Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 08/21/2026. Claims 1-18 have been presented for examination. Claims 1-18 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Pat. No.: 2005/0073423 A1) in view of Yang (Pub. No.: 2019/0034609 A1)
1) In regard to claim 1, Kim discloses the claimed information handling system (figs. 1 and 6: 102) comprising:
a keyboard assembly (fig. 1: 120);
a display assembly rotatably coupled to the keyboard assembly (fig. 1: 122 and fig. 6 shows the display assembly is rotatably coupled to the keyboard assembly); and
a processor (fig. 1: 126) configured to, when the display assembly is manipulated to a closed position relative to the keyboard assembly (fig. 6), activate the information handling system in a surveillance mode (¶0030 discloses once the top of the computer is closed the user enables the anti-theft system).
Kim does not explicitly disclose activating one or more input devices of the information handling system for surveillance.
However, Yang discloses it has been known to activate one or more input devices of the information handling system for surveillance (figs. 1-2 and ¶0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Kim to activate an input device of the system, as taught by Yang.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Kim as described above in order to distinguish between situations where someone is approaching the device, as taught by Yang (¶0021).
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Kim and Yang further disclose the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more input devices comprise one or more microphones of the information handling system, and the processor is further configured to: receive signals from the one or more microphones and process the signals to determine if a person is in proximity to the information handling system (Yang ¶0041), an information handling system to activate a fingerprint reader of the information handling system (Kim ¶0021).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Kim and Yang disclose the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more input devices comprise a motion sensing device (Yang ¶0030), information handling system processor to be configured to, responsive to detecting motion via the motion sensing device without an enrolled user being authenticated on the information handling system, take a remedial action (Kim fig. 5 and ¶0021).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Kim and Yang further disclose the information handling system of Claim 3, wherein the remedial action comprises one or more of logging a location of the information handling system, recording images from a camera of the information handling system, and communicating an alert (Kim ¶0023 discloses communicating an alert).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), Kim and Yang disclose the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more input devices comprise one or more microphones of the information handling system (Yang ¶0041), an information handling system processor to be configured to, responsive to the display assembly being manipulated from the closed position relative to the keyboard assembly without an enrolled user being authenticated on the information handling system, take a remedial action (Kim fig. 5 and ¶0031).
6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 5), Kim and Yang disclose the information handling system of Claim 5, wherein the remedial action comprises one or more of logging a location of the information handling system, recording images from a camera of the information handling system, and communicating an alert (Kim ¶0023 discloses communicating an alert).
7) In regard to claim 7, claim 7 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
8) In regard to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
9) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), claim 8 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
10) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 7), claim 9 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
11) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), claim 10 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied.
12) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 7), claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
13) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 11), claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
14) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 13), claim 14 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 13), claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
16) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 15), claim 16 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 13), claim 17 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
18) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 17), claim 18 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered and are persuasive, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. See above rejection for detail.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685