DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 1, and 18 is/are allowable over Yamada et al. (US-20180043923-A1), Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1), hereinafter referred to as Okada, Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1), Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1), Klingström et al. (US-20160216761-A1), Hsia (US-20140136054-A1), De Rocha Rosario et al. (US-20240144822-A1), Othmer et al. (US-20260021832-A1) and Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1). Applicant continues, the cited references either individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the aforementioned features recited in amended independent claims 1 and 18. Yamada discloses displaying a host vehicle icon together with nearby vehicle icons on a display, receiving gesture operations on the displayed icons, and issuing commands corresponding to the gesture operations, such as following travel, lane changes, target speed changes, and inter-vehicle distance changes. See, e.g., Yamada, paragraphs [0006]-[0009], [0072]-[0082], [0085]-[0094]. Yamada, however, does not disclose executing a predetermined processing related to a function of the vehicle according to the operation, the predetermined processing being selected based on an image of a plurality of images displayed on the display on which the operation is received, wherein each of the plurality of images is associated with at least one function of the vehicle, as now recited in claims 1 and 18. Rather, in Yamada, the gesture itself specifies the driving command to be issued. For example, Yamada describes dragging a host vehicle icon to a nearby vehicle icon to issue a following instruction ([0090]-[0094]), dragging the host vehicle icon to a nearby vehicle in another lane to issue a lane change instruction ([0087]), and changing a distance between the host vehicle icon and a nearby vehicle icon to issue an inter-vehicle distance change instruction or a target speed change instruction ([0088]). Furthermore, the claimed subject matter now requires the processor to be configured to change a setting of a lane deviation prevention function in response to a touch operation on an image of a vehicle lane boundary line, change a setting of an automatic headlight control function in response to a touch operation on a front end of the ego vehicle image, set a peripheral vehicle as a leading vehicle in response to a touch operation on a peripheral vehicle image during operation of a leading vehicle following function, and set a touched position as a parking position during operation of a parking assist function. Yamada does not disclose or suggest these additional features. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Yamada fails to disclose or suggest at least the aforementioned features recited in amended independent claims 1 and 18.
4. However, contrary to the Applicant’s assertion, Yamada discloses executing a predetermined processing related to a function of the vehicle according to the operation, the predetermined processing being selected based on an image of a plurality of images displayed on the display on which the operation is received, wherein each of the plurality of images is associated with at least one function of the vehicle. Yamada, in previously cited paragraph [0077] discloses “detection unit 40 periodically detects the host vehicle position information, the host vehicle traveling road information, and the host vehicle peripheral information, and outputs the information to automatic driving controller 20 (P15). Automatic driving controller 20 determines whether or not control instructed by the command issued from HMI controller 10 is executable (P16), based on the information.” Examiner asserts, the command issued from HMI is the predetermined processing. The HMI issues the instruction command based on the input form the HMI, which is the operation received from the HMI/display. While Applicant asserts in Yamada, the gesture itself specifies the driving command to be issued, Applicant’s disclosure teaches the same subject matter. According to relevant Fig. 9 and paragraph [0074] of Applicant’s disclosure “acceleration may be performed when a slide operation has been received at the ego vehicle image 30 in the progression direction (upward in Fig. 9), or deceleration may be performed when a slide operation has been received thereon in a rearward direction (downward in Fig. 9).” That is, also issuing a command based on the gesture. Examiner asserts operations include swipe, pinch-out, pinch-in, multitouch, rotation, drag and drop, etc. While Applicant asserts Yamada does not disclose or suggest these additional features, those additional features were rejected in the Non-Final Office Action by combining Yamada and the other cited prior art. Applicant has not provided any reasons or rationale as why the combination of the cited prior art (separately, or in any combination) fails to teach, suggest, or provide a rationale for obviousness of each and every element of the rejected claims. Accordingly, Applicant only provides conclusory statements. Applicant is referred to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section for the rejection of independent claim 1. Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above in regard to claim 1.
5. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
6. Applicant argues the dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of its/their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claim(s).
7. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Examiner Notes
8. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 16, and 18
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1) and further in view of Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1) and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Yamada discloses an onboard device, comprising a memory, and a processor coupled to the memory and to a display provided in a vehicle, the processor being configured to (See at least Fig. 1, and [0056 & 0070]: Vehicle 1 (a host vehicle) [i.e., a vehicle] with an automatic driving mode includes driving support device (human-machine interface (HMI) controller) 10 [i.e., an onboard device] and display device 30 [i.e., a display provided in a vehicle]. As the hardware resources, a processor [i.e., a processor], a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM) [i.e., a memory] are used):
display an ego vehicle image depicting the vehicle together with a peripheral monitoring image on the display based on a detection result detecting a target at a periphery of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 7, and [0083 & 0093]: automatic driving controller 20 periodically detects the host vehicle position information, the host vehicle traveling road information, and the host vehicle peripheral information from detection unit 40 [i.e., based on a detection result detecting a target at a periphery of the vehicle]. A host vehicle icon V1 [i.e., an ego vehicle image depicting the vehicle] and a nearby vehicle icon V2 are displayed on the same lane. As display forms of the host vehicle, the nearby vehicle, and a peripheral situation including a road [i.e., with a peripheral monitoring image], various display forms are considered. A real photographed image, a fine CG image, or an animation image is used);
receive an operation of an occupant of the vehicle at the display (See at least Figs. 1, and [0072]: input-output unit 14 includes image output unit 14a, operation signal input unit 14b, command output unit 14c, and vehicle information input unit 14d. Image output unit 14a outputs an image generated by image generation unit 12 to display unit 31. Operation signal input unit 14b receives an operation signal that is input from input unit 32 by an operation of a driver, a passenger [i.e., receive an operation of an occupant of the vehicle at the display], or a user outside the vehicle, and outputs the operation signal to determination unit 11); and
execute a predetermined processing related to a function of the vehicle according to the operation (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0077]: automatic driving controller 20 calculates a specific control value for controlling driving operation unit 50 that performs the issued command [i.e., execute a predetermined processing] by applying various parameter values collected from detection unit 40 or various ECUs to an automatic driving algorithm, and transfers the control value to the ECU or controller of each control target [i.e., related to a function of the vehicle at each section of the vehicle according to the operation], the control value being an automatic control target such as a traveling direction of vehicle 1 or the like. Driving operation unit 50 operates based on the specific control value),
wherein the predetermined processing is selected according to an image on the display on which the operation is received, the display including a plurality of images each associated with at least one function of the vehicle (See at least Figs. 8-16 and [0097 & 0102 & 0109]: Fig. 9 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 8. In a case where a driver to travel following a nearby vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 9, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2, and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 9, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a following instruction command is issued, and as illustrated in (c) of Fig. 9, a following icon F1 indicating that the host vehicle is traveling following the nearby vehicle is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Fig. 12 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowcharts of Fig. 10 and Fig. 11. In a case where a driver tries a nearby vehicle (following vehicle) to travel following host vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 12, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2, and as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 12, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a nearby vehicle following instruction command is issued, and when nearby vehicle following traveling is established, as illustrated in (c) of Fig 12, a following icon F1 indicating that the nearby vehicle is traveling following the host vehicle is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Fig. 16 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig 15. In a case where a driver is about to change the inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle and a nearby vehicle in following traveling, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 16, a driver touches two points on an imaginary line L1 between a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers. In this state, as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 16, when a driver pinches in the inter-vehicle distance, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for shortening the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. The inter-vehicle distance after change is determined according to the distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Examiner notes, the vehicles V1 and V2, and the lanes are the plurality of images on the display on which the operation is received. As mentioned above, receiving a touch gesture on an image initiates issuing an instruction command, which is the predetermined processing selected according to an image on the display. Accordingly, each image among the plurality of the images, is associated with at least one function of the vehicle, including setting the inter-distance between the vehicles or following a nearby vehicle),
wherein the processor is configured to (See at least [0070]: as the hardware resources, a processor [i.e., the processor] is used):
execute or change a setting of a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function that performs part or all of at least one of a vehicle operation or an operation assist (See at least Figs. 15-16 and [0109]: Fig. 16 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig 15. In a case where a driver is about to change the inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle and a nearby vehicle in following traveling, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 16, a driver touches two points on an imaginary line L1 between a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers. In this state, as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 16, when a driver pinches in the inter-vehicle distance, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for shortening the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. The inter-vehicle distance after change is determined according to the distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Examiner notes, setting or changing the inter-distance between the vehicles is executing or changing a setting of a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function that performs part or all of at least one of a vehicle operation or an operation assist. Keeping a specific distance between the vehicles is a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function);
in response to receiving a touch operation to a peripheral vehicle image representing a vehicle at the periphery of the vehicle during operation of a leading vehicle following function, set the peripheral vehicle corresponding to the touch operation as a leading vehicle for the vehicle to follow (See Figs. 8-9, and [0097]: Fig. 9 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 8. In a case where a driver to travel following a nearby vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 9, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2 [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to a peripheral vehicle image representing a vehicle at the periphery of the vehicle during operation of a leading vehicle following function], and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 9, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a following instruction command is issued, and as illustrated in (c) of Fig. 9, a following icon F1 indicating that the host vehicle is traveling following the nearby vehicle [i.e., set the peripheral vehicle corresponding to the touch operation as a leading vehicle for the vehicle to follow] is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2); and
Yamada is silent on change a setting of a lane deviation prevention function in response to receiving a touch operation to an image of a vehicle lane boundary line;
change a setting of an automatic headlight control function in response to receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image;
in response to receiving a touch operation to the display during operation of a parking assist function of the vehicle, set a position corresponding to the touch operation as a parking position of the vehicle in the parking assist function.
However, Lee teaches the target attribute determination device 130 determines a target attribute by considering surrounding environment information together, and recommend an avoidance or following control mode which the autonomous driving system is able to provide with respect to a target. Then, the control mode recommendation information is transmitted to the passenger interface device 110 through the processor 140. When the passenger finally selects a control mode through the passenger interface device 110, the autonomous driving controller 150 performs corresponding control. Fig. 4 illustrates one form in which a mode for avoiding a pothole by turning to the right on the screen of the passenger interface device 110. In this case, the “left avoidance mode” is deactivated due to recognition of a center lane or an obstacle (See at least Fig. 4, and [0055 & 0066]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 4 (reproduced and annotated below for Applicant’s convenience), the operator activates and deactivates right and left avoidance by touching the lane boundary lines. In Fig. 4, the operator is deactivating right avoidance to allow the vehicle to avoid the potholes. As such, Lee teaches changing a setting of a lane deviation prevention function by touching the lane boundary lines.
Figure 1 - Annotated Fig. 4 of Lee
Schmidtke teaches a method for displaying a graphic representation of a current setting of the headlight beam or beams on a variable graphic display device of the vehicle. The procedure includes capturing user operating information. The operating information includes a selection of a desired setting for the driver's front headlight beam [i.e., change a setting of an automatic headlight control function]. Depending on the recorded operating information, the vehicle's headlight beam is adjusted in a further process step. In parallel, the current setting of the headlight beam is displayed on the graphic display device. The graphical representation of the current setting of the headlight beam includes a schematic view of the vehicle from above on a roadway [i.e., the ego vehicle image], with the current setting of the headlight beam being visualized in such a way that the current beam in the area in front of the vehicle is highlighted. The operating information is captured by means of a touch-sensitive surface [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image] of the display device (See at least [0006-0009]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the graphical representation of the current setting of the headlight beam includes a schematic view of the vehicle from above, which changes the setting of the headlight. Receiving a touch operation on the graphical representation of the vehicle encompasses receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image.
Yamamoto teaches in the vehicle interior 2a, a display device 8 as a display output unit is provided. Further, the display device 8 is covered with a transparent operation input unit 10 such as a touch panel. The occupant can visually recognize the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8 through the operation input unit 10. Further, the occupant is able to execute an operation input through operations such as touching, pushing, or moving of the operation input unit 10 with a finger or the like at a position corresponding to the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8. Fig. 11 shows the display screen 66 displayed on the display device 8 at the time of periphery monitoring (parking assistance) request [i.e., a parking assist function of the vehicle]. Fig. 12 shows a state in which the display region changing unit 52 changes the area of the display region of the bird's-eye view image in accordance with the processing step at the time of executing the periphery monitoring and the bird's-eye view image screen 66b displays the second bird's-eye view image of which the display region is wider than that of the first bird's-eye view image. The display region is enlarged such that the plurality of target parking region candidates S for which the target region setting unit 38a searches can be displayed. The driver is able to select a target parking region at a desired position among the plurality of target parking region candidates S shown in the enlarged display region by operating the operation input unit 10 or the like. The notification unit 36 may display on the message screen 66c a message indicating the currently required operation content such as “Please touch a desired parking position on the left screen”. When a target region (target parking region) for moving the vehicle 1 is selected (determined) by the driver [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to the display during operation of a parking assist function of the vehicle] or the like through the operation input unit 10 (Yes in S112), the route acquisition unit 38b acquires the guidance route through which the vehicle 1 is able to most efficiently move, based on the current position of the vehicle 1 and the selected target region (S114) [i.e., set a position corresponding to the touch operation as a parking position of the vehicle in the parking assist function] (See at least Figs. 12, 15, and [0026 & 0074-0075 & 0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, by incorporating the teachings of, Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that right and left avoidance modes are activated and deactivated by touching the respective lane boundary lines and the setting of the headlight beam is displayed on the graphical display device and the operator accesses the setting of the headlight by touching the front end of the vehicle image and the touch panel provides a screen that allows the driver to choose a desired parking spot during the operation of the parking assistance, and sets the selected parking spot as the parking position.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Lee, to recognize a surrounding vehicle or an obstacle through a sensor and provide a driver with various convenience functions such as a lane keeping function, a speed keeping function, a forward vehicle following function, a lane change function, and the like (See at least [0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows operating the vehicle to become more convenient.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Schmidtke, to provide a simplified intuitive method for adjusting a front headlight beam for a vehicle (See at least [0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows operating of the vehicle to become easier.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Yamamoto, to provide a periphery monitoring device capable of performing display in which the recognizability of peripheral objects is improved while making distortion, extension, blurring, and the like of peripheral objects less noticeable even when displaying bird's-eye view images (See at least [0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to monitor and identify the parking spots around the vehicle.
In regard to claim 4
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, change a setting of a leading vehicle following function, when a touch operation to the ego vehicle image has been received (See at least Figs. 6-7, and [0093-0094]: Fig. 7 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 6. In the schematic diagram illustrated in (a) of Fig. 7, a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 are displayed on the same lane. As display forms of the host vehicle, the nearby vehicle, and a peripheral situation including a road, various display forms are considered. A real photographed image is used. When a driver is about to travel following the nearby vehicle [i.e., a leading vehicle], as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 7, a driver drags the host vehicle icon V1 [i.e., when a touch operation to the ego vehicle image has been received], and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 7, drops the host vehicle icon V1 onto the nearby vehicle icon V2. Accordingly, a following instruction command issued [i.e., as the predetermined processing, change a setting of a leading vehicle following function], and as shown in (c) of Fig. 7, a following icon F1 indicating that the host vehicle is in traveling following the nearby vehicle is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2).
In regard to claim 6
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, execute a lane change assistance function in a right direction or a left direction, when a slide operation of the ego vehicle image has been received in a right direction or a left direction (See at least Fig. 36, and [0143]: in (a) of Fig. 36, a left-turn drop area D3, and a right-turn drop area D4 are respectively displayed at right and left side of the road area. A driver drops the host vehicle icon V1 onto any one of the drop areas D1 to D4, and thus the corresponding operation is performed. In the drop area, an operation instruction such, traffic lane change, acceleration and deceleration to a target speed, or the like is displayed. Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 36, sliding right causes the vehicle to change the lane and switch to the right lane. Sliding left, similarly, switches the vehicle to the left lane).
In regard to claim 9
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, adjust an inter-vehicle distance when, during operation of a leading vehicle following function, a slide operation to the ego vehicle image or to a leading vehicle image depicting a leading vehicle in front of the vehicle, or a slide operation to an inter-vehicle spacing image representing an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle and the leading vehicle, has been received (See at least Fig. 15, 16, and [0109]: Fig. 16 is a diagram illustrating an a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 15. In a case where a driver is about to change the inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle and a nearby vehicle in following traveling [i.e., adjust an inter-vehicle distance when, during operation of a leading vehicle following function], as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 16, a driver touches two points on an imaginary line L1 between a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers. In this state, as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 16, when a driver pinches in the inter-vehicle distance, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for shortening the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. The inter-vehicle distance after change is determined according to the distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. In (c) of Fig. 16, a schematic diagram after the inter-vehicle distance changes is illustrated, and the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2 (a) is shorten, compared to the inter-vehicle distance in (a) of Fig. 16. In a state where a driver touches the two points on the imaginary line L1 between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers, when a driver pinches out the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for increasing the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. As a gesture operation for issuing the inter-vehicle distance change instruction command, an operation with one finger other than the pinch operation with two fingers is used, and an operation for changing the distance between the host vehicle icon and the nearby vehicle icon is used. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, other gestures with one finger is used for changing the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is used. That encompasses slide operation for changing the inter-vehicle spacing).
In regard to claim 16
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, wherein, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on when a touch operation to the ego vehicle image has been received while a shift position of the vehicle is in a parking position, the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, display a customize screen to customize a predetermined function of the vehicle.
However, Yamamoto teaches in the vehicle interior 2a, a display device 8 as a display output unit is provided. Further, the display device 8 is covered with a transparent operation input unit 10 such as a touch panel. The occupant can visually recognize the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8 through the operation input unit 10. Further, the occupant is able to execute an operation input through operations such as touching, pushing, or moving of the operation input unit 10 with a finger or the like at a position corresponding to the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8. Fig. 11 shows the display screen 66 displayed on the display device 8 at the time of periphery monitoring (parking assistance) request. Fig. 12 shows a state in which the display region changing unit 52 changes the area of the display region of the bird's-eye view image in accordance with the processing step at the time of executing the periphery monitoring and the bird's-eye view image screen 66b displays the second bird's-eye view image of which the display region is wider than that of the first bird's-eye view image. The display region is enlarged such that the plurality of target parking region candidates S for which the target region setting unit 38a searches is displayed. The driver is able to select a target parking region at a desired position among the plurality of target parking region candidates S shown in the enlarged display region by operating the operation input unit 10 or the like. The notification unit 36 may display on the message screen 66c a message indicating the currently required operation content such as “Please touch a desired parking position on the left screen” [i.e., display a customize screen to customize a predetermined function of the vehicle]. When a target region (target parking region) for moving the vehicle 1 is selected (determined) by the driver [i.e., when a touch operation to the ego vehicle image has been received while a shift position of the vehicle is in a parking position] or the like through the operation input unit 10 (Yes in S112), the route acquisition unit 38b acquires the guidance route through which the vehicle 1 is able to most efficiently move, based on the current position of the vehicle 1 and the selected target region (S114) (See at least Figs. 12, 15, and [0026 & 0074-0075 & 0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Yamamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that a customized screen is displayed when the vehicle runs parking assistance functionality.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Yamamoto, to provide a periphery monitoring device capable of performing display in which the recognizability of peripheral objects is improved while making distortion, extension, blurring, and the like of peripheral objects less noticeable even when displaying bird's-eye view images (See at least [0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to monitor and identify the parking spots around the vehicle.
In regard to claim 18
, Yamada discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing an onboard control program that causes a computer to execute processing, the processing comprising (See at least Fig. 1, and [0070]: as software resources, an operating system, an application, and a program [i.e., an onboard control program] such as a firmware or the like can be used. Memory unit 22 includes a non-volatile recording medium [i.e., a non-transitory computer-readable medium] such as a flash memory or the like):
based on a detection result of a detection section for detecting targets at a periphery of a vehicle, displaying an ego vehicle image depicting the vehicle together with a peripheral monitoring image on a display provided to the vehicle (See at least Fig. 7, and [0083 & 0093]: automatic driving controller 20 periodically detects the host vehicle position information, the host vehicle traveling road information, and the host vehicle peripheral information from detection unit 40 [i.e., based on a detection result of a detection section for detecting targets at a periphery of a vehicle]. A host vehicle icon V1 [i.e., an ego vehicle image depicting the vehicle] and a nearby vehicle icon V2 are displayed on the same lane. As display forms of the host vehicle, the nearby vehicle, and a peripheral situation including a road [i.e., with a peripheral monitoring image], various display forms are considered. A real photographed image, a fine CG image, or an animation image is used);
receiving an operation of an occupant of the vehicle on the display (See at least Figs. 1, and [0072]: input-output unit 14 includes image output unit 14a, operation signal input unit 14b, command output unit 14c, and vehicle information input unit 14d. Image output unit 14a outputs an image generated by image generation unit 12 to display unit 31. Operation signal input unit 14b receives an operation signal that is input from input unit 32 by an operation of a driver, a passenger [i.e., receiving an operation of an occupant of the vehicle on the display], or a user outside the vehicle, and outputs the operation signal to determination unit 11); and
executing a predetermined processing related to a function of the vehicle at each section of the vehicle according to the received operation, wherein the predetermined processing is selected according to an image on the display on which the operation is received, the display including a plurality of images each associated with at least one function of the vehicle (See at least Figs. 1-2, 8-16, and [0077 & 0097 & 0108 & & 0102 & 0109]: automatic driving controller 20 calculates a specific control value for controlling driving operation unit 50 that performs the issued command [i.e., executing a predetermined processing] by applying various parameter values collected from detection unit 40 or various ECUs to an automatic driving algorithm, and transfers the control value to the ECU or controller of each control target [i.e., related to a function of the vehicle at each section of the vehicle according to the received operation], the control value being an automatic control target such as a traveling direction of vehicle 1 or the like. Driving operation unit 50 operates based on the specific control value. When a user touches the host vehicle icon V1, as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 10B, a drop area A1 for instructing traffic lane change to a right lane, a drop area A2 for instructing traffic lane change to a left lane, a drop area A3 for instructing right turn, and a drop area A4 for instructing left turn are displayed. A user flicks the host vehicle icon V1 onto any one of the drop areas, and thus the corresponding command is issued [i.e., wherein the predetermined processing is selected according to an image on the display on which the operation is received]. Examiner notes, the vehicle V1, and the drop areas A1-A4 are the plurality of images each associates with at least one function of the vehicle. Left and right turn and lane change are the associated function of the vehicle. Fig. 9 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 8. In a case where a driver to travel following a nearby vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 9, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2, and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 9, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a following instruction command is issued, and as illustrated in (c) of Fig. 9, a following icon F1 indicating that the host vehicle is traveling following the nearby vehicle is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Fig. 12 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowcharts of Fig. 10 and Fig. 11. In a case where a driver tries a nearby vehicle (following vehicle) to travel following host vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 12, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2, and as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 12, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a nearby vehicle following instruction command is issued, and when nearby vehicle following traveling is established, as illustrated in (c) of Fig 12, a following icon F1 indicating that the nearby vehicle is traveling following the host vehicle is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Fig. 16 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig 15. In a case where a driver is about to change the inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle and a nearby vehicle in following traveling, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 16, a driver touches two points on an imaginary line L1 between a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers. In this state, as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 16, when a driver pinches in the inter-vehicle distance, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for shortening the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. The inter-vehicle distance after change is determined according to the distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Examiner notes, the vehicles V1 and V2, and the lanes are the plurality of images on the display on which the operation is received. As mentioned above, receiving a touch gesture on an image initiates issuing an instruction command, which is the predetermined processing selected according to an image on the display. Accordingly, each image among the plurality of the images, is associated with at least one function of the vehicle, including setting the inter-distance between the vehicles or following a nearby vehicle),
wherein the processing further comprises (See at least [0070]: as the hardware resources, a processor [i.e., the processor] is used):
executing or changing a setting of a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function that performs part or all of at least one of a vehicle operation or an operation assist (See at least Figs. 15-16 and [0109]: Fig. 16 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig 15. In a case where a driver is about to change the inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle and a nearby vehicle in following traveling, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 16, a driver touches two points on an imaginary line L1 between a host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers. In this state, as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 16, when a driver pinches in the inter-vehicle distance, an inter-vehicle distance change instruction command for shortening the inter-vehicle distance between the host vehicle and the nearby vehicle is issued. The inter-vehicle distance after change is determined according to the distance between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2. Examiner notes, setting or changing the inter-distance between the vehicles is executing or changing a setting of a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function that performs part or all of at least one of a vehicle operation or an operation assist. Keeping a specific distance between the vehicles is a driver assistance function or an autonomous driving function);
in response to receiving a touch operation to a peripheral vehicle image representing a vehicle at the periphery of the vehicle during operation of a leading vehicle following function, setting the peripheral vehicle corresponding to the touch operation as a leading vehicle for the vehicle to follow (See Figs. 8-9, and [0097]: Fig. 9 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 8. In a case where a driver to travel following a nearby vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 9, a driver drags a nearby vehicle icon V2 [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to a peripheral vehicle image representing a vehicle at the periphery of the vehicle during operation of a leading vehicle following function], and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 9, drops the nearby vehicle icon V2 onto a host vehicle icon V1. Accordingly, a following instruction command is issued, and as illustrated in (c) of Fig. 9, a following icon F1 indicating that the host vehicle is traveling following the nearby vehicle [i.e., set the peripheral vehicle corresponding to the touch operation as a leading vehicle for the vehicle to follow] is displayed at a position between the host vehicle icon V1 and the nearby vehicle icon V2); and
Yamada is silent on changing a setting of a lane deviation prevention function in response to receiving a touch operation to an image of a vehicle lane boundary line;
changing a setting of an automatic headlight control function in response to receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image;
in response to receiving a touch operation to the display during operation of a parking assist function of the vehicle, setting a position corresponding to the touch operation as a parking position of the vehicle in the parking assist function.
However, Lee teaches the target attribute determination device 130 determines a target attribute by considering surrounding environment information together, and recommend an avoidance or following control mode which the autonomous driving system is able to provide with respect to a target. Then, the control mode recommendation information is transmitted to the passenger interface device 110 through the processor 140. When the passenger finally selects a control mode through the passenger interface device 110, the autonomous driving controller 150 performs corresponding control. Fig. 4 illustrates one form in which a mode for avoiding a pothole by turning to the right on the screen of the passenger interface device 110. In this case, the “left avoidance mode” is deactivated due to recognition of a center lane or an obstacle (See at least Fig. 4, and [0055 & 0066]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 4 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), the operator activates and deactivates right and left avoidance by touching the lane boundary lines. In Fig. 4, the operator is deactivating right avoidance to allow the vehicle to avoid the potholes. As such, Lee teaches changing a setting of a lane deviation prevention function by touching the lane boundary lines.
Schmidtke teaches a method for displaying a graphic representation of a current setting of the headlight beam or beams on a variable graphic display device of the vehicle. The procedure includes capturing user operating information. The operating information includes a selection of a desired setting for the driver's front headlight beam [i.e., changing a setting of an automatic headlight control function]. Depending on the recorded operating information, the vehicle's headlight beam is adjusted in a further process step. In parallel, the current setting of the headlight beam is displayed on the graphic display device. The graphical representation of the current setting of the headlight beam includes a schematic view of the vehicle from above on a roadway [i.e., the ego vehicle image], with the current setting of the headlight beam being visualized in such a way that the current beam in the area in front of the vehicle is highlighted. The operating information is captured by means of a touch-sensitive surface [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image] of the display device (See at least [0006-0009]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the graphical representation of the current setting of the headlight beam includes a schematic view of the vehicle from above, which changes the setting of the headlight. Receiving a touch operation on the graphical representation of the vehicle encompasses receiving a touch operation to a front end of the ego vehicle image.
Yamamoto teaches in the vehicle interior 2a, a display device 8 as a display output unit is provided. Further, the display device 8 is covered with a transparent operation input unit 10 such as a touch panel. The occupant can visually recognize the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8 through the operation input unit 10. Further, the occupant is able to execute an operation input through operations such as touching, pushing, or moving of the operation input unit 10 with a finger or the like at a position corresponding to the image displayed on the display screen of the display device 8. Fig. 11 shows the display screen 66 displayed on the display device 8 at the time of periphery monitoring (parking assistance) request [i.e., a parking assist function of the vehicle]. Fig. 12 shows a state in which the display region changing unit 52 changes the area of the display region of the bird's-eye view image in accordance with the processing step at the time of executing the periphery monitoring and the bird's-eye view image screen 66b displays the second bird's-eye view image of which the display region is wider than that of the first bird's-eye view image. The display region is enlarged such that the plurality of target parking region candidates S for which the target region setting unit 38a searches can be displayed. The driver is able to select a target parking region at a desired position among the plurality of target parking region candidates S shown in the enlarged display region by operating the operation input unit 10 or the like. The notification unit 36 may display on the message screen 66c a message indicating the currently required operation content such as “Please touch a desired parking position on the left screen”. When a target region (target parking region) for moving the vehicle 1 is selected (determined) by the driver [i.e., in response to receiving a touch operation to the display during operation of a parking assist function of the vehicle] or the like through the operation input unit 10 (Yes in S112), the route acquisition unit 38b acquires the guidance route through which the vehicle 1 is able to most efficiently move, based on the current position of the vehicle 1 and the selected target region (S114) [i.e., setting a position corresponding to the touch operation as a parking position of the vehicle in the parking assist function] (See at least Figs. 12, 15, and [0026 & 0074-0075 & 0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, by incorporating the teachings of Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that right and left avoidance modes are activated and deactivated by touching the respective lane boundary lines and the setting of the headlight beam is displayed on the graphical display device and the operator accesses the setting of the headlight by touching the front end of the vehicle image and the touch panel provides a screen that allows the driver to choose a desired parking spot during the operation of the parking assistance, and sets the selected parking spot as the parking position.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Lee, to recognize a surrounding vehicle or an obstacle through a sensor and provide a driver with various convenience functions such as a lane keeping function, a speed keeping function, a forward vehicle following function, a lane change function, and the like (See at least [0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows operating the vehicle to become more convenient.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Schmidtke, to provide a simplified intuitive method for adjusting a front headlight beam for a vehicle (See at least [0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows operating of the vehicle to become easier.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Yamamoto, to provide a periphery monitoring device capable of performing display in which the recognizability of peripheral objects is improved while making distortion, extension, blurring, and the like of peripheral objects less noticeable even when displaying bird's-eye view images (See at least [0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to monitor and identify the parking spots around the vehicle.
11. Claim(s) 5 and 10
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1) and further in view of Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1) and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1) and further in view of Yamada et al. (US-20180043923-A1), hereinafter referred to as Okada.
In regard to claim 5
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, execute control of acceleration or deceleration of the vehicle, when a slide operation of the ego vehicle image has been received in a progression direction or a rearward direction.
However, Okada teaches when a user flicks or swipes a host vehicle mark [i.e., the ego vehicle image], a command that instructs a vehicle speed change according to a moving direction [i.e., execute control of acceleration or deceleration of the vehicle] and a moving distance of the host vehicle mark is issued. A vehicle speed is set to be speeded up according to a swipe toward an upward direction [i.e., when a slide operation of the ego vehicle image has been received in a progression direction], set to be speeded down according to a swipe toward a down direction [i.e., when a slide operation of the ego vehicle image has been received in a rearward direction] (See at least [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Okada, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that when a swipe toward an upward direction is detected, the speed of the vehicle is increased and when a swipe toward a down direction is detected, the speed of the vehicle is decreased.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Okada, to reduce the possibility of an erroneous operation and realize safer driving (See at least [0151]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to become more reliable.
In regard to claim 10
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, execute overtaking of a leading vehicle when a slide operation of a trajectory to overtake a leading vehicle image depicting a leading vehicle in front of the vehicle has been received.
However, Okada teaches Fig. 12 is a diagram illustrating a gesture operation according to the flowchart of Fig. 11. In a case where a driver is about to pass the nearby vehicle, as illustrated in (a) of Fig. 12, a driver touches the host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 with two fingers, and as illustrated in (b) of Fig. 12 and (c) of Fig. 12, interchanges the front and the rear of the host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2 [i.e., when a slide operation of a trajectory to overtake a leading vehicle image depicting a leading vehicle in front of the vehicle has been received], and drops the host vehicle icon V1 and a nearby vehicle icon V2. Accordingly, a passing instruction [i.e., execute overtaking of a leading vehicle] command is issued. As a gesture operation for issuing a passing instruction command, an operation of changing the relative positions of the host vehicle icon and the nearby vehicle icon is employed other than the above operation (See at least Figs. 11-12, and [0112]). Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 12, slide operation is used to put the host vehicle (V1) in front of the leading vehicle (V2) and then a passing instruction command is issued.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Okada, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that a touch gesture, such as sliding, is used to put the host vehicle, in front of a leading vehicle to issue a passing/overtaking instruction.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Okada in regard to claim 5.
12. Claim(s) 11-12
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1) and further in view of Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1) and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1) and further in view of Klingström et al. (US-20160216761-A1).
In regard to claim 11
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, perform enlargement or contraction on an image being displayed on the display according to a pinch operation to the display, when the pinch operation has been received.
However, Klingström teaches by pinching with two of his or hers finger, it is possible to zoom an object. The same function is implemented also on a touchpad only able to sense single touch by having for instance the thumb push a button or keyboard key and the finger moving on the touchpad away from, or towards, the button or keyboard key. By pinching with two finger 101 and 102 [i.e., according to a pinch operation to the display], it is possible to zoom out an object [i.e., perform enlargement or contraction on an image being displayed on the display] (See at least Fig. 8, and [0046 & 0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Klingström, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – touch screens, such that pinching gesture is used to zoom in or zoom out an object on the screen.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Klingström, to provide methods, devices and systems for user friendly and intuitive interaction with graphical user interfaces (See at least [0013]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows operating of the vehicle to become easier.
In regard to claim 12
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, enlarge display of an image being displayed on the display when a touch operation once to the ego vehicle image, or a touch operation of at least a predetermined duration or a touch operation twice within a predetermined period of time to the display, has been received.
However, Klingström teaches by gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while double-tapping on the touch screen [i.e., a touch operation of at least a predetermined duration or a touch operation twice within a predetermined period of time to the display] with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in [i.e., enlarge display of an image being displayed on the display] or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each double-tap toggles between different zoom levels (See at least [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Klingström, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – touch screens, such that double-tap gesture is used for zooming in or out operations.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Klingström in regard to claim 11.
13. Claim(s) 13
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1) and further in view of Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1) and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1) and further in view of Hsia (US-20140136054-A1).
In regard to claim 13
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, rotate the peripheral monitoring image being displayed on the display when a touch operation of rotation on the display has been received.
However, Hsia teaches when the gesture command is a rotation command [i.e., when a touch operation of rotation on the display has been received], a shifting command, a tilt command or a viewing angle/position changing command, wherein the adjustment parameter is the amount of movement corresponding to the gesture command. Please refer to Fig. 5 in conjunction with Fig. 2. Fig. 5 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary display rotation control of a vehicular image (See at least Figs. 2, 5, and [0035]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 5 (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience below), when the touch operation of rotation is received, the image is rotated based on the amount of movement corresponding to the gesture command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of Hsia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that when the touch gesture is a rotation command, the image is rotated based on the amount of movement corresponding to the gesture command.
Figure 2 - Annotated Fig. 5 of Hsia
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Hsia, a novel vehicular image system, wherein the driver can obtain any view angle of a vehicular image and control the image easily, will improve safety on the road (See at least [0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle and the occupant to stay safe.
14. Claim(s) 14
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US-20170225691-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210049379-A1) and further in view of Schmidtke et al. (DE-102008029159-A1) and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20200082185-A1) and further in view of De Rocha Rosario et al. (US-20240144822-A1).
In regard to claim 14
, Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, teaches the onboard device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, is silent on wherein the processor is further configured to, as the predetermined processing, change an angle of view of an image displayed on the display when a touch operation at a plurality of locations on the display has been received.
However, De Rocha Rosario teaches Fig. 4 shows how application 22 present interactive 360° images associated with route 52. Interactive map 50 of Fig. 3 is presented in reduced-size map region 50R to provide additional area on display 30 to display interactive image 70. A user uses touch input, such as multitouch input [i.e., when a touch operation at a plurality of locations on the display has been received], to manipulate the perspective shown in image 70 (e.g., the user supplies user input to rotate image 70 through 360° to explore the surroundings of vehicle 10 when the vehicle is at a selected location along the route) [i.e., change an angle of view of an image displayed on the display] (See at least Figs. 3-4, and [0037]). Examiner notes, changing the perspective or rotating an image is changing an angle of view of an image displayed on the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Yamada, as modified by Lee, Schmidtke, and Yamamoto, by incorporating the teachings of De Rocha Rosario, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles, such that multitouch input gesture is used to manipulate the perspective shown or rotate the image.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by De Rocha Rosario, to provide vehicle occupants with visual output and to provide a user of the vehicle with information on a journey (See at least [0003-0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to be aware of the conditions around the vehicle and take actions when required.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimotani et al. (US-20190270458-A1) teaches an autonomous driving control parameter changing device that changes the autonomous driving control parameter based on a gesture operation performed by a driver.
Othmer et al. (US-20260021832-A1) teaches setting a leading vehicle for the host vehicle to follow by using touch operations.
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661