DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘expandable balloon,’ ‘embolic filter’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 17. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16-19 recites the limitation "the distal collar" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16-19 recites the limitation "the proximal collar" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20 and 21 recites the limitation "the cage" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al. (US 2013/0178891A1, “Russell”) in view of Martin (US 2020/0054432A1).
Regarding claim 15, Russell discloses a prosthetic heart valve delivery catheter including a balloon catheter shaft (105; [0019, 0045]; Fig. 2) having a distal portion. An expandable balloon (145) is disposed on the distal portion of the catheter shaft. An embolic filter (110; [0043, 0047, 0049]) is disposed on the distal portion of the shaft at a location proximal of the balloon (Fig. 2D; [0064]). The embolic filter has a collapsed configuration and a deployed configuration wherein an outer periphery of the filter is capable of contacting a blood vessel wall [0045]. The embolic filter includes a filter membrane (195) and a support structure (185; [0058]), wherein the support structure includes a cage having a distal collar connected to the filter membrane and a proximal collar attached to the distal portion of the catheter shaft via a sliding mechanism (190). However, Russell does not expressly disclose a prosthetic valve disposed on the expandable balloon on the distal portion of the catheter shaft.
In the same field of endeavor, valve delivery, Martin teaches a prosthetic heart valve delivery catheter having integrated embolic protection including a shaft (guidewire; [0091]) having a distal portion. A prosthetic valve (132; [0089]) is disposed on the distal portion of the shaft and an embolic filter (100) is disposed on the distal portion of the shaft at a location proximal of the prosthetic valve (Fig. 8). An expandable balloon is on the distal portion of the catheter upon which the prosthetic valve is disposed [0091; Figs. 8B,C]. The embolic filter has a collapsed configuration and a deployed configuration [0091]. An outer periphery of the filter is capable of contacting a blood vessel wall (Fig. 8). The filter includes a filter membrane (102; [0063]; Fig. 8B) and a support structure (185), wherein the support structure includes a cage having a distal collar and a proximal collar attached to the distal portion of the catheter shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have disposed the prosthetic valve of Russell over the expandable balloon, as taught by Martin, for the predictable result of expanding a prosthetic heart valve and maneuvering the filter to capture debris while treating a heart valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 and 22-27 allowed.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a prosthetic heart valve delivery catheter including a catheter shaft, an expandable balloon fixedly mounted on a balloon catheter located at a distal portion of the catheter shaft, a prosthetic valve disposed on the expandable balloon, an embolic filter disposed on a filter deployment catheter located at the distal portion of the shaft proximal of the prosthetic valve, the embolic filter including a narrow end that is slidably mounted on the filter deployment catheter and an open end located distally of the narrow end, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a prosthetic heart valve delivery catheter including a catheter shaft, an expandable balloon fixedly mounted on a balloon catheter located at a distal portion of the catheter shaft, a prosthetic valve disposed on the expandable balloon, an embolic filter disposed on a filter deployment catheter located at the distal portion of the shaft proximal of the prosthetic valve, the embolic filter including a conical wall portion proximal a cylindrical wall portion, the conical wall portion having a proximal tip slidably attached to the filter deployment catheter, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Groh (US 2016/0317276A1) discloses a catheter shaft, prosthetic valve, a balloon and an embolic filter.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771