DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 10, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman-Shenhar et al. (US 20220250506; hereinafter Goldman-Shenhar; already of record) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230048344; hereinafter Lee; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 1, Goldman-Shenhar discloses of a battery temperature adjustment system configured to adjust a temperature of a power storage device mounted on a vehicle (“Battery thermal preconditioning includes scheduling thermal preconditioning in accordance with user presets, preferences and battery and/or vehicle conditions and profiles. Thermal preconditioning in advance of charging events may optimize charge time, battery health and range. Manual and predictive intelligence methods may be employed to attain and maintain a predetermined range of battery pack temperatures.” (Abstract), “The battery pack TMS 66 may include bi-directional heat transfers into and out of the battery pack 62. The battery pack TMS 66 may include, for example, a cooling plate for dissipating heat from the battery pack and positive thermal coefficient (PTC) heating devices, both preferably integrated within the battery pack 62 beneath or between battery modules. Other heating technologies including resistive heating may be employed. The cooling plate may include fluid circulated therethrough and through an external cooling circuit. The cooling circuit may include an electrically driven refrigerant compressor. The battery pack 62 is the source of electrical energy for heating and cooling the battery pack, both of which will result in reduction of battery pack 62 charge and SOC reduction. The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Para 0030), see also Fig 1), the battery temperature adjustment system comprising:
a temperature adjustment device configured to adjust the temperature of the power storage device (“The battery pack TMS 66 may include bi-directional heat transfers into and out of the battery pack 62. The battery pack TMS 66 may include, for example, a cooling plate for dissipating heat from the battery pack and positive thermal coefficient (PTC) heating devices, both preferably integrated within the battery pack 62 beneath or between battery modules. Other heating technologies including resistive heating may be employed. The cooling plate may include fluid circulated therethrough and through an external cooling circuit. The cooling circuit may include an electrically driven refrigerant compressor. The battery pack 62 is the source of electrical energy for heating and cooling the battery pack, both of which will result in reduction of battery pack 62 charge and SOC reduction. The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Para 0030),;
a processor configured to control the temperature adjustment device (“Processor 36 may be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, ASICs, etc. It may be a dedicated processor used only for communications device 30 or may be shared with other vehicle systems. Processor 36 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 38, which enable the device 30 to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 36 may execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the methods discussed herein. Memory 38 may be a temporary powered memory, any non-transitory computer readable medium, or other type of memory. For example, the memory may be any of a number of different types of RAM (random-access memory, including various types of dynamic RAM (DRAM) and static RAM (SRAM)), ROM (read-only memory), solid-state drives (SSDs) (including other solid-state storage such as solid state hybrid drives (SSHDs)), hard disk drives (HDDs), magnetic or optical disc drives. Similar components to those previously described (processor 36, memory 38, SRWC circuit 32 and cellular chipset 34) may be included in other VCMs, including BCM 24 and BPCM 64.” (Para 0035), “BCM 24 may be used to control various other VCMs of the vehicle, as well as obtain information concerning other VCMs, including their present state or status, and sensor information. BCM 24 is shown in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1 as being electrically coupled to communication bus 58. In some embodiments, the BCM 24 may be integrated with or as part of a center stack module (CSM) and/or integrated with the wireless communications device 30. BCM 24 may include a processor and memory, which may be similar to processor 36 and memory 38 of wireless communications device 30, as disclosed herein. BCM 24 may communicate with wireless device 30, an audio system 56, BPCM 64, TMS 66, and other VCMs 28. BCM 24 may include a processor and memory accessible by the processor. Suitable memory may include non-transitory computer-readable memory that includes various forms of non-volatile RAM and ROM. Software stored in the memory and executable by the processor enables the BCM to direct one or more vehicle functions or operations including, for example, controlling central locking, heating/ventilation/air conditioning (HVAC) functions, power mirrors, and/or controlling various other vehicle modules. For example, the BCM 24 may send signals to other VCMs, such as a request to perform a particular operation or a request for sensor information and, in response, the sensor may then send back the requested information. And, the BCM 24 may receive data from VCMs, battery pack 62 information from BPCM 64, battery pack thermal management information from TMS 66, and various other vehicle component and system information from other VCMs. The data may be sent to the wireless communications device 30 automatically upon receiving a request from the device/computer, automatically upon certain conditions being met, or periodically (e.g., at set time intervals). As discussed in more detail below, the BCM 24 may be configured with one or more triggers that, when a condition is satisfied, the BCM performs some operation, such as sending sensor information to the wireless communications device 30 (or to another device or entity, such as backend facility 80). In this way, the BCM 24 may filter information based on predetermined or predefined triggers and pass the filtered information on to other VCMs, including the wireless communications device 30.” (Para 0039), see also Fig 1); and
a display device configured to display a setting mode of the temperature adjustment device, wherein the setting mode of the temperature adjustment device includes a first mode and a second mode (“Battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a decision input block 201 and planning block 203. Generally, the decision input block 201 may include user inputs including settings, preferences, customizations, requests, and the like. In one embodiment, a user may manually request, at a manual settings module 211, battery pack thermal preconditioning immediately, in accordance with some possible time delay (e.g., in 30 minutes), in accordance with a single or repetitive time/date setting (e.g., 6 a.m. on Monday mornings), in accordance with a time/date interval (e.g., odd numbered days, every third day), or in accordance with other fixed schedule settings. Additionally or alternatively, a user may manually request battery pack thermal preconditioning to coincide with a user set minimum battery pack range. In such scenarios, the user simply provides a set-and-forget request at a manual settings module 211 that will invoke battery pack thermal preconditioning in accordance with the setting. Such manual settings may be received via the various vehicle-user interfaces 50-56 (FIG. 1) and provided to the manual settings module 211. For example, user settings may be provided via push buttons 52, visual display 50, a microphone 54, audio system 56 and voice recognition/dialogue manager, mobile devices 90, etc.” (Para 0054), “In another embodiment, an automated invocation of battery pack preconditioning may rely upon an event based module 213 of the decision input block 201. The event based module 213 may rely upon user preferences, for example between or among various user specific preferences. In accordance with one embodiment a user may set or select at least one of a limited number of available preferences at a preference module 212, such as charging time (i.e. minimizing time at charging station) and battery pack range (maximizing battery pack range). For example, a user may be uncertain regarding travel to a charging station and thus preferentially desires to maintain a higher battery pack charge in lieu of a shorter time spent at a charging station. In such a scenario, the user may prioritize or select battery pack range over charging time. A simple selection of one preference over another will thus prioritize the selected preference. Multiple preferences may be prioritized by the user through a numerical ranking or similar setting. One having ordinary skill in the art will understand that personal preferences may be one-dimensional, multi-dimensional, or subject to limits and conditions. User preferences at preference module 212 may be received via various vehicle-user interfaces and provided to the event based module 213. For example, user settings may be provided via push buttons 52, visual display 50, a microphone 54, audio system 56 and voice recognition/dialogue manager, mobile devices 90, etc.” (Para 0055), “In one embodiment, the routine 251 at step 263 evaluates the duration for thermal conditioning determined at step 261. When the duration is null <262>, indicating no thermal conditioning duration required, the routine 251 is exited at step 265. Otherwise, the routine 251 may continue <264> to steps related to user intervention and approvals as may be selectively enabled by the user in customization settings of the vehicle (e.g., at preference module 212). At step 267, for example, a user approval setting may be checked. When no further approvals are required <268>, the routine 251 continues to step 273. When further approvals are required <266>, the routine 251 continues to step 269 where required approval steps may provide the user with additional decision information such as the effect that thermal preconditioning will have upon battery pack range. Such information may be provided, for example, via push buttons 52, visual display 50, audio system 56, mobile devices 90, etc. Next at step 271 a request for approval is made of the user, for example via push buttons 52, visual display 50, a microphone 54, audio system 56 and voice recognition/dialogue manager, mobile devices 90, etc. Approval requests may additionally request schedule confirmations or changes, delays, ignoring or cancelations for more accurate scheduling of the thermal preconditioning. Without approval or with schedule changes, delays or cancelations <272>, the routine may return to monitor at step 253 as described above for continued routine 253 execution including updated schedules, delays and cancelations. With approval <274>, or when no approval was required at step 267, the thermal preconditioning of the battery pack is performed at step 273 at an appropriate time in accordance with the manual requests, event based model 213 and schedule based model 221 based user settings, preferences and schedule, determined duration, current vehicle location, temporal condition, and predicted charging destination such that the vehicle arrives at the charging station in a thermally preconditioned state. Step 273 may command the TMS 66 directly or through the BPCM to control the battery pack temperature to the predetermined range of temperature for a battery recharge event. The TMS 66 may then heat and/or cool the battery pack 62 as required in accordance with the determined duration for thermal conditioning.” (Para 0060)),
the first mode is a mode that is a setting in which, when a travel route of the vehicle includes a facility where the power storage device is chargeable, the temperature of the power storage device is adjusted within a first temperature range suitable for charging at a time of arrival at the facility “In another embodiment, an automated invocation of battery pack preconditioning may rely upon an event based module 213 of the decision input block 201. The event based module 213 may rely upon user preferences, for example between or among various user specific preferences. In accordance with one embodiment a user may set or select at least one of a limited number of available preferences at a preference module 212, such as charging time (i.e. minimizing time at charging station) and battery pack range (maximizing battery pack range). For example, a user may be uncertain regarding travel to a charging station and thus preferentially desires to maintain a higher battery pack charge in lieu of a shorter time spent at a charging station. In such a scenario, the user may prioritize or select battery pack range over charging time. A simple selection of one preference over another will thus prioritize the selected preference. Multiple preferences may be prioritized by the user through a numerical ranking or similar setting. One having ordinary skill in the art will understand that personal preferences may be one-dimensional, multi-dimensional, or subject to limits and conditions. User preferences at preference module 212 may be received via various vehicle-user interfaces and provided to the event based module 213. For example, user settings may be provided via push buttons 52, visual display 50, a microphone 54, audio system 56 and voice recognition/dialogue manager, mobile devices 90, etc. One exemplary system for managing user preferences is disclosed in commonly owned US Patent Publication 2016/0180236 A1 which is incorporated herein by reference. In accordance with an embodiment, event based module 213 may include a data collection module 215 to log vehicle usage information regarding, for example, charge site visitations, battery pack range, route information such as vehicle origin and destination, and temporal information such as time of day and day of week. In accordance with an embodiment, event based module 213 may further include a learning module 217 which may include a machine learning model for use in scheduling charging events given current vehicle location and temporal conditions (e.g., date and time). In one embodiment, the machine learning model of the learning module 217 may include a probabilistic model providing a probability of a charging event (charge event probability (PrC)) at a known charging station based on current vehicle location and temporal conditions (e.g., date and time). One skilled in the art will appreciate that the machine learning model of the learning module 217 may require an initial training period wherein the data collection module 215 and learning module 217 may collect statistically significant training datasets of vehicle usage information and converge the machine learning model solutions. Statistically significant training datasets of vehicle usage information may be defined in terms of time, drive cycles, charging cycles or other metrics. For example, frequent daily short trip vehicle usage with infrequent charging events may require several weeks of vehicle usage information logging before training datasets are sufficient. In contrast, frequent daily extended trip vehicle usage with one or more daily charging events may require a shorter period of vehicle usage information logging before training datasets are sufficient. Thereafter, the data collection module 215 may collect an additional dataset of vehicle usage information to validate the trained machine learning model of the learning module 217. In other embodiments, the learning module 217 may include a non-probabilistic model. In any case, the learning module 217 may include some type of machine learning model reliant upon a training dataset of vehicle usage information from the data collection module 215. Preferably, the data collection module 215 continues to log vehicle usage information and retains such information in updated datasets for periodic validation of the trained machine learning model of the learning module 217 and re-training as may be periodically system or user invoked. The machine learning model, once trained and validated, may be provided in the event based model 213 as an executable model 219.” (Para 0055), “The battery pack TMS 66 may include bi-directional heat transfers into and out of the battery pack 62. The battery pack TMS 66 may include, for example, a cooling plate for dissipating heat from the battery pack and positive thermal coefficient (PTC) heating devices, both preferably integrated within the battery pack 62 beneath or between battery modules. Other heating technologies including resistive heating may be employed. The cooling plate may include fluid circulated therethrough and through an external cooling circuit. The cooling circuit may include an electrically driven refrigerant compressor. The battery pack 62 is the source of electrical energy for heating and cooling the battery pack, both of which will result in reduction of battery pack 62 charge and SOC reduction. The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Para 0030), “With approval <274>, or when no approval was required at step 267, the thermal preconditioning of the battery pack is performed at step 273 at an appropriate time in accordance with the manual requests, event based model 213 and schedule based model 221 based user settings, preferences and schedule, determined duration, current vehicle location, temporal condition, and predicted charging destination such that the vehicle arrives at the charging station in a thermally preconditioned state. Step 273 may command the TMS 66 directly or through the BPCM to control the battery pack temperature to the predetermined range of temperature for a battery recharge event. The TMS 66 may then heat and/or cool the battery pack 62 as required in accordance with the determined duration for thermal conditioning.” (Para 0060); wherein the automatic preconditioning of battery prior to arriving at a charging facility is the first mode, Part 213),
the second mode is a mode that is a setting in which the temperature of the power storage device is adjusted within a second temperature range suitable for charging or traveling in response to reception of a predetermined operation, for adjusting the temperature of the power storage device within the second temperature range, by a user of the vehicle (“Battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a decision input block 201 and planning block 203. Generally, the decision input block 201 may include user inputs including settings, preferences, customizations, requests, and the like. In one embodiment, a user may manually request, at a manual settings module 211, battery pack thermal preconditioning immediately, in accordance with some possible time delay (e.g., in 30 minutes), in accordance with a single or repetitive time/date setting (e.g., 6 a.m. on Monday mornings), in accordance with a time/date interval (e.g., odd numbered days, every third day), or in accordance with other fixed schedule settings. Additionally or alternatively, a user may manually request battery pack thermal preconditioning to coincide with a user set minimum battery pack range. In such scenarios, the user simply provides a set-and-forget request at a manual settings module 211 that will invoke battery pack thermal preconditioning in accordance with the setting. Such manual settings may be received via the various vehicle-user interfaces 50-56 (FIG. 1) and provided to the manual settings module 211. For example, user settings may be provided via push buttons 52, visual display 50, a microphone 54, audio system 56 and voice recognition/dialogue manager, mobile devices 90, etc. “ (Para 0054), “In one embodiment, the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a planning block 203 receiving from the decision input block 201 the manual request for thermal preconditioning from the manual settings module 211 or the respective outputs (e.g., charge event probability (PrC) and predicted charging destination) from the respective executable models 219 and 227 of the event based module 213 or the schedule based module 221. Manual requests may be indicated in terms of a reserved charge event probability (PrC) setting (e.g., PrC=1). Similarly, a charge event probability (PrC) setting PrC=0 may be reserved to indicate that the respective executable model 219, 227 is not yet ready or operational (e.g., is not populated with a fully trained and validated model).” (Para 0059), “In one embodiment, the battery pack 62 may be Lithium chemistry based. It is known that low temperatures reduce Lithium battery performance which then may be more prone to damage at aggressive discharge. Similarly, it is known that higher temperature discharging may reduce cycle life or result in undesirable venting of Lithium batteries. Other undesirable effects upon the battery pack 62 may be incurred if the battery pack 62 is discharged outside of the predetermined temperature range. Other battery chemistries have similar discharge-temperature concerns and generally will have a predetermined range of temperature preferred for discharge. Moreover, battery pack 62 charging is preferably accomplished within another predetermined range of temperatures for similar reasons. As well, low battery pack 62 temperatures may significantly increase the time it takes to recharge a battery pack 62. Thus, TMS 66 may be called upon to heat the battery pack 62 if it is below the predetermined temperature range and to cool the battery pack 62 if it is above the predetermined temperature range, and to otherwise maintain the battery pack 62 within the predetermined temperature range. “ (Para 0050), “In accordance with one embodiment, the TMS 66 may be used to precondition the battery pack 62 for efficient drive cycles. For example, prior to motive operation of the vehicle 12, it may be desirable that the battery pack 62 be within a predetermined temperature range for a drive cycle and the TMS 66 is used for that objective. In accordance with another embodiment, the TMS 66 is used to control the battery pack 62 temperature to a predetermined range for a battery recharge event. In one embodiment, temperature of the battery pack 62 is controlled to account for the competing objectives of battery pack 62 SOC and thus battery pack range and desired battery pack temperature at time of charge event and thus time required to charge the battery pack 62. In accordance with the present disclosure, it is generally desirable to thermally precondition the battery pack 62 in order that the vehicle 12 gets to a charging station within a predetermined temperature range for charge acceptance and in consideration of the specific drive cycle and/or user preferences. In one embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be manually set by the user. In another embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be predictively determined.” (Para 0051), see also Para 0058), where the second mode is a manual settings module, where it is noted that manual settings can adjust the temperature of the battery pack accordingly),
However, Goldman-Shenhar does not specifically disclose of the display device is configured to include a common element in an indication of each of the first mode and the second mode, and to add a specific element to the common element in either the first mode or the second mode,
the processor is configured to control the display device to display the common element when the setting mode is each of the first mode and the second mode, and
the processor is configured to control the display device to display the specific element when the setting mode is either the first mode or the second mode.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the display device is configured to include a common element in an indication of each of the first mode and the second mode, and to add a specific element to the common element in either the first mode or the second mode (“FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a system for battery conditioning of a vehicle according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. The system according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure comprises receivers A and E configured to collect driving route information of the vehicle, battery state information of the vehicle and battery conditioning mode setup state information; and a controller B configured to determine whether or not the vehicle enters battery conditioning control based on the driving route information of the vehicle, the battery state information of the vehicle and the battery conditioning mode setup state information from the receivers A and E, and to control a battery temperature adjuster F so as to adjust the temperature of the battery in advance before charging the battery during the battery conditioning control.” (Para 0036), “In another exemplary embodiment, technology which sets a battery conditioning mode reflecting a user option may be applied. During battery conditioning, when the battery conditioning function of the battery is operated, the display units of the AVNT system A and the communication terminal D output an activated state of the battery conditioning mode through displays. When the user does not want to execute battery conditioning because of a residual driving distance or for other reasons, the battery conditioning mode displayed as an AVNT menu may be released via several stage screens, but an action of operating the AVNT menu during driving causes a safety assurance problem. Therefore, addition of an operation of allowing the user to select activation of the battery conditioning mode through a pop-up window on the display unit of the AVNT system A when the vehicle enters the battery conditioning mode is may increase user convenience.” (Para 0058), see also Figs 2-4, where in Fig 4 a box is check-marked to indicate that the first mode is activated (specific element), while the remaining displays of Figs 2-4 remain the same regardless of the mode being selected (common element)).
the processor is configured to control the display device to display the common element when the setting mode is each of the first mode and the second mode (“FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a system for battery conditioning of a vehicle according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. The system according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure comprises receivers A and E configured to collect driving route information of the vehicle, battery state information of the vehicle and battery conditioning mode setup state information; and a controller B configured to determine whether or not the vehicle enters battery conditioning control based on the driving route information of the vehicle, the battery state information of the vehicle and the battery conditioning mode setup state information from the receivers A and E, and to control a battery temperature adjuster F so as to adjust the temperature of the battery in advance before charging the battery during the battery conditioning control.” (Para 0036), “In another exemplary embodiment, technology which sets a battery conditioning mode reflecting a user option may be applied. During battery conditioning, when the battery conditioning function of the battery is operated, the display units of the AVNT system A and the communication terminal D output an activated state of the battery conditioning mode through displays. When the user does not want to execute battery conditioning because of a residual driving distance or for other reasons, the battery conditioning mode displayed as an AVNT menu may be released via several stage screens, but an action of operating the AVNT menu during driving causes a safety assurance problem. Therefore, addition of an operation of allowing the user to select activation of the battery conditioning mode through a pop-up window on the display unit of the AVNT system A when the vehicle enters the battery conditioning mode is may increase user convenience.” (Para 0058), see also Figs 2-4, where in Fig 4 a box is check-marked to indicate that the first mode is activated (specific element), while the remaining displays of Figs 2-4 remain the same regardless of the mode being selected (common element)) and
the processor is configured to control the display device to display the specific element when the setting mode is either the first mode or the second mode (“FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a system for battery conditioning of a vehicle according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. The system according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure comprises receivers A and E configured to collect driving route information of the vehicle, battery state information of the vehicle and battery conditioning mode setup state information; and a controller B configured to determine whether or not the vehicle enters battery conditioning control based on the driving route information of the vehicle, the battery state information of the vehicle and the battery conditioning mode setup state information from the receivers A and E, and to control a battery temperature adjuster F so as to adjust the temperature of the battery in advance before charging the battery during the battery conditioning control.” (Para 0036), “In another exemplary embodiment, technology which sets a battery conditioning mode reflecting a user option may be applied. During battery conditioning, when the battery conditioning function of the battery is operated, the display units of the AVNT system A and the communication terminal D output an activated state of the battery conditioning mode through displays. When the user does not want to execute battery conditioning because of a residual driving distance or for other reasons, the battery conditioning mode displayed as an AVNT menu may be released via several stage screens, but an action of operating the AVNT menu during driving causes a safety assurance problem. Therefore, addition of an operation of allowing the user to select activation of the battery conditioning mode through a pop-up window on the display unit of the AVNT system A when the vehicle enters the battery conditioning mode is may increase user convenience.” (Para 0058), see also Figs 2-4, where in Fig 4 a box is check-marked to indicate that the first mode is activated (specific element), while the remaining displays of Figs 2-4 remain the same regardless of the mode being selected (common element)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of the first and second modes, as taught by Goldman-Shenhar, to include a common element and a specific element in either the first mode or second mode, as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow a pop-up window to be displayed to allow for the selection or deselection of the battery conditioning mode to increase the user convenience (Lee Para 0058).
In regards to claim 2, Goldman-Shenhar in view of Lee teaches of the battery temperature adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein:
the processor is configured to control the temperature adjustment device to adjust the temperature of the power storage device according to the setting mode (“The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0030), “In accordance with one embodiment, the TMS 66 may be used to precondition the battery pack 62 for efficient drive cycles. For example, prior to motive operation of the vehicle 12, it may be desirable that the battery pack 62 be within a predetermined temperature range for a drive cycle and the TMS 66 is used for that objective. In accordance with another embodiment, the TMS 66 is used to control the battery pack 62 temperature to a predetermined range for a battery recharge event. In one embodiment, temperature of the battery pack 62 is controlled to account for the competing objectives of battery pack 62 SOC and thus battery pack range and desired battery pack temperature at time of charge event and thus time required to charge the battery pack 62. In accordance with the present disclosure, it is generally desirable to thermally precondition the battery pack 62 in order that the vehicle 12 gets to a charging station within a predetermined temperature range for charge acceptance and in consideration of the specific drive cycle and/or user preferences. In one embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be manually set by the user. In another embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be predictively determined.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0051), see also Goldman-Shenhar Para 0027 and 0055-0056); and
the processor is configured to give priority to the second mode when the predetermined operation is received while the setting mode is the first mode (“Each of the manual settings module 211, the event based module 213, and the schedule based module 221 may be independently enabled within the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200, or the vehicle original equipment manufacturer may limit offering of one or more of the modules in certain vehicles. Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 and the schedule based module 221 in favor of the manual setting module 211. Similarly, other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus, such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211 and the schedule based module 221.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0058), “In one embodiment, the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a planning block 203 receiving from the decision input block 201 the manual request for thermal preconditioning from the manual settings module 211 or the respective outputs (e.g., charge event probability (PrC) and predicted charging destination) from the respective executable models 219 and 227 of the event based module 213 or the schedule based module 221. Manual requests may be indicated in terms of a reserved charge event probability (PrC) setting (e.g., PrC=1).” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0059)).
In regards to claim 3, Goldman-Shenhar in view of Lee teaches of the battery temperature adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein:
the processor is configured to control the temperature adjustment device to adjust the temperature of the power storage device according to the setting mode (“The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0030), “In accordance with one embodiment, the TMS 66 may be used to precondition the battery pack 62 for efficient drive cycles. For example, prior to motive operation of the vehicle 12, it may be desirable that the battery pack 62 be within a predetermined temperature range for a drive cycle and the TMS 66 is used for that objective. In accordance with another embodiment, the TMS 66 is used to control the battery pack 62 temperature to a predetermined range for a battery recharge event. In one embodiment, temperature of the battery pack 62 is controlled to account for the competing objectives of battery pack 62 SOC and thus battery pack range and desired battery pack temperature at time of charge event and thus time required to charge the battery pack 62. In accordance with the present disclosure, it is generally desirable to thermally precondition the battery pack 62 in order that the vehicle 12 gets to a charging station within a predetermined temperature range for charge acceptance and in consideration of the specific drive cycle and/or user preferences. In one embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be manually set by the user. In another embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be predictively determined.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0051), see also Goldman-Shenhar Para 0027 and 0055-0056); and
the processor is configured to, when the predetermined operation is received while the setting mode is the first mode, reject the predetermined operation and maintain the first mode (“Each of the manual settings module 211, the event based module 213, and the schedule based module 221 may be independently enabled within the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200, or the vehicle original equipment manufacturer may limit offering of one or more of the modules in certain vehicles. Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 and the schedule based module 221 in favor of the manual setting module 211. Similarly, other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus, such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211 and the schedule based module 221.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0058), “In one embodiment, the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a planning block 203 receiving from the decision input block 201 the manual request for thermal preconditioning from the manual settings module 211 or the respective outputs (e.g., charge event probability (PrC) and predicted charging destination) from the respective executable models 219 and 227 of the event based module 213 or the schedule based module 221. Manual requests may be indicated in terms of a reserved charge event probability (PrC) setting (e.g., PrC=1).” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0059)).
In regards to claim 4, Goldman-Shenhar in view of Lee teaches of the battery temperature adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein:
the processor is configured to control the temperature adjustment device to adjust the temperature of the power storage device according to the setting mode (“The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0030), “In accordance with one embodiment, the TMS 66 may be used to precondition the battery pack 62 for efficient drive cycles. For example, prior to motive operation of the vehicle 12, it may be desirable that the battery pack 62 be within a predetermined temperature range for a drive cycle and the TMS 66 is used for that objective. In accordance with another embodiment, the TMS 66 is used to control the battery pack 62 temperature to a predetermined range for a battery recharge event. In one embodiment, temperature of the battery pack 62 is controlled to account for the competing objectives of battery pack 62 SOC and thus battery pack range and desired battery pack temperature at time of charge event and thus time required to charge the battery pack 62. In accordance with the present disclosure, it is generally desirable to thermally precondition the battery pack 62 in order that the vehicle 12 gets to a charging station within a predetermined temperature range for charge acceptance and in consideration of the specific drive cycle and/or user preferences. In one embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be manually set by the user. In another embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be predictively determined.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0051), see also Goldman-Shenhar Para 0027 and 0055-0056); and
the processor is configured to maintain the second mode when the setting mode is the second mode and the travel route includes the facility (“Each of the manual settings module 211, the event based module 213, and the schedule based module 221 may be independently enabled within the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200, or the vehicle original equipment manufacturer may limit offering of one or more of the modules in certain vehicles. Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 and the schedule based module 221 in favor of the manual setting module 211. Similarly, other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus, such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211 and the schedule based module 221.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0058), “In one embodiment, the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a planning block 203 receiving from the decision input block 201 the manual request for thermal preconditioning from the manual settings module 211 or the respective outputs (e.g., charge event probability (PrC) and predicted charging destination) from the respective executable models 219 and 227 of the event based module 213 or the schedule based module 221. Manual requests may be indicated in terms of a reserved charge event probability (PrC) setting (e.g., PrC=1).” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0059)).
In regards to claim 5, Goldman-Shenhar in view of Lee teaches of the battery temperature adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein:
the processor is configured to control the temperature adjustment device to adjust the temperature of the power storage device according to the setting mode (“The battery pack TMS 66 may include an integrated controller or one or more VCMs, including BCM 24 or BPCM 64 to implement controls related to the battery pack thermal management. For example, the BPCM 64 may control electrical heating of the battery pack by controlling the conductive states of the PTC heating devices. The BPCM 64 may control battery pack cooling by controlling the state of cooling circuit fluid flow. It is appreciated that target temperatures for the battery pack may be achieved by way of the controllable battery pack heating and cooling apparatus of the battery pack TMS. In one embodiment, prior to a battery pack charging event, the battery pack is preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0030), “In accordance with one embodiment, the TMS 66 may be used to precondition the battery pack 62 for efficient drive cycles. For example, prior to motive operation of the vehicle 12, it may be desirable that the battery pack 62 be within a predetermined temperature range for a drive cycle and the TMS 66 is used for that objective. In accordance with another embodiment, the TMS 66 is used to control the battery pack 62 temperature to a predetermined range for a battery recharge event. In one embodiment, temperature of the battery pack 62 is controlled to account for the competing objectives of battery pack 62 SOC and thus battery pack range and desired battery pack temperature at time of charge event and thus time required to charge the battery pack 62. In accordance with the present disclosure, it is generally desirable to thermally precondition the battery pack 62 in order that the vehicle 12 gets to a charging station within a predetermined temperature range for charge acceptance and in consideration of the specific drive cycle and/or user preferences. In one embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be manually set by the user. In another embodiment, the timing of a drive cycle or trip may be predictively determined.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0051), see also Goldman-Shenhar Para 0027 and 0055-0056); and
the processor is configured to give priority to the first mode when the setting mode is the second mode and the travel route includes the facility (“Each of the manual settings module 211, the event based module 213, and the schedule based module 221 may be independently enabled within the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200, or the vehicle original equipment manufacturer may limit offering of one or more of the modules in certain vehicles. Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 and the schedule based module 221 in favor of the manual setting module 211. Similarly, other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus, such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211 and the schedule based module 221.” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0058), “In one embodiment, the battery pack thermal preconditioning scheduler 200 may include a planning block 203 receiving from the decision input block 201 the manual request for thermal preconditioning from the manual settings module 211 or the respective outputs (e.g., charge event probability (PrC) and predicted charging destination) from the respective executable models 219 and 227 of the event based module 213 or the schedule based module 221. Manual requests may be indicated in terms of a reserved charge event probability (PrC) setting (e.g., PrC=1).” (Goldman-Shenhar Para 0059), see also Para Goldman-Shenhar 0055 and 0060).
In regards to claim 6, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyakoshi (US 20220032725) discloses of modes to condition a battery or an interior of a vehicle.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663