DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2 and 16; claims 7-9 and 11-15 are withdrawn. The pending claims are claims 1-6, 10, 16-20.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng Yuchuan et al., CN 111384316, in view of Li et al., CN 120237289, still in further view of McCormick et al., CN 101945965 (US 20100272933 as translation).
Regarding claims 1-3, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches a multilayer composite structure (0011) for packaging a lithium ion battery (0011), comprising an inner-layer connection layer film (0011; 0016; 0034) and an outer-layer framework structure layer film (0011; 0013; 0014; 0034), wherein the inner-layer connection layer film is mutually attached (0011; 0016; 0023), and the inner-layer connection layer film and the outer-layer framework structure layer film both contain a water- blocking additive (0084) (water barrier) (0080-0081) (water resistance) (0087).
Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein the water-blocking additives (0084) (water barrier) (0080-0081) (water resistance) (0087) in the inner-layer connection layer film (0036; 0048; 0051) and the outer-layer framework structure layer film (0011; 0013) are same or different (0013; 0016), and be independently at least one of an inorganic water-blocking agent (0011; 0016; 0034).
Feng Yuchauan et al., does not teach wherein the inorganic water-blocking agent is at least one of titanium nitride; and/or, the organic water-blocking agent is at least one of perfluorinated compounds, wherein the perfluorinated compounds comprise perfluorooctane sulfonate, perfluorooctanoic acid.
Li et al., teaches titanium nitride ( n0010; n0028) and teaches perfluorooctanoic acid (n0008; n0028). Additionally, Li teaches inorganic particles (n0009; n0028).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Li into the teachings of Feng because Li teaches that in order to provide a high-voltage lithium ion battery electrolyte, titanium nitride and perfluorooctanoic acid may be incorporated, which “ensures excellent modification effect.” (n0028).
McCormick et al., teaches an inorganic film (0024), inorganic barrier layer (0025; 0031-0035); at least one of titanium (0033; 0054; 0064), or aluminum compound (0126).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of McCormick into the teachings of Feng Yuchauan because McCormick teaches that inorganic films are “useful flexible barrier films” (0023).
Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein the inner-layer connection layer film is prepared by using mixing components comprising a thermal bonding polymer and the water-blocking additive, and the thermal bonding polymer is at least one of polypropylene and modified polypropylene; and/or, the outer-layer framework structure layer film is prepared by mixing components comprising a high-melt-point polymer and the water-blocking additive, and the high-melt-point polymer is a polymer with a melt point between 200*C and 350*C, wherein the polymer is at least one selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and nylon, is a product-by-process.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 4, Feng Yuchuan et al., does not teach wherein a use amount of each component in the inner-layer connection layer film is calculated with the thermal bonding polymer as 100 parts by weight, and the water-blocking additive is 0.01 to 1 parts by weight; and/or, a use amount of each component in the outer-layer framework structure layer film is calculated with the high-melt-point polymer as 100 parts by weight, and the water-blocking additive is 0.01 to 1 parts by weight.
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 5, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein a total thickness of the multilayer composite structure is 50 to 200um (outer layer thickness is 20-100 um) (0013); and/or, a thickness of the inner-layer connection layer film is 20 to 100um (inner layer thickness is 20-40 um) (0016).
Regarding claim 6, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein the multilayer composite structure further comprises an intermediate water-blocking film (0080-0084); and/or, a thickness of the intermediate water-blocking film is in a range of 3 to 20um (thickness of the inorganic oxide barrier layer) (5-200 nm) (0014).
Feng Yuchuan et al., does not teach a material of the intermediate water-blocking film is at least one of titanium nitride, copper, and polytetrafluoroethylene.
McCormick teaches a material of the intermediate water-blocking film is at least one of copper (0045; 0054), and polytetrafluoroethylene (0049).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of McCormick into the teachings of Feng Yuchauan because McCormick teaches PTFE is a suitable material for the substrate (0049); other suitable substrates would be copper (0045; 0054; 0067).
Regarding claim 10, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches lithium ion battery (0018; 0055), wherein the lithium ion battery is packaged (0002; 0005; 0008) using the multilayer composite structure of claim 1 (0014-0015; 0034-0036).
Regarding claim 16, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein in the multilayer composite structure (0014-0015; 0034-0036), wherein the water-blocking additives (00080-0084); in the inner-layer connection layer film (0011; 0016; 0034-0036) and the outer- layer framework structure layer film (0011; 0034-0036) are same or different (0011; 0016; 0049; 0051).
Feng Yuchuan does not teach independently at least one of an organic water-blocking agent; wherein the inorganic water-blocking agent is at least one of titanium nitride; and/or, the organic water-blocking agent is at least one of perfluorinated compounds, wherein the perfluorinated compounds comprise perfluorooctane sulfonate, perfluorooctanoic acid.
Li et al., teaches titanium nitride ( n0010; n0028) and teaches perfluorooctanoic acid (n0008; n0028).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Li into the teachings of Feng because Li teaches that in order to provide a high-voltage lithium ion battery electrolyte, titanium nitride and perfluorooctanoic acid may be incorporated, which “ensures excellent modification effect.” (n0028).
Regarding claim 18, Feng Yuchuan et al., does not teach wherein in the multilayer composite structure, a use amount of each component in the inner-layer connection layer film is calculated with the thermal bonding polymer as 100 parts by weight, and the water-blocking additive is 0.01 to 1 parts by weight; and/or, a use amount of each component in the outer-layer framework structure layer film is calculated with the high-melt-point polymer as 100 parts by weight, and the water-blocking additive is 0.01 to 1 parts by weight.
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 19, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein a total thickness of the multilayer composite structure is 50 to 200um (outer layer thickness is 20-100 um); and/or, a thickness of the inner-layer connection layer film is 20 to 100um (20-40 um) (0016).
Regarding claim 20, Feng Yuchuan et al., teaches wherein the multilayer composite structure (0011) further comprises an intermediate water-blocking film (0080-0084).
and the intermediate water-blocking film is in a range of 3 to 20um (thickness of inorganic oxide barrier layer is 5-200 nm) (0014).
Feng Yuchuan does not teach a material of the intermediate water-blocking film is
at least one of titanium nitride, copper, and polytetrafluoroethylene.
McCormick teaches a material of the intermediate water-blocking film is at least one of copper (0045; 0054), and polytetrafluoroethylene (0049).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of McCormick into the teachings of Feng Yuchauan because McCormick teaches PTFE is a suitable material for the substrate (0049); other suitable substrates would be copper (0045; 0054; 0067).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “Nowhere in either reference is titanium nitride identified as a water-blocking additive in a polymer film, nor are PFOS or PFOA ever mentioned.”
However, new reference, Li et al., CN 120237289, teaches titanium nitride in a polymer film, and PFOA in a lithium ion battery:
Li et al., teaches titanium nitride ( n0010; n0028) and teaches perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) (n0008; n0028).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Li into the teachings of Feng because Li teaches that in order to provide a high-voltage lithium ion battery electrolyte, titanium nitride and perfluorooctanoic acid may be incorporated, which “ensures excellent modification effect.” (n0028).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727