DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communication filed on 07/20/2026. Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 12 & 16 have been amended. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
2. The Applicant filed amendment(s) to the claim(s) on 07/20/20/20/2026 to remedy the rejection(s).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHENG et al. (US 2023/0370820 A1).
Re Claim 1, 11 & 16, CHENG teaches a communication sensing method, comprising:
determining, by a sensing network element, sensing configuration information associated with a first sensing mode, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]- [0062], [0114]- [0122]; A sensing management function, determining, providing sensing configuration and sensing modes.)
wherein the first sensing mode is one of a terminal assisted sensing mode, a network assisted sensing mode, a multi-terminal collaborative sensing mode, or a terminal based sensing mode, operation, and (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; The embodiment(s) detail UE, UE assisted and network related sensing modes, sensing configuration information used by a terminal/device.)
the first sensing mode is determined based on at least one of a sensing capability of an access network device, time provision subscription information of a terminal, or a sensing service type; and (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; A sensing service requests identifies a specific type of sensing and identifies the sensing mode/configuration.)
sending, by the sensing network element, the sensing configuration information to the first terminal. (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]- [0062], [0114]- [0122], [0127]- [0158]; Providing the sensing configuration to the UE.)
Re Claim 2, 13 & 18, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the first sensing mode is the terminal based sensing mode, the sensing configuration information comprises one or more of the following: (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; The embodiment(s) detail UE, UE assisted and network related sensing modes, sensing configuration information used by a terminal/device.)
information indicating the terminal based sensing mode, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]- [0062], [0114]- [0122], [0127]- [0158]; The embodiment(s) detail UE, UE assisted and network related sensing modes, sensing configuration information used by a terminal/device.)
sensing area information,
sensing time information,
or
a sensing service requirement.
Re Claim 3, 14 & 17, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the first sensing mode is the network assisted sensing mode, the sensing configuration information comprises one or more of the following: (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; The embodiment(s) detail UE, UE assisted and network related sensing modes, sensing configuration information used by a terminal/device.)
information indicating the network assisted sensing mode,
sensing time information, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]- [0062], [0114]- [0122], [0127]- [0158]; Sensing time related information.)
or
sensing resource information.
Re Claim 4, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the sensing network element, first sensing control information to [[an]] the access network device, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]- [0062], [0090], [0114]- [0122], [0127]- [0158]; Providing the sensing configuration to the UE and other network devices.)
wherein the first sensing control information directs the access network device to perform a second sensing operation, and the first sensing control information comprises one or more of the following: (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0090], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Providing the sensing configuration to the UE and other access network devices that perform sensing operations.)
information indicating the network assisted sensing mode,
second sensing area information,
second sensing time information, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sensing time related information.)
or
a second sensing service requirement.
Re Claim 7 & 15, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
when the first sensing mode is the terminal assisted sensing mode, the sensing configuration information comprises one or more of the following: (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; The embodiment(s) detail UE, UE assisted and network related sensing modes, sensing configuration information used by a terminal/device.)
information indicating the terminal assisted sensing mode,
sensing area information,
sensing time information, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sensing time related information.)
or
a sensing service requirement.
Re Claim 8, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the sensing network element, second sensing control information to [[an]] the access network device, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0090], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sensing network elements, sensing related control information, access network devices.)
wherein the second sensing control information directs the access network device to perform a second sensing operation, and (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0090]; [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sending operations, access network devices.)
the second sensing control information comprises one or more of the following:
information indicating the terminal assisted sensing mode,
second sensing time information, (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sensing time related information.)
or
second sensing resource information.
Re Claim 12, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the obtaining, by the first communication apparatus, the sensing configuration information comprises:
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the sensing configuration information from a sensing network element; (CHENG; FIG. 1-20; Background, Summary, ¶ [0058]-[0062], [0090], [0114]-[0122], [0127]-[0158]; Sensing configuration data, sensing elements and communication devices.)
or
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the sensing configuration information from [[an]] the access network device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al. (US 2023/0370820 A1) and further in view of OKAZAKI, TETSUZO (WO 2022149437 A1).
Re Claim 5, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the sensing network element, first address information to the first terminal, wherein the first address information indicates a first destination address for sending sensing data, and the sensing data is obtained based on the sensing operation.
However, in analogous art, OKAZAKI teaches wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the sensing network element, first address information to the first terminal, (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; The embodiment(s) detail address information related to device related to sensing devices.)
wherein the first address information indicates a first destination address for sending sensing data, and (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; Address information in which sensing data is transmitted.)
the sensing data is obtained based on the sensing operation. (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; Obtaining sensing data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify CHENG in view of OKAZAKI to obtain sensing address information for the reasons of enabling unique identification related to sensing data collection. (OKAZAKI Abstract)
Re Claim 9 & 19, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 8, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the sensing network element, second address information to the access network device, wherein the second address information indicates a second destination address for sending sensing data, and the sensing data is obtained based on the second sensing operation.
However, in analogous art, OKAZAKI teaches wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the sensing network element, second address information to the access network device, (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; The embodiment(s) detail address information related to device related to sensing devices.)
wherein the second address information indicates a second destination address for sending sensing data, and (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; Address information in which sensing data is transmitted.)
the sensing data is obtained based on the second sensing operation. (OKAZAKI; FIG. 1; Page(s) 3-4, 6-10, 14-19; Obtaining sensing data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify CHENG in view of OKAZAKI to obtain sensing address information for the reasons of enabling unique identification related to sensing data collection. (OKAZAKI Abstract)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al. (US 2023/0370820 A1) and further in view of Kainulainen et al. (US 2023/0239715 A1).
Re Claim 6, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the sensing network element, a protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter to the first terminal; or sending, by the sensing network element, application information to the first terminal, wherein the application information is used to determine the PDU session parameter, and the PDU session parameter is used to establish a PDU session; and the PDU session is used for transmission of the sensing data.
However, in analogous art, Kainulainen teaches wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the sensing network element, a protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter to the first terminal; (Kainulainen; FIG. 1-5; Background, Summary, ¶ [0073]- [0130]; The embodiment(s) details sending control messages, measurements related to a path and PDU related information.)
or
sending, by the sensing network element, application information to the first terminal,
wherein the application information is used to determine the PDU session parameter, and
the PDU session parameter is used to establish a PDU session; and
the PDU session is used for transmission of sensing data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify CHENG in view of Kainulainen to send PDU related sensing data for the reasons of communicating wireless data in a network. (Kainulainen Abstract)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al. (US 2023/0370820 A1) and further in view of Integrated Sensing and Communication with Multi-Domain Cooperation, Author: Jie Yang, Xi Yang, Chao-Kai Wen & Shi Jin, hereby referred to as Yang.
Re Claim 10, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 1, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein when the first sensing mode is the multi-terminal collaborative sensing mode, the sensing configuration information comprises one or more of the following: information indicating the multi-terminal collaborative sensing mode, sensing area information, sensing time information, an identifier of a second terminal, sensing role information, or a sensing service requirement, wherein the second terminal is configured to perform collaborative sensing with the first terminal.
However, in analogous art, Yang teaches wherein when the first sensing mode is the multi-terminal collaborative sensing mode, the sensing configuration information comprises one or more of the following: (Yang; FIG. 1; Page(s) 2-3, 5-9; The cited embodiment(s) detail multi-domain sensing cooperation operation, that includes various sensing data/information (configuration information).)
information indicating the multi-terminal collaborative sensing mode, (Yang; FIG. 1; Page(s) 2-3, 5-9; The cited embodiment(s) detail multi-domain sensing cooperation operation.)
sensing area information,
sensing time information,
an identifier of a second terminal,
sensing role information,
or
a sensing service requirement, wherein the second terminal is configured to perform collaborative sensing with the first terminal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify CHENG in view of Yang to conduct a multi-terminal collaborative session for the reasons of creating an integrated sensing and communication multi-domain cooperating operations among a group of users. (Yang Abstract)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al. (US 2023/0370820 A1) and further in view of CHOI et al. (US 2017/0155980 A1).
Re Claim 20, CHENG discloses the method according to claim 16, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the access network device, time provision information from the sensing network element, wherein the time provision information indicates time provision precision of the first terminal; and sending, by the access network device, clock information to the first terminal based on the time provision information.
However, in analogous art, CHOI teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, (CHOI; FIG. 1-11; Background, Summary, ¶ [0026]- [0080]; Access related network devices.)
time provision information from the sensing network element, (CHOI; FIG. 1-11; Background, Summary, ¶ [0061]- [0071], [0131]- [0171]; Time data of sensing elements.)
wherein the time provision information indicates time provision precision of the first terminal; and (CHOI; FIG. 1-11; Background, Summary, ¶ [0061]- [0071], [0131]- [0171], [0191] [0219]; Provisioning of data related to devices/terminals and time.)
sending, by the access network device, clock information to the first terminal based on the time provision information. (CHOI; FIG. 1-11; Background, Summary, ¶ [0061]- [0071], [0131]- [0171], [0191]- [0219]; Transmitting network device, time data to devices in the network.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify CHENG in view of CHOI to transmit time data for the reasons of transmitting sensing data in a network. (CHOI Abstract)
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443