DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the end material" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, H. et al., “In-situ pyrolysis based on alkaline medium removes fluorine-containing contaminants from spent lithium-ion batteries,” Journal of Hazardous Materials 457 (2023) 131782 (now Huang).
As to Claim 1, Huang discloses a method whereby black mass i.e. electrode material which further contains a fluorinated binder is enclosed in a container with a fluorine removal additive under sintering conditions (Fig. 2, pg. 5) wherein the additive is calcium hydroxide (Conclusion, pg. 11).
However, Huang fails to disclose 1) the electrode material “has never been performing intercalation and deintercalation of a charge carrier” and 2) the use of magnesium hydroxide.
As to difference 1), the Examiner notes the mechanism for capturing fluorine impurities as illustrated by Huang would be the same whether electrode material is used or pristine since the same components are effectively present.
It would have been obvious to use to prior art method on a pristine material as claimed as both the prior art and claimed materials would have similar components.
As to difference 2), Huang notes the advantages of using an cheap inorganic base to remove fluorine containing impurities from the electrode material (Conclusion, pg. 11). The Examiner notes that magnesium hydroxide is another inexpensive inorganic base in the same period of the periodic chart.
It would have been obvious to substitute the calcium hydroxide of the prior art with the magnesium hydroxide of the claims as substitution of compounds with similar chemical properties and availability/expense would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 2, Huang disclose the electrode materials were treated with a sodium chloride solution which the Examiner posits contains water (2.1 Materials and preparation, pg. 2).
As to Claim 4, the pyrolysis occurs at up to 550 deg C (2.2.4 In-situ pyrolysis process of B, pg. 3).
As to Claim 5, Huang discloses the electrode materials as NCM (nickel cobalt manganese) materials (2.1 Materials and preparation, pg. 2) which is similar to the materials that are being used in the instant Specification (Instant Specification, para. 0019). The Examiner respectfully submits the prior art material would thus display the layered structure as the claimed material and prior art material are similar or the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, none of the prior art discloses a process whereby a magnesium hydroxide at the weight ratios disclosed are used in the process claimed to treat an electrode material nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation to arrive at the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 6/10/2026
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762