DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending (claim set as filed on 01/24/2025).
Priority
This application is a DIV of application no.: 17/503,647 (now U.S. Patent no. 12,239,738 B2), which is a DIV of application no.: 16/647,977 (now U.S. Patent no. 11,179,339 B2), which is a 371 of PCT/US2018/048586 filed on 08/29/2018, which has a provisional application no.: 62/560,318 filed on 09/19/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed in this application. Applicant is reminded that each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability (see 37 C.F.R. §1.56).
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/24/2025 have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101, Subject Matter Eligibility
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are drawn to ineligible subject matter (based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
STEP 1: Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter?
YES, the claims are directed to a process of preparing a frozen Listeria for lyophilization, comprising thawing the frozen Listeria strain at a temperature between about 20-37°C.
Note that the claims are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard. The lyophilization is an intended purpose and not a step that is required to practiced or exercised.
STEP 2A: PRONG ONE: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
YES, the claims recite at least one judicially recognized exception(s) of: laws of nature, natural phenomena, and/or products of nature.
The MPEP 2106.04(b) states “Laws of nature and natural phenomena, as identified by the courts, include naturally occurring principles/relations and nature-based products that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature”.
The judicial exceptions of base claim 1 are:
product of nature: the Listeria strain is a naturally occurring microorganism.
natural phenomena: the act or step of “thawing” is a naturally occurring process in nature dependent upon the environmental conditions.
PRONG TWO: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
NO, the exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The additional elements or a combination of elements in the claims does not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. For example, the claims stop after the judicial exception and thus, it does not apply or use the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (see Vanda Memo).
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
NO, the claimed invention is directed to laws of nature, natural phenomena, and/or products of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) does recite temperature ranges and thawing duration. However, these additional elements do not pose a meaningful limit on the judicial exceptions because the ranges are naturally occurring conditions in nature. Further, the step of thawing is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity.
Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. The claim here does not invoke any of the considerations that courts have identified as providing significantly more than the exception. Therefore, when the additional elements are viewed as an ordered combination, they are not deemed to add meaningful limits on the use of the exception.
Therefore, the claims, as a whole, are considered as processes directed to judicially recognized exceptions without amounting to significantly more from what occurs in nature and thus, are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102, Anticipation
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sweeney (US 2006/0121053 A1).
Sweeney’s general disclosure relates to fed-batch methods for bioreactor production of high cell densities of Listeria which may be used as whole cells in vaccines (see ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claims 1-5, Sweeney teaches “A 1 mL vial of Listeria was thawed from -80°C into 50-100 mLs of inoculum expansion medium in a 500 mL vented-cap shake flask. This culture was expanded overnight in a shaker/incubator at 37°C and 200 RPM” (see ¶ [0167]-[0168]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, Obviousness
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney as applied to the claims above, and in view of Deb (US 2018/0363002 A1).
Sweeney is taught above as it pertains to a method of thawing a Listeria strain.
Regarding the Listeria strain, Sweeny teaches any Listeria strain whether naturally occurring or recombinant may be used (see ¶ [0012]). Sweeney teaches Listeria monocytogenes (see ¶ [0003], [0020], [0029], [0064], [0185]).
However, Sweeny does not teach: wherein the frozen Listeria strain is thawed in a formulation comprising a buffer and sucrose at 1-5% (claims 6-9 and 13).
Deb’s general disclosure relates to preparations that exhibit improved transducing capabilities and storage stability (see ¶ [0001]).
Regarding the thawing, Deb teaches the aqueous composition “maintains a concentration after 3 freeze/thaw cycles of from about 70% to about 100% relative to the concentration of said lentiviral vector in said aqueous composition prior to said freeze/thaw cycles, wherein each of said freeze/thaw cycles comprises freezing said aqueous composition and subsequently allowing said aqueous composition to thaw at room temperature” (see ¶ [0022] and claim 44). Deb further teaches “the mixture can remain frozen, e.g., for a period of one or more days, weeks, months, or years prior to thawing. The thawing step can be performed by exposing the mixture to conditions in which the temperature is from about 2°C to about 8°C., or by storing the mixture at room temperature (e.g., the ambient temperature of a laboratory, or about 25° C.). Alternatively, thawing can take place by use of a water bath (e.g., at 37°C)” (see ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claim 6-9 pertaining to the buffer and sucrose, Deb teaches an aqueous composition that comprises a buffer and a carbohydrate selected from sucrose at a concentration of from about 1-10%, or in particular, 2.5% sucrose by weight per volume of the aqueous composition (see ¶ [0010]-[0012]). Deb teaches a buffer selected from the group consisting of a phosphate buffer, a sodium citrate, et. al. (see ¶ [0022], [0031]).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 13 pertaining to the formulation being free of rHSA, Deb teaches the aqueous compositions are free of one or more proteins selected from the group consisting of human serum albumin (HSA), recombinant human serum albumin (rHSA) (see ¶ [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to thaw in a formulation comprising a buffer and sucrose such as taught by Deb in the method of Sweeney. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Deb teaches an aqueous composition comprising a buffer and sucrose that offers storage stability. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references are directed to thawing and lyophilization of biological products.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10-11, and 22-23 of U.S. Patent no. 11,179,339 B2 (parent application no. 16/647,977). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘339 are the narrower claims that anticipate the broader instant claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, patent ‘339 teaches a method for producing a lyophilized composition comprising a Listeria strain, comprising thawing a frozen Listeria strain in a formulation comprising a buffer and sucrose (see claims 1 and 4 of patent ‘339).
Regarding claims 2-3 pertaining to the temperature, patent ‘339 teaches the frozen Listeria strain is thawed at about 20-37°C (see claim 6 of patent ‘339).
Regarding claims 4-5 pertaining to the thawing duration, patent ‘339 teaches wherein the frozen Listeria strain is thawed for no more than 8 hours and/or wherein the frozen Listeria strain is held at about 2-8°C for no more than 24 hours after thawing (see claim 7 of patent ‘339).
Regarding claims 7-9 pertaining to the sucrose amount, patent ‘339 teaches wherein the formulation comprises about 1-5% w/v sucrose, about 2-3% w/v sucrose, or about 2.5% w/v sucrose (see claim 10 of patent ‘339).
Regarding claims 10-13 pertaining to the formulation components, patent ‘339 teaches wherein the Listeria strain is a recombinant Listeria monocytogenes strain, and wherein the buffer is a phosphate buffer, and wherein the formulation comprises about 2-3% w/v sucrose, and wherein the formulation does not comprise trehalose, MSG, or rHSA (see claims 11 and 22-23 of patent ‘339).
Conclusion
No claims were allowed.
Correspondence Information
/NGHI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653