DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suenaga et al. (US 2006/0209363 A1).
As to claim 1, Suenaga et al. discloses an image processing apparatus (see figures 1-2) comprising: at least one memory (see figure 1, items 18, 19, 20 and 21) that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor (16, 14 and 15) that executes the instructions causing the image processing apparatus (see figures 1-2) to perform operations comprising: a generation unit (see figure 1, scanner unit 13) configured to generate document data based on a read document (see figures 1-2, scanner unit, scan configuration file, S2 scan in the detection mode, and see pars 21, 48 and 51); a setting unit (see figures 1-2, operation unit 11, and S1, S2, S3 and S4) configured to enable a correction mark setting which causes a correction mark indicating a trace of a correction made to the document (see pars 52-53, step S3 and S4, i.e., corrected portion detecting step, detects whether each page of the scanned original includes a manually corrected portion, i.e., a portion corrected with correction fluid or not) to be included in the document data generated by the generation unit (13); and a display unit (12) configured to display a setting screen (see par 54, 16 generates display information and 12 displays a warning message, S5) of a setting related to the correction mark setting (see figure 2, see pars 11, 34, 36, 37, 39, 48, 54, 57, and 58), wherein, in a case where the setting screen of the setting related to the correction mark setting is displayed by the display unit while the correction mark setting is being enabled, the setting screen of the setting related to the correction mark setting is displayed in a state where a setting value for enabling the correction mark setting is selected (see figures 1-2 and see pars 11, 34, 36, 37, 39, 48, 54, 57, and 58).
As to claim 2, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein, in a case where an operation for enabling the correction mark setting is received (see par 17, i.e., setting operation, par 21, set parameters, par 36, set, par 55 set, and claim 9), the display unit displays a screen indicating that a setting value of the setting related to the correction mark setting is set to the setting value for enabling the correction mark setting.
As to claim 3, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein, in the setting screen of the setting related to the correction mark setting, a setting value for disabling (see par 36 i.e., when the scanner system is set so that scanning is disabled upon detecting a corrected portion) the correction mark setting is displayed in a non-selectable state.
As to claim 4, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein the operation for enabling the correction mark setting is an operation for selecting a button for enabling (par 48, detection mode is switched on) the correction mark setting, the button for enabling (par 48 detection mode is switched on) the correction mark setting being displayed on a setting screen related to a density setting (see par 21, sharpness, gray scales, background correction value, par 28 gray scale).
As to claim 5, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein the setting related to the correction mark setting is at least any one of a color setting (see par 25, color), a file format setting (pars 21, 28, and 30, i.e., file), and a density setting (see par 21, sharpness, gray scales, background correction value, par 28 gray scale).
As to claim 6, Suenaga et al. discloses further comprising a control unit (see figure 1, control unit 16) configured to execute a function for transmitting the document data generated by the generation unit (see figure 1, scanner unit 13).
As to claim 8, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein a button for enabling the correction mark setting (par 48, detection mode is switched on) is displayed (figure 1, display unit 12) on at least any one of a screen (display unit 12 inherently has a screen) related to a color setting (see par 25, color), a screen related to a file format setting (pars 21, 28, and 30, i.e., file), and a screen related to a density setting (see par 21, sharpness, gray scales, background correction value, par 28 gray scale).
As to claim 9, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein, in a case where a button for displaying a predetermined screen capable of collectively displaying setting values of a plurality of settings related to the correction mark setting is pressed, the display unit displays the predetermined screen (see figs 1-2 and see pars 17, 21, 36, and 55, i.e., settings of correction mark, setting operation and corrected portion, user input operations, and detection mode).
As to claim 10, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein, in a case where an operation for enabling the correction mark setting is received, the display unit (12) displays a specific screen capable of changing setting values of a plurality of settings related to the correction mark setting (see figs 1-2, and see par 32 details of a user input operation par 28, i.e., preset criteria, and par 17 user input operations).
As to claim 11, Suenaga et al. discloses wherein the specific screen is displayed in a state where setting values for enabling the correction mark setting are selected with respect to the plurality of settings related to the correction mark setting (see figs 1-2 and see par 32 details of a user input operation par 28, i.e., preset criteria, and par 17 user input operations).
As to claim 12, Suenaga et al. discloses a control method of an image processing apparatus (see figures 1-2) comprising: generating (see figure 1, scanner unit 13) document data based on a read document (see figures 1-2, scanner unit, scan configuration file, S2 scan in the detection mode, and see pars 21, 48 and 51); executing setting (see figures 1-2, operation unit 11, and S1, S2, S3 and S4) for enabling a correction mark setting which causes a correction mark indicating a trace of a correction made to the document (see pars 52-53, step S3 and S4, i.e., corrected portion detecting step, detects whether each page of the scanned original includes a manually corrected portion, i.e., a portion corrected with correction fluid or not) to be included in the document data generated by the generating (13); and a displaying (12) a setting screen (see par 54, 16 generates display information and 12 displays a warning message, S5) of a setting related to the correction mark setting (see figure 2, see pars 11, 34, 36, 37, 39, 48, 54, 57, and 58), wherein, in a case where the setting screen of the setting related to the correction mark setting is displayed by the displaying while the correction mark setting is being enabled, the setting screen of the setting related to the correction mark setting is displayed in a state where a setting value for enabling the correction mark setting is selected (see figures 1-2 and see pars 11, 34, 36, 37, 39, 48, 54, 57, and 58).
As to claim 13, Suenaga et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see figure 1, items 18, 19, 20 and 21) storing a program for causing the image processing apparatus (see figures 1-2) according to Claim 1 to function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. (US 2006/0209363 A1) in view of Naito (US 2018/0278760 A1).
As to claim 7, Suenaga et al. does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein, in a case where an address set for the function for transmitting the document data is an address of a fax function, the display unit displays a screen indicating that the function for transmitting the document data is not executed.
Naito discloses wherein, in a case where an address set (see figures 10-11) for the function for transmitting (see fig. 10-11) the document data is an address of a fax function (901), the display unit displays a screen indicating that the function for transmitting the document data is not executed (see figure 8A, i.e., 803 END).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suenaga et al. to include wherein, in a case where an address set for the function for transmitting the document data is an address of a fax function, the display unit displays a screen indicating that the function for transmitting the document data is not executed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suenaga et al. by the teaching of Naito to include wherein, in a case where an address set for the function for transmitting the document data is an address of a fax function, the display unit displays a screen indicating that the function for transmitting the document data is not executed, for the following reason(s): (1) so that scanned documents can be transmitted via facsimile to remote locations or users; and/or (2) so that transmitting the document data is not executed can be displayed at the screen to notify the user/operator of such that the function for transmitting the document data is not executed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukusaka (US 7,626,725 B2) teaches image reading (8000), and correction trace area determining (see the abstract) and displaying the corrected place is highlighted (see figure 10).
/DOV POPOVICI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681