DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 and 12-16 are pending and claims 10 and 11 have been cancelled.
This is in response to the amendment filed 7/3/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument relative to the 112 rejection for claim 2 is not persuasive, since the valve ports as shown are not perpendicular, they are parallel with the rotary axis.
Since applicant’s amendments and the filing of the IDS necessitated the new grounds for rejection, this action has been made Final.
The indicated allowability of claims 1-9 and 12-16 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Takada, as supplied by applicant. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/3/2026 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
A second or any subsequent action on the merits in any application or patent involved in reexamination proceedings may not be made final if it contains a new ground of rejection … unless the new ground of rejection was necessitated by an amendment to the claims or as a result of information submitted in an information disclosure statement within the time period under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). (See MPEP 706.07(a))
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/3/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
The amendments overcome the prior objections.
Claims 1,3,4,9,12,14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, two ends of each flow channel, should be, - -two ends of each one of the flow channels - -,
Claim 3, the core ports are configured to be aligned and in fluid communication with the corresponding valve ports, should be - - the two core ports are configured to be aligned and in fluid communication with one of the valve ports, correspondingly - -,
Claim 4, the corresponding balance holes, should be, - - one of the balance holes, correspondingly - -,
Claim 9, total number, should be - -a total number - -,
Claim 12, the multi-channel valve, should be - - the multi-way valve - -,
Claim 12, the valve core a closed fluid circuit, should be, - - the valve core for a closed fluid circuit,
Claims 14 and 15, “one of the fluid circuits” should be - -one of the multiple fluid circuits - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the valve ports are defined in a side of the valve housing perpendicular to a rotation axis”, which is indefinite as to how valve ports (31), see Fig. 2A in the instant application, are perpendicular to the rotation axis. Port 31 is parallel to the rotation axis. Should “valve ports” be - -tubular interfaces (item 125) - -?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Takada (WO 2014/147897).
Regarding claim 1, Takada discloses a multi-way valve (1A, Fig. 10) comprising a valve housing (10) and a valve core (30A) rotatably mounted in the valve housing, the valve housing defining a plurality of valve ports (E1,E2, C1,C2), the valve core defining a plurality of flow channels (G1,G2); two ends of each flow channel (ends of G1, G2) being adapted to be respectively aligned with and in fluid communication with two of the valve ports of the valve housing; wherein a plurality of buffer chambers (H including the area within 15, 11a in Fig. 10) is formed between an inner surface of the valve housing and an outer surface of the valve core (as shown in Fig. 10); the buffer chambers are in fluid isolation from each other; the valve core is provided with a plurality of balance holes (36, at connection hole 33b, page 41 of English translation, see Fig. 11); each of the balance holes is in fluid communication with one of the flow channels; the buffer chambers communicate with the flow channels through the balance holes, correspondingly.
Regarding claim 2, Takada, as best understood based on the 112 rejection above, discloses the valve ports are defined in a side of the valve housing perpendicular to a rotation axis of the valve housing to enable a fluid to flow into one of the flow channels via one of the valve ports and flow out of said one of the flow channels via another one of the valve ports (the limitations are met in as much as applicant’s device as best understood).
Regarding claim 4, Takada discloses the buffer chambers are defined between axial ends of the valve core and the valve housing facing each other, the buffer chambers are distributed radially spaced relative to each other so that the corresponding balance holes directly communicating with the corresponding buffer chambers are offset radially to each other (as shown in Fig. 10 and 11, the buffer chambers are configured in this manner).
Regarding claim 5, Takada discloses each of the buffer chambers is ring-shaped (as shown in Fig. 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 6, Takada discloses a preload member (63) disposed between the valve housing and the valve core, and at least one of the buffer chambers is defined between the preload member and the valve core (as shown in Fig. 10, the buffer chamber is between the top of the spring 63 and the top of the valve core).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saginomiya Seisakusho Inc (JP 20242487, as supplied by applicant) in view of Takada (WO 2014/147897).
Regarding claim 12, Saginomiya Seisakusho Inc disclose a thermal management system (100, see Fig. 16), comprising and multiple heat exchange branches (connected to “P” and 60,70,80) to form multiple fluid circuits, and two ends of one of the each heat exchange branches are correspondingly connected to two of the valve ports (20C,D/20E,S) to cooperatively form one of the fluid circuits via at least one of the flow channels of the valve core a closed fluid circuit, although is silent to having, the “multi-channel” valve of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a multi-way valve as taught by Takada for the valve of Sangamonian Seisakusho Inc, since it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In reFout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, a cover plate fixed to an axial top end of the valve core body, the cover plate comprises a plate portion, and a first ring portion and a second ring portion depending on a side of the plate portion, the plurality of buffer chambers comprises a first buffer chamber formed radially outside the first ring portion, a second buffer chamber formed between the first ring portion and the second ring portion, and a third buffer chamber formed radially inside the second ring portion; the first buffer chamber, the second buffer chamber, and the third buffer chamber are in fluid isolation from each other” in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 7. Claim 8 depending from claim 7.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, “total number of flow channels of the valve core is greater than a number of the flow channels directly communicating with the balance holes” in claim 9.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious,” a number of total flow channels of the valve core is greater than a number of flow channels directly communicating with the balance holes”, in claim 13. Claims 14-16 depending from claim 13.
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, the balance holes are defined in the first axial end of the valve core, each of the flow channels has two core ports provided at the second axial end of the valve core, the core ports are configured to be aligned and in fluid communication with the corresponding valve ports, in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753