DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-13 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the product as claimed is recited as being “die cut”; therefore, the method as claimed is drawn to a related process. This is found persuasive and the Restriction Requirement dated 07/08/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 11,136,161 B2).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, 12, 16, 18, and 20, Liu discloses a packaging box and blank for making comprising a body comprising a plurality of fold lines defining a front panel (117), a rear panel (116), a first side panel (118), a second side panel (119), a bottom (122), and a top (5); the front panel and the rear panel being adhesively attached (see unlabeled glue flap; Fig. 1) via one of the first side panel and the second side panel, and the bottom; the top being openable and including a first top panel and a second top panel, the second top panel including a top attachment tab (see illustration below) that engages into a top attachment slit in the first top panel to releasably close the top.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Liu discloses a packaging box and blank for making wherein the bottom includes a first bottom panel (122), a second bottom panel (130), a first bottom corner (140), and a second bottom corner (142), each of the first bottom panel, the second bottom panel, the first bottom corner, and the second bottom corner being foldable along a common bottom fold line of the plurality of fold lines (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Liu discloses a packaging box and blank for making wherein the top further includes a first top corner (foldably attached at top of 118) and a second top corner (foldably attached at top of 119), wherein each of the first top corner, the first top panel, the second top corner, and the second top panel are foldable along a common top fold line of the plurality of fold lines (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 2017/0225838 A1) in view of Grajales et al. (US 9878818 B2; hereinafter Grajales).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, 12-13, 16, 18, and 20, Murray discloses a foldable container and blank for making comprising a body comprising a plurality of fold lines defining a front panel (112), a rear panel (110), a first side panel (118), a second side panel (120), a bottom (130), and a top (136); the front panel and the rear panel being adhesively attached (via 180) via one of the first side panel and the second side panel, and the bottom; the top being openable and including a first top panel (136) and a second top panel (148). Murray lacks the claimed top closure construction.
Grajales teaches a tamper resistant box and blank for making made of corrugated cardboard comprising a first (164) and second top panel (122); wherein the second top panel includes a top attachment tab (130) that engages into a top attachment slit (107) in the first top panel to releasably close the top (see Figures 9-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to replace Murray’s top closure construction with that taught by Grajales in order to provide the container with a tamper resistance (Grajales; see Col 1 lines 20-35). Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to make the box out of corrugated cardboard as a known substitution of materials in the art of folded blanks.
Regarding claim 4, Murray, as modified above, discloses a packaging box and blank for making wherein the bottom includes a first bottom panel (Murray; 130), a second bottom panel (Murray; 128), a first bottom corner (Murray; 156), and a second bottom corner (Murray; 158), each of the first bottom panel, the second bottom panel, the first bottom corner, and the second bottom corner being foldable along a common bottom fold line of the plurality of fold lines (Murray; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 5-7, 14-15, and 19, Murray, as modified above, discloses a packaging box and blank for making wherein the first bottom panel has a first bottom notch (Murray; 164) and a first bottom corner (Murray; 174) overlap foldable along a first corner fold line (Murray; 176); the second bottom panel has a second bottom notch (Murray; 166) and a second bottom corner overlap (Murray; 172) foldable along a second corner fold line (Murray; 176); wherein the bottom comprises an adhesive attachment between the second bottom corner overlap and the second bottom corner, and another adhesive attachment between the first bottom corner overlap and the first bottom corner (Murray; see Par. 0020).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 17, Murray, as modified above, discloses a packaging box and blank for making wherein the top further includes a first top corner (Grajeles; 138) and a second top corner (Grajeles; 152), wherein each of the first top corner, the first top panel, the second top corner, and the second top panel are foldable along a common top fold line of the plurality of fold lines (Grajeles; see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734