DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 14-16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronald Bedro et al. U.S. Patent 5,220,660 B1 (Bedro).
Regarding claim 1, Bedro discloses a method comprising: pivoting an armrest coupled to a bench seat of a vehicle from a stowed configuration to a deployed configuration (Figure 1 and 2 Element 28, 38), wherein the armrest is within a recess of a seatback of the bench seat while in the stowed configuration and disposed outside of the recess when in the deployed configuration; extending a panel assembly from a side of the armrest; and supporting a load on the panel assembly while extended from the side of the armrest (Figure 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Bedro discloses the method wherein extending the panel assembly from the side of the armrest includes extending the panel assembly from the armrest in a direction toward a side of the vehicle to be disposed over a side seat cushion of the bench seat (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Bedro discloses the method further comprising: extending the panel assembly from a second side of the armrest; and supporting the load on the panel assembly while extended from the second side of the armrest (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Bedro discloses the method further comprising releasably securing the armrest in a first position when pivoted relative to the seatback (Column 3 Line 36-62).
Regarding claim 9, Bedro discloses an armrest for a bench seat of a vehicle, comprising: a body having a rear end configured to be pivotally coupled to a seatback of the bench seat (Figure 1 and 2 Element 28, 38), a front end opposite the rear end, and sides therebetween, wherein the body is configured to be pivotable between at least a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration while pivotably coupled to the seatback, wherein the body is disposed within a recess of the seatback while in the stowed configuration and disposed outside of the recess when in the deployed configuration; and a panel assembly slidably coupled with the body by a rail assembly, wherein the panel assembly is configured to extend and retract from at least one of the sides of the body and to support a load thereon while extended from the at least one of the sides of the body (Figure 3-5, Element 116 and 118 with Element 34 extend and pivot from the sides).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Bedro discloses the armrest wherein the panel assembly is configured to extend from both of the sides of the body (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Bedro discloses the armrest wherein the rear end of the body includes a pivoting joint that is configured to be pivotably coupled to the seatback and releasably securable in more than one position when pivoted relative to the seatback (Element 36).
Regarding claim 16, Bedro discloses a vehicle, comprising: a bench seat having a first seat cushion, a second seat cushion, a middle seat cushion between the first seat cushion and the second seat cushion, and a seatback for supporting an occupant's back while seated in the first seat cushion, the second seat cushion, or the middle seat cushion; and an armrest comprising (Figure 1 and 2): a body having a rear end pivotally coupled to the seatback of the bench seat, a front end opposite the rear end, and sides therebetween, wherein the body is configured to be pivotable between at least a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration, wherein the body is disposed within a recess of the seatback while in the stowed configuration and disposed outside of the recess when in the deployed configuration (Element 28 and 38); and a panel assembly slidably coupled with the body by a rail assembly, wherein the panel assembly is configured to extend and retract from at least one of the sides of the body and to support a load thereon while extended from the at least one of the sides of the body, wherein the panel assembly is configured to extend from the at least one of the sides of the body in directions toward and away from sides of the vehicle and to be disposed over the first seat cushion of the second seat cushion (Figure 3-5 Element 116 and 118).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 10-13, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636