DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in application 19/036,805.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically an abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea), without providing a practical application, and without providing significantly more.
Under the 35 U.S.C. §101 subject matter eligibility two-part analysis, Step 1 addresses whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP §2106.03. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 1] whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea). See MPEP §2106.04. If the claim is directed toward a judicial exception, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 2] whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. See MPEP §2106.04(d). Finally, if the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, it must additionally be determined in Step 2B whether the claim recites "significantly more" than the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05.
Examiner note: The Office’s 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) is currently found in the Ninth Edition, Revision 10.2019 (revised June 2020) of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP), specifically incorporated in MPEP §2106.03 through MPEP §2106.07(c).
Regarding Step 1,
Claims 1-10 are directed toward a process (method). Claims 11-19 are directed toward an apparatus (system). Claim 20 is directed toward a computer program product having computer-readable tangible storage media (article of manufacture). Thus, all claims fall within one of the four statutory categories as required by Step 1.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 1],
Claims 1-20 are directed toward the judicial exception of an abstract idea. Independent claims 1, 11 and 20 are directed specifically to the abstract idea of processing the recycling of objects.
Regarding independent claims 1, 11 and 20, the underlined limitations emphasized below correspond to the abstract ideas of the claimed invention:
A method, performed by a computing device, comprising:
transmitting, from a user device to a receptacle, a connection request;
receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, a connection confirmation;
receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, an indication of one or more objects being received by the receptacle and scanned by one or more sensors on the receptacle;
receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, an identification of a weight and a redemption value of each of the one or more objects;
determining, at the user device, data metrics associated with each of the one or more objects;
determining, based on the data metrics, one or more recommendations; and
providing, at the user device, the one or more recommendations.
As the underlined claim limitations above demonstrate, independent claims 1, 11 and 20 are directed to the abstract idea of Mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations); Mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)); and Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 provide further details to the abstract idea of claims 1, 11, and 20 regarding the received data, therefore, these claims include mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activities for similar reasons provided above for claims 1, 11 and 20.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 2],
Claims 1-20 fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as a “system”, a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”, a “computing device”, one or more “processers”, a “memory”, a “processing device”, a first and second “user device”, “sensors”, and an “image processor”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "practical application" for the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
The relevant question under Step 2A [prong 2] is not whether the claimed invention itself is a practical application, instead, the question is whether the claimed invention includes additional elements beyond the judicial exception that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application by imposing a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is not the case with Applicant’s claimed invention. Automating the recited claimed features as a combination of computer instructions implemented by computer hardware and/or software elements as recited above does not qualify an otherwise unpatentable abstract idea as patent eligible. Examples where the Courts have found selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated to be insignificant extra-solution activity include selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Applicant’s limitations as recited above do nothing more than supplement the abstract idea using additional hardware/software computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment, which is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application since they do not impose any meaningful limits. Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 merely incorporate the additional elements recited above, along with further embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims. Therefore, the additional elements recited in the claimed invention individually, and in combination fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application.
Regarding Step 2B,
Claims 1-20 fail to amount to “significantly more” than an abstract idea. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as a “system”, a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”, a “computing device”, one or more “processers”, a “memory”, a “processing device”, a first and second “user device”, “sensors”, and an “image processor”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of Abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide significantly more to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field; (6) add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; nor (7) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 merely recite further additional embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 11 and 20 respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 11 and 20; however, none of the dependent claims recite an improvement to a technology or technical field or provide any meaningful limits. The addition of another abstract concept to the limitations of the claims does not render the claim other than abstract. Under the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (PEG 2019), it specifically states that narrowing an abstract idea of claims do not resolve the claims of being "significantly more" than the abstract idea. Thus, the additional elements in the dependent claims only serve to further limit the abstract idea utilizing the computer components as a tool and/or generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-20 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and looking at the limitations as a combination and as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sridhar (US 2023/0086305 A1).
As per independent Claims 1, 11, and 20, Sridhar discloses a method (system, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium), performed by a computing device, comprising:
transmitting, from a user device to a receptacle, a connection request; receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, a connection confirmation (See at least Abstract, Para 0060, Para 0146);
receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, an indication of one or more objects being received by the receptacle and scanned by one or more sensors on the receptacle (See at least Para 0015-0016);
receiving, at the user device and from the receptacle, an identification of a weight and a redemption value of each of the one or more objects (See at least Para 0015-0016, Para 0125);
determining, at the user device, data metrics associated with each of the one or more objects (See at least Para 0125);
determining, based on the data metrics, one or more recommendations (See at least Para 0146); and
providing, at the user device, the one or more recommendations (See at least Abstract, Para 0142-0146, Para 0152).
As per Claims 2 and 12, Sridhar discloses wherein the one or more recommendations comprises providing, at the user device, a recommendation to take a specified action (See at least Para 0152).
As per Claims 3 (2) and 13 (12), Sridhar discloses wherein the specified action comprises redeeming a reward (See at least Para 0161-0162).
As per Claims 4 and 14, Sridhar discloses receiving, at the user device, a second indication for collaboration with a second user device, wherein the indication for collaboration includes a request for selecting an agreed upon account to hold the redemption value (See at least Abstract, Para 0015-0016).
As per Claims 5 and 15, Sridhar discloses transmitting, from the user device, a signal for a pickup request, wherein the signal for the pickup request includes a second indication that a pickup weight of the one or more objects matches the weight of the one or more objects indicated in the pickup request (See at least Para 0097).
As per Claims 6 and 16, Sridhar discloses receiving, an indication that the redemption value is configured to be redeemed for one or more of cash value or credits (See at least Para 0146).
As per Claims 7 and 17, Sridhar discloses wherein the receptacle comprises a liquid strainer level configured to drain liquids into a liquid collection tray (See at least Para 0016 and Para 0168).
As per Claims 8 and 18, Sridhar discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise an image processor (See at least Para 0125).
As per Claims 9 and 19, Sridhar discloses wherein the data metrics can be used to identify trends for the one or more objects (See at least Para 0113).
As per Claim 10, Sridhar discloses wherein the data metrics may be uploaded via a network to a social media platform (See at least Para 0146).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. The Examiner suggests the applicant review all of these documents before submitting any amendments.
July 21, 2026
/JONATHAN P OUELLETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629