DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7: This claim requires the balance adjusting hole to “reach” at least one of the point-shaped holes. It is unclear what is meant by the non-technical term “reach”. For example, it could mean they have to touch, the holes can be merged, or just align in the axial or radial direction. Further clarification is required.
Claim 8 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 9: This claim uses “reach” in a similar manner to claim 7. Similar clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuda (JP3821184 B2, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1: Fukuda discloses a rotor (10) of an electric motor, the rotor comprising:
a first rotor core (12) including a permanent magnet (12a); and
a second rotor core (11) adjacent to the first rotor core (12) in an axial direction and not including the permanent magnet,
wherein the second rotor core includes:
a first group of magnetic path forming holes (11a, 11b) configured to form a first magnetic path for providing saliency to the second rotor core, and
a balance adjusting portion (k) that is provided at at least one point in a circumferential direction and is configured to locally increase or decrease a mass of the second rotor core (paragraph 0015, via slit 11b).
Regarding claim 2: Fukuda discloses the first group of magnetic path forming holes includes a slit (11b) extending along the first magnetic path.
Regarding claim 11: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion (k) is provided in an outer circumference surface of the second rotor core (11, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion (k) is located at a center of a d-axis of the saliency by the first group of the magnetic path forming holes (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0013-0015).
Regarding claim 13: Fukuda discloses the second rotor core (11) is adjacent to a first end surface of the first rotor core (12) in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda, in view of Tan (US 2020/0195070).
Regarding claim 3: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion in the second rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the balance adjusting portion is provided radially inward of the first group of magnetic path forming holes in a first end surface of the second rotor core in the axial direction.
However, Tan discloses the balance adjusting portion (12) is provided radially inward of the first group of magnetic path forming holes in a first end surface (9) of the second rotor core in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second rotor core of Fukuda to include the balance adjusting portion in the radial inward portion of the core, as disclosed by Tan, in order to provide uniform balance along the rotor.
Regarding claim 4: Fukuda modified by Tan disclose the balance adjusting portion, Tan further discloses the balance adjusting portion includes a balance adjusting hole (12) provided in the first end surface of the second rotor core in the axial direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion in the second rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the balance adjusting portion is provided radially inward of the first group of magnetic path forming holes in a first end surface of the second rotor core in the axial direction.
However, Tan discloses the balance adjusting portion (12) is provided radially inward of the first group of magnetic path forming holes in a first end surface (9) of the second rotor core in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second rotor core of Fukuda to include the balance adjusting portion in the radial inward portion of the core, as disclosed by Tan, in order to provide uniform balance along the rotor.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda, in view of Sano (US 2018/0198331).
Regarding claim 5: Fukuda discloses the first group of magnetic path forming holes, but does not explicitly disclose the first group of magnetic path forming holes includes point-shaped holes arranged along the first magnetic path.
However, Sano discloses the first group of magnetic path forming holes includes point-shaped holes (36, Fig. 11, paragraph 0082) arranged along the first magnetic path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnetic path forming holes of Fukuda to be point-shaped, as disclosed by Sano, in order to establish a flux path.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Sano, as applied to claim 5, further in view of Hiroto et al. (“Hiroto”; JP 2003 219616 A, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 6: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion in the second rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the balance adjusting portion includes a balance adjusting hole provided in an outer circumference surface of the second rotor core.
However, Hiroto discloses the balance adjusting portion includes a balance adjusting hole (39) provided in an outer circumference surface of the second rotor core (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the balance adjusting portion of the second rotor core of Fukuda to include the balance adjusting hole in the outer circumference, as disclosed by Hiroto, in order to effectively balance the rotor.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda, in view of Lee (US 2021/0344239).
Regarding claim 14: Fukuda discloses a first and second rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose a third rotor core adjacent to a second end surface of the first rotor core in the axial direction, wherein the third rotor core includes a second group of magnetic path forming holes configured to form a second magnetic path for providing saliency to the third rotor core.
However, Lee discloses a third rotor core (310b) adjacent to a second end surface of the first rotor core (310a, Fig. 2) in the axial direction, wherein the third rotor core includes a second group of magnetic path forming holes (akin to the holes housing 320) configured to form a second magnetic path for providing saliency to the third rotor core (via magnets 320).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second rotor cores of Fukuda to include the third rotor core of Lee in order to generate additional electricity.
Regarding claim 15: Fukuda modified by Lee disclose the third rotor core, Lee further discloses the third rotor core further includes a balance adjusting portion (311) that is provided at at least one point in the circumferential direction and is configured to locally increase or decrease a mass of the third rotor core (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 16: Fukuda discloses the second rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the balance adjusting portion of the second rotor core and the balance adjusting portion of the third rotor core have the same position in the circumferential direction.
However, Lee discloses the balance adjusting portion (311) of the second rotor core (310c) and the balance adjusting portion (311) of the third rotor core (310b) have the same position in the circumferential direction (as 310a-c are all the same).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second rotor core of Fukuda and to include the third rotor core of Lee to have the balancing portions in the same circumferential direction in order to have a uniform design, to allow for better balance.
Regarding claim 17: Fukuda discloses the balance adjusting portion (k) is provided in an outer circumference surface of the second rotor core (Fig. 4), but does not explicitly disclose the first rotor core is separated into a first portion and a second portion in the axial direction;
the second rotor core is located between the first portion and the second portion of the first rotor core in the axial direction.
However, Lee discloses the first rotor core is separated into a first portion (310a) and a second portion (310c) in the axial direction;
the second rotor core (310b) is located between the first portion and the second portion of the first rotor core in the axial direction (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first rotor core of Fukuda to be split and have the second rotor core be between them in the axial direction, as disclosed by Lee, in order to allow for additional flux paths.
Allowable Subject Matter
While no prior art rejection is made for claims 7-9, a final determination of allowable subject matter cannot be made until the term “reach” is clarified, as stated in the 35 USC 112 rejections above. As stated in re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834