DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (USPub 2022/0276383 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112572625 A) and Hauser et al. (USPub 20080277188).
With respect to claim 1, Li et al. disclose a dual-track all-terrain vehicle, comprising a vehicle body, wherein two sides of the vehicle body each are provided with a zigzag mounting seat (Fig 2, lower portion of mount is zig-zag shaped); a guide wheel mechanism (3), a first Christie suspension mechanism [0099] (5), a second Christie suspension mechanism (5), and a driving wheel mechanism (2) are hinged on the zigzag mounting seat (Fig 2); dampers are arranged between the zigzag mounting seat and each of the guide wheel mechanism, the first Christie suspension mechanism, and the second Christie suspension mechanism (Fig 2); a damper is provided between the driving wheel mechanism and the vehicle body (Fig 2); the zigzag mounting seat is further provided with a track tensioner (4) and a motor [0102]; the guide wheel mechanism, the first Christie suspension mechanism, the second Christie suspension mechanism, the driving wheel mechanism, and the track tensioner located at a same side of the vehicle body are provided with a track (1); but Li et al. do not disclose that a power output shaft of the motor is connected to the driving wheel mechanism through a belt transmission pair in a transmission manner. Chen et al. disclose the use of a power output shaft of the motor that is connected to the driving wheel mechanism through a belt transmission pair in a transmission manner (Fig 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Li et al. in view of the teachings of Chen et al. to substitute a belt transmission between the drive wheel and motor for the worm gear reducer and chain wheel transmission disclosed by Li et al., since one having ordinary skill would have expected it to yield nothing more than predictable results, namely, that the power from the motor could be transmitted to the drive wheel to propel the vehicle. Li et al. also do not disclose that the vehicle body is provided with a vehicle control unit and two motor drivers; a front part of the vehicle body is provided with a linear steering control mechanism; a signal output terminal of the linear steering control mechanism is connected to a signal input terminal of the vehicle control unit through a first cable; a signal output terminal of the vehicle control unit is connected to signal receiving terminals of the two motor drivers through a second cable; and the two motor drivers are respectively connected to wiring terminals of the two motors through a third cable. Hauser et al. disclose steering control unit that sends signals to drive motors via cabling [0210]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Li et al. to use a cable steering mechanism to independently drive each track on respective sides of the vehicle because it provides direct mechanical feedback, low cost, and high reliability in mud and water.
With respect to claim 5, wherein the guide wheel mechanism comprises a linear guide wheel swing arm (Fig 2), a linear guide wheel mounting arm, and four guide wheels (Fig 2, wheels on both sides of vehicle); a rear part of the linear guide wheel swing arm is hinged on a front part of the zigzag mounting seat (Fig 2); a damper is provided between a top part of the linear guide wheel swing arm and the zigzag mounting seat (Fig 2); the linear guide wheel mounting arm is fixed on a front part of the linear guide wheel swing arm (Fig 2); and two ends of the linear guide wheel mounting arm each are provided with two guide wheels (Fig 2).
With respect to claim 6, wherein the first Christie suspension mechanism comprises a linear first road wheel swing arm, a "^"-shaped first road wheel mounting arm, and first road wheels; an upper part of the linear first road wheel swing arm is hinged on the zigzag mounting seat; a damper is provided between a middle part of the linear first road wheel swing arm and the zigzag mounting seat; the "^"-shaped first road wheel mounting arm is fixedly provided at a bottom part of the linear first road wheel swing arm; and a front part of the "^"-shaped first road wheel mounting arm is provided with one first road wheel, while a rear part of the "^"-shaped first road wheel mounting arm is provided with first road wheel (Fig 2).
With respect to claim 7, wherein the second Christie suspension mechanism comprises a second road wheel swing arm, a "^"-shaped second road wheel mounting arm, and second road wheels; a middle part of the second road wheel swing arm is hinged on the zigzag mounting seat; a damper is provided between a top part of the second road wheel swing arm and the zigzag mounting seat; the "^"-shaped second road wheel mounting arm is fixedly provided at a bottom part of the second road wheel swing arm; and a front part of the "^"-shaped second road wheel mounting arm is provided with one second road wheel, while a rear part of the "^"-shaped second road wheel mounting arm is provided with a road wheel. While Li et al. do not specifically disclose that the second road wheel swing arm is "<"-shaped, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to form it in that shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claims 6-7, Li et al. do not specifically disclose that each Christie suspension mechanism comprises three wheels. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to use three wheels, wherein two are coaxial, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 8, wherein the driving wheel mechanism comprises a linear driving wheel mounting arm (6) and a driving wheel (2); a front part of the linear driving wheel mounting arm is hinged on a rear part of the zigzag mounting seat (Fig 2); the driving wheel is rotatably provided at a rear part of the linear driving wheel mounting arm (Fig 2); the belt transmission pair comprises a driving pulley, a transmission belt, and a driven pulley; the driving pulley is provided on the power output shaft of the motor; the driven pulley is provided on the driving wheel; and the transmission belt is tensioned by the driving pulley and the driven pulley (Fig 2 of Hauser et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617