DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Metzger et al. (US2014/0081275 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach a guide for an arthroplasty procedure, comprising: a body comprising: a first guide hole is configured for receiving a tool; a second guide hole is configured for receiving the tool, wherein the second guide hole is spaced a first distance from the first guide hole; and an opening spaced a second distance from both the first guide hole and the second guide hole, wherein the opening has a length, a width, and a depth, the depth being in a direction through the body, and the length being greater than the width, wherein the opening is configured to receive a portion of a pin (“tibial alignment guide 300 can be used to drill reference holes for the corresponding proximal and anterior alignment pins 123, 127, which can then be re-inserted as needed for each resection and corresponding resection block after the tibial alignment/resection guide 300 is removed” see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the first distance corresponds to a distance between a pair of pegs associated with a cut block (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the second distance corresponds to a distance between: (i) a virtual plane having a pre-defined location relative to a bone; and (ii) and a location for forming one or more pilot holes in the bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the tool is a drill bit (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the body comprises a surface configured to contact a cut surface formed on a bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 5 wherein the bone is a femur and the cut surface is a distal cut surface formed on the femur during a knee replacement procedure (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the first guide hole and second guide hole are aligned along an axis and the opening is spaced in a direction perpendicular to the axis (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the opening is configured to receive a bone pin at any location within the opening (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the opening is configured to receive a first bone pin and a portion of a second bone pin (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the guide of claim 1 wherein the opening is a slot (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach a system, comprising the guide of claim 1; and one or more pins for insertion in a bone (“tibial alignment guide 300 can be used to drill reference holes for the corresponding proximal and anterior alignment pins 123, 127, which can then be re-inserted as needed for each resection and corresponding resection block after the tibial alignment/resection guide 300 is removed” see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 11 wherein the opening is configured to receive the one or more pins at any location within the opening (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 11 wherein the second distance corresponds to a distance between: (i) a virtual plane having a pre-defined location relative to the bone; and (ii) and a location for forming one or more pilot holes in a bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 11 further comprising a computer configured to store a location of a virtual plane having a pre-defined location relative to the bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 14 wherein the one or more pins are configured to be inserted in the bone coincident with the virtual plane (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 15 further comprising a robotic device configured to maintain alignment of a pin coincident with the virtual plane to facilitate inserting the one or more pins in the bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 15 wherein the opening receives a portion of the one or more pins after the one or more pins have been inserted in the bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 17 wherein the body comprises a surface configured to contact a cut surface formed on a bone (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 18 wherein the bone is femur and the cut surface is a distal cut surface formed on the femur during a knee replacement procedure (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 20, Metzger et al. (‘275) teach the system of claim 11 wherein the first distance corresponds to a distance between a pair of pegs associated with a cut block (see [0039]; and Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797