Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the elastic cleansing blade substrate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gondoh et al. (US 2014/0205338).
With respect to claim 1, Gondoh et al. disclose cleaning blade, comprising: an elastic cleaning blade substrate (e.g., item 62b) comprising an edge layer (as shown at least by fig. 4, edge layer of item 622) and a coating layer (e.g., surface layer 623) on a front end portion (e.g., the end covered by surface layer 623) of the elastic cleaning blade substrate (62b), the coating layer (623) that comes into contact with a cleaning target (e.g., item 3) to clean a surface of the cleaning target (as shown at least by fig. 4), and the front end portion comprising a front edge ridge part (e.g., item 62c); and a cleaning blade supporting member (e.g., item 621) to support the elastic cleaning blade substrate, wherein a maximum penetration depth hmax of an indenter of a microhardness tester is between 4.0 μm and 10.0 μm at a position 100 μm inward from the front edge ridge part (62c) on an undersurface of the elastic cleaning blade substrate (62b) as measured according to a nanoindentation hardness test (as discussed at least in paragraphs 15, 42-47, 98, 27-62 and/or 64-155).
With respect to claim 2, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the maximum penetration depth hmax is between 5.5 μm and 7.5 μm as measured in accordance with the nanoindentation hardness test (as discussed at least in paragraphs 15, 42-47, 98, 27-62 and/or 64-155).
With respect to claim 3, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the coating layer (623) on the undersurface has a thickness between 0.5 μm and 10 μm at the position 100 μm inward from the front edge ridge part (as discussed at least in paragraph 56).
With respect to claim 4, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the coating layer comprises particles and a resin binding the particles with the elastic cleansing blade substrate (as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-94).
With respect to claim 5, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the coating layer comprises an applied film comprising PTFE particles and a fluororesin or acrylic particles and polyvinyl alcohol resin or polyvinyl acetal resin (as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-94).
With respect to claim 6, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the elastic cleaning blade substrate (622) has a single layer structure of polyurethane rubber or a laminate structure of polyurethane rubber with different Martens hardness (as discussed at least in paragraphs 4, 7, 49-50, 64-69, and/or 147).
With respect to claim 7, Gondoh et al. further disclose wherein the elastic cleaning blade substrate (622) has the single layer structure and the polyurethane rubber has a Martens hardness between 0.5 N/mm.sup.2 and 2 N/mm.sup.2 (as discussed at least in paragraphs 4, 7, 49-50, 64-69, and/or 147).
With respect to claim 8, Gondoh et al. further disclose cleaning unit comprising: the cleaning blade of claim 1 (as shown at least by figs. 3-5).
With respect to claim 9, Gondoh et al. further disclose an intermediate transfer unit comprising: an intermediate transfer body (e.g., fig. 2, item 14); and the cleaning blade of claim 1 (as discussed above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gondoh et al. (US 2014/0205338) in view of Ise et al. (US 2021/0302903).
With respect to claim 10, Gondoh et al. disclose an image forming apparatus (e.g., fig. 2) comprising: an image bearer (e.g., item 3); a charging device (e.g., item 4) to charge a surface of the image bearer (3); an irradiator (e.g., item L) to irradiate the surface of the image bearer (3) charged to form a latent electrostatic image; a developing device (e.g., item 5) to develop the latent electrostatic image with toner to form a visible image; a transfer device (e.g., item 7) comprising an intermediate transfer body (14) to transfer the visible image to a recording medium; a fixing device to fix the image transferred to the recording medium (as discussed at least in paragraph 38); and a cleaning device (e.g., item 6) comprising the cleaning blade of claim 1 (as discussed above).
With respect to claim 10, Gondoh et al. does not disclose a cleaning blade to clean the intermediate transfer body.
With further respect to claim 10, Ise et al. teaches using a cleaning blade to clean an intermediate transfer body or a photoconductive drum.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the cleaning blade of Gondoh et al. to clean an intermediate transfer belt as taught by Ise et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in removing toner from the belt.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW