DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 09/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 42-61 remain pending in the application, with claim 42 being the sole independent claim. Claims 1-41 were previously canceled. Claims 42, 44, 47-50, 52-54 and 59-61 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 42-45, 48, 50 and 58 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 42, line 5, "the vertebral support device has a non-expanded shape" should read "the intra-vertebral support device has a non-expanded shape" for consistency with the antecedent "an expandable intra-vertebral support device."
In claim 43, line 3, "moving said least two bulk blocks" should read "moving said at least two bulk blocks."
In claim 44, "wherein the device comprises" should read "wherein the intra-vertebral support device comprises."
In claim 45, "wherein upon expanding the intra-vertebral support device pushes bone material away from the cavity" is grammatically unclear and should read, e.g., "wherein, upon said expanding, the intra-vertebral support device pushes bone material away from the intra-osseous cavity."
In claim 48, "the intra-vertebral device" should read "the intra-vertebral support device."
In claim 50, "translational movement of the fixation block in and axial direction" should read "translational movement of the fixation block in an axial direction."
In claim 50, change “48” to --49—in line 1.
In claim 58, "a device body with an, exposed, exterior surface" should read "a device body with an exposed, exterior surface," consistent with Applicant's correction of the same phrase in claim 61.
Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 60, "the element" (both occurrences) should read "each element" to agree with "elements of the other of said bulk blocks".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42-61 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Concerning claim 42, the claim as amended recites "after said moving the bulk blocks, filling up at least a part of a volume of the intra-osseous cavity lying outside the non-expanded shape of the intra-vertebral support device with the bulk blocks in the expanded state." The metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear for the following reasons.
First, the claim recites "filling up" as a step performed after "said moving the bulk blocks." Applicant explains that the bulk blocks themselves fill the space when they are moved to the expanded state (Remarks, p. 7), and the specification likewise describes the cavity as being filled by the expanding movement of the bulk blocks. If the volume is filled by the moving itself, it is unclear what act, if any, the subsequent "filling up" step requires. The claim may be read as requiring a separate act performed after the moving, e.g., introducing a filler material into the cavity while the bulk blocks are held in the expanded state
Second, the added phrase "with the bulk blocks in the expanded state" can grammatically modify (i) "filling up," i.e., the bulk blocks are what fill the volume; (ii) the condition under which the filling occurs, i.e., filling while the bulk blocks are in the expanded state; or (iii) the immediately preceding "intra-vertebral support device." Situation iii results in the claim referring to a non-expanded shape of a device whose bulk blocks are in the expanded state, which is inconsistent. Because the limitation does not clearly define the state of the device, claim 42 is indefinite.
It is noted that the ambiguity could be resolved by reciting the result of the moving as a "wherein" clause rather than as a subsequent step, e.g., "wherein, in the expanded state, the bulk blocks fill at least a part of a volume of the intra-osseous cavity lying outside the non-expanded shape of the intra-vertebral support device."
For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted consistent with Applicant's remarks, as requiring that the bulk blocks, in the expanded state, occupy at least a part of the volume of the intra-osseous cavity lying outside the non-expanded shape of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42-49, 51, 56-58 and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenhalgh et al. (U.S. 2010/0292796 A1), hereinafter Greenhalgh.
Concerning claim 42, Greenhalgh discloses a method of vertebral surgery on a human or non-human mammal (see par. 0020, 0115; i.e., deployment at an intravertebral site such as a compression fracture), comprising: positioning an expandable intra-vertebral support device (see Fig. 16, element 2) in an intra-osseous cavity (94) in a vertebra (90) of the mammal (see par. 0116-0117, 0121-0122; i.e., damage site 94 enlarged by access tool 96, with device 2 positioned into it), the intra-vertebral support device being in a non-expanded state in which the vertebral support device has a non-expanded shape (see Fig. 2a; par. 0067, 0113; i.e., height-contracted configuration); expanding the intra-vertebral support device positioned in the intra-osseous cavity from the non-expanded state into an expanded state (see Figs. 3a, 17) in which the intra-vertebral support device supports the vertebra and resists a load acting on the vertebra (see par. 0123, 0128; i.e., device substantially fixed to the vertebra and subject to biomechanical compression), said expanding comprising: moving at least two bulk blocks (see Fig. 3a, elements 6, 10) of the intra-vertebral support device along a pre-defined path (see par. 0050-0052; i.e., radial path defined by stability bars 12, 16 slidable in stability grooves 14, 18) to project out in the expanded state relative to the non-expanded shape of the intra-vertebral support device (see Fig. 5a; par. 0017, 0075); and after said moving the bulk blocks, filling up at least a part of a volume of the intra-osseous cavity lying outside the non-expanded shape of the intra-vertebral support device with the bulk blocks in the expanded state (see par. 0123, 0127; i.e., top 10 and base 6 expand superiorly and inferiorly into the damage site until fixed to the vertebra).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Pre-defined path)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bulk Blocks)]
Concerning claim 43, wherein: each bulk block (6, 10) comprises a bone side surface (i.e., the outer surfaces carrying top teeth 20 and bottom teeth 22; see par. 0053) on which the load acts after moving said at least two bulk blocks (see par. 0070, 0128; i.e., surrounding tissue and biomechanical compression act on the device); and the intra-vertebral support device provides support to bone material present between the bone side surface and the outside of the vertebra after said expanding (see par. 0017, 0123).
Concerning claim 44, wherein the device comprises at least one pair of bulk blocks (6, 10) in which the bone side surface of a first bulk block (10) contacts a wall of the cavity opposite to a wall of the cavity contacted by the bone side surface of a second bulk block (6) (see par. 0123, 0127; i.e., expansion substantially superiorly and inferiorly until the device is substantially fixed to the vertebra).
Concerning claim 45, wherein upon expanding the intra-vertebral support device pushes bone material away from the cavity and at least partially restores a height of the vertebra (see par. 0123; i.e., the device reshapes the vertebral column to a more natural configuration during expansion).
Concerning claim 46, comprising inhibiting the intra-vertebral support device from collapsing from the expanded state into the non-expanded state, said inhibiting comprising securing a position of the bulk blocks in the expanded state (see par. 0071, 0136; i.e., ratchets on the ramps and locking pin 80 prevent collapse).
Concerning claim 47, wherein said securing the position of the bulk blocks comprises holding the bulk blocks in position against the load (see par. 0070-0071, 0128, 0136).
Concerning claim 48, wherein the intra-vertebral device comprises a fixation (8) and the method comprises inhibiting at least two of the bulk blocks from being moved towards each other by the load, the inhibiting comprising positioning the fixation between said at least two of the bulk blocks (see Fig. 1a; par. 0049, 0071; i.e., middle 8 positioned between base 6 and top 10, with ratchets preventing contraction).
Concerning claim 49, wherein the fixation comprises at least one fixation block (8) and the method comprises translationally moving the fixation block in an axial direction of the intra-vertebral support device (see par. 0063, 0068, 0075; i.e., middle 8 slid along longitudinal axis 4, constrained by rails 48, 50), and exerting by said translationally moving a force on the bulk block which pushes the bulk blocks in a direction of expansion perpendicular to the axial direction (see Fig. 5b; par. 0017, 0076; i.e., middle ramps 38, 40, 42 slip against top ramps 34, 36 to move top 10 away from base 6).
Concerning claim 51, wherein the intra-osseous cavity is surgically made through an access passage (108) and the method comprises inserting the intra-vertebral support device into the intra-osseous cavity through the access passage (see Figs. 8-10, 12-16; par. 0116-0117, 0121-0122).
Concerning claim 56, comprising osseo-incorporating the intra-vertebral support device into the vertebra (see par. 0104, 0107; i.e., textured and/or porous surfaces promote tissue ingrowth, and a matrix for cell ingrowth).
Concerning claim 57, wherein each of said bulk blocks (6, 10) is movably attached via a form-closed connection to an intermediate object (8) located in the expanded state between the bulk blocks (see par. 0049, 0059, 0063; i.e., top 10 engages middle 8 through ramp tongues and grooves 32, and base 6 engages middle 8 through base rail 48 and middle rail 50, each an interlocking-shape connection consistent with the definition of form-closed at par. 0060 of the instant specification).
Concerning claim 58, wherein the intra-vertebral support device comprises a device body with an exposed exterior surface and each bulk block (6, 10) forms a partial device body of the intra-vertebral support device (see Fig. 2a); and wherein each of said bulk blocks comprises: an inside facing another of said bulk blocks, and a bone side surface (20, 22) facing away from the other of said bulk blocks, the bone side surface forming in the non-expanded state part of the exposed exterior surface of the device body (see Figs. 2a, 4a); and wherein said moving at least two bulk blocks comprises moving the bone side surface relative to the exposed exterior surface of the device body (see Fig. 3a; par. 0075; i.e., top 10 moves away from base 6).
Concerning claim 61, wherein the intra-vertebral support device comprises a device body with an exposed, exterior surface, the device body having an elongated shape (see Fig. 1a; par. 0048; i.e., elongated along longitudinal axis 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50, 52-55 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenhalgh '796 in view of Greenhalgh et al. (U.S. 2011/0282453 A1), hereinafter Greenhalgh '453.
Concerning claim 50, Greenhalgh '796 discloses the method of claim 49 (as interpreted above), including a fixation block (8) translated in the axial direction and a deployment rod or locking pin (70, 80) extending through the device (see par. 0077-0080, 0089), but fails to explicitly disclose rotating a rod which extends through the at least one fixation block and thereby actuating a translational movement of the fixation block in an axial direction, the rod retaining the fixation block in position in a longitudinal direction of the rod when not rotating.
Greenhalgh '453 discloses an expandable support device positioned within a vertebra (see par. 0090) having opposed fixation blocks (see Figs. 42a-44c, elements 96, 108) and a locking pin (162) extending through the fixation blocks (see par. 0129-0131), wherein a threaded shaft (170a) of the locking pin is rotated relative to a threaded shaft (170b) to shorten the pin (see par. 0126, 0140) and thereby translate fixation block 96 toward fixation block 108 in the axial direction (see par. 0130-0132), the threaded engagement holding the fixation block in position along the pin when not rotated (see par. 0094; i.e., the pin is screwed tightly enough to substantially fix it), in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to actuate the fixation block of Greenhalgh '796 by rotating a threaded rod extending through it, as taught by Greenhalgh '453, in order to translate the fixation block proximally and distally and thereby adjust the expansion of the device in a controlled manner (see par. 0131 of Greenhalgh '453), while retaining the expanded configuration against the load.
Concerning claim 52, Greenhalgh '796 further discloses wherein in the expanded state a diameter of the intra-vertebral support device in a direction of expansion is larger than the diameter of an access passage, and the intra-vertebral support device is inserted with the direction of expansion oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the access passage ( i.e., device 2 advanced along its longitudinal axis 4 through access port 108 and expanding perpendicular to that axis).
Concerning claims 53-55, it is noted that Greenhalgh ‘453 teaches the claimed structure, i.e., bulk blocks comprise at least one expandable pair of bulk blocks (see Fig. 40a below) in which a first bulk block of the expandable pair of bulk blocks extends in the non-expanded state through a second bulk block of the expandable pair of bulk blocks; and the first bulk block moves at least partially out of the second bulk block and a combined shape of the expandable pair is changed (see Figs. 39c and 40a) when the intra-vertebral support device is brought into the expanded state (see Fig. 40a), wherein each bulk block of the expandable pair has an inter block side surface facing the other bulk block of the expandable pair, which inter block side surface is provided with a plurality of ribs (see below), and wherein the ribs of the first bulk block and the second bulk block are interdigitated in the non-expanded state, wherein the first bulk block comprises a first matrix of open cells (see Fig. 40a, element 292) and the second bulk block comprises a second matrix of open cells (see Fig. 40 a below); wherein in the non-expanded state the first matrix has a first overlapping part which extends through at least a second overlapping part of the second matrix; and wherein, when expanding the intra-vertebral support device, the first matrix and the second matrix are moved relative to each other such that a size of the first overlapping part and the second overlapping part is reduced.
[AltContent: textbox (Overlapping part / Ribs)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Open Cells)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Bulk Block)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Bulk Block)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilitze the expandable implant of Greenhalgh ‘453 – sized appropriately, in order perform the claimed method because doing so would be a simple substitution of one known expansion device for another in order to obtain the predictable result of bone support.
Concerning claim 59, Greenhalgh '796 discloses the method of claim 58, wherein each of said bone side surfaces (of 6, 10) has an elongated shape which extends from a first transversal end of the bone side surface to a second, opposite transversal end along longitudinal axis 4, with lateral edges between the transversal ends defining respective lateral sides of the bone side surface (see Figs. 1a, 2a; par. 0048, 0055), but fails to explicitly disclose that the bone side surfaces are curved around a longitudinal axis extending in a direction of the first transversal end towards the second transversal end.
Greenhalgh '453 discloses an expandable support device having a top plate (6) and a bottom plate (10) wherein the transverse cross-section of the device can be round (see par. 0117), such that the outward-facing surfaces of the plates are curved around the longitudinal axis (4), a rounded shape would require drilling a round deployment hole to substantially match the transverse cross-section of the device in its contracted configuration, in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the top and base of Greenhalgh '796 with a round transverse cross-section such that the bone side surfaces are curved around the longitudinal axis, as taught by Greenhalgh '453, in order to match the device to a round drilled access hole and reduce bone disruption during insertion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 60 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and, for claim 60, if the informality noted above is corrected.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 60 wherein the inside of each bulk block is partitioned by ribs into slots that admit elements of the other bulk block in the non-expanded state, the ribs guiding those elements during expansion until they are out of the slots.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 42, Applicant added the phrase "with the bulk blocks in the expanded state" and explains that, when moved to the expanded state, the bulk blocks fill the space within the intra-osseous cavity that was previously unfilled (Remarks, p. 7). The examiner agrees that this explanation is consistent with the specification. However, the amended claim does not say so unambiguously. As set forth above, the claim still recites the filling as a separate step "after said moving the bulk blocks," and the added phrase can be read either as identifying what fills the volume or as a condition under which a subsequent filling occurs. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 42-50, 53, 55-58 and 61 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773