DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson (4,606,558).
With regard to claim 21, Davidson discloses a system comprising:
a curved plate (13) and a boss (19) extending from the curved plate; wherein the curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (fig. 1); and wherein the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel (22) extending into the first side (fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 22, Davidson further discloses a seal (23) in the channel at the first side of the saddle to mitigate leaking (fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 25, Davidson further discloses the curved plate includes outwardly flared flanges (16) at ends thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Davidson (4,606,558).
With regard to claim 1, Kiest discloses a method of providing access to an underground pipe (abstract), the method comprising: excavating the ground to expose a portion of the underground pipe (abstract); positioning a saddle (20) to the exposed portion of the underground pipe, the saddle comprising a curved plate (24) and a boss (26) extending from the curved plate, wherein the curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (figs. 1-3); creating a bore into the underground pipe at the boss and saddle (abstract); and adding the excavated ground to the curved plate of the saddle to hold the saddle in place at the underground pipe (para 0029).
Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel extending into the first side.
Davidson discloses a pipe saddle (10) comprising a curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (figs. 1-2) and the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel (22) extending into the first side (figs. 2-2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and utilize a channel as taught in Davidson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide alignment means for the sealant/gasket/adhesive.
With regard to claim 2, Kiest further discloses providing an adhesive between the saddle and the underground pipe (para 0012).
With regard to claim 3, Kiest, as modified, further discloses positioning a seal in the channel at the first side of the saddle to mitigate leaking (Davidson; fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 4, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic material (para 0012).
With regard to claim 5, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic O-ring (para 0012).
With regard to claim 21, Kiest discloses a system comprising: a curved plate (24) and a boss (26) extending from the curved plate; wherein the curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (fig. 2); and wherein the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel extending into the first side.
Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel extending into the first side.
Davidson discloses a pipe saddle (10) comprising a curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (figs. 1-2) and the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel (22) extending into the first side (figs. 2-2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and utilize a channel as taught in Davidson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide alignment means for the sealant/gasket/adhesive.
With regard to claim 22, Kiest, as modified, further discloses a seal in the channel at the first side of the saddle to mitigate leaking (Davidson; fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 23, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic material (para 0012).
With regard to claim 24, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic O-ring (para 0012).
With regard to claim 25, Kiest further discloses the curved plate includes outwardly flared flanges (44) at ends thereof.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Davidson (4,606,558), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schleining et al. (6,158,925).
With regard to claim 6, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state adding a weighted material with the excavated soil to provide additional weight to hold the saddle in place at the underground pipe.
Schleining discloses adding a weighted material (cementitious slurry) with the excavated soil to provide additional weight to hold underground pipes in place (col. 3, lines 55-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize weighted material in the backfill as taught in Schleining, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect the pipeline.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Davidson (4,606,558), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allred et al. (4,576,400).
With regard to claim 7, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state honing the bore in the underground pipe.
Allred discloses a method of providing access to an underground pipe (abstract) with honing the bore in the underground pipe (col. 3, lines 7-16; col. 4, lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and hone the bore as taught in Allred, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a smooth surface is provided.
With regard to claim 8, Kiest, as modified, further discloses the step of honing the bore comprises inserting a honing tool through the bore, wherein the honing tool contacts substantially all surfaces and edges of the bore (Allred, col. 3, lines 7-16).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Davidson (4,606,558) and Allred et al. (4,576,400), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Rands (3,871,139).
With regard to claim 9, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as utilizing conventional honing tools (Allred, col. 3, lines 7-16), however fails to explicitly state the honing tool comprises a plurality of carbide members spun about an axis.
Rands discloses a honing tool which comprises a plurality of carbide members (30; col. 7, lines 5-8) spun about an axis (figs. 3, 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize a honing tool with carbide members as taught in Rands, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a smooth surface is provided.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Allred et al. (4,576,400).
With regard to claim 10, Kiest discloses a method of providing access to an underground pipe (abstract), the method comprising: excavating the ground to expose a portion of the underground pipe (abstract); positioning a saddle (20) to the exposed portion of the underground pipe, the saddle comprising a curved plate (24) and a boss (26) extending from the curved plate, wherein the curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (fig. 2); creating a bore into the underground pipe at the boss and saddle (abstract).
Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state honing the bore in the underground pipe.
Allred discloses a method of providing access to an underground pipe (abstract) with honing the bore in the underground pipe (col. 3, lines 7-16; col. 4, lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and hone the bore as taught in Allred, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a smooth surface is provided.
With regard to claim 11, Kiest, as modified, further discloses the step of honing the bore comprises inserting a honing tool through the bore, wherein the honing tool contacts substantially all surfaces and edges of the bore (Allred, col. 3, lines 7-16).
With regard to claims 17-18, Kiest further discloses adding the excavated ground to the curved plate of the saddle to hold the saddle in place at the underground pipe (para 0029).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Allred et al. (4,576,400), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Rands (3,871,139).
With regard to claim 12, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as utilizing conventional honing tools (Allred, col. 3, lines 7-16), however fails to explicitly state the honing tool comprises a plurality of carbide members spun about an axis.
Rands discloses a honing tool which comprises a plurality of carbide members (30; col. 7, lines 5-8) spun about an axis (figs. 3, 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize a honing tool with carbide members as taught in Rands, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a smooth surface is provided.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Allred et al. (4,576,400), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Davidson (4,606,558).
With regard to claim 13, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel extending into the first side.
Davidson discloses a pipe saddle (10) comprising a curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (figs. 1-2) and the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel (22) extending into the first side (figs. 2-2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize a channel as taught in Davidson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide alignment means for the sealant/gasket/adhesive.
With regard to claim 14, Kiest, as modified, further discloses positioning a seal in the channel at the first side of the saddle to mitigate leaking (Davidson; fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 15, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic material (para 0012).
With regard to claim 16, Kiest further discloses a hydrophilic O-ring (para 0012).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2004/0037648) in view of Allred et al. (4,576,400), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Cage (2021/0108754) and Davidson (4,606,558).
With regard to claim 19, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as providing an adhesive or a seal (para 0012), however is silent regarding the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel extending into the first side positioning a seal in the channel and a separate adhesive.
Cage discloses a saddle wherein both an adhesive and a seal are provided between the saddle and the underground pipe (paras 0008-0012).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize a seal and an adhesive as taught in Cage, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to assist in holding the curved plate on the pipe as well as ensure a proper seal.
Davidson discloses a pipe saddle (10) comprising a curved plate has a first side facing the underground pipe and a second side away from the underground pipe (figs. 1-2) and the first side of the curved plate includes a generally circular channel (22) extending into the first side (figs. 2-2A) and positioning a seal (23) in the channel at the first side of the saddle to mitigate leaking (figs. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kiest and utilize a channel as taught in Davidson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide alignment means for the seal.
With regard to claim 20, Kiest, as modified, further discloses the seal comprises a hydrophilic O-ring (Kiest, para 0012; Cage, paras 0008-0012).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
08/12/2026