DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0164203 (hereinafter Mavinahally).
Regarding claim 1, Mavinahally discloses an electronic foot-operated faucet, comprising:
a faucet spout (104) for dispensing liquid;
an electronically-controllable valve (312) for controlling flow of the liquid to the faucet spout;
a foot detection sensor (162, 164) configured to sense a presence of an individual's foot or other object within a foot detection region (about 172, 174); and
a control subsystem (160) configured to:
detect an object within the foot detection region based on sensor data from the foot detection sensor; and
control the electronically-controllable valve based on a detection of an object within the foot detection region (see para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, wherein the foot detection sensor is a time of flight sensor (see para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 2, wherein the time of flight sensor is: an infrared sensor that uses information obtained from infrared (IR), near infrared (NIR), mid infrared (MIR), and/or far infrared (FIR); or an ultrasonic sensor that information obtained from ultrasonic waves transmitted from the foot detection region (see para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, further comprising an approach sensor (402) configured to detect when an individual is within an approach region (see Fig. 1: the region in front of the sink).
Regarding claim 5, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 4, wherein the foot detection region includes a region located between the approach region and a vertical projection plane positioned vertically in tangential contact with an exit location of the faucet spout at which the liquid is dispensed.
Regarding claim 6, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 5, wherein the approach region is located in front of the electronic foot-operated faucet, corresponding to a region in which an individual stands when operating the electronic foot- operated faucet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 4, wherein the approach sensor (sound sensor 402) is a proximity sensor that detects when a proximity detection zone is occupied, and wherein the proximity detection zone is or is located in the approach region.
Regarding claim 8, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 4, wherein the electronically- controllable valve is controlled based on the detection of the object within the foot detection region when the control subsystem is in an active state, and wherein the control subsystem enters the active state when an individual is detected within the approach region by the approach sensor (see para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, wherein the electronically- controllable valve is a first electronically-controllable valve (312), wherein the electronic foot-operated faucet further comprises a second electronically-controllable valve (314), and wherein the control subsystem is configured to control the second electronically-controllable valve based on the detection of the object within the foot detection region.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 9, wherein the foot detection region includes a first foot detection subregion (about 172) and a second foot detection subregion (about 174), and wherein the control subsystem is configured to:
control the first electronically-controllable valve based on the detection of the object within the first foot detection subregion; and
control the second electronically-controllable valve based on the detection of the object within the second foot detection subregion.
Regarding claim 11, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 9, wherein the first electronically-controllable valve controls dispensing of cold water through the faucet spout and the second electronically-controllable valve controls dispensing of hot water through the faucet spout.
Regarding claim 12, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 11, wherein the control subsystem is configured to control the first electronically-controllable valve and the second electronically-controllable valve in order to change a temperature of the liquid being dispensed based on a lateral position of the object detected within the foot detection region (see para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 12, wherein the control subsystem is configured to cause colder water to be dispensed when the object is detected toward a first lateral side of a foot detection region and hotter water to be dispensed when the object is detected toward a second lateral side of the foot detection region (see para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, wherein the control subsystem is configured to provide an audible and/or visual indication (105a, 105b) indicating a detection status of the control subsystem.
Regarding claim 15, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 14, further comprising a light source, wherein the control subsystem is configured to control output of the light source so as to provide the audible and/or visual indication as a visible light output generated by the light source.
Regarding claim 16, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, wherein the faucet is a wall- mounted faucet or a deck mounted faucet (see figures).
Regarding claim 17, the electronic foot-operated faucet of claim 1, further comprising a faucet basin (110) for collecting the liquid after being dispensed through the faucet spout, wherein the faucet basin projects forward from the faucet spout, and wherein the foot detection region includes a region located vertically underneath the faucet basin (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, the method as claimed is fully met by the normal use of the Mavinahally faucet as discussed regarding claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19, Mavinahally teaches non-transitory, computer-readable medium (see para. [0047]), comprising computer instructions (see Figs. 17-20) that, when executed by at least one processor of the phone or computer, carry out the method of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Mavinahally discloses an electronic foot-operated control system (300) for an electronic foot-operated faucet, comprising electronics configured to perform a process (see Figs. 17-20) including:
detect of an object within a foot detection region (about 172, 174) based on sensor data from a foot detection sensor (162, 164), wherein the foot detection sensor is configured to sense a presence of an individual's foot or other object within the foot detection region (see para. [0039]); and
control an electronically-controllable valve (312, 314) based on a detection of an object within the foot detection region, wherein the electronically-controllable valve is for controlling flow of liquid to a faucet spout that dispenses the liquid (see para. [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN-115341621-A (Eilmus) teaches an analogous faucet comprising multiple sensing regions similar to the instant invention. US 2022/0316193 (Soberano et al.) teaches an analogous faucet having a foot detection sensor.
/TUAN N NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754