CTNF 19/036,347 CTNF 98529 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24January2025 is being considered by the examiner. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Pending 1-10 Objection 1 and 5 112b 2 and 6 102 1-10 Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 1 objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation "the altitude" should read "the predefined target altitude" for the purpose of clarity and consistency . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 1 objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation "the target altitude" should read "the predefined target altitude" for the purpose of clarity and consistency . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 2 and 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 and 6 contains the limitation "a restart of at least one stopped engine" which is indefinite. A restart of at least one stopped engine was already introduced in claims 1 and 5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramachandra US 20210018333 . Ramachandra discloses, Claims 1 and 5; A method for assisting with a restart of at least one engine of an aircraft([0005] An aircraft system includes a display device having rendered thereon an engine relight (GUI) display for concurrently depicting an energy state of an aircraft with respect to an operating envelope region for a procedure for starting an engine of the aircraft), the method being implemented by an assistance system comprising electronic circuitry([0021] Discloses that one or more of the following avionics systems suitably configured to support operation of the aircraft which includes electrical systems), the method comprising: determining that at least one stopped engine of the aircraft has flamed out([0002] Jet engines are susceptible to flame out and [0012] discloses restarting or relighting of an engine); controlling an automated descent of the aircraft down to a predefined target altitude below which the altitude of the aircraft is conducive to at least one attempt to restart the at least one stopped engine([0037] For example, the processing system 108 and/or FMS 116 may calculate or otherwise determine an idle descent path for the aircraft 102 initialized with the current altitude and speed, and then identify or otherwise determine a timing and/or location for when the aircraft 102 is likely to reach a boundary of a respective operating envelope region 520, 530 assuming that idle descent path); and generating a message for execution of at least one procedure for restarting the at least one stopped engine with a view to carrying out the at least one attempt to restart the at least one stopped engine when the target altitude and/or a target conventional speed is reached by the aircraft([0013] As described in greater detail below, to facilitate a pilot determining how and when to attempt an engine restart, the current energy state of the aircraft is presented on a graphical user interface (GUI) display that also includes graphical representations of the operating envelope regions for the different restart procedures that may be available for the aircraft). Claims 2 and 6; Comprising controlling the automated descent of the aircraft while at a same time applying a reduction of a conventional speed of the aircraft down to a predefined target conventional speed below which the conventional speed of the aircraft is conducive to a restart of the at least one stopped engine([0021] Discloses that one or more additional avionics systems 118 to support navigation, flight planning, and other aircraft control functions in a conventional manner and those systems include a weather system, an air traffic management system, a radar system, a traffic avoidance system, an autopilot system, an autothrust system, a flight control system, hydraulics systems, pneumatics systems, environmental systems, electrical systems, engine systems, trim systems, lighting systems, crew alerting systems, electronic checklist systems, an electronic flight bag and/or another suitable avionics system, [0022] discloses the ignition system is operated when the speed and altitude of the aircraft 102 provides sufficient air flow to enable combustion within the combustion chamber). Claims 3 and 7; Comprising controlling the automated descent of the aircraft based on at least one parameter from amongst: a number of stopped engines([0002] Discloses that jet engines are susceptible to flame out and [0012] discloses a restart or relight of an engine which means the disclosed system is for a number of stopped engines). Claim 4; Wherein the assistance system is implemented in a guidance controller device of the aircraft([0021] the processing system 108 is also coupled to the FMS 116, which is coupled to the navigation system 114, the communications system 112, and one or more additional avionics systems 118 to support navigation, flight planning, and other aircraft control functions in a conventional manner, as well as to provide real-time data and/or information regarding the operational status of the aircraft 102 to the processing system 108). Claim 8; An aircraft comprising the assistance system of claim 1(Aircraft 102). Claim 9; A computer program product, comprising instructions leading to execution, by a processor, of the method of claim 5, when the instructions are executed by the processor([0017] Discloses a general purpose processor meant to execute several programs). Claim 10; A storage medium, storing a computer program comprising instructions leading to execution, by a processor, of the method of claim 5, when the instructions are read and executed by the processor([0014] Discloses data storage elements 122, 124 that contain different programs and systems that are executed by a processing system 108). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Merino whose telephone number is (703)756-4721. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 11am-7pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Erin Piateski can be reached at (571) 270-7429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /John C Merino/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669 /Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669 Application/Control Number: 19/036,347 Page 2 Art Unit: 3669 Application/Control Number: 19/036,347 Page 3 Art Unit: 3669 Application/Control Number: 19/036,347 Page 4 Art Unit: 3669 Application/Control Number: 19/036,347 Page 5 Art Unit: 3669 Application/Control Number: 19/036,347 Page 6 Art Unit: 3669