DETAILED ACTION
Response Date
This Office Action is in response to applicant's response filed on May 21, 2026, from
Non-Final Office Action mailed out on March 25, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3 and 8 have been added. Claims 2 and 10-20 have been canceled.
Claims 21-36 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3-9 and 21-36 are pending in the
Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed May 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SUZUK et al. Pub. No.: US 20210092466.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 21-26 and 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd Pub. No.: US 20210344991 (Hereinafter “Todd”) in view of Linderoth et al. Pub. No. US 20190109975 (Hereinafter "Linderoth"), further in view of SUZUK et al. Pub. No.: US 20210092466 (Hereinafter “Suzuk”).
Regarding Claim 1, Todd discloses a user device, providing a given remote experience of a live event, comprising:
a data buffer coupled to a server (see paragraph [0489]);
a decoder coupled to the data buffer (see paragraph [0372]);
an output port coupled to the decoder and to an Audio-Video (A/V) presentation device (see paragraphs [0246] and [0366]);
a processor, coupled to the decoder (see paragraph [0382]); and
a storage device coupled to the processor; wherein the data buffer receives an A/V file stream from the server (see paragraph [0452]);
wherein the A/V file stream is decoded by the decoder and the processor and output to the A/V presentation device (see paragraph [0638]);
Todd fails to disclose:
wherein the A/V file stream includes a video portion that corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location;
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location;
wherein the A/V file stream is provided in near real time to the data buffer; and
wherein the A/V file stream is decoded by the decoder and the processor and output to the A/V presentation device near real time for the live event; and
wherein the A/V presentation device presents the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscriber.
In analogous art, Linderoth teaches:
wherein the A/V file stream includes a video portion that corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]);
wherein the A/V file stream is provided in near real time to the data (see paragraphs [0037] and [0040]); and
wherein the A/V file stream is decoded by the decoder and the processor and output to the A/V presentation device near real time for the live event (see paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); and
wherein the A/V presentation device presents the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscriber (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd with the teaching as
taught by Linderoth in order to capture all important actions that happen simultaneously on different parts of the field, thereby generating a good video quality from all angles.
Todd in view of Linderoth fail to teach:
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location;
In analogous art, Suzuk teaches:
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location (see paragraphs [0092-0093]);
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd in view of Linderoth
with the teaching as taught by Suzuk to capture immersive and comprehensive visual
content from all angles, thereby improving user convenience.
Regarding Claim 3, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Suzuk further discloses wherein the plurality of 360 degree image objects are provided by a control center at the live event location to a headend processing system coupled to the server (see paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Todd further discloses wherein one or more data structures, corresponding to a subscriber account (see paragraph [0388]), on the other hand, Linderoth identify the given vantage point as being subscribed to by the subscriber (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Todd further discloses, wherein the A/V file stream is compressed by the server prior to transmission to the user device; and wherein the decoder decompresses the A/V file stream into a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) format prior to output to the A/V presentation device (see paragraph [0224]).
Regarding Claim 6, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Linderoth further discloses a user input interface, coupled to the processor, generating a subscriber control Graphical User Interface (GUI) providing at least one option for a subscriber to adjust the video portion of the live event (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 7, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Linderoth further discloses wherein the GUI facilitates selection by the subscriber of the given vantage point at the live event location (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 21, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 1 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 1 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 3 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 3 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 4 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 4 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 5 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 5 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 6 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 6 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 7 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 7 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 29, Todd discloses a method for presenting, using a user device, a given remote experience of a live event comprising:
receiving an A/V file stream from a server (see paragraph [0330]);
decoding and outputting the A/V file stream to an A/V presentation device coupled to the processor (see paragraph [0638]);
Todd fails to disclose:
wherein the A/V file stream is received in near real time;
wherein a video portion, in the A/V file stream, corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location;
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location;
decoding and outputting the A/V file stream to an A/V presentation device coupled to the processor, in near real time for the live event, the video portion; and
presenting, via the A/V presentation device, the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscribing user of the user device.
In analogous art, Linderoth teaches:
wherein the A/V file stream is received in near real time (see paragraphs [0037] and [0040]);
wherein a video portion, in the A/V file stream, corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]);
decoding and outputting the A/V file stream to an A/V presentation device coupled to the processor, in near real time for the live event, the video portion (see paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); and
presenting, via the A/V presentation device, the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscribing user of the user device (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd with the teaching as
taught by Linderoth in order to capture all important actions that happen simultaneously on different parts of the field, thereby generating a good video quality from all angles.
Todd in view of Linderoth fail to teach:
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location;
In analogous art, Suzuk teaches:
wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional camera located at the live event location (see paragraphs [0092-0093]);
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd in view of Linderoth
with the teaching as taught by Suzuk to capture immersive and comprehensive visual
content from all angles, thereby improving user convenience.
Regarding Claim 30, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 31, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 32, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 33, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 34, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Claims 8-9, 27-28 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd Pub. No.: US 20210344991 (Hereinafter “Todd”) in view of Linderoth et al. Pub. No.: US 20190109975 (Hereinafter "Linderoth"), further in view of SUZUK et al. Pub. No.: US 20210092466 (Hereinafter “Suzuk”) further in view of Wong Pub. No.: US 20200260150 (Hereinafter “Wong”).
Regarding Claim 8, Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk fail to disclose:
wherein the GUI facilitates requests, by the subscriber, for adjustments of the video portion relative to the live event by requesting one or more orientation operations comprising: a panning left operation, a panning right operation, a panning up operation, a panning down operation, a zooming-in operation, and a zooming-out operation; and wherein the server, upon receipt of a request for adjustment of the video portion, digitally manipulates one or more of a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by the omnidirectional video camera located at the live event location and outputs the digitally manipulated 360 degree image objects in the A/V file stream.
In analogous art, Wong teaches:
wherein the GUI facilitates requests, by the subscriber, for adjustments of the video portion relative to the live event by requesting one or more orientation operations comprising: a panning left operation, a panning right operation, a panning up operation, a panning down operation, a zooming-in operation, and a zooming-out operation; and wherein the server, upon receipt of a request for adjustment of the video portion, digitally manipulates one or more of a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by the omnidirectional video camera located at the live event location and outputs the digitally manipulated 360 degree image objects in the A/V file stream (see paragraphs [0025 and 0028]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd in view of Linderoth
and Suzuk with the teaching as taught by Wong in order to enable the user to access
video streaming preferences and configuration options.
Regarding Claim 9, Todd in view of Linderoth, Suzuk and Wong disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 8. Wong further discloses wherein the GUI enables the subscriber to select video data from a second camera at a second location at the live event location; and wherein the server transmits video data, corresponding to the second camera, in the A/V file stream to the user device (see paragraphs [0025 and 0028]).
Regarding Claim 27, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 8 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 8 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 28, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 9 in “non-transitory computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Todd in view of Linderoth and Suzuk discussed with respect to claim 9 in “non-transitory computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 35, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 36, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424