DETAILED ACTION
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
The present application, filed on April 21, 2025, in which claims 1-20 were presented for examination.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tapered eyelet (claims 9 and 15)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “tapered eyelet (claims 9 and 15)”
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, the word “axel” in line 1 should be changed to “axle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it recites the limitation "a longitudinal axis of the shoe" in lines: 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the independent claim 1, “the shoe” was not disclosed before lines 2-3. Examiner assumes the limitation should be read as “a longitudinal axis of a shoe”.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “wherein the lock module comprises a first jaw and a second jaw, wherein the first jaw and the second jaw is releasably coupled jointly to form a bipartite clamp in the assembled state, wherein the bipartite clamp comprises a hook configured as the second engagement member” is indefinite because it is unclear if Applicant is redefining what the second engagement member was. A bipartite clamp is disclosed as comprising a first and second jaw, which forms a hook, but then that hook is configured as the second engagement member. It is unclear what structure constitutes the second engagement member.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations presented are identical to what is presented in claim 8, which claim 14 depends from. Examiner assumes claim 14 is supposed to depend from independent claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, it recites the limitation "the opening" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the independent claim 16, “an opening” was not previously disclosed. Examiner assumes the limitation should be read as “an opening”.
Regarding claim 19 it recites the limitation "the first direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 19 and in the claims it depends from, “the first direction” was never disclosed. Examiner assumes the limitation should be read as “a first direction”.
Claims 2, 3, 5-9, 17-18 and 20 are rejected for depending directly/indirectly from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US Patent 7,676,957).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a hands-free shoestring tightening device (210, Fig. 2, 4) comprising:
a base module (222) permanently attached at a heel at a proximal end along a longitudinal axis of the shoe (as shown in Fig. 2 at the heel of the footwear, where the “longitudinal axis” is the length of said shoe, and “permanently attached” to the shoe while in use), wherein the base module (222) comprises an opening at the proximal end of the shoe (opening of 222 as shown in Fig. 4 and 8);
an axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) configured to releasably couple into the opening of the base module (Fig. 2, Col. 6, lines: 47-50, “configured to…module” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes releasably coupled into the opening due to screws, 232 and 233),
wherein the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) comprises:
a rotatable wheel (212); and,
an axle shaft (224) coupled through a center of the rotatable wheel (as shown in Fig. 4) defining a rotational axis of the rotatable wheel (shown as axis of 224), wherein the rotational axis is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (examiner notes due to the longitudinal axis being along the length of the shoe and the rotational axis being the axis of 224, the two are shown to be perpendicular in at least Fig. 2, where axis of 224 points outward of the page); and,
a lock module (220) comprises a first engagement member (270d, Fig. 7) configured to releasably engage a coupling feature of the base module (walls 302 and 304 in Fig. 8, “configured to…module” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function), and a second engagement member (270a) configured engage to the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) around the rotational axis (Col. 7, lines: 27-31, “configured to…axis” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function), wherein, during assembly, the lock module (220) is configured to slidably secure the base module (222) and the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) through the first engagement member (270d) and the second engagement member (270a, Col. 8, lines: 26-29, “configured to…second engagement member” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function, examiner notes slidably secure due to rotation of axle assembly and being placed between elements 220 and 222), and, in an assembled state,
the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) is coupled to the base module (222, as shown in Fig. 1 and 2),
the first engagement member (270d) engages the base module (222, Col. 6, lines: 50-51, engagement occurs through securement of 222 and 220), and,
the second engagement member (270a) engages the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224), such that the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) is releasably locked within a cavity defined by the base module and the lock module (cavity is area of heel around element 200 in Fig. 2, where the tightening device is placed into).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) is configured to slide from the proximal end towards a distal end of the shoe. (“configured to…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function, Col. 8, lines: 26-31, examiner notes slides due to counter clockwise rotation).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson discloses the base module (222) comprises an engagement collar (298d and 298a) extended from a top side of the opening towards a bottom (as shown in Fig. 8), wherein the engagement collar (298d and 298a) is configured to engage the first engagement member (270d), such that a forward force is exerted at the first engagement member towards a distal end of the shoe, (Col. 7, lines: 25-29, “configured to…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses the lock module (220) comprises a first jaw (270b) and a second jaw (270a), wherein the first jaw and the second jaw is releasably coupled jointly to form a bipartite clamp in the assembled state (shown as a bipartite clamp in Fig. 7 since they are connected to each other in a spaced manner), wherein the bipartite clamp comprises a hook (formed from openings shown in 270b and 270c) configured as the second engagement member to engage the axle assembly, such that a backward force is exerted at the second engagement member towards the proximal end of the shoe (“configured as…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a lumen (246 and 247) configured to allow a shoelace of the shoe (combination of 190, 192, 136 and 137) to pass through (Col. 6, lines: 61-62, “configured to…through” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.), wherein a length of the shoelace received along the axle shaft is directly proportional to an angular displacement of the axle shaft in a first direction, such that the shoelace is tightened when the rotatable wheel (212) is rotated in the first direction (Col. 6, lines: 38-43 and Col. 8, lines: 26-31, examiner notes the “first direction” is the counterclockwise direction).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a ratchet wheel (240 and 256) such that the rotatable wheel (212) is only allowed to be rotated in the first direction (Col. 8, lines: 34-37).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a unitary body (as shown in Fig. 5), such that the axle shaft is modularly replaceable (examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize shaft, 224 is modularly replaceable since it is a separate component from the wheel, 212).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a tapered eyelet at each end of the shaft (ends of 224), wherein a width of the eyelet is monotonically decreasing from a center of the axle shaft towards the peripheral of the axle shaft (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, -Johnson discloses a shoestring tightening device (210, Fig. 2 and 4) comprising:
an axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) comprising an axle shaft (224) configured to receive a shoelace of a shoe (combination of 190, 192, 136 and 137, Col. 6, lines: 61-62, “configured to…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function), and a rotatable wheel (212) connected to the axle shaft (224, as shown in Fig. 4) configured to actuate rotation of the axle shaft (224, Col. 6, lines: 64-65 and Col. 8, lines: 27-31); and,
a base module (222) permanently attached at a heel at a proximal end along a longitudinal axis of the shoe (as shown in Fig. 2 at the heel of the footwear, where the “longitudinal axis” is the length of said shoe, and “permanently attached” to the shoe while in use), wherein the base module comprises:
a top load cavity (Fig. 8, cavity is shown as spaces within chambers) configured to receive configured to receive the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224, Col. 6, lines: 48-50); and,
a bottom opening to the top load cavity (bottom opening is shown at the bottom of element 222 in Fig. 4) configured to expose the rotatable wheel at a bottom surface of the base module after the axle assembly is received within the top load cavity (“configured to…cavity” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function, Examiner notes the wheel is exposed at the bottom surface, when assembled, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a lumen (246 and 247) configured to allow a shoelace of the shoe (combination of 190, 192, 136 and 137) to pass through (Col. 6, lines: 61-62, “configured to…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function), wherein a length of the shoelace received along the axle shaft is directly proportional to an angular displacement of the axle shaft in a first direction, such that the shoelace is tightened when the rotatable wheel (212) is rotated in the first direction (Col. 6, lines: 38-43, Col. 8, lines: 26-31, examiner notes the “first direction” is the counterclockwise direction).
Regarding claim 12, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a ratchet wheel (240 and 256) such that the rotatable wheel (212) is only allowed to be rotated in the first direction (Col. 8, lines: 34-37).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a unitary body (as shown in Fig. 5), such that the axle shaft is modularly replaceable (examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize shaft, 224 is modularly replaceable since it is a separate component from the wheel, 212).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a tapered eyelet at each end of the shaft (ends of 224), wherein a width of the eyelet is monotonically decreasing from a center of the axle shaft towards the peripheral of the axle shaft (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson discloses a hands-free shoestring tightening device (210, Fig. 2 and 4) comprising:
a base module (222) fixedly attached at a shoe's heel at a proximal end along a longitudinal axis of a shoe (as shown in Fig. 2 at the heel of the footwear, where the “longitudinal axis” is the length of said footwear); and,
an axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) configured to releasably couple to the opening of the base module (opening of 222 as shown in Fig. 4 and 8, Col. 6, lines: 47-50, “configured to…module” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes releasably coupled into the opening due to screws, 232 and 233), wherein the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) comprises:
a rotatable wheel (212);
a first engagement member (244, Fig. 5) configured to engage a first coupling member of the base module (308 in Fig. 8, Col. 7, lines: 43-45, “configured to…module” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function), and,
a lock module (220) configured to release the first engagement member (242) from the complimentary coupling member base module (308, “configured to…module” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes releases through screws 232 and 233).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson discloses the axel assembly (combination of 212 and 224) further comprises a second engagement member (242) configured to engage a second coupling member at the heel of the shoe (306, as shown in Fig. 2 and 8, Col. 7, lines: 43-45, “configured to…shoe” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson discloses the axle assembly (combination of 212 and 224) further comprises an axle shaft (224) coupled through a center of the rotatable wheel (as shown in Fig. 4) defining a rotational axis of the rotatable wheel (shown as axis of 224), wherein the rotational axis is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (examiner notes due to the longitudinal axis being along the length of the footwear and the rotational axis being the axis of 224, the two are shown to be perpendicular in at least Fig. 2, where axis of 224 points outward of the page).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson discloses the axle shaft (224) comprises a ratchet wheel (240 and 256) such that the rotatable wheel (212) is only allowed to be rotated in the first direction (Col. 6, lines: 38-43 and Col. 8, lines: 26-31 and lines: 34-37, examiner notes the “first direction” is the counterclockwise direction).
Regarding claim 20, Johnson discloses the first engagement member (244) is configured to engage the first coupling member (308) via a snap-fit connection (“configured to…connection” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function, examiner notes a “snap-fit connection” is achieve when the shaft, 224 is placed into the wells, 304 and 308), wherein the snap- fit connection is achieved through complementary engaging features on the lock module (220) and the base module (222, Col. 6, lines: 48-50, Col. 7, lines: 43-45, as shown when comparing both 220 and 222 found in Fig. 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Johnson (US Patent 8,904,672).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Johnson does not disclose the axle shaft comprises bearings.
However, Johnson teaches yet another shoestring tightening device (Abstract), wherein Johnson teaches an axle shaft (230, Fig. 8) comprises bearings (290).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axle shaft of Johnson, by incorporating bearings as taught by Johnson, in order to have enhanced support radial and axle forces and friction reduction imposed on the shaft.
Regarding claim 13, Johnson discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Johnson does not disclose the axle shaft comprises bearings.
However, Johnson teaches yet another shoestring tightening device (Abstract), wherein Johnson teaches an axle shaft (230, Fig. 8) comprises bearings (290).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axle shaft of Johnson, by incorporating bearings as taught by Johnson, in order to have enhanced support radial and axle forces and friction reduction imposed on the shaft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732