DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 9/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-12, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee US 9577694 (hereinafter Albee) in view of DeCamp US 2012/0075789 (hereinafter DeCamp) in view of Batey US 20150143648 (hereinafter Batey).
Re. Cl. 1, Albee discloses: A mounting system (200, Fig. 1) for a tablet (272, Fig. 1), the mounting system comprising: a frame member (230, Fig. 3); a back plate (252, Fig. 3) which is partially surrounded by the frame member (see Fig. 3, 240, 242, 246, 244 partially surrounds 252), wherein the frame member and the back plate define a receiving space for the tablet (see Fig. 3, where 260, 270 fits in) on an inner side of the frame member (see Fig. 3); a guide (lips or inner surfaces of 240, 242, 244, 246) which extends at least partially on the inner side of the frame member and is formed for insertion and receiving of the tablet in the receiving space (see Fig. 3-5, via 260); a rigid cover plate (260, Fig. 3 or 360 Fig. 14) defining a plane (see Fig. 5 for instance, plate 260 defines a horizontal slanted plane as shown; the Examiner notes that 360 would function in the same manner as discussed with 360), the rigid cover plate being detachably connected to the back plate and at least partially covers the receiving space (see Fig. 4-5); wherein the frame member and the guide are configured to allow sliding of the tablet into the guide along a plane parallel to the plane of the rigid cover plate (see Fig. 5 for instance, the frame member (230) and guide (lips on 240, 242, 244, 246) are configured to be used as claims since they are all oriented in a manner (shown in Fig. 5) that would enable an appropriately dimensioned tablet to slide along the top of the device, in a direction parallel to the plane of rigid cover plate (260) and be received within 264)..
Re. Cl. 3, Albee discloses: the rigid cover plate completely covers the receiving space (see Fig. 3-5 and 14, in the instance where the cover plate is structured as shown by 360 in Fig. 14, the cover plate 360 would completely cover the receiving space) .
Re. Cl. 6, Albee discloses: the guide extends along the entire inner side of the frame member (see Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 7, Albee discloses: the guide is formed between a protrusion on the inner side of the frame member and the back plate (see Fig. 3, the guide, or the inner surface of the lips of 240, 242, 244, 246 are formed between 240, 242, 244, 246 which are protrusions and the back plate 252), so that the tablet can be inserted into the mounting system between the protrusion and the back plate and can be held (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 11, Albee discloses: an insertion area of the guide, at which the insertion of the tablet into the guide is initiated, has a rounded or beveled edge (see annotated figure 5).
Re. Cl. 12, Albee discloses: the mounting system is formed as a wall mounting system with a fastening means for being fastened to a wall, wherein the fastening means has at least one screw and a matching through-hole in the back plate, or wherein the mounting system is formed as a table mounting system with a support (see 100, Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 15, Albee discloses: the back plate is formed with a recess (see Fig. 3, where 260 fits in) for receiving the rigid cover plate (see Fig. 4-5).
Re. Cl. 18, Albee discloses: the frame member and the back plate are formed in one piece (see Fig. 3) and/or wherein the frame member and the back plate (3) are made of aluminum.
Re. Cl. 19, Albee discloses: the frame member, the guide and the back plate are formed in one piece (see Fig. 3) and/or wherein the frame member, the guide and the back plate are made of aluminum.
Re. Cls. 1-2, and 8-9, Albee does not disclose a covering layer made of leather, imitation leather or non-woven fabric, which at least partially covers the rigid cover plate on a side facing away from the back plate and which is firmly connected to the rigid cover plate (Cl. 1), the covering layer completely covers the rigid cover plate on the side facing away from the back plate (Cl. 2), the covering layer is bonded or laminated to the rigid cover plate by means of an adhesive (Cl. 5), the covering layer is made of leather or imitation leather (Cl. 8) or the imitation leather consists of microfibers with a roughened surface on the side facing away from the rigid cover plate (Cl. 9). DeCamp discloses a mounting system for a tablet (Fig. 12) which includes a covering layer (1130, Fig. 12) which at least partially covers a rigid plate (1107, Fig. 12) on a side facing towards the tablet and which is firmly connected to the rigid cover plate (see Fig. 12); the covering layer completely covers the rigid cover plate on the side facing away from the back plate (see Fig. 12, facing towards the tablet supported on 1107); the covering layer is bonded to the rigid cover plate (see Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Albee device to include the covering layer of DeCamp with reasonable expectation of success since DeCamp states that such a modification provides a protective layer and protect the surface of the table from scratching or other damage (Paragraph 0051).
Re. Cls. 1 and 8-9, the combination of Albee in view of DeCamp does not disclose the covering layer is made of leather, imitation leather or non-woven fabric (Cl. 1, 8) or the imitation leather consists of microfibers with a roughened surface on the side facing away from the rigid cover plate (Cl. 9). Batey discloses that it is known to use leather (Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-5) in supporting electronic device protectors (1) so that the material doesn’t scratch the surface of the device (4). Re. Cl. 9, due the limitations being alternative and there being no clause which establishes that the material chosen is imitation leather, it is the Examiner’s position that the claims do not require the use of imitation leather since they are listed in the alternative form.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the DeCamp covering layer to be leather as disclosed by Batey with reasonable expectation of success since Batey states that leather is a known protective material which performs the same function DeCamp was concerned about. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to modify the material of DeCamp to be leather as disclosed by Batey since it has been held obvious to modify the material absent persuasive evidence the material was significant. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates as applied to claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-12, 15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Pylkovas US 2015/0208790 (hereinafter Pylkovas).
Re. Cl. 4, Albee discloses the rigid cover plate is connected to the back plate (see Fig. 4) but does not disclose the rigid cover plate is magnetically connected to the back plate (Cl. 4) or the rigid cover plate is formed of metal and the back plate comprises a magnetic material (Cl. 20). Pylkovas discloses a cover plate (21, Fig. 2) which is magnetically connected to the back plate (see Fig. 2, via 17, 18) wherein the rigid cover plate is formed of metal (as having 17 therein, Fig. 2) and the back plate comprises a magnetic material (18, Fig. 2) and wherein the magnetic material is further preferably formed as at least one discrete magnet in a corresponding magnet recess of the back plate (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the cover plate and back plate of Albee to include the magnetic connection of Pylkovas with reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure connection between the two which would be further resistant to decoupling in the instance where the device is held upside down for instance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates as applied to claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-12, 15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Kwitek US 2012/0147556 (hereinafter Kwitek).
Re. Cl. 5, the combination of Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates does not specify how the covering layer is bonded to the cover plate and therefore does not disclose that it is bonded or laminated by means of an adhesive. Kwitek discloses it is known to secure a pad material using adhesives such as liquid or gel glue (Paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates device to have the covering layer bonded to the rigid cover plate via adhesive bonding as disclosed by Kwitek with reasonable expectation since Kwitek states that such a modification would ensure a quality bond with some surface treatment (Paragraph 0044, Lines 4-7).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates as applied to claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-12, 15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Cha US 2017/0163304 (hereinafter Cha).
Re. Cl. 10, the combination of Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates does not disclose the guide is provided with a lining which is designed as a sliding film, wherein the lining extends at least in a portion of the guide. Cha discloses a tablet support device (100, Fig. 5) which includes a guide (see Fig. 5, where 213 fits in) provided with a lining (190, Fig. 5) which is designed as a sliding film (see Fig. 5), wherein the lining extends at least in a portion of the guide (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates to include the lining as disclosed by Cha with reasonable expectation of success since Cha states that such a modification frictionally holds the device therein (Paragraph 0033, Lines 3-8). Such a modification would provide a more secure gripping of the cover plate which would be less resistant to fall out if the device where held upside down for example.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates as applied to claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-12, 15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Carnevali US 2016/0309010 (hereinafter Carnevali).
Re. Cls. 13-14, the combination of Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates does not disclose the mounting system is formed with an electrical contact which is provided in the guide and is formed for connection to a corresponding mating element on the tablet, wherein the electrical contact is provided with a cable, preferably for connection to a power source (Cl. 13) or the cable is guided through a space in the back plate and/or in the frame member and is led out through an opening in a cover element of the space, wherein the cover element is preferably removable (Cl. 14). Carnevali discloses a mounting system for a tablet (Fig. 1) which includes an electrical contact (11, 17, Fig. 5) which is provided in the guide (see Fig. 5, 11, 17 would be positioned in the guide as the portion 260 which supports the table 270 is supported within the guide) and is formed for connection to a corresponding mating element on the tablet (see Fig. 10-11), wherein the electrical contact is provided with a cable (see 13, 15, Fig. 10-11); the cable is guided through a space in the back plate (see Fig. 11, through 3 and into engagement with 11, 17) and/or in the frame member and is led out through an opening in a cover element of the space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates to include the electrical contact of Carnevali with reasonable expectation of success since Carnevali states that such a modification provides for a docking connection that enables for electrical connection to a wire (Paragraph 0083). Such a modification would enable for charging or connecting the tablet with external peripherals for instance.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albee in view of DeCamp in view of Bates as applied to claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-12, 15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Knutson US 2013/0058022 (hereinafter Knutson).
Re. Cl. 17, Albee discloses the frame member is formed on its inner side substantially as a rectangle (see Fig. 3) but does not disclose one or two missing sides. Knutson discloses a dock for supporting portable electronic devices (Fig 1a) which includes a frame (150, Fig. 1a) in the form of a rectangle (see Fig. 1a) with a side missing (see Fig. 1a, where arrow 10 is pointed to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Albee, DeCamp and Bates device to have the shape of Knutson with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to change the shape of a device absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Re. Applicant’s argument that Albee does not disclose the frame member and guide configured to allow sliding of the tablet along a plane parallel to the plane of the rigid cover plate, the Examiner disagrees. As set forth above, it is the Examiner’s position that the Albee device would be configured to perform the function as claimed. For instance, due to the orientation shown in Fig. 5, the frame member (230) and guide (lips on 240, 242, 244, 246) are configured to enable an appropriately dimensioned tablet to slide along the top of the device, in a direction parallel to the plane of rigid cover plate (260) and be received within (264). Applicant links this language (i.e. what is amended into claim 1) to the particular structure of being “part of a cuboid with two missing sides” on Page 6 of the Remarks filed. However, this structure is not presently claimed. The claim is far broader than what the structure would require since it amounts to how the device is intended to be used rather than what the device actually entails. Therefore, Applicant’s argument has been considered but is not persuasive since the claims do not result in a structural difference between them and the prior art of record.
Re. Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching or suggestion of the claimed functional interrelationship between the sliding insertion, the rigid cover plate and the covering layer, the Examiner disagrees. It is the Examiner’s position that the cited prior art meets Applicant’s current claimed structural limitations. A recitation of the intended use or the functional interrelationship as referenced by the Applicant must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case, the prior art structures as combined are configured to perform the intended sliding (i.e. the intended use), therefore meeting Applicant’s claim as currently constructed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cheung US 10809764, Feldstein US 2012/0068832 and Lin US 2023/0363114 discloses other known tablet supports which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632