DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “136” has been used to designate both “the pawls” and “the sixth sprocket”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 170. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, lines 1-2, recites the limitation “the first position” and “the second position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hahn et al. US 20230092352 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hahn et al. discloses [a method for controlling gear shifting of a bicycle 100,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078) the method comprising:
[disconnecting a driving engagement between a cogset 126 of the bicycle and a rear wheel 114 of the bicycle;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0080)
[driving a flexible drive member 128, the flexible drive member engaging the cogset and a drive sprocket of the bicycle;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0078-0080)
[shifting a position of a derailleur 102 of the bicycle for causing the flexible drive member to shift from one driven sprocket of the cogset to another driven sprocket of the cogset;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0076-0082) and
[after shifting the flexible drive member from the one driven sprocket of the cogset to the other driven sprocket of the cogset, connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0076-0082)
Regarding claim 2, Hahn et al. further discloses [that the bicycle is at a standstill prior to disconnecting the driving engagement.] (Paragraph 0127)
Regarding claim 3, Hahn et al. further discloses [wherein shifting the position of the derailleur is performed after driving the flexible member.] (Paragraph 0035 and 0044)
Regarding claim 8, Hahn et al. further discloses [before connecting the driving engagement between the cogset 126 and the rear wheel 114, determining that the flexible drive member 128 has shifted from the one driven sprocket of the cogset to the other driven sprocket of the cogset.] (Paragraph 0135)
Regarding claim 9, Hahn et al. further discloses [wherein determining that the flexible drive member has shifted from the one driven sprocket of the cogset to the other driven sprocket of the cogset is determined through sensors.] (Paragraph 0135)
Regarding claim 12, Hahn et al., further discloses [wherein driving the flexible drive member 128 includes actuating a motor 140 operatively connected to the drive sprocket.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078-0081)
Regarding claim 13, Hahn et al. further discloses [detecting a torque applied on a pedal 132 of the bicycle 100,] (Paragraph 0089) and [in response to the detected torque being greater than a predetermined value, preventing the disconnecting of the driving engagement between the cogset 126 and the rear wheel 114.] (Paragraph 0144)
Regarding claim 14, Hahn et al. further discloses [wherein driving the flexible drive member 128 includes turning pedals 132 of the bicycle, the pedals being drivingly engaged to the drive sprocket.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078-0079)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. in view of Cowling et al. WO 2020061645 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Hahn et al. does not disclose wherein: disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving a clutch to a disengaged state, the clutch selectively coupling the cogset to the rear wheel; and connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving the clutch to an engaged state.
Cowling et al. teaches [wherein: disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving a clutch 11 to a disengaged state, the clutch selectively coupling the cogset to the rear wheel;] (Paragraph 0101-102) and [connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving the clutch to an engaged state.] (Paragraph 0101-102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the clutch of Cowling et al. with the bicycle of Hahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for selectively interrupting and restoring the transmission of driving force between the cogset and the rear wheel during gear shifting, thus facilitating shifting of the flexible drive member between sprockets before restoring the driving engagement with the rear wheel.
Regarding claim 5, Hahn et al. does not disclose wherein: disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving at least one pawl of a shaft of the rear wheel from a deployed configuration to a retracted configuration; and connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving the at least one pawl of the shaft of the rear wheel from the retracted configuration to the deployed configuration.
Cowling et al. teaches [wherein: disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving at least one pawl 37 of a shaft 31 of the rear wheel from a deployed configuration to a retracted configuration;] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0105-0108 and 0120) and [connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes moving the at least one pawl of the shaft of the rear wheel from the retracted configuration to the deployed configuration;] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0105-0108 and 0120) [wherein moving the at least one pawl 37 between the deployed configuration and the retracted configuration includes moving a cam 43] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0107-0110 and 0120) between: [a first position, in which the cam is engaged and aligned with the at least one pawl, causing the at least one pawl to be in the deployed configuration,] (Fig. 8-10; Paragraph 0056-0058) and [a second position, in which the cam is disengaged and spaced from the at least one pawl, causing the at least one pawl to be in the retracted configuration.] (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0056-0058)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pawl and cam mechanism of Cowling with the bicycle of Hahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for selectively engaging and disengaging the driving connection between the cogset and the rear wheel by moving the pawl between deployed and retracted configurations, thus facilitating disconnection and reconnection of the driving engagement during gear shifting.
Regarding claim 6, Hahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitation, including the first and second pawl positions recited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Hahn et al. does not disclose wherein disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes actuating a clutch actuator.
Cowling teaches [wherein disconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel includes actuating a clutch actuator.] (Paragraph 0071)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the clutch actuator of Cowling et al. with the bicycle of Hahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for controlled actuation of the clutch to selectively disconnect the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel during gear shifting, thus facilitating the disconnection of the driving engagement.
Regarding claim independent 15, Hahn et al. discloses [a bicycle 100 comprising: a frame 106; a handlebar 108 operatively connected to the frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078) [a front wheel 112 operatively connected to the handlebar;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078) [a rear wheel 114 operatively connected to the frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078) and [a drive assembly connected to the frame,] [the drive assembly 122 including: a drive sprocket 134; crank arms 130 operatively connected to the drive sprocket; a cogset 126 operatively connected to the rear wheel; a flexible driving member 128 engaging the drive sprocket and the cogset; and a derailleur 102operatively connected to the flexible driving member.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0078)
Hahn et al. does not disclose a clutch operatively connected between the cogset and the rear wheel, the clutch being movable between: an engaged state, in which the clutch drivingly engages the cogset to the rear wheel; and a disengaged state, in which the clutch drivingly disengages the cogset from the rear wheel, a clutch actuator operatively connected to the clutch, the clutch actuator being selectively actuated for moving the clutch between the engaged state and the disengaged state.
Cowling et al. teaches [a clutch 11 operatively connected between the cogset and the rear wheel, the clutch being movable between: an engaged state, in which the clutch drivingly engages the cogset to the rear wheel;] (Paragraph 0101-102) and [a disengaged state, in which the clutch drivingly disengages the cogset from the rear wheel,] (Paragraph 0101-102) [a clutch actuator operatively connected to the clutch, the clutch actuator being selectively actuated for moving the clutch between the engaged state and the disengaged state;] (Paragraph 0071) [wherein: the rear wheel includes: a hollow hub; a shaft 21 received in the hollow hub, the shaft being operatively connected to the cogset] (Fig. 16; Paragraph 00964), and [having at least one pawl moveable between: a deployed configuration, in which the shaft is drivingly engaged with the hollow hub;] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0105-0108 and 0120) and [a retracted configuration, in which the shaft is drivingly disengaged from the hollow hub,] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0105-0108 and 0120) [the clutch includes a cam 43 moveable between a first position and a second position, and with the clutch in the engaged state,] (Fig. 7-10; Paragraph 0105-0108 and 0120) [the cam is in the first position, in which the cam is engaged with the at least one pawl, causing the at least one pawl to be in the deployed configuration;] (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0056-0058) and [with the clutch in the disengaged state, the cam is in the second position, in which the cam is disengaged from the at least one pawl, causing the at least one pawl to be in the retracted configuration;] (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0056-0058) [a controller 53 in communication with the clutch actuator and the derailleur,] (Fig. 11; Paragraph 0071 and 0131) [the controller being configured to: cause actuation of the clutch actuator for moving the clutch to the disengaged state; cause a shift of the position of the derailleur for causing the flexible drive member to shift from one driven sprocket of the cogset to another driven sprocket of the cogset; and after causing the shift of the position of the derailleur, cause actuation of the clutch actuator for moving the clutch to the engaged state;] (Fig. 11; Paragraph 0131) [wherein the first position is a first axial position and the second position is a second axial position.] (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0056-0058)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the clutch mechanism of Cowling et al. with the bicycle of Hahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for selectively disconnecting and reconnecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel and coordinating the clutch operation with the derailleur to facilitate gear shifting while the driving engagement is disengaged, thus improving control of the gear shifting process.
Regarding claim 16, Hahn et al., as modified, further discloses [an electric motor 140 operatively connected to the drive sprocket;] (Fig. 1 of Hahn et al.; Paragraph 0079 of Hahn et al.) and [a battery pack 142 connected to the frame and electrically connected to the electric motor.] (Fig. 1 of Hahn et al.; Paragraph 0079-0080 of Hahn et al.)
Regarding claim 17, Hahn et al., as modified, further discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the hollow tub, clutch, and pawl configuration recited in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 18, Hahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the flexible member is a chain 128.] (Fig. 1 of Hahn et al.; Paragraph 0078 of Hahn et al.)
Regarding claim 19, Hahn et al., as modified, further discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the controller and clutch actuator recited in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 20, Hahn et al., as modified, further discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the first and second axial positions recited in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 contains the limitation after shifting the flexible drive member from the one driven sprocket of the cogset to the other driven sprocket of the cogset, and before connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel, stopping the driving of the flexible drive member. The closest prior art, Hahn et al. US 20230092352 A1, discloses shifting the flexible drive member from the one driven sprocket of the cogset to the other driven sprocket of the cogset, but does not disclose before connecting the driving engagement between the cogset and the rear wheel, stopping the driving of the flexible drive member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jordan US 20220041248 A1 – comprises a system and method for simple transmission of a multi-speed bicycle is provided. A bicycle with a transmission that can be toggled by a kickback shifting mechanism. A rear wheel hub that can support a freewheel having a high-speed gear sprocket and a low-speed gear sprocket with dedicated chains to create dedicated gear-shifting. Rotating the pedal shaft in the non-drive direction approximately one-quarter rotation can toggle the transmission between the first gear ratio and the second gear ratio with a shifting surface that alternately allows driving engagement of the high-speed gear sprocket with the rear wheel driver.
Hamed US 20190256169 A1 – comprises a manually controlled chain driver apparatus for a bicycle drive chain derailer providing necessary forward chain movement less power transmission to bicycle pedals for derailer operation during stopping and coasting instances when pedaling motion has ceased or is not possible.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611