DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to McCanless (U.S. Patent 10,253,956 B2) remains commensurate to the scope of the claims as stated by the Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded upon below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning the amended limitation, “a holding element configured to accommodate the LED-populated board and comprising a first portion configured to interface with at least one mounting platform of the luminaire, the holding element is brought into a position where at least one fixing element of the luminaire at least partially overlaps with the holding element and the light source is fixed to the luminaire by the at least one fixing element,” it should be noted that McCanless discloses a holding element (6) configured to accommodate the LED-populated board (4) and comprising a first portion (20) configured to interface with at least one mounting platform of the luminaire [e.g., (11, 13)], the holding element is brought into a position where at least one fixing element of the luminaire [e.g., (22)] at least partially overlaps with the holding element and the light source (3-4) is fixed by the at least one fixing element [note Figure 10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCanless (U.S. Patent 10,253,956 B2).
With regards to Claim 1, McCanless discloses a light source (3-4) configured for installation in a luminaire [Figures 1-16], the light source including
A light-emitting diode (LED)-populated board (4); and
A holding element (6) configured to accommodate the LED-populated board (4) and comprising a first portion (20) configured to interface with at least one mounting platform of the luminaire [e.g., (8, 11, 13)] such that, by sliding the holding element on the at least one mounting platform of the luminaire, the holding element is brought into a position where at least one fixing element of the luminaire [e.g., (22)] at least partially overlaps with the holding element and the light source (3-4) is fixed by the at least one fixing element [note Figure 10].
With regards to Claim 3, McCanless discloses the light source (3-4) is configured as a linear light source [note Figures 1-16].
With regards to Claim 8, McCanless discloses a luminaire [Figure 1] configured to receive the light source (3-4), the luminaire including the at least one fixing element (22); and the at least one mounting platform (8, 11, 13).
With regards to Claim 9, McCanless discloses the light source (3-4) is configured as a linear light source [note Figures 1-16]; and the at least one fixing element includes a plurality of fixing elements (22) distributed along at least one longitudinal edge of the light source [note Figures 1-16].
With regards to Claim 10, McCanless discloses the luminaire further including a stop member [e.g., (24, 40, 42, 44, 50)] configured for limiting a sliding path of the holding element (6) of the light source.
With regards to Claim 11, McCanless discloses the stop member (24) configured as a spring clip or elastic band and includes: a first end configured to be fixed to the at least one mounting platform (8, 11, 13); and a second end configured to accommodate a longitudinal end of the light source (3-4) [note Figure 12].
With regards to Claim 12, McCanless discloses a fixing pin [e.g., (12, 14, and/or 24)] configured to fix the LED-populated board in the luminaire [note Figures 12-13].
With regards to Claim 13, McCanless discloses the fixing pin includes at least one barb [e.g., (12, 14, and/or 24)].
With regards to Claim 14, McCanless discloses the LED-populated board includes a printed circuit board (PCB) (4).
With regards to Claim 15, McCanless discloses in being configured to accommodate the LED-populated board (4), the holding element (6) further includes a second portion (16) which interfaces with the LED-populated board, wherein the second portion is positioned opposite the first portion (20) [note Figure 5].
With regards to Claim 16, McCanless discloses the second portion (16) at least partially overlaps a surface of the LED-populated board (4).
With regards to Claim 17, McCanless discloses the first portion (20) being of greater transverse width than the second portion (16) [note Figure 10].
With regards to Claim 18, McCanless discloses the first portion (20) includes at least one recess (20) configured for receiving the at least one fixing element of the luminaire (22).
With regards to Claim 19, McCanless discloses the first portion (20) further includes at least one channel feature adjacent the at least one recess feature [note Figures 1-16].
With regards to Claim 20, McCanless discloses the holding element (6) is interfaced with the at least one mounting platform (8, 11, 13), the at least one fixing element (22) is slidably inserted into the at least one recess feature and moved along within the at least one channel feature (20).
With regards to Claim 21, McCanless discloses the holding element (6) extends along at least a portion of a longitudinal length of the LED-populated board (4).
With regards to Claim 22, McCanless discloses the holding element (6) extends along substantially all the length of the LED-populated board (4).
With regards to Claim 23, McCanless discloses the holding element (6) is at least partially constructed from a metal [Column 6, Lines 65-66].
With regards to Claim 24, McCanless discloses the at least one fixing element includes a plurality of fixing elements (22); and the first portion includes a plurality of recess features (20) located along at least one longitudinal edge of the holding element (6) and configured to receive the plurality of fixing elements when installing the light source in the luminaire [note Figures 1-16].
With regards to Claim 25, McCanless discloses the at least one fixing element includes a plurality of fixing elements (22); and the first portion includes a plurality of recess features (20) located along at least two longitudinal edges of the holding element (6) and configured to receive the plurality of fixing elements when installing the light source in the luminaire [note Figures 1-16].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
April 4, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875