DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,7,10-12,15,16,20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KREEK et al (US 20140210797).
Regarding claim 1, KREEK discloses a method (abstract) comprising: at an electronic device 110 in communication with a display generation component 108 and one or more input devices, wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic stylus 102 (Figure 3): while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface associated with a content creation application, and while a user of the electronic device is interacting with the user interface using the electronic stylus, receiving a first input, via the electronic stylus, corresponding to a request to display a palette 200 user interface in the user interface of the content creation application (Figure 6; paragraph 25, 38, 44); and in response to receiving the first input, and in accordance with one or more criteria being satisfied, displaying, via the display generation component, the palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application, including: in accordance with a determination that a pose of the electronic stylus is a first pose relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21; display of palette location dependent on stylus location and device orientation); and in accordance with a determination that the pose of the electronic stylus is a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a second spatial arrangement, different from the first spatial arrangement, relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41; subsequent display of palette based on different stylus location and/or device orientation).
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein: the first pose of the electronic stylus corresponds to a first orientation of the electronic stylus relative to the user interface, and the first spatial arrangement of the palette user interface corresponds to a second orientation of the palette user interface relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41); and the second pose of the electronic stylus corresponds to a third orientation of the electronic stylus relative to the user interface, and the second spatial arrangement of the palette user interface corresponds to a fourth orientation of the palette user interface relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the method further comprises: selecting the first spatial arrangement such that the palette user interface is visually unimpeded by one or more portions of the user holding the electronic stylus in the first pose relative to the user interface (paragraph 19, 23).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein displaying the palette user interface with the first spatial arrangement comprises displaying one or more selectable options of the palette user interface in a first order, and wherein displaying the palette user interface with the second spatial arrangement comprises displaying the one or more selectable options of the palette user interface in a second order, different from the first order (Figure 5, 6; paragraph 40, 41; order of items relative to a screen edge would change based on orientation of palette).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic stylus is within a first threshold distance from the user interface when the first input is received, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to receiving the first input: in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because the electronic stylus is beyond the first threshold distance from the user interface of the content creation application when the first input is received, forgoing display of the palette user interface (paragraph 25, 42).
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic stylus is beyond a first threshold distance from the user interface when the first input is received, and wherein the method comprises: in response to receiving the first input: in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because the electronic stylus is touching the user interface of the content creation application when the first input is received, forgoing display of the palette user interface (paragraph 25, 42).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein receiving the first input comprises determining that the user of the electronic device is performing a squeeze input on a surface of the electronic stylus (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the first input is a first type of input, the method further comprises: while the palette user interface is being displayed by the display generation component, receiving a second input, via the electronic stylus, wherein the second input is the first type of input (paragraph 38); and in response to receiving the second input, ceasing display of the palette user interface on the display generation component (paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 16, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the method further comprises: while the palette user interface is being displayed by the display generation component, detecting that the electronic stylus is being used to provide handwritten input to the user interface of the content creation application (paragraph 38; drawing mode); and in response to detecting that the electronic stylus is being used to provide handwritten input to the user interface of the content creation application, ceasing display of the palette user interface and displaying a representation of the handwritten input in the user interface of the content creation application (paragraph 38; drawing mode).
Regarding claim 20, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein the method further comprises: while displaying the palette user interface with the first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface, detecting that the pose of the electronic stylus has changed from the first pose relative to the user interface to a third pose relative to the user interface, different from the first pose relative to the user interface (paragraph 40, 41); and in response to detecting that the pose of the electronic stylus has changed from the first pose relative to the user interface to the third pose relative to the user interface, displaying the palette user interface with a third spatial arrangement relative to the user interface, different from the first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface (paragraph 40, 41; various trigger events for palette generation would be possible when active palette is displayed and therefore, would provide location dependent on location determination).
Regarding claim 21, KREEK discloses an electronic device 110 that is in communication with a display generation 108 component and one or more input devices 102, wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic stylus (abstract), the electronic device comprising: one or more processors 402; memory 404; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (paragraph 37), the one or more programs including instructions for: while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface associated with a content creation application, and while a user of the electronic device is interacting with the user interface using the electronic stylus, receiving a first input, via the electronic stylus, corresponding to a request to display a palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application (Figure 6; paragraph 25, 38, 44); and in response to receiving the first input, and in accordance with one or more criteria being satisfied, displaying, via the display generation component, the palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application, including: in accordance with a determination that a pose of the electronic stylus is a first pose relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21); and in accordance with a determination that the pose of the electronic stylus is a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a second spatial arrangement, different from the first spatial arrangement, relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41).
Regarding claim 22, KREEK discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs (paragraph 35), the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic stylus, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface associated with a content creation application, and while a user of the electronic device is interacting with the user interface using the electronic stylus, receiving a first input, via the electronic stylus, corresponding to a request to display a palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application (Figure 6; paragraph 25, 38, 44); and in response to receiving the first input, and in accordance with one or more criteria being satisfied, displaying, via the display generation component, the palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application, including: in accordance with a determination that a pose of the electronic stylus is a first pose relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21); and in accordance with a determination that the pose of the electronic stylus is a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a second spatial arrangement, different from the first spatial arrangement, relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41).
Regarding claim 23, KREEK discloses an electronic device 110 that is in communication with a display generation 108 component and one or more input devices 102, wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic stylus (abstract), the electronic device comprising: one or more processors 402; memory 404; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (paragraph 37), the one or more programs including instructions for: means for while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface associated with a content creation application, and while a user of the electronic device is interacting with the user interface using the electronic stylus, receiving a first input, via the electronic stylus, corresponding to a request to display a palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application (Figure 6; paragraph 25, 38, 44); and means for in response to receiving the first input, and in accordance with one or more criteria being satisfied, displaying, via the display generation component, the palette user interface in the user interface of the content creation application, including: in accordance with a determination that a pose of the electronic stylus is a first pose relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21); and in accordance with a determination that the pose of the electronic stylus is a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the user interface when the first input is received, displaying the palette user interface with a second spatial arrangement, different from the first spatial arrangement, relative to the user interface (Figure 5, 9; paragraph 20, 21, 39-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KREEK et al (US 20140210797) in view of BHANDARI et al (US 2017/0068337).
Regarding claim 4, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein determining that the pose of the electronic stylus is the first pose relative to the user interface comprises determining the electronic stylus relative to the user interface and wherein the first spatial arrangement of the palette user interface is based on the electronic stylus (paragraph 39, 41). However, KREEK does not expressly disclose determining a tilt angle of the electronic stylus. In a similar field of endeavor, BHANDARI discloses determining a tilt angle of the electronic stylus relative to the user interface and wherein the first spatial arrangement is based on the determined tilt angle of the electronic stylus (Figure 8A, 8B; paragraph 50-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KREEK to include the teachings of BHANDARI, since such a modification can be used to increase position determination of a tip based on tilt sensor of a stylus. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional improvements to location of a tip based on those disclosed by BHANDARI.
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combination of KREEK and BHANDARI further discloses wherein displaying the palette user interface with the first spatial arrangement relative to the palette user interface comprises: determining a first vector, wherein the first vector is based on the determined tilt angle of the electronic stylus, and determining the first spatial arrangement such that a center of the palette user interface aligns with the determined first vector (KREEK – paragraph 39, 40; BHANDARI – paragraph 50; KREEK disclose vector relative to a stylus tip, BHANDARI disclose tilt angle vector).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KREEK further discloses wherein displaying the palette user interface with the first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface comprises: in accordance with a determination that a first hand of the user is holding the electronic stylus, displaying the palette user interface at a first orientation relative to the user interface (paragraph 39-41); and in accordance with a determination that second hand of the user, different from the first hand, is holding the electronic stylus, displaying the palette user interface at a second orientation, different from the first orientation, relative to the user interface. (paragraph 43).
Claim(s) 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KREEK et al (US 20140210797) in view of HOTELLING et al (US 2006/0026535).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, KREEK does not expressly disclose wherein displaying the palette user interface with the first spatial arrangement relative to the user interface comprises: in accordance with a determination that a squeeze intensity associated with the first input is a first squeeze intensity, displaying the palette user interface at a first animation speed; and in accordance with a determination that the squeeze intensity associated with the first input is a second squeeze intensity, different from the first squeeze intensity, displaying the palette user interface at a second animation speed, different from the first animation speed. In a similar field of endeavor, HOTELLING discloses in accordance with a determination that a squeeze intensity associated with a first input is a first squeeze intensity, displaying a user interface element at a first animation speed (paragraph 154); and in accordance with a determination that the squeeze intensity associated with the first input is a second squeeze intensity, different from the first squeeze intensity, displaying the user interface element at a second animation speed, different from the first animation speed (paragraph 154). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KREEK to include the teachings of HOTELLING, since HOTELLING states that such a modification would allow a user to control GUI elements based on defined force parameters. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would allow additional display features to displaying of a pallet based on force measurements disclosed by HOTELLING.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, KREEK does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a squeeze intensity of the first input is above a squeeze intensity threshold, wherein the squeeze intensity threshold is user-defined. In a similar field of endeavor, HOTELLING discloses wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a squeeze intensity of the first input is above a squeeze intensity threshold, wherein the squeeze intensity threshold is user-defined (paragraph 154; intensity threshold would need to be designed by a user of some form during design or through an operating system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KREEK to include the teachings of HOTELLING, since HOTELLING states that such a modification would allow a user to control GUI elements based on defined force parameters. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would allow additional display features to displaying of a pallet based on force measurements disclosed by HOTELLING.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior Art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose limitations set forth in claims 8, 9, and 17.
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624