DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim language makes no sense – “in the erected such that”. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 13-17 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claim 13 introduces a box packaging device, while claim 16 introduces a packaging method. The original rejected invention is for a pushing mechanism.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 13-17 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In accordance with the amended claims, the citations have been amended accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida, JP 6534820.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Ishida discloses: A pushing mechanism that pushes a plurality of bags (Figs. 1-7a, article WP) formed by sealing both end portions of a film formed in a tubular shape into a laterally open box in an erected posture, the pushing mechanism comprising:
a box standby unit (Figs. 1-7a, Box standby unit 350) for causing the box to stand by;
an article placement unit (Figs. 1-7a, Article placing unit 310) having a placement surface on which the plurality of bags are temporarily placed in the erected posture; and
a pushing unit (Figs. 1-7a, Pushing mechanism 300) extending in an alignment direction of the plurality of bags and pushing the plurality of bags placed on the placement surface into the box by moving toward an opening of the box from the article placement unit,
wherein the pushing unit has a transfer plate (Figs. 7a-7e, first plate 341) with a pressing surface (Figs. 7a-7e, second plate 342) configured to press the plurality of bags and a contact portion (Figs. 1-7a, Push-in plate 340) that comes into contact with a portion of the bag in a height direction in the erected posture such that one side of a bag of the plurality of bags is bent in a pushing direction (the use of a pushing device upon a bag or package of similar sort would necessarily bend the package upon contact), direction, the contact portion being a protrusion that protrudes from the pressing surface between an upper and lower edge of pressing surface (see Figs. 7a-7e).
Regarding claim 4, Ishida further discloses: the contact portion is provided to be expandable and contractible in the alignment direction of the plurality of bags (see Figs. 7a-7e).
Regarding claim 5, Ishida further discloses the contact portion is configured to contact any one edge side of a pair of seal portions provided in both end portions of the bag. (see MPEP 2115, MATERIAL OR ARTICLE WORKED UPON DOES NOT LIMIT APPARATUS CLAIMS - Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)).
Regarding claim 6, Ishida further discloses: the contact portion comes into contact with a central portion of the bag in the height direction in the erected such that (see Figs. 1-7. It can be seen that the contact portion of the bag is a central portion), and one side of the bag pushed into the box on an opening side of the box is made to bent so as to enter an inside of the box when viewed in the alignment direction of the plurality of bags (see MPEP 2115, MATERIAL OR ARTICLE WORKED UPON DOES NOT LIMIT APPARATUS CLAIMS - Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)).
Regarding claim 7, Ishida further discloses: a transport mechanism (Figs. 1-7a, Transport mechanism 100) that sequentially transports bags one by one; an accumulation mechanism (Figs. 1-7a, Integration mechanism 200A) that accumulates a predetermined number of the bags; and the pushing mechanism according to claim 1, which pushes the predetermined number of the bags into the box (Figs. 1-7a, Pushing mechanism 300).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Ishida further discloses: a peripheral component configured to contact a portion of an edge the bag to be bent upwards (the end portion of the unit 310 comes in contact with the bottom of the package as shown in the figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ishida.
Regarding claim 2, Ishida further discloses: the contact portion (Figs. 1-7a, Push-in plate 340) protrudes in a pushing direction of the pushing unit pushing the bag from a pressing surface (Figs. 1-7a, first and/or second plate 341, 342) on which the pushing unit pushes the plurality of bags.
Ishida does not explicitly disclose: a protruding height of the contact portion is larger than 1/10 of a length of the bag in the pushing direction, and is smaller than 1/3 of the length of the bag.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize an appropriately sized pusher element, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. It should be noted that the Ishida reference has a pusher plate that is adjustable for both height and width, which would allow it to be optimized for the size of the bag.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Schmidt, US 20210394942.
Regarding claim 3, Ishida discloses the device of claim 1.
Ishida does not explicitly disclose: a raising and lowering unit that raises and lowers the box standby unit,
wherein the pushing unit pushes the plurality of bags into the box lowered by the raising and lowering unit again after the plurality of bags are pushed into the box.
Schmidt teaches: a raising and lowering unit (Figs. 4-5, gripper 14) that raises and lowers the box standby unit,
wherein the pushing unit pushes the plurality of bags into the box lowered by the raising and lowering unit again after the plurality of bags are pushed into the box (see Figs. 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize the ox raising and lowering device as taught by Schmidt in combination with the Ishida device, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows for multi-row packaging of smaller items, thereby allowing the user to pack more items in the box.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Dambrosio, US 5195305.
Regarding claim 8 and 11, Ishida discloses the device of claim 1.
Ishida does not explicitly disclose: the contact portion has a curved semi-cylindrical surface.
Dambrosio teaches: the contact portion (Figs. 2-3, tamper 60) has a curved semi-cylindrical surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize the curved shape of the tamper as taught by Dambrosio in combination with the Ishida device, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows for the bag to contour its shape to the pusher. The Examiner notes that no criticality is either claimed nor described in the specification for this feature. .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731