DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong US 2025/0227530.
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a communication sensing method, comprising:
sending, by a first communication apparatus device, a sensing measurement request message to a second communication apparatus device, wherein the sensing measurement request message is used to request the second communication apparatus device to perform sensing measurement, and the sensing measurement request message comprises sense area information for performing sensing measurement by the second communication apparatus device (Figure 1 Step 102 shows an initiator (i.e. first communication apparatus) sending a sensing measurement request frame. The request frame includes information regarding a WLAN sensing measurement process; Paragraphs 43-45. As the request is tied to the WLAN, this is viewed as area information for performing the measurement); and
obtaining, by the first communication apparatus device, sensing data or a sensing result, wherein the sensing data or the sensing result is determined based on sensing measurement performed by the second communication apparatus device (Figure 8 shows a sensing responder (i.e. second communication apparatus device; Paragraph 7) sensing measurement response is sent to the initiator of the sensing request; 802 and paragraph 80. Thus the first apparatus device would obtain the sensing result as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Dong teaches a communication sensing method, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication apparatus device, a sensing measurement request message from a first communication apparatus device, wherein the sensing measurement request message is used to request the second communication apparatus device to perform sensing measurement, and the sensing measurement request message comprises sense area information for performing sensing measurement by the second communication apparatus device (Figure 1 Step 102 shows an initiator (i.e. first communication apparatus) sending a sensing measurement request frame. The request frame includes information regarding a WLAN sensing measurement process; Paragraphs 43-45. As the request is tied to the WLAN, this is viewed as area information for performing the measurement); and
performing, by the second communication apparatus device, sensing measurement based on the sensing measurement request message (Figure 8 shows a sensing responder (i.e. second communication apparatus device; Paragraph 7) sensing measurement response is sent to the initiator of the sensing request; 802 and paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 11, Dong teaches sending, by the second apparatus, sensing data wherein the sensing data is determined base don the sensing measurement performed by the second apparatus (Figure 8 shows a sensing responder (i.e. second communication apparatus device; Paragraph 7) sensing measurement response is sent to the initiator of the sensing request; 802 and paragraph 80 The response includes measurement information (i.e. sensing data)).
Regarding claim 17, Dong teaches a communication apparatus comprising a processor and memory (Figure 11, processor 11001 and memory 11003) configured to:
sending, by a first communication apparatus device, a sensing measurement request message to a second communication apparatus device, wherein the sensing measurement request message is used to request the second communication apparatus device to perform sensing measurement, and the sensing measurement request message comprises sense area information for performing sensing measurement by the second communication apparatus device (Figure 1 Step 102 shows an initiator (i.e. first communication apparatus) sending a sensing measurement request frame. The request frame includes information regarding a WLAN sensing measurement process; Paragraphs 43-45. As the request is tied to the WLAN, this is viewed as area information for performing the measurement); and
obtaining, by the first communication apparatus device, sensing data or a sensing result, wherein the sensing data or the sensing result is determined based on sensing measurement performed by the second communication apparatus device (Figure 8 shows a sensing responder (i.e. second communication apparatus device; Paragraph 7) sensing measurement response is sent to the initiator of the sensing request; 802 and paragraph 80. Thus the first apparatus device would obtain the sensing result as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Luo et al. “Luo” US 2021/0223376 (submitted in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 2, while Dong teaches sending information with respect to area to be sensed, Dong does not expressly disclose obtaining target sensing area information to be used for the sensing measurements. Luo teaches a network device indicates a desired search area (i.e. target search area) to the second device for cooperative searching; Paragraphs 48-49. Thus one can see the first device would obtain target sensing information and send this to the second communication device which uses it to perform measurements.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include obtaining and sending target area information as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Regarding claim 3, while Dong teaches sending information with respect to area to be sensed, Dong does not expressly disclose determining the sensing area bases on the target sensing area and distance between the first and second devices. Luo teaches a network device indicates a desired search area (i.e. target search area) to the second device for cooperative searching; Paragraphs 48-49. Thus one can see the first device would obtain target sensing information and send this to the second communication device which uses it to perform measurements. Figure 1 clearly shows the relative distance between devices, LOS as well as the target search area (target device 160). Thus the distance between devices (cars shown) would be taken into consideration with respect to the target search area and the sending/receiving of measurements requests/results).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the sensing is based on distance and target areas as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Regarding claim 4, Dong does not teach receiving by the first device a cooperative sensing request from an application device and determining the target sensing area; however, Luo teaches receiving a cooperative sensing request from an application device including indication information of the target area information (Figure 6 shows UE 110 receiving CPP TX-conf information from the gNB (i.e. application device). This information is used to initiate the CPP request to the UE (130 i.e. second device) which begins the cooperative measurement process of the target area as discussed in claim 2.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the first device receives, from an application device, target indication information as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Regarding claim 18, while Dong teaches sending information with respect to area to be sensed, Dong does not expressly disclose obtaining target sensing area information to be used for the sensing measurements. Luo teaches a network device indicates a desired search area (i.e. target search area) to the second device for cooperative searching; Paragraphs 48-49. Thus one can see the first device would obtain target sensing information and send this to the second communication device which uses it to perform measurements.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include obtaining and sending target area information as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Regarding claim 19, while Dong teaches sending information with respect to area to be sensed, Dong does not expressly disclose determining the sensing area bases on the target sensing area and distance between the first and second devices. Luo teaches a network device indicates a desired search area (i.e. target search area) to the second device for cooperative searching; Paragraphs 48-49. Thus one can see the first device would obtain target sensing information and send this to the second communication device which uses it to perform measurements. Figure 1 clearly shows the relative distance between devices, LOS as well as the target search area (target device 160). Thus the distance between devices (cars shown) would be taken into consideration with respect to the target search area and the sending/receiving of measurements requests/results).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the sensing is based on distance and target areas as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Regarding claim 20, Dong does not teach receiving by the first device a cooperative sensing request from an application device and determining the target sensing area; however, Luo teaches receiving a cooperative sensing request from an application device including indication information of the target area information (Figure 6 shows UE 110 receiving CPP TX-conf information from the gNB (i.e. application device). This information is used to initiate the CPP request to the UE (130 i.e. second device) which begins the cooperative measurement process of the target area as discussed in claim 2.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the first device receives, from an application device, target indication information as taught by Luo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices can cooperatively detect and located objects in the search environment as taught by Luo; Paragraphs 48-49.
Claim(s) 5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2016/0106371.
Regarding claim 5, while Dong teaches performing discovery, Dong does not teach sending a discovery request message to the second device, before a sensing measurement request, to indicate to the second device to support cooperative sensing, and receiving a discovery response from the second device. Lee teaches a terminal transmits a cooperative sensing performance capability message to another device (step 110 of Figure 1) and the devices receives back a message with respect to the cooperative sensing capabilities; Steps 120-130 of Figure 1. See also paragraphs 46-48. This information is sent/received prior to any sensing measurement taking place (Step 140)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include verifying the sensing capabilities of another device as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that capabilities of the terminals can be determined prior to performing any measurement functions as taught by Lee; Paragraphs 46-48, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, while Dong teaches performing discovery, Dong does not teach receiving a discovery request message to the second device, before a sensing measurement request, to indicate to the second device to support cooperative sensing, and sending a discovery response from the second device. Lee teaches a terminal transmits a cooperative sensing performance capability message to another device (step 110 of Figure 1) and the devices receives back a message with respect to the cooperative sensing capabilities; Steps 120-130 of Figure 1. See also paragraphs 46-48. This information is sent/received prior to any sensing measurement taking place (Step 140)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include verifying the sensing capabilities of another device as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that capabilities of the terminals can be determined prior to performing any measurement functions as taught by Lee; Paragraphs 46-48, see Figure 1).
Claim(s) 6-9, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Lee and further in view of Kelkar et al. Kelkar” US 2020/0312155.
Regarding 6, Dong does not disclose the discovery request includes location information, distance or direction of the first device and second communication device; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices; Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the discovery request includes location information/distance prior to performing the sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location/distance information in the discovery request as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 7, Dong does not disclose the discovery response includes location information of the second communication device; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices in the acceptance (i.e.. response); Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the discovery request includes location information/distance prior to performing the sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location information in the discovery response as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 8, Dong does not disclose broadcasting, by the second device, cooperative sensing capabilities prior to sending the sensing measurement request; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Paragraphs 238-240 teach the subordinate vehicle can broadcast cooperative sensing requests. This would demonstrate the capabilities of the second device with respect to cooperative sensing prior to any measurement information being exchanged.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the second device broadcast cooperative sensing capabilities as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 9, Dong does not disclose the broadcast includes location information; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices; Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the broadcast includes location information.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location information in the broadcast request as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 13, Dong does not disclose the discovery request includes location information, distance or direction of the first device and second communication device; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices; Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the discovery request includes location information/distance prior to performing the sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location/distance information in the discovery request as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 14, Dong does not disclose the discovery response includes location information of the second communication device; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices in the acceptance (i.e.. response); Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the discovery request includes location information/distance prior to performing the sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location information in the discovery response as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 15, Dong does not disclose broadcasting, by the second device, cooperative sensing capabilities prior to sending the sensing measurement request; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Paragraphs 238-240 teach the subordinate vehicle can broadcast cooperative sensing requests. This would demonstrate the capabilities of the second device with respect to cooperative sensing prior to any measurement information being exchanged.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include the second device broadcast cooperative sensing capabilities as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Regarding 16, Dong does not disclose the broadcast includes location information; however, Kelkar teaches cooperative sensing allowing vehicles to extend sensing capabilities to a vehicle with lower level autonomy; Paragraph 63. Figure 22 step 2202 teaches sending a request from one vehicle to another and receiving an acceptance (2204). Distance/location information is sent/known between the devices; Paragraphs 238-240. Paragraph 302 teaches the location of the vehicles can be chosen with respect to cooperative sensing. Paragraph 230 teaches the broadcast information between devices includes the location/distance information. Thus one can see the broadcast includes location information.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Dong to include location information in the broadcast request as taught by Kelkar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that two vehicles can perform cooperating sensing as taught by Kelkar; Paragraph 304.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411