DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/24/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the valve element is formed of a resin” (proper cross-hatching must be shown, see MPEP 608.02, see 37 CFR 1.84(n) chart IX), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(h) (3) are required in this application because “hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object...”, applicant' s drawings do not distinguish between material differences such as resin, rubber, and metal. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a valve element”, in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations, in claim 1, “valve element formed of a material” should be changed to - -valve element comprising a material - -, in order to remove the question of the limitation “formed” as being a method step for the apparatus. In claim 2, “is formed” should be - -is located - -, in claim 3, “is formed of” should be - -comprises - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wilson (US 1781771).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson discloses a check valve (preamble- see note below) comprising: a flow path member (1) having an upstream opening (the left threaded port), a downstream opening (the right threaded port), and an inner peripheral surface (the inner surface of 1) defining a fluid passage extending from the upstream opening to the downstream opening, the inner peripheral surface having a valve seat surface (surface of 5,5a) and a locking surface (at 5a) located upstream and radially inward of the valve seat surface; and
a valve element (18) disposed in the fluid passage so as to be displaceable between a closed position where the valve element is engaged with the valve seat surface to close the fluid passage and an open position where the valve element is separated from the valve seat surface toward a downstream side to open the fluid passage, the valve element formed of a material with lower rigidity than at least portions of the flow path member where the valve seat surface and the locking surface are formed, wherein the valve element is configured to be displaced, by receiving a force toward an upstream side, from the closed position to a position further upstream (page . 3, lns 66-70) of the closed position while deforming a portion (the outer portion of 18 contacting 5a at the lowered position) of the valve element that is engaged with the valve seat surface, and the valve element that has deformed is engaged with and supported by the locking surface (col. 3, 70-94, the shape of 18 has changed when it is in contact with surface 5a and is therefore considered as being deformed).
With regard to the preamble directed to “a check valve”, a preamble to a claim is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self- contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Clearly, the pending claim 1 does not rely on the preamble for completeness.
See MPEP 2111.02, See also Catalina Mktg. Int’l, 289 F.3d at 808-09, 62 USPQ2d at 1785 ("[C]lear reliance on the preamble during prosecution to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art transforms the preamble into a claim limitation because such reliance indicates use of the preamble to define, in part, the claimed invention.…Without such reliance, however, a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." Consequently, "preamble language merely extolling benefits or features of the claimed invention does not limit the claim scope without clear reliance on those benefits or features as patentably significant.").
Regarding claim 2, Wilson discloses that the valve seat surface and the locking surface are inclined radially inward toward the upstream side (toward the left side of the upstream opening), and a transition surface (the surface of the intersecting corner between 5 and 5a) parallel to a longitudinal axis of the fluid passage is formed between the valve seat surface and the locking surface.
Regarding claim 3, Wilson discloses that the valve element is formed of a resin material (“soft-rubber” is considered as being a resin material in the broadest reasonable interpretation in that it is a sticky organic flammable substance), and the flow path member is formed of a metallic material (2 is shown as being cross-hatched as a metal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following rejections are given in an alternative manner should the above rejections not be found persuasive.
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranowski Jr (US 3698427) in view of Wilson (US 1781771).
Regarding claim 1, Baranowski Jr discloses a check valve (as shown in Fig. 1-3) comprising: a flow path member (the housing, not numbered, surrounding the valve element 2, as shown in Fig. 3) having an upstream opening (the port surrounding upper stem 1’), a downstream opening (the port, not shown but surrounding 5, col. 2, lns. 62-66, “having openings 5’ for the passage of a fluid”), and an inner peripheral surface (the inner surface of the flow path member) defining a fluid passage extending from the upstream opening to the downstream opening, the inner peripheral surface having a valve seat surface (surface of 6); and a valve element (2) disposed in the fluid passage so as to be displaceable between a closed position (as shown in the figures) where the valve element is engaged with the valve seat surface to close the fluid passage and an open position where the valve element is separated from the valve seat surface toward a downstream side to open the fluid passage, the valve element formed of a material (“PTFE”, col. 2, lns. 30-34) with lower rigidity than at least portions of the flow path member where the valve seat surface (the valve seat being shown as being a metal based on the cross-hatching) is formed, wherein the valve element is configured to be displaced, by receiving a force toward an upstream side (the valve is configured as such with the reaction to the spring 4), from the closed position to a position further upstream (as the valve element is compressed by the spring the valve element cold flows, col. 3, lns. 14-20, thereby being further positioned upstream) of the closed position while deforming a portion (the outer portion of 2 contacting 6) of the valve element that is engaged with the valve seat surface.
Baranowski Jr is silent to having a locking surface located upstream and radially inward of the valve seat surface, and the valve element formed of a material with lower rigidity than at least portions of the flow path member where the locking surface is formed, and the valve element that has deformed is engaged with and supported by the locking surface.
.
Wilson teaches the use of a locking surface (at 5a) located upstream and radially inward of the valve seat surface, and the valve element that has deformed is engaged with and supported by the locking surface (col. 3, 70-94, the shape of 18 has changed when it is in contact with surface 5a and is therefore considered as being deformed), and the valve element formed of a material with lower rigidity than at least portions of the flow path member where the locking surface is formed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a valve seat as taught by Wilson for the valve seat in Baranowski Jr.to have a locking surface located upstream and radially inward of the valve seat surface, and the valve element formed of a material with lower rigidity than at least portions of the flow path member where the locking surface is formed, and the valve element that has deformed is engaged with and supported by the locking surface, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one valve seat for another where deformation of the valve occurs) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of providing a valve seat to effect a sealing surface with a valve that has deformed, would result from the combination.
Regarding claim 2, Wilson discloses that the valve seat surface and the locking surface are inclined radially inward toward the upstream side (toward the left side of the upstream opening), and a transition surface (the intersecting corner between 5 and 5a) parallel to a longitudinal axis of the fluid passage is formed between the valve seat surface and the locking surface.
Regarding claim 3, Baranowski Jr. discloses that the valve element is formed of a resin material (“PTFE” is considered as being a resin material in the broadest reasonable interpretation), and the flow path member is formed of a metallic material (the housing is shown as being cross-hatched as a metal).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753