DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpoff (US2012/0206087 A1) in view of Stuart et al. (US 2003/0070708 A1) further in view of Nicholson et al. (US 20180144628 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Carpoff teaches a solar panel system, comprising: a trailer; [see (Fig. 1; para. 0003) a standalone portable solar power system includes a trailer teaches trailer]; a solar panel array disposed on the trailer; [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0003) solar panels mounted on rotating beams teaches solar panels mounted on trailer]; a pole disposed on the trailer and having the solar panel array rotatably mounted thereon, wherein the pole is extendable and the solar panel [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0004) vertical posts… rotatable horizontal beams… solar panels can be rotated teaches pole/post with rotatable mounting, teaches a pole with rotation]; a plurality of batteries disposed on the trailer and in communication with the solar panel array; [see (Fig. 1; para. 0003) the frame can support a plurality of rechargeable batteries teaches batteries]; a plurality of electrical outlets in communication with the plurality of batteries and in communication with the solar panel array; [see (Fig. 1; para. 0003) an inverter and a power outlet teaches electrical outlet];
Carpoff does not expressly teach wherein the pole is extendable and the solar panel is rotatable about the pole about at least two axes; a crank shaft mechanically connected to the pole and mechanically connected to the solar panel array, wherein the crank shaft can adjust an extension of the pole and an orientation of the solar panel array; and an artificial intelligence control system configured to position the solar panel array based on a positioning of the sun and a geographical positioning of the solar panel array, wherein the artificial intelligence control system is configured to automatically bring down the solar panel array when no sunlight is detected or when the plurality of batteries are completely charged.
In an analogous art Stuart teaches wherein the pole is extendable and the solar panel is rotatable about the pole about at least two axes; [see (Fig. 1-2; paras. 0022-0024) main mast 30… first and second main mast members 32, 34… a conventional crank assembly 36… for manually cranking the solar panel 26 up and down, and coupling 40 permitting movement about two axes teaches extendable mast and two-axis movement, Stuart’s main mast with crank assembly corresponds to an extendable pole, and the coupling permitting movement about two axes corresponds to rotation about at least two axes ]; a crank shaft mechanically connected to the pole and mechanically connected to the solar panel array, wherein the crank shaft can adjust an extension of the pole and an orientation of the solar panel array; [see (paras. 0027-0028) a threaded rod 50… a handle 56… as each rod is turned, it raises or lowers a portion of the solar panel, providing tilting and pivoting, and para. 0023 main mast 30… provided with a conventional crank assembly 36… for manually cranking the solar panel 26 up and down teaches crank-type threaded rod/jackscrew mechanisms; Stuart teaches crank-type jackscrew mechanisms (threaded rods with handles and mast crank assembly) that adjust both elevation and orientation. A POSITA would recognize these as functional equivalents of a crank shaft mechanically linking the support pole and the panel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the adjustable mast and crank-type jackscrew mechanism of Stuart in the invention of Carpoff to enable adjustment of panel height and multi-axis orientation, thereby improving solar energy capture with predictable results.
Combination of Carpoff and Stuart doesn’t expressly teach an artificial intelligence control system configured to position the solar panel array based on a positioning of the sun and a geographical positioning of the solar panel array, wherein the artificial intelligence control system is configured to automatically bring down the solar panel array when no sunlight is detected or when the plurality of batteries are completely charged.
In an analogous art Nicholson teaches an artificial intelligence control system configured to position the solar panel array based on a positioning of the sun and a geographical positioning of the solar panel array, wherein the artificial intelligence control system is configured to automatically bring down the solar panel array when no sunlight is detected or when the plurality of batteries are completely charged; [see (Fig. 8; paras. 0064-0068) determine GPS data… determine a point of aim… compute a height and angle of rotation… adjust the sign orientation accordingly, and (paras. 0036-0037, 0052-0054) controller… lowers the sign portion to a lowest height in response to wind conditions or power state… may automatically perform shutdown or power save operations teaches automatic positioning and lowering based on conditions; Nicholson teaches a controller that determines location and environmental conditions and automatically adjusts orientation, including lowering the structure under certain conditions (e.g., wind or power state). It would have been obvious to configure such a controller to lower the solar panel array when no useful sunlight is available or when batteries are fully charged as a routine safety and efficiency optimization].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the automated control system based on environmental and positional inputs of Nicholson in the invention of Carpoff as modified by Stuart to automatically position and adjust the solar panel array, and, consistent with Nicholson’s teaching of lowering the structure in response to sensed conditions, to further program the controller to lower the array when no useful sunlight is available or when the batteries are fully charged, thereby reducing manual intervention, mechanical stress, and unnecessary operation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Carpoff, Stuart and Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above, regarding wherein the plurality of batteries are configured to provide power to an external structure [Carpoff teaches a power outlet connected to the battery and inverter system (para. 0003): providing a power outlet inherently enables supplying electrical power to external loads connected via the outlet, which corresponds to providing power to an external structure].
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Carpoff, Stuart and Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above, regarding wherein the artificial intelligence control system is configured to detect an obstruction of sunlight and position the solar panel array away from the obstruction of sunlight; [ Nicholson teaches a controller that determines location and environmental conditions (e.g., weather, wind, traffic) and automatically computes and sets an appropriate height and angle of rotation for a structure and its solar panel assembly based on those conditions (see, e.g., Fig. 8; paras. 0055-0057) Nicholson further teaches adjusting and lowering the structure in response to adverse conditions such as wind or power state; environmental conditions affecting positioning include conditions that reduce effectiveness of operation. A POSITA would recognize that obstruction of sunlight is a type of environmental condition affecting solar performance, and it would have been obvious to configure Nicholson’s environment-responsive positioning control to adjust panel orientation to avoid such obstructions, thereby improving solar energy capture].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the environment-responsive positioning control of Nicholson to adjust panel orientation to avoid obstruction of sunlight, thereby improving energy capture with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Carpoff, Stuart and Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above, regarding wherein the plurality of electrical outlets includes six electrical outlets disposed on the trailer and configured to communicate with extension cables; [Carpoff teaches at least one power outlet connected to the system (para. 0003); selecting a particular number of outlets (e.g., six) and enabling connection via extension cables are design choices based on expected electrical load and user requirements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide multiple outlets, including six outlets, and enable connection via extension cables to increase power distribution capability and meet user demand, thereby achieving predictable results.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpoff (US2012/0206087 A1), in view of Stuart et al. (US 2003/0070708 A1), in view of Nicholson et al. (US 2018/0144628 A1), further in view of Robertson (US 2012/0201016 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Carpoff in view of Stuart and Nicholson further in view of Robertson teaches the invention set forth above Regarding wherein the trailer is a two-axle flatbed trailer with a plurality of outriggers the combination doesn’t expressly teach the limitation.
In an analogous art Robertson teaches a mobile solar-powered system including a trailer frame having wheels/axles and stabilizing components such as outriggers and jack stands for supporting and stabilizing the trailer during operation [see (Fig. 1-2; paras. 0033, 0048); the trailer frame with wheels corresponds to a multi-axle trailer structure, and the disclosed outriggers/jack stands correspond to a plurality of outriggers used to stabilize the trailer during deployment, which is consistent with a flatbed trailer configuration supporting mounted equipment].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the trailer and stabilizing outrigger configuration of Robertson in the invention of Carpoff as modified by Stuart and Nicholson to improve stability and load support of the trailer during operation, thereby ensuring safe and reliable deployment with predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Carpoff in view of Stuart and Nicholson further in view of Robertson teaches the invention set forth above; regarding wherein the trailer is a two-axle flatbed trailer including four outriggers, one at each corner, configured to stabilize the trailer the combination doesn’t expressly teach the limitation.
In an analogous art Robertson teaches a trailer-based solar system including stabilizing outriggers and jack stands positioned at the trailer to support and stabilize the system during deployment [(see (Fig. 1-2; paras. 0033, 0048); the use of multiple outriggers/jack stands corresponds to providing a plurality of stabilizers, and arranging such stabilizers at distributed positions (e.g., corners of a trailer) is a known and predictable configuration to maximize stability of a rectangular trailer structure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange four outriggers at the corners of the trailer to maximize stability during operation, thereby improving safety and structural support with predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849