DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: "the ramp configured enable the skeletal frame" should read "the ramp configured to enable the skeletal frame". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW M625925 U), further in view of Keegan et al. (US 10,124,996 B2), hereinafter "Keegan", and Hansen et al. (US 2022/0304759 A1), hereinafter "Hansen".
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a cart (lifting trolley, figs. 1-7, p. 1, lines 30-38), comprising: a skeletal frame forming a cuboid shape having a top and a bottom (base 2, support rods 21, and platform 4 forming a cuboid, figs. 1-2); a lift housed within the skeletal frame (scissor lifting mechanism 3 “telescopically connected between the base 2 and the working platform 4”, p. 1, lines 50-51, fig. 2); a plate located at the top of the skeletal frame and coupled to the lift (base body 41, a first bearing member 44 and a second bearing member 45 of platform 4, fig. 4, p. 2, lines 31-37); and an actuation device operatively coupled to the lift system, the actuation device configured to modify the height of the lift based on a user input (“driving group 81 is a foot-operated drive, and the telescopic rod 82 is a hydraulic rod, which can be lifted immediately by stepping on it”, p. 2, lines 4-6, figs. 1-3).
Chen does not recite a stability arm or leveling casters. Keegan teaches a cart (numeral 10, figs. 1-4, col. 3, lines 31-50) for inserting and removing large, bulky or heavy modules into electrical enclosures, and comprising at least one stability arm (forward extension 40, col. 3, lines 41-43, fig. 3E) coupled to the skeletal frame, wherein the at least one stability arm is configurable in an extended position (“forward extensions rotated downwardly into their use positions as illustrated by the arrows in fig. 3D”, col. 4, lines 1-2) and a retracted position (“forward extensions are foldable with respect to the rear supports”, col. 2, lines 18-19, fig. 3B). Hansen teaches a medical cart (numeral 10, fig. 1A, ¶[0047]) comprising one or more adjustable leveling casters (adjustable caster 20, ¶[0051], fig. 6) secured to and supporting at least a portion of the skeletal frame (fig. 1A).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the forward extensions from Keegan and the adjustable casters from Hansen with the lifting trolley disclosed by Chen, thereby replacing the swivel casters of Chen. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the forward extensions for “supporting the cart and allowing fore and aft motion of the cart” (Keegan, col. 1, lines 56-60) and the adjustable casters in order to provide a “highly stable” cart (Hansen, ¶[0012]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired results.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses the cart of claim 1, further comprising: an enclosure (modular component 12, Keegan, fig. 2) contacting a top surface of the plate (first bearing member 44 and second bearing member 45 of platform 4 featuring “plurality of inserting holes 49” for lateral support, Chen, p. 2, lines 53-56, fig. 4); and removably coupled to the plate using a fastener (“screw 24 may be provided to engage the component and to hold it securely on the cart”, Keegan, col. 5, lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the cart of claim 1, wherein one of the one or more adjustable leveling casters is coupled to a bottom of the skeletal frame (adjustable casters 20 of Hansen coupled to base 2 of Chen’s lifting trolley shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses the cart of claim 5, wherein the one or more adjustable leveling casters comprise a leveling mechanism (“thumb screw 96 extends from the shaft 92 through the bracket 14 and into the ambient environment for manually adjusting the casters 20” accompanied by “at least two visual spirit levels 110, located, for example on top of the upper side brace 38 for easy reference by the user”, Hansen, ¶[0051], fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses the cart of claim 1, further comprising a caster coupled to each of the at least one stability arm (wheels 42, which “may castor”, supporting forward extensions 40, Keegan, col. 3, lines 43-64, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses the cart of claim 1, wherein the actuation device comprises a hydraulic pump (“the driving group 81 and the telescopic rod 82 are hydraulically connected, the driving group 81 is a foot-operated drive, and the telescopic rod 82 is a hydraulic rod”, Chen, p. 2, lines 4-5, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses an apparatus, comprising: a cart (lifting trolley of Chen combined with features from Keegan and Hansen as applied in claim 1) comprising: a skeletal frame forming a cuboid shape having a top and a bottom (base 2, support rods 21, and platform 4 forming a cuboid, Chen, figs. 1-2); at least one stability arm (forward extension 40, Keegan, col. 3, lines 41-43, fig. 3E) coupled to the skeletal frame, wherein the at least one stability arm has an extended position (“forward extensions rotated downwardly into their use positions as illustrated by the arrows in fig. 3D”, Keegan, col. 4, lines 1-2) and a retracted position (“forward extensions are foldable with respect to the rear supports”, Keegan, col. 2, lines 18-19, fig. 3B); one or more adjustable leveling casters (adjustable caster 20, Hansen, ¶[0051], fig. 6) secured to and supporting at least a portion of the skeletal frame (Hansen, fig. 1A); a lift housed within the skeletal frame (scissor lifting mechanism 3 “telescopically connected between the base 2 and the working platform 4”, Chen, p. 1, lines 50-51, fig. 2); a plate located at the top of the skeletal frame and coupled to the lift (base body 41, a first bearing member 44 and a second bearing member 45 of platform 4, Chen, fig. 4, p. 2, lines 31-37); and an actuation device operatively coupled to the lift system, the actuation device configured to modify the height of the lift based on a user input (“driving group 81 is a foot-operated drive, and the telescopic rod 82 is a hydraulic rod, which can be lifted immediately by stepping on it”, Chen, p. 2, lines 4-6, figs. 1-3); and an enclosure (modular component 12, Keegan, fig. 2) contacting a top surface of the plate (first bearing member 44 and second bearing member 45 of platform 4 featuring “plurality of inserting holes 49” for lateral support, Chen, p. 2, lines 53-56, fig. 4), and removably coupled to the plate using a fastener (“screw 24 may be provided to engage the component and to hold it securely on the cart”, Keegan, col. 5, lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein one of the one or more adjustable leveling casters is coupled to a bottom of the skeletal frame (adjustable casters 20 of Hansen coupled to base 2 of Chen’s lifting trolley shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more adjustable leveling casters comprise a leveling mechanism (“thumb screw 96 extends from the shaft 92 through the bracket 14 and into the ambient environment for manually adjusting the casters 20” accompanied by “at least two visual spirit levels 110, located, for example on top of the upper side brace 38 for easy reference by the user”, Hansen, ¶[0051], fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a caster coupled to each of the at least one stability arm (wheels 42, which “may castor”, supporting forward extensions 40, Keegan, col. 3, lines 43-64, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the actuation device comprises a hydraulic pump (“the driving group 81 and the telescopic rod 82 are hydraulically connected, the driving group 81 is a foot-operated drive, and the telescopic rod 82 is a hydraulic rod”, Chen, p. 2, lines 4-5, fig. 2).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Keegan, and Hansen as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Heil (US 6,524,040 B1).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the combination respectively discloses the cart of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 9, but does not recite attachment to a pallet. Heil teaches a system utilizing pivoting brackets (numeral 102, fig. 4, col. 5, lines 24-35) for securing wheeled items to pallets. Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the teachings of Heil, including the pivoting brackets, with the cart disclosed by the combination. The motivation would have been “providing a pallet … for securing the wheeled items to the pallet such that the items nest in the pallet and are held on the pallet” (Heil, col. 1, lines 43-47). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result wherein the skeletal frame is configured to attach to a pallet for shipping.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Keegan, Hansen, and Heil as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Xi et al. (WO 2022/116386 A1), hereinafter "Xi".
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the cart of claim 3, but does not recite a ramp. Xi teaches a ramp having a customizable height (reusable ramp “which can be applied to transport pallets of different heights”, figs. 1-2, p. 1, lines 33-35). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the pallet ramp from Xi with the cart disclosed by the combination. The motivation would have been enabling transport of a cabinet containing installed equipment from a pallet to the ground (Xi, p. 1, lines 24-29). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result by providing a ramp configured to enable the skeletal frame to be moved off the pallet.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Keegan, Hansen, and Heil as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Xi.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 10, but does not recite a ramp. Xi, as applied in claim 4 above, further adds to the combination a ramp having a customizable height, the ramp configured to create a transition surface for moving the skeletal frame off the pallet.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Keegan, and Hansen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Xi.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses a system comprising: the apparatus of claim 9, but does not recite a ramp. Xi, as applied in claim 4 above, further adds to the combination a ramp having a customizable height, the ramp configured to create a transition surface for moving the skeletal frame off the pallet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to carts having features relevant to the claimed invention. US 11,472,460 B1 discloses a cuboid shaped cart with a foot pedal operated hydraulic pump for raising the top deck assembly. JP 2010-235024 A discloses a transport cart with retractable outriggers as well as a manually operated hydraulic pump for raising the support portion of the cart. US 5,829,948 A discloses a lift table featuring a tilting function, a hydraulic actuator, and pallet transport.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613