DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Office Action mailed 14 July 2026, filed 6 October 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Perrow (SU 2023/0386289 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olwal et al. (US 2023/0086766 A1) in view of Perrow (US 2023/0386289 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Olwal discloses a rapid user input determination system comprising:
a control device [Olwal: FIG. 2];
a head-mounted device signal-connected to the control device and comprising at least one display and at least one eye-tracking unit [Olwal: ¶ [0054] The wearable computing device 100 is depicted as AR glasses in this example. In general, the device 100 may include any or all components of systems 100 and/or 200 and or 600. The wearable computing device 100 may also be indicated as smart glasses representing an optical head-mounted display device designed in the shape of a pair of eyeglasses]; and
a motion sensing device [Olwal: ¶ [0047]: In some implementations, the defocus event may include user-related motion such as a head turn, a head lift or lower, a device removal from the user (e.g., removing a wearable computing device), and/or any combination thereof; and ¶ [0065] The sensor system 214 may also include an inertial motion unit (IMU) sensor 220. The IMU sensor 220 may detect motion, movement, and/or acceleration of the wearable computing device 100. The IMU sensor 220 may include various different types of sensors such as, for example, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, and other such sensors. In some implementations, the sensor system 214 may include screen embedded sensors that may detect particular user actions, motions, etc., directly from the virtual screen]; wherein,
the control device is configured to receive a command as a user input and to output a corresponding content based on the command to the head-mounted device and the motion sensing device [Olwal: ¶ [0067]: In some implementations, the camera 224 may be a point tracking camera that can, for example, detect and follow one or more optical markers on an external device, such as, for example, optical markers on an input device or finger on a screen. The input may be detected by an input detector 215, for example];
the at least one display is configured to demonstrate a display content, the display content comprises a virtual reality image or an augmented reality image, the virtual reality image or the augmented reality image includes an auxiliary image, and to update the display content based on the corresponding content received from the control device [Olwal: ¶ [0067]],
the eye-tracking unit is configured to track a movement and a motion trajectory of at least one of the user's eyes to determine a visual focus of the user on the display content [Olwal: ¶ [0007]],
the motion sensing device is configured to detect a motion or a posture of the user's hand and to transmit a hand-gesture information to the control device [Olwal: ¶ [0067]], wherein the motion and the posture are respectively defined as a triggering action and a triggering posture [Olwal: ¶ [0038]: For example, if the user performs an action that triggers an object to move, the user may follow the trajectory of the object. While the user looks away (i.e., defocus on content), the object continues to move in a trajectory. Thus, when the user refocuses on the content, the model 116 may generate and render focus transition markers to guide the user to the current position of the object], and wherein the motion sensing device comprises a wristband configured to be worn on the user [Olwal: ¶ [0057]: In some implementations, the wearable computing device 100 is or includes a smart watch]; wherein
at least a portion of the motion sensing device is embedded in or detachably mounted on the head-mounted device [Olwal: FIG. 1].
Olwal may not explicitly discloses the control device is configured to receive a command as a user input and to output a corresponding content based on the command to at least one Internet of Things device;
the auxiliary image corresponding to at least one of the Internet of Things device
wherein, in response to the visual focus of the user being located on the auxiliary image, the at least one display is configured to change a display state of the auxiliary image by changing a color of the auxiliary image or causing the auxiliary image to blink; and
the control device is configured to combine the visual focus of the user on the display content with the triggering action or the triggering posture to form the command and to transmit the command to the at least one Internet of Things device to cause the at least one Internet of Things device to perform a corresponding action (emphasis added).
However, Perrow discloses the control device is configured to receive a command as a user input and to output a corresponding content based on the command to at least one Internet of Things device [Perrow: ¶ [0033] In conventional gaming systems, players are limited to physical interaction with casino gaming products by very consciously pressing physical buttons or making selections on touchscreens. The one or more eye gaze tracking systems can: (1) identify the focus of the user's gaze and shift of the user's gaze, wherein the focus of user's gaze and the shift of the user's gaze are made without a conscious action; and (2) trigger corresponding features that can be activated in the gaming system]
wherein, in response to the visual focus of the user being located on the auxiliary image, the at least one display is configured to change a display state of the auxiliary image by changing a color of the auxiliary image or causing the auxiliary image to blink [Perrow: ¶ [0097]: a player's focus corresponding to a user input (e.g., a lingering gaze, selection of a symbol, etc.) may trigger an outcome, such as changes in a feature of the gaming cabinet and/or the display(s). The different features can be controlled to exhibit dynamic images, text, and/or animations (e.g., changes in intensity, color, speed, selective illumination, pulsing, presentation of selectable options, etc.), such as in response to the trigger]; the control device is configured to combine the visual focus of the user on the display content with the triggering action or the triggering posture to form the command and to transmit the command to the at least one Internet of Things device to cause the at least one Internet of Things device to perform a corresponding action [Perrow: ¶ [0039] Communication between the gaming devices 104A-104X and the server computers 102, and among the gaming devices 104A-104X, may be direct or indirect using one or more communication protocols. As an example, gaming devices 104A-104X and the server computers 102 can communicate over one or more communication networks, such as over the Internet through a website maintained by a computer on a remote server or over an online data network including commercial online service providers, Internet service providers, private networks (e.g., local area networks and enterprise networks), and the like (e.g., wide area networks)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the user gaze trigger response of Perrow with the gaze tracking process of Olwal in order to provide hand free operation to a user, improving usability.
Regarding Claim 2, Olwal discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Olwal discloses wherein the head-mounted device further comprises at least one camera [Olwal: ¶ [0062]: In some implementations, the image sensor 216 is a red, green, blue (RGB) camera. In some examples, the image sensor 216 includes a pulsed laser sensor (e.g., a LiDAR sensor) and/or depth camera. For example, the image sensor 216 may be a camera configured to detect and convey information used to make an image. In some implementations, the image sensor 216 is an eye tracking sensor (or camera), such as eye/gaze tracker 218 that captures movements of an eye of a user accessing device 100, for example] and at least one inertial measurement unit [Olwal: ¶ [0065]: The sensor system 214 may also include an inertial motion unit (IMU) sensor 220. The IMU sensor 220 may detect motion, movement, and/or acceleration of the wearable computing device 100], the at least one camera is configured to detect an external environment of the head-mounted device to collect multiple images or multiple video records in real time [Olwal: ¶ [0067]: The sensor system 214 may also include a camera 224 capable of capturing still and/or moving images. In some implementations, the camera 224 may be a depth camera that can collect data related to distances of external objects from the camera 224], and to transmit the images or video records to the control device [Olwal: FIG. 2], the at least one inertial measurement unit is configured to detect a movement of the user's head [Olwal: ¶ [0109]: In some implementations, the tracking may be performed by the IMU 220. In some implementations, tracking may include assessing and tracking signals that include any one or more (or any combination of) gaze signals (e.g., eye gaze), head tracking signals], and a position of the display content demonstrated on the at least one display can be adjusted based on a detecting result of the inertial measurement unit [Olwal: ¶ [0109]: In some implementations, models 248 may be used to assess tracked focus or related signals to determine next steps and/or next focus events. Any combination of the above may be used to ascertain and track the focus of the user].
Regarding Claim 7, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses method of using the rapid user input determination system as claimed in claim 1 and comprising the following steps:
demonstrating a display content on a head-mounted device [Olwal: ¶ [0088]: he gaze target 310 may change over time as the user interacts with content 310, 312, 314, and/or other content configured for display in screen 302A], wherein the display content comprises a user interface, a virtual reality image or an augmented reality image, the virtual reality image or the augmented reality image includes an auxiliary image corresponding to at least one Internet of Things device [Perrow: ¶ [0033]; [0039]];
determining, with the eye-tracking unit, that a target selected by a user is the auxiliary image corresponding to the at least one Internet of Things device in the display content [Perrow: ¶ [0097]]; and
detecting a triggering action or a triggering posture with the motion sensing device to confirm the target selected by the user [Olwal: ¶ [0089]: The interruption may be visual, audial, or tactile in nature. The interruption may trigger the eye gaze of the user to move to another focus or be removed from an original focus (e.g., gaze target). For example, the user may hear another user call out the user's name, as shown by indicator 318. The user may then defocus from content 306 in screen 302B and the focus (e.g., attention, gaze target) may change, as shown by map 316, which depicts the eye gaze change of the user. In this example, the eye/gaze tracker 218, for example, may detect that the user is looking beyond the screen 302B and may begin to trigger changes in presentation of content on device 100], thereby causing the at least one Internet of Things device to perform the corresponding action [Perrow: ¶ [0007]].
Regarding Claim 8, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses all the limitations of Claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses wherein a part of the display content interacts with an image of an external environment, the part of the display content corresponds to edges or contours of the image, or tracks a moving object displayed in the image [Olwal: ¶ [0104]: For example, if the user performs an action that triggers an object to move, the device 100 (and the user) may follow the trajectory of the object. While the user is defocused (e.g., looking away), the object will keep moving, and when the user refocuses (e.g., looks back), the device 100 may guide the user to the current position of the object using content, shapes, highlights, or other such marker].
Regarding Claim 9, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses all the limitations of Claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses wherein the display content comprises a user interface, a virtual reality image or an augmented reality image [Olwal: ¶ [0122]: the virtual screen 226 is associated with an augmented reality device (e.g., wearable computing device 100) configured to provide a field of view that includes an augmented reality view (e.g., screen 302A) and a physical world view (e.g., 304A)]; wherein, the user interface includes multiple selection boxes, multiple symbols, selection boxes text strings or at least one button [Olwal: ¶ [0144]: In some implementations, one or more input devices included on, or connect to, the computing device 650 can be used as input to the AR space. The input devices can include, but are not limited to, a touchscreen, a keyboard, one or more buttons, a trackpad, a touchpad, a pointing device, a mouse, a trackball, a joystick, a camera, a microphone, earphones or buds with input functionality, a gaming controller, or other connectable input device]; and the virtual reality image or the augmented reality image includes an auxiliary image corresponding to at least one Internet of Things (IoT) device [Olwal: ¶ [0144]].
Regarding Claim 10, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Olwal in view of Perrow discloses wherein the display content dynamically displays a position of the user's visual focus on the display in real time and a content shown at the position overlays other contents of the display content [Olwal: ¶ [0121]: The device 100 may then obtain a model for the UI. The model for the UI may define a plurality of states of and user interactions associated with the UI. Based on the tracked focus of the user, the model of the attention, and a determined state, from the plurality of states, of the UI, the device 100 may trigger rendering, for a second time period, at least one focus transition marker (e.g., marker 326) overlaid on at least a portion of the second region of screen 302D and the content therein].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482