Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawings do not show the meat with bone interacting with the static spreader nor the dynamic spreader nor the at least two tearing fingers, nor the dynamic spreader moveable in a direction perpendicular to the transport path of the poultry parts. Also, the at least two tearing fingers are not shown in figure 4, only one is shown and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 15, last fourth line from the bottom of page, “170” should be changed to 107. On paragraph 0026, element 118 is shown but not discussed under the Figure 2 discussion. On page 17, element 128 is mentioned as a spreading section and as a dynamic spreader, this is confusing and needs to be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant has elected claims 1-13 without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The Examiner does not understand how the meat with bone interacts with the static and dynamic spreaders nor how the at least two tearing fingers operate in that at least two fingers are arranged at opposing sides of the transport path and one tearing finger is movable in a lateral direction.. Additionally, how the dynamic spreader moves in a direction perpendicular to the transport path of the poultry parts. Also, the operational state and the nonoperational state function relative to the dynamic spreader and how it is near the bone or in contact with the bone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Van Den Nieuwelaar et al ( US Patent Publication 2004/0132395). Nieuwelaar et al teach a method and device for processing a carcass part of a slaughtered poultry. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Figure 19 and paragraphs 0204, 0205 and 0206.
Regarding claim 1, Nieuwelaar et al teach a device for processing poultry parts having at least one bone (whole chicken shown in figure 19) comprising:
a conveyor, for transporting poultry parts along a transport path T, including
poultry-carriers 2 for carrying poultry parts 1,
a cutting section (unnumbered define by rails also unnumbered positioned between blade 71 and carrier 2) arranged along the transport path T of the conveyor,
comprising at least one cutting element 71 for making an incision (see discussion in paragraph 0204-0206) in a part of
the meat of poultry parts transported along the transport path T,
a meat spreading section 72, arranged along the transport path T of the
conveyor downstream of the cutting section (unnumbered and includes blade 71) comprising at least one
spreader 72, for spreading the meat adjacent to the incision.
Regarding claim 2, Nieuwelaar et al teach the device according to claim 1, wherein the meat spreading section is
configured for displacement of meat on the two opposing sides adjacent to
said incision. See discussion in paragraph 0204-0206, the spreader will open or spread the incision.
Regarding claim 3, Nieuwelaar et al teach the device according to claim 1, wherein the spreading section comprises a
static spreader, said static spreader 72 comprising at least one spreading
surface (the angle shape defines the spreading surface), wherein the at least one spreading surface is laterally outward
diverging in the direction of the transport path.
Regarding claim 4, Nieuwelaar et al teach the device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one outwardly diverging
spreading surface (the angled surface that is unnumbered on spreader 72) comprises at least one spreading track (the winglets that are unnumbered on spreader 72 form the spreading track).
The other references cited in this office action show other poultry cutting devices that make incisions in the poultry during processing.
Contact Information
/RICHARD T PRICE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643