Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 21-27 are objected to because of the following informalities.
• Claim 1, line 7, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 3, line 3, “the user” should read as “a user”.
• Claim 5, line 3, “a reference value” should read as “the reference value”.
• Claim 6, line 3, “a placed object” should read as “the placed object”.
• Claim 21, lines 2-3, “the player character’s action” should read as “a player character’s action”.
• Claim 22, line 5, “the opponent character’s action” should read as “an opponent character’s action”.
• Claim 23, line 6, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 23, line 9, “the user” should read as “a user”.
• Claim 24, line 6, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 25, line 5, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 25, line 8, “the user” should read as “a user”.
• Claim 26, line 5, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 27, line 4, “the vicinity” should read as “a vicinity”.
• Claim 27, line 7, “the user” should read as “a user”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-27.
Claims 1-22 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having an information processing program that when executed removes a stage object portion, calculates stage object reduced amounts, and places an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 23 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having an information processing apparatus that when executed removes a stage object portion, and places and buries an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 24 is drawn to an information processing system that when executed removes a stage object portion, calculates stage object reduced amounts, and places an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 25 is drawn to an information processing system that when executed removes a stage object portion, and places and buries an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 26 is drawn to an information processing method that when executed removes a stage object portion, calculates stage object reduced amounts, and places an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a process). Claim 27 is drawn to an information processing method that when executed removes a stage object portion, and places and buries an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed (i.e., a process).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-27.
Claim 1 recites:
… removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage … based on a user's operation input; (Mental Process: evaluation)
calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 2 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of the location of the removal. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 3 recites:
wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object when the cumulative value exceeds a reference value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 5 recites:
wherein the calculating the cumulative value includes reducing the cumulative value when the placed object is placed as the cumulative value exceeds a reference value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the calculating the cumulative value includes calculating the cumulative value for each type of a placed object that is to be placed, wherein when any of the placed objects is placed as the cumulative value exceeds the reference value, the cumulative value for the placed object is reduced. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 7 recites:
wherein the calculating the cumulative value includes setting different reference values for different types of placed objects that are to be placed. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 8 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes further forming a cavity in the stage object in the vicinity of the removed portion of the stage object, and placing the placed object in the cavity, depending on the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 9 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes not forming the cavity and not placing the placed object to be placed in the cavity, when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity, depending on the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 10 recites:
wherein the calculating the cumulative value includes decreasing the cumulative value when the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity, and maintaining the cumulative value unchanged when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 11 recites:
wherein the calculating the cumulative value includes decreasing the cumulative value to a first value when the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity, and decreasing the cumulative value to the first value or a value greater than the first value when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 12 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes determining whether to further form the cavity and place the placed object in the cavity or place the placed object without further forming the cavity, depending on a direction in which the stage object has been removed. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 13 recites:
wherein the stage object has attribute information, and the calculating the cumulative value includes varying an incremental amount of the cumulative value according to the attribute information even when the reduced amount is the same. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 14 recites:
wherein the removing the stage object includes varying a required amount of the operation input required for removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the attribute information, and the calculating the cumulative value includes increasing an incremental amount of the cumulative value with an increase in the required amount even when the reduced amount is the same. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 15 recites:
wherein the stage object has attribute information, and the placing the placed object includes determining whether or not to place the placed object, depending on the attribute information of the stage object in the vicinity of the location where the stage object has been removed. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 16 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object in a direction in which at least a portion of the stage object has been removed. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 17 recites:
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing, when the stage object is absent on an opposite side from a direction of gravity in the virtual space of a location where at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, the placed object at a location closer to the direction of gravity than the direction in which at least a portion of the stage object has been removed. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 18 recites:
wherein the stage object includes a mesh generated from voxel data including at least density data, and the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object by changing the density data. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 19 recites:
wherein a reduced amount of the stage object formed of the mesh is allowed to take a value smaller than the amount of a voxel with which each of the voxel data is associated. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 20 recites:
wherein the removing the stage object includes placing, when at least a portion of the stage object is removed, an amount of voxel objects corresponding to the reduced amount on the stage object with the voxel objects separated from the stage object, and the calculating the cumulative value includes calculating the reduced amount of the stage object, including the amount of voxel objects placed separately from the stage object. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 21 recites:
wherein … controlling the player character's action … , based on the operation input, wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the player character's action … , and the calculating the cumulative value includes calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object removed according to the player character's action. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 22 recites:
wherein … controlling an action … of an opponent character different from the player character, wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the opponent character's action … , and in the calculating the cumulative value, a reduced amount of the stage object removed according to the opponent character's action is not used in the calculation of the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 23 recites:
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage …, based on a user's operation input; and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 24 recites:
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage … , based on a user's operation input; (Mental Process: evaluation)
calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal … ; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 25 recites:
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage … , based on a user's operation input; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 26 recites:
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage … , based on a user's operation input; (Mental Process: evaluation)
calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal … ; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the cumulative value. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 27 recites:
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage … , based on a user's operation input; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input. (Mental Process: evaluation)
But for the generic recitation of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, an information processing program, system, and method, processors, and a virtual space, the identified steps are practically capable of being performed by human analog, including mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. These identified steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can remove a stage object portion, calculate stage object reduced amounts, and place an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed.
Independent claims 23-27 describe parallel steps as claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-22 are directed to steps that are practically performed in the human mind, including mental evaluation (placing a placed object buried near the location of the removal, placing the placed object when the cumulative value exceeds a reference value, calculating the cumulative value based on cumulative value reductions, etc.) for a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having an information processing program that when executed removes a stage object portion, calculates stage object reduced amounts, and places an object different from the stage object near a location where the stage object was removed. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for mental processing, (i.e., an abstract idea). The Court considers a claim a mental process when the claim contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind. A claim that recites mental processes include “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-13 recite an abstract idea. As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-22 recite an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that involves multiple people. These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
Examiner interprets the following limitations as additional elements.
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program that, when executed, causes one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing comprising
in a virtual space
An information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing comprising
An information processing method
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, an information processing program, system, and method, processors, and a virtual space is recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception (independent claims 1 and 23-27 and dependent claims 2-22) thus is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined “an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer”). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-22 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1 and 23-27 and dependent claims 2-22 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a corresponding information processing program and processors to execute the information processing comprising removing a stage object portions, calculating cumulative values, placing a object in a location based on the cumulative value, etc.) and/or appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. Applicant of claimed invention discloses ([0051], “Another example configuration of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program according to the present example is executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus. The information processing program causes the one or more processors to execute information processing”), ([0002], “The technology disclosed herein relates to a storage medium, information processing system, information processing apparatus, and information processing method that execute a process using a game stage in a virtual space.”), and ([0053], “The present example may also be carried out in the form of an information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method.”).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-27 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 4-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20220111293 A1 (“Kimura”) in view of US 20220207841 A1 (“Alqadi”).
In regard to claim 1, Kimura discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program that, when executed, causes ([0007], “a … configuration of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program”) one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing comprising ([0131], “The … processes may be executed by a single processor or a plurality of … processors included in an information processing system”): a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0007], “controlling a movement of a player object on the virtual game stage according to the user's … operation”);
calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) a cumulative value of ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”);
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”) the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set”).
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal in the virtual space.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … which are based on a request for modification”) reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal in the virtual space ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal in the virtual space, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 4, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”) when the cumulative value exceeds a reference value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
In regard to claim 5, Kimura discloses
wherein the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes reducing the cumulative value when the placed object is placed as the cumulative value exceeds a reference value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
In regard to claim 6, Kimura discloses
wherein the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes calculating the cumulative value for each type of a placed object that is to be placed ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”), wherein when any of the placed objects is placed as the cumulative value exceeds the reference value, the cumulative value for the placed object is reduced ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”).
In regard to claim 7, Kimura discloses
wherein the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes setting different reference values for ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points”) different types of placed objects that are to be placed ([0007], “controlling a movement of a player object”).
In regard to claim 8, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes further ([0007], “controlling a movement of a player object”) and placing the placed object in the cavity ([0065], “movement direction of the player object … can be controlled”), depending on the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points”).
Kimura does not disclose
forming a cavity in the stage object in the vicinity of the removed portion of the stage object.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
forming a cavity in the stage object in the vicinity of the removed portion of the stage object ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, forming a cavity in the stage object in the vicinity of the removed portion of the stage object, of Alqadi into the method/system of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 9, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes not forming the cavity and not placing the placed object to be placed in the cavity ([0065], “movement direction of the player object … can be controlled”), when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity, depending on the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
In regard to claim 10, Kimura discloses
wherein the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes decreasing the cumulative value when ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”) and maintaining the cumulative value unchanged when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity, of Alqadi into the method/system of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 11, Kimura discloses
wherein the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes decreasing the cumulative value to a first value when ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”) and decreasing the cumulative value to the first value or a value greater than the first value when there is not enough space in the stage object to form the cavity ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the cavity is formed and the placed object is placed in the cavity, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 12, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes determining whether to further form ([0065], “movement direction of the player object … can be controlled”) depending on a direction in which the stage object has been removed ([0065], “a movement direction of the player object … can be controlled”).
Kimura does not disclose
the cavity and place the placed object in the cavity or place the placed object without further forming the cavity.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
the cavity and place the placed object in the cavity or place the placed object without further forming the cavity ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the cavity and place the placed object in the cavity or place the placed object without further forming the cavity, of Alqadi into the method/system of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 13, Kimura discloses
and the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes varying an incremental amount of the cumulative value according to the attribute information even when the reduced amount is the same ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the stage object has attribute information.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the stage object has attribute information ([0159], “a … shader processes attributes”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the stage object has attribute information, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding an attribute-processing shader.
In regard to claim 14, Kimura discloses
and the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes increasing an incremental amount of the cumulative value with an increase in the required amount even when the reduced amount is the same ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the removing the stage object includes varying a required amount of the operation input required for removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the attribute information.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the removing the stage object includes varying a required amount of the operation input required for removing at least a portion of the stage object according to ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”) the attribute information ([0159], “a … shader processes attributes”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the removing the stage object includes varying a required amount of the operation input required for removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the attribute information, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications and an attribute-processing shader.
In regard to claim 15, Kimura discloses
wherein the stage object has ([0007], “controlling a movement of a player object on the virtual game stage”) the vicinity of the location where the stage object has been removed ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”).
Kimura does not disclose
attribute information, and the placing the placed object includes determining whether or not to place the placed object, depending on the attribute information of the stage object in.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
attribute information, and the placing the placed object includes determining whether or not to place the placed object, depending on the attribute information of the stage object in ([0159], “shader processes attributes”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, attribute information, and the placing the placed object includes determining whether or not to place the placed object, depending on the attribute information of the stage object in, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding an attribute-processing shader.
In regard to claim 16, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object in a direction in which ([0065], “a movement direction of the player object … can be controlled”).
Kimura does not disclose
at least a portion of the stage object has been removed.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
at least a portion of the stage object has been removed ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 17, Kimura discloses
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing ([0007], “controlling a movement of a player object”), when the stage object is absent on an opposite side from a direction of gravity in the virtual space of a location ([0082], “the … object may be moved to … a position closest to the center-of-gravity position”).
Kimura does not disclose
where at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, the placed object at a location closer to the direction of gravity than the direction in which at least a portion of the stage object has been removed.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
where at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, the placed object at a location closer to the direction of gravity than the direction in which at least a portion of the stage object has been removed ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, where at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, the placed object at a location closer to the direction of gravity than the direction in which at least a portion of the stage object has been removed, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 18, Kimura does not disclose
wherein the stage object includes a mesh generated from voxel data including at least density data, and the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object by changing the density data.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the stage object includes a mesh generated from voxel data including ([0060], “embodiments may involve generating a three-dimensional mesh model of the object”) at least density data ([0061], “processing can be performed with any kind of … data”), and the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object by changing the density data ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the stage object includes a mesh generated from voxel data including at least density data, and the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object by changing the density data, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a three-dimensional mesh, data, and removal modifications.
In regard to claim 19, Kimura does not disclose
wherein a reduced amount of the stage object formed of the mesh is allowed to take a value smaller than the amount of a voxel with which each of the voxel data is associated.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein a reduced amount of the stage object formed of ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”) the mesh is allowed to take a value smaller than the amount of a voxel with which each of the voxel data is associated ([0060], “embodiments may involve generating a three-dimensional mesh model of the object”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein a reduced amount of the stage object formed of the mesh is allowed to take a value smaller than the amount of a voxel with which each of the voxel data is associated, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a three-dimensional mesh and removal modifications.
In regard to claim 20, Kimura discloses
and the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”)
the cumulative value includes calculating the reduced amount of the stage object, including the amount of voxel objects placed separately from the stage object ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the removing the stage object includes placing, when at least a portion of the stage object is removed, an amount of voxel objects corresponding to the reduced amount on the stage object with the voxel objects separated from the stage object.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the removing the stage object includes placing, when at least a portion of the stage object is removed ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”), an amount of voxel objects corresponding to the reduced amount on the stage object with the voxel objects separated from the stage object ([0060], “embodiments may involve generating a three-dimensional mesh model of the object”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the removing the stage object includes placing, when at least a portion of the stage object is removed, an amount of voxel objects corresponding to the reduced amount on the stage object with the voxel objects separated from the stage object, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a three-dimensional mesh and removal modifications.
In regard to claim 21, Kimura discloses
wherein the information processing further comprises: controlling the player character's action in the virtual space, based on the operation input ([0090], “object … may perform a predetermined action according to the user's operation”), and the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”) the cumulative value includes calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object removed according to the player character's action ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the player character's action in the virtual space
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the player character's action in the virtual space ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the player character's action in the virtual space, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 22, Kimura discloses
wherein the information processing further comprises: controlling an action in the virtual space of an opponent character different from the player character ([0090], “object … may perform a predetermined action according to the user's operation”),
and in the calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”)
the cumulative value, a reduced amount of the stage object removed according to the opponent character's action is not used in the calculation of the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the opponent character's action in the virtual space
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the opponent character's action in the virtual space ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the removing the stage object includes removing at least a portion of the stage object according to the opponent character's action in the virtual space, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 24, Kimura discloses
An information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing comprising ([0131], “The … processes may be executed by a single processor or a plurality of … processors included in an information processing system”);
calculating a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal in the virtual space ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”);
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”)
the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
In regard to claim 26, Kimura discloses
an information processing method comprising ([0136], “this non-limiting example is useful for … information processing methods”):
calculating ([0057], “the control unit … can calculate information”)
a cumulative value of reduced amounts of the stage object caused by the removal in the virtual space ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”);
and placing a placed object different from the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”)
the cumulative value ([0061], “a … cumulative value is set which indicates acquired points … and if the acquired points possessed by a user have reached the required cumulative value”).
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames … other similar modifications may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Claims 2-3, 23, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable under Kimura in view of Alqadi, and in further view of US 20010018362 A1 (“Minagawa”).
In regard to claim 2, Kimura discloses
the vicinity of the location of ([0063], “the non-player object … being … controlled while a positional relationship between the player object … and the non-player object … is maintained”)
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object in the removal.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
the removal ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the removal, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Further, Minagawa is also analogous art because it is in the field of virtual technology. Minagawa discloses wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object in ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”). Substituting wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object of Minagawa into Kimura would not alter the principle operation of Kimura and would remain entirely compatible or enhance the operation of the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a hidden object.
In regard to claim 3, Kimura discloses
releasing the placed object from a state of being ([0079], “one object freely travels”)
Kimura does not disclose
wherein the removing the stage object includes
buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object,
by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
wherein the removing the stage object includes ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”),
by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the removing the stage object includes, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Further, Minagawa is also analogous art because it is in the field of virtual technology. Minagawa discloses wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object in ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”). Substituting wherein the placing the placed object includes placing the placed object with the placed object buried in a surface of the stage object of Minagawa into Kimura would not alter the principle operation of Kimura and would remain entirely compatible or enhance the operation of the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a hidden object.
In regard to claim 23, Kimura discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program that, when executed, causes ([0007], “a … configuration of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program”) one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing comprising ([0131], “The … processes may be executed by a single processor or a plurality of … processors included in an information processing system”).
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input
and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input, of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Further, Minagawa is also analogous art because it is in the field of virtual technology. Minagawa discloses and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”). Substituting placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input of Minagawa into Kimura would not alter the principle operation of Kimura and would remain entirely compatible or enhance the operation of the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a hidden object.
In regard to claim 25, Kimura discloses
an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing comprising ([0131], “The … processes may be executed by a single processor or a plurality of … processors included in an information processing system”)
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input;
and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal,
wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object,
by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”)
wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input, wherein the removing the stage object includes releasing the placed object from a state of being buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Further, Minagawa is also analogous art because it is in the field of virtual technology. Minagawa discloses and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”),
by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”). Substituting placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input of Minagawa into Kimura would not alter the principle operation of Kimura and would remain entirely compatible or enhance the operation of the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a hidden object.
In regard to claim 27, Kimura discloses
an information processing method comprising ([0136], “this non-limiting example is useful for … information processing methods”)
releasing the placed object from a state of being ([0079], “one object freely travels”)
Kimura does not disclose
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input;
and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed,
depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input.
However, in an analogous art of augmented reality technology Alqadi discloses
removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”)
wherein the removing the stage object includes buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object ([0064], “modifications may involve … removing at least some part of areas from the frames”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, removing at least a portion of a stage object included in a game stage in a virtual space, based on a user's operation input, wherein the removing the stage object includes buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object of Alqadi into the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation of Kimura would not change the basic principle operation of Kimura, nor would it render Kimura unsuitable for its intended purpose of storing an information processing program, information processing apparatus, information processing system, and information processing method that perform a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation; rather it would enhance information processing that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding removal modifications.
Further, Minagawa is also analogous art because it is in the field of virtual technology. Minagawa discloses and placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”), depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input ([0065], “the dummy object will be completely hidden behind the object”). Substituting placing and burying a placed object different from the stage object in a surface of the stage object in the vicinity of a location where the stage object has been removed, depending on the removal, wherein the removing the stage object includes buried in the stage object or causing the user to obtain the placed object, by further removing a portion of the stage object in which the placed object is buried, based on the operation input of Minagawa into Kimura would not alter the principle operation of Kimura and would remain entirely compatible or enhance the operation of the information processing method that performs a game process of moving a player object according to a user's operation by adding a hidden object.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure. The following references have been cited to further show the
state of the art.
• US 20200384368 A1 (“Aonuma”)
Aonuma discloses a storage medium, an information processing apparatus, an information processing system and an information processing method, in which a game stage for playing a game is created.
• US 11701588 B2 (“Fukada”)
Fukada discloses storage media storing game programs, game apparatuses, game systems, and game processing methods for processing an object in a virtual space.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be
reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via
telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715