Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the bearing surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Line et al. (9,365,142).
Regarding claim 1, Line et al. disclose a vehicle seat 10 having at least one seat part and a leg support movably arranged on the seat part, which is adjustable between an extended lengthening position and a retracted normal position, characterized in that the leg support comprises at least: a support form part 202, 204 movably arranged relative to the seat part, a form part covering 251 arranged on the support form part and a tensioning device 260, wherein the tensioning device is configured to keep the form part covering under tension on the support form part in each of two opposing directions of movement during a movement of the support form part relative to the seat part (see figures 9-13 where it shows the extended and retracted positions).
Regarding claim 2, Line et al. disclose by moving the support form part 202, 204 relative to the seat part, the size of the bearing surface of the form part covering for a user sitting on the seat can be adjusted (see figures 9-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Line et al. in view of Line et al. (11,370,341).
Regarding claims 3, Line et al. (11,370,341) disclose the tensioning device comprises at least one tensioning element 44 arranged on the support form part, which has a fastening point 42 fixed to a seat part at a first end and a fastening point 52 fixed to a covering at an opposite second end.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Line et al (11,370,341) and fasten both ends of the tensioning element in two ends of the seat part in the invention of Line et al. because it is simple and cost effective.
Regarding claim 4, Line et al. disclose the tensioning element 260 is a strap or a belt.
Regarding claim 5, Line et al. disclose the tensioning element 260 is movably guided along a form part contour of the support form part 202, 204, wherein the tensioning element 260 is movable along with the movement of the support form part relative to the seat part in such a manner that the form part covering 251 is held, or remains, at a constant tension.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Line et al. fail to disclose at least one guiding element is provided on the support form part, in which the tensioning element is at least partially guided.
Regarding claim 7, Line et al. disclose the tensioning element is arranged on the support form part in such a manner that it is deflected on the support form part at least once in an S-shaped manner.
Regarding claim 9, Line et al. disclose the tensioning element is arranged on the support form part in such a manner that it is deflected on the support form part multiple times in an S-shaped manner.
Regarding claim 9, Line et al. disclose the support form part has at least two deflection points, at which the tensioning element is deflectable or deflected.
No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636