Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sub-assembly”, “pocket” “camera or laser”, ‘pull-through line” “toggle closure” as claimed in claims 5-9 and 13-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6-8 and 18 recite a limitation of sub-assembly. However, the specification fail to disclose any sub-assembly.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitations of “pocket”. However, there is no support for a pocket in the specification.
Claims 19 recite the limitations of inspecting the seat with camera or laser. However, there is no support for these limitations in the specification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 4 recite the limitations of e.g. which is being treated as “for example”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10-12, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2023/0365041).
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi et al. disclose a seat system 201 comprising: a plurality of seat components including at least a fan 239, inflatable bladders 209, a foam layer 219, and an air distribution layer 217; a seat cushioning material 216; a trim cover 214 disposed on the seat cushioning material, the seat components disposed between the seat cushioning material and the trim cover and secured together with at least one fastener 80 (similar fastening is present in fig 13A).
However, fig. 13A of Yamauchi fails to disclose a heat mat. Instead, Yamauchi in fig. 3 discloses a heat mat 38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yamauchi fig. 3 and include a heat wire in the invention Yamauchi fig 13A in order to provide additional comfort with low cost.
Regarding claim 2, Yamauchi discloses a corrugated joint (see figure 2 where the fastener 80 is connected to the trim member) between the trim cover and the seat cushioning material.
Regarding claim 4, Yamauchi discloses the foam layer has one or more cavities 240 (e.g., a bulk space recessed into the surface, not a void cell in the foam), and the inflatable bladders 209 are disposed in the one or more cavities.
Regarding claim 5, Yamauchi discloses the at least one fastener 80 is selected from the group consisting of a key and tab that interlock (hook and wire functions as key and tab), a plurality of tag pins, a sewn seam, a snap lock, a push-fastener fir-tree, a cable tie, a metal ring, a push pin, a toggle closure, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Yamauchi discloses the seat components together provide a seat component sub-assembly, and the at least one fastener 80 secures the seat component sub-assembly and the trim cover together 214.
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi discloses the seat sub-assembly is sealed to be airtight.
Regarding claim 10, Yamauchi discloses the seat cushioning material has a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side includes one or more cavities (where the component 217 sits).
Regarding claim 11, Yamauchi discloses at least one of the seat components 227 is nested with one or more of the cavities.
Regarding claim 12, Yamauchi discloses the seat cushioning material is multi-layered (216, 217, 219).
Regarding claim 18, Yamauchi in fig 13A discloses a method comprising: stacking together least a fan 239, inflatable bladders 209, a foam layer 219, and an air distribution layer 217 to form a seat component sub-assembly; securing the seat component sub-assembly together with at least one fastener 80; securing the seat component sub-assembly with a trim cover 214; and securing the trim cover with the seat component sub-assembly to a seat cushioning material 216, the seat component sub-assembly disposed between the seat cushioning material and the trim cover.
However, fig. 13A of Yamauchi fails to disclose a heat mat. Instead, Yamauchi in fig. 3 discloses a heat mat 38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yamauchi fig. 3 and include a heat wire in the invention Yamauchi fig 13A in order to provide additional comfort with low cost.
Regarding claim 20, Yamauchi the seat cushioning material 216 has a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side including one or more cavities (where the component 217 sits), and including bringing together the seat component sub-assembly 227 and the seat cushioning material, wherein upon bringing the seat component sub-assembly and the seat cushioning material together includes one or more portions of the seat component sub-assembly nesting into the one or more cavities in the seat cushioning material.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Friderich (US 2020/0070696).
Regarding claim 3, Friderich discloses the fan 14a-c is embedded in the seat cushioning material 22.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Friedrich and embed the fan in the cushioning material in invention of Yamauchi in order to make it compact and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 8, Fridreich discloses the seat component sub-assembly includes a pocket 30 and the fan 14a-c is disposed in the pocket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Friedrich and embed the fan in a pocket in the cushioning material in invention of Yamauchi in order to make it compact and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 17, Fridreich discloses the fan 14a-c defines a fan profile and the one or more cavities 30 has a cavity geometry that is analogous to the fan profile.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Friedrich and embed the fan in the cushioning material in invention of Yamauchi in order to make it compact and inexpensive.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Worlitz et al. (9,302,601).
Regarding claim 9, Worlitz et al. disclose the trim cover includes a pocket 5 and at least one of the seat components is disposed in the pocket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Worlitz et al. and use a pocket in the in invention of Yamauchi in order to make it compact and to provide protection.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Booth et al. (US 2019/0368078).
Regarding claims 13-16, Booth et al. disclose the seat cushioning material and/or the seat components include an alignment feature 30, wherein the alignment feature includes a pull-though line 304 connected with the seat components and extending through the seat cushioning material whereupon tensioning of the pull-through line brings the seat components into alignment with the seat cushioning material, wherein the pull-through line is elastic 308, wherein the pull-through line includes a toggle closure (fig. 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Booth et al. and use the alignment feature in the invention of Yamauchi because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Bowlus (US 2016/0171859).
Regarding claim 19, Bowlus discloses dimensionally inspecting the seat system using at least one of a camera or a laser (para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bowlus and use camera inspection in the invention of Yamauchi in order to reset any settings.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636