least one preset mode is set by the user;
However examiner respectfully disagree, Aggarwal discloses automated identification of devices and control method where plurality of sink devices and source device are connected to a switching device (see fig. 1); Aggarwal discloses changing the setting of the devices based on the identification (see par 0039); further Aggarwal discloses the sink device may be television, a monitor, a projector etc. (see par 0025) and the method may be implanted on home electronics (see par 0101); Hence the first preset device or the second preset device may be owned by a user and operated in the house of the user.
Further discloses system and method for adjusting the setting of the device where the setting may be setting information set by the user (par 0050; discloses In another example, the display setting may be a pre-defined display setting. A user may access an interface of the computing device 304 to define the display setting of the external display device 302);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Aggarwal in incorporate the teachings of LIN to allow user define user preferred setting and adjust device setting to reflect user setting in order to allow user to customize the device based on their personal preferences. Hence the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624