DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on February 25, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd Pub. No.: US 20210344991 (Hereinafter “Todd”) in view of Linderoth et al. Pub. No.: US 20190109975 (Hereinafter “Linderoth”).
Regarding Claim 1, Todd discloses a user device, providing a given remote experience of a live event, comprising:
a data buffer coupled to a server (see paragraph [0489]);
a decoder coupled to the data buffer (see paragraph [0372]);
an output port coupled to the decoder and to an Audio-Video (A/V) presentation device (see paragraphs [0246] and [0366]);
a processor, coupled to the decoder (see paragraph [0382]); and
a storage device coupled to the processor; wherein the data buffer receives an A/V file stream from the server (see paragraph [0452);
Todd fails to disclose:
wherein the A/V file stream includes a video portion that corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location;
wherein the A/V file stream is provided in near real time to the data buffer; and
wherein the A/V file stream is decoded by the decoder and the processor and output to the A/V presentation device near real time for the live event; and
wherein the A/V presentation device presents the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscriber.
In analogous art, art Linderoth teaches:
wherein the A/V file stream includes a video portion that corresponds to a given vantage point for a live event at a live event location (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]);
wherein the A/V file stream is provided in near real time to the data (see paragraphs [0037] and [0040]); and
wherein the A/V file stream is decoded by the decoder and the processor and output to the A/V presentation device near real time for the live event (see paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); and
wherein the A/V presentation device presents the live event, near real time and from the given vantage point in the live event location, to a subscriber (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Todd with the teaching as
taught by Linderoth in order to capture all important actions that happens simultaneously on different parts of the field, thereby generating a good video
quality from all angles.
Regarding Claim 2, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Linderoth further discloses wherein the server extracts the video portion from a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by an omnidirectional video camera at the live event location (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 3, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. Linderoth further discloses wherein the plurality of 360 degree image objects are provided by a control center at the live event location to a headend processing system coupled to the server (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 4, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Todd further discloses wherein one or more data structures, corresponding to a subscriber account (see paragraph [0388]), on the other hand, Linderoth identify the given vantage point as being subscribed to by the subscriber (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Todd further discloses, wherein the A/V file stream is compressed by the server prior to transmission to the user device; and wherein the decoder decompresses the A/V file stream into a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) format prior to output to the A/V presentation device (see paragraph [0224]).
Regarding Claim 6, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Linderoth further discloses a user input interface, coupled to the processor, generating a subscriber control Graphical User Interface (GUI) providing at least one option for a subscriber to adjust the video portion of the live event (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 7, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Linderoth further discloses wherein the GUI facilitates selection by the subscriber of the given vantage point at the live event location (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 8, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. Linderoth further discloses wherein the GUI facilitates requests, by the subscriber, for adjustments of the video portion relative to the live event by requesting one or more orientation operations comprising: a panning left operation, a panning right operation, a panning up operation, a panning down operation, a zooming-in operation, and a zooming-out operation; and wherein the server, upon receipt of a request for adjustment of the video portion, digitally manipulates one or more of a plurality of 360 degree image objects captured by at least one omnidirectional video camera located at the live event location and outputs the digitally manipulated 360 degree image objects in the A/V file stream (see abstract and paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 9, Todd in view of Linderoth disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 8. Linderoth further discloses wherein the GUI enables the subscriber to select video data from a second camera at a second location at the live event location; and wherein the server transmits video data, corresponding to the second camera, in the A/V file stream to the user device (see fig.4 and paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424