DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,239,002.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 15 of US 12239002
A display substrate, comprising a display region and an opening located in the display region, wherein the opening penetrates through the display substrate, and the display substrate comprises:
A display substrate, comprising a display region and an opening located in the display region, wherein the opening penetrates through the display substrate, and the display substrate comprises:
a base substrate; a driving circuit layer, provided on the base substrate and comprising a first signal line at least partially surrounding the opening; a light-emitting component layer, provided on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the base substrate;
a base substrate; a driving circuit layer, provided on the base substrate and comprising a first signal line at least partially surrounding the opening; a light-emitting component layer, provided on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the base substrate;
an encapsulation layer, provided on a side of the light-emitting component layer away from the base substrate; and a touch control layer, provided on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the base substrate and comprising a touch control electrode and a touch control compensation electrode,
an encapsulation layer, provided on a side of the light-emitting component layer away from the base substrate; and a touch control layer, provided on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the base substrate and comprising a touch control electrode and a touch control compensation electrode,
the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening;
the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening;
wherein the first signal line at least partially overlaps with the touch control compensation electrode in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the base substrate,
and the first signal line at least partially overlaps with the touch control compensation electrode in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the base substrate,
the touch control electrode comprises a second touch control electrode extending along a second direction, the second touch control electrode comprises a third sub-touch control electrode, the opening is immediately opened on only one third sub-touch electrode, and an area of the third sub-touch electrode is greater than an area of the opening; the second touch control electrode further comprises a third sub-touch control electrode first sub-electrode and a third sub-touch control electrode second sub-electrode that are located on opposite sides of the opening in a first direction; the touch control compensation electrode comprises a first touch control compensation electrode, the first touch control compensation electrode comprises a first sub-compensation electrode and a second sub-compensation electrode both extending along an edge of the opening and located on opposite sides of the opening in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and both ends of the first sub-compensation electrode and both ends of the second sub-compensation electrode are electrically connected to the third sub-touch control electrode first sub-electrode and the third sub-touch control electrode second sub-electrode respectively
wherein the first signal line comprises a first sub-signal line surrounding the opening, and a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion.
wherein the first signal line comprises a first sub-signal line surrounding the opening, and a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion.
As can be seen above, claim 1 of the instant application is broader in scope than claim 15 of US patent No. 12,239,002 and encompass the subject matter recited therein. A claim that is broader than, and reads on, a patented claim is not patentably distinct. Accordingly, the claims of the instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims of US Patent No. 12,239,002.
As per claim 8, it encompasses similar limitations to those in claim 6 of US patent 12,239,002 and it is therefore rejected for similar reasons as indicated above.
As per claim 20, it encompasses similar limitations to those in claim 1 of US patent 12,239,002 and it is therefore rejected for similar reasons as indicated above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second sub-compensation electrode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-7 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0110525 to Park et al.; in view of US 2025/0362774 to Yang et al.; in view of US 2021/0397320 to Ye.
As per claim 1, Park et al. teach a display substrate (Fig. 19) comprising a display region (Fig. 19, AA/RA/HA) and an opening (Fig. 19, HA) located in the display region, wherein the opening penetrates through the display substrate (Fig. 19, MH, paragraph 64), and the display substrate comprises:
a base substrate (Figs. 5 and 19, BS);
a driving circuit layer (Figs. 5 and 19, paragraph 104, “the pixel transistor TR-P forms the circuit layer DP-C together with the first to third insulating layers 10, 20, and 30 of a plurality of insulating layers”), provided on the base substrate and comprising a first signal line at least partially surrounding the opening (Fig. 8, paragraph 178, signal lines SL1 and SL2 will be construed as part of the driving circuit layer);
a light-emitting component layer (Figs. 5 and 19, paragraph 112, layer DP-D), provided on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the base substrate;
an encapsulation layer (Figs. 5 and 19, layer DP-E), provided on a side of the light-emitting component layer away from the base substrate; and
a touch control layer (Figs. 5 and 19, layer ISU; Fig. 9, see ST/RT/SP1/SP2/BL1/BL2), provided on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the base substrate and comprising a touch control electrode (Fig. 9, SP1/SP2, paragraphs 154-155)
wherein the first signal line at least partially overlaps with a region adjacent to the opening in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the base substrate (Fig. 8, signal lines SL are routed within region RA, between GV and HA; compensation lines BL are also routed within region RA, between GV and HA), wherein the first signal line (Fig. 8, either one of SL1, SL2, SL3 may be a first line) comprises a first sub-signal line surrounding the opening.
Park et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion.
Yang et al. suggest wherein a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line (Figs. 9 and 10, TL22; Fig. 19, TL22) is provided with at least one bent portion (paragraph 187, in the bent portions TU of the 2-2 to 2-pth second touch signal lines TL22 to TL2p, a regular taper having a taper angle of 70° or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Park et al., so that a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion, such as taught by Yang et al., for the purpose of reducing peeling and poor film formation.
Park and Yang et al. do not teach a touch control compensation electrode, the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening.
Ye teaches a touch control compensation electrode (Fig. 4, electrode 11 and Fig. 5, electrode 21, paragraph 61), the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Park and Yang et al., by including a touch control compensation electrode, the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening, such as taught by Ye, for the purpose of strengthening a touch signal.
As per claim 2, Park, Yang and Ye et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the touch control electrode further comprises a first touch control electrode extending along the first direction (Park, Fig., 9, SP2 extends along DR2), and the first touch control electrode comprises a first sub-touch control electrode (Park, Fig. 9, ST1) and a second sub-touch control electrode that are provided adjacent to each other along the second direction (Park, Fig. 9, ST2); the touch control compensation electrode comprises a second touch control compensation electrode (Ye, Fig. 4, pair of electrodes 11), and the second touch control compensation electrode comprises a fourth sub- compensation electrode (Ye, Fig. 4, left electrode 11) and a fifth sub-compensation electrode (Ye, Fig. 4, left electrode 11) extending along the edge of the opening; and the fourth sub-compensation electrode is electrically connected to the first sub-touch control electrode, and the fifth sub-compensation electrode is electrically connected to the second sub-touch control electrode (Ye, Fig. 4).
As per claim 20, Park et al. teach a display device, comprising a display substrate (Fig. 19), wherein the display substrate comprises: a display region (Fig. 19, AA/RA/HA) and an opening (Fig. 19, HA) located in the display region, wherein the opening penetrates through the display substrate (Fig. 19, MH, paragraph 64), and the display substrate comprises:
a base substrate (Figs. 5 and 19, BS);
a driving circuit layer (Figs. 5 and 19, paragraph 104, “the pixel transistor TR-P forms the circuit layer DP-C together with the first to third insulating layers 10, 20, and 30 of a plurality of insulating layers”), provided on the base substrate and comprising a first signal line at least partially surrounding the opening (Fig. 8, paragraph 178, signal lines SL1 and SL2 will be construed as part of the driving circuit layer);
a light-emitting component layer (Figs. 5 and 19, paragraph 112, layer DP-D), provided on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the base substrate;
an encapsulation layer (Figs. 5 and 19, layer DP-E), provided on a side of the light-emitting component layer away from the base substrate; and
a touch control layer (Figs. 5 and 19, layer ISU; Fig. 9, see ST/RT/SP1/SP2/BL1/BL2), provided on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the base substrate and comprising a touch control electrode (Fig. 9, SP1/SP2, paragraphs 154-155)
wherein the first signal line at least partially overlaps with a region adjacent to the opening in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the base substrate (Fig. 8, signal lines SL are routed within region RA, between GV and HA; compensation lines BL are also routed within region RA, between GV and HA), wherein the first signal line (Fig. 8, either one of SL1, SL2, SL3 may be a first line) comprises a first sub-signal line surrounding the opening.
Park et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion.
Yang et al. suggest wherein a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line (Figs. 9 and 10, TL22; Fig. 19, TL22) is provided with at least one bent portion (paragraph 187, in the bent portions TU of the 2-2 to 2-pth second touch signal lines TL22 to TL2p, a regular taper having a taper angle of 70° or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Park et al., so that a longitudinal cross-section of the first sub-signal line is provided with at least one bent portion, such as taught by Yang et al., for the purpose of reducing peeling and poor film formation.
Park and Yang et al. do not teach a touch control compensation electrode, the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening.
Ye teaches a touch control compensation electrode (Fig. 4, electrode 11 and Fig. 5, electrode 21, paragraph 61), the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Park and Yang et al., by including a touch control compensation electrode, the touch control compensation electrode being electrically connected to the touch control electrode and at least partially surrounding the opening and overlapping the region adjacent to the opening, such as taught by Ye, for the purpose of strengthening a touch signal.
Claims 8 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0110525 to Park et al.; in view of US 2025/0362774 to Yang et al.; in view of US 2021/0397320 to Ye; further in view of in view of US 2021/0357079 to Song et al.; in view of CN210110300U to Li et al., for which US 2022/0036822 will be used as an equivalent translation.
As per claim 8, Park, Yang and Ye et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first signal line further comprises a second sub-signal line and a third sub-signal line both surrounding the opening (Fig. 8, vertical sections into and out of the opening in addition to bent portion connecting with first sub-signal line), the first sub-signal line is located on a side of the second sub-signal line away from the base substrate, and the third sub-signal line is located on a side of the first sub-signal line away from the base substrate (Park, Figs. 5 and 8, signal lines are routed “away from the substrate”).
Park, Yang and Ye et al. do not explicitly teach wherein an included angle between a side wall of the third sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a2, an included angle between a side wall of the first sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a3, and an included angle between a side wall of the second sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a4, then a3 <= a4 and a3 <= a2, where a2 < 75, a3 > 30, and 40 < a4 < 50.
Li et al suggests wherein an included angle between a side wall of the third sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a2, an included angle between a side wall of the first sub- signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a3, and an included angle between a side wall of the second sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a4, then a3 <= a4 and a3 <= a2, where a2 < 75, a3 > 30, and 40 < a4 < 50 (Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 60-62 suggest an angle of about 45 degrees between substrate and side walls. The Office respectfully submits that the claimed limitations seems toread on said disclosure, at least for the case that a2 = a3 = a4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Park, Yang and Ye et al., that an included angle between a side wall of the third sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a2, an included angle between a side wall of the first sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a3, and an included angle between a side wall of the second sub-signal line and the main surface of the base substrate is a4, then a3 <= a4 and a3 <= a2, where a2 < 75, a3 > 30, and 40 < a4 < 50, such as taught by Li et al, for the purpose of improving manufacturing yield and display resolution.
As per claim 16, Park, Yang, Ye and Li et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 8, wherein the driving circuit layer comprises a plurality of pixel driving circuits (Park, Fig. 4), the light-emitting component layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting components, and the plurality of pixel driving circuits are respectively electrically connected to the plurality of light-emitting components to respectively drive the plurality of light-emitting components (Park, Figs. 4-5, OD, ); the pixel driving circuit comprises a thin film transistor (Park, Fig. 4, T1) and a storage capacitor (Park, Fig. 4, Cst), the thin film transistor comprises a gate electrode, a source electrode and a drain electrode provided on the base substrate, the source electrode and drain electrode are provided on a side of the gate electrode away from the base substrate (Park, Fig. 5), the storage capacitor comprises a first capacitor electrode and a second capacitor electrode provided on the base substrate, and the second capacitor electrode is provided on a side of the first capacitor electrode away from the base substrate; and the first sub-signal line is provided in a same layer and with a same material as the source electrode and the drain electrode (Park, Fig. 4, Dm is directly connected to source/drain of T1 when T2 is enabled, at least suggesting said line being disposed in the same layer and with the same material as said electrodes that it connects to), and the gate electrode is provided in a same layer and with a same material as the first capacitor electrode (Park, Fig. 4, Cst is directly connected to gate of T1, at least suggesting said capacitor electrodes being disposed in the same layer and material as said gate electrode that it connects to).
As per claim 17, Park, Yang, Ye and Li et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 16, wherein the second sub-signal line is provided in a same layer and with a same material as the gate electrode or the second capacitor electrode (Park, paragraph 192, logically, parts may be disposed on the same layer, or on different layers, both scenarios are discussed in paragraph 192, the particular arrangement selected is determined by design constraints).
As per claim 18, Park, Yang, Ye and Li et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 16, wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises a connection electrode provided on a side of the source electrode and the drain electrode away from the base substrate, the light-emitting component is electrically connected to one of the source electrode and the drain electrode through the connection electrode, and the third sub-signal line is provided in a same layer and with a same material as the connection electrode (Park, Figs. 4-5, paragraph 192, logically, parts may be disposed on the same layer, or on different layers, both scenarios are discussed in paragraph 192, the particular arrangement selected is determined by design constraints).
As per claim 19, Park, Yang, Ye and Li et al. teach the display substrate according to claim 16, wherein the first signal line is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit and configured to provide a data signal or a scanning signal to the pixel driving circuit (Park, Fig. 4, DM).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSE R SOTO LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622