DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 07/15/2026.
Claims 5-7 and 10 are amended to address minor informalities.
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the Objections to the Specification: The amendments to Paragraph [0060] and [0074] have rendered the objections moot. Accordingly, the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Objections to the claims: The amendments to claim 5-7 and 10 have rendered the objections moot. Accordingly the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Claims Rejections to the Claims under 35 § USC 103: Applicant’s respectful arguments and corresponding amendments, see pages 8-16 filed on 07/15/2026, have been fully considered and are respectfully deemed by the Examiner as not being persuasive towards the claims being in condition for allowance.
Regarding the particular arguments, the Applicant makes the point of identifying the structural differences between the Marsden and Hu references, arguing that, (Page 12, third Paragraph) “Hu may disclose a form of active braking at a high level, but Hu does so in a difference control context and by a different vehicle architecture,” and more particularity arguing that the, “architecture and control objective differ from Marsden’s coasting-window strategy and from the preferred heavy-duty diesel implementation of the present application, in which active engine braking may be provided by compression-release braking or exhaust braking. Hu is not concerned with deciding whether to maintain an engine-off, driveline disconnected freewheeling mode in order to continue accelerating towards an engine-off, driveline-disconnected freewheeling mode in order to continue accelerating towards a target speed.” Examiner acknowledges and generally agrees with the Applicant’s distinction of the references. However, Examiner wishes to clarify the manner in which the references are combined to arrive at a obviousness type rejection, and particularly the relevance of the Hu reference to the Applicant’s disclosure in light of these arguments, as they rely upon specific citations within Marsden and Hu.
As mentioned in the previous office action, Marsden does not explicitly teach an engine braking mode where the engine is further being operated to generate a braking effect. However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.” Therefore, engine braking is a known and desirable vehicle control effect to apply towards a vehicle which is rolling downhill.
Hu does explicitly teach an engine which is further being operated so as to generate a braking effect. Hu is relevant to the applicant’s disclosure due to teaching the motivation in the art to implement vehicle control logic which applies additional engine braking towards a vehicle which is rolling downhill.
Hu teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems are provided for electrically-assisted engine braking. In one example, a method may include operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake. The enhanced air flow into the engine intake increases an exhaust manifold pressure, thus increased a braking force provided by engine braking,” wherein, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 2-11) “the controller 12 of FIG. 1, may be configured to determine events where slowing of the HEV by non-mechanical braking, such as regenerative and/or engine braking, may be desired. For example, the controller 340 may receive information from a vehicle gyro sensor that the HEV is descending a hill. The vehicle may accelerate undesirably during downhill travel. As another example, a request for speed reduction may be indicated by a tip-out at an operator-controlled input device such as an accelerator pedal controlling delivery of fuel to the engine 320.” Therefore, a vehicle control mode which applies additional engine braking is known in the art to be desirably applied towards a vehicle which is rolling downhill.
Therefore, Hu uses the known technique of a hybrid-electric vehicle implementing additional engine braking as it travels downhill to yield the improvement of limiting vehicle speed in the same way as the “regular engine braking” vehicle control logic of Marsden to also limits vehicle speed as a vehicle travels downhill.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle during a coasting mode downhill, with an explicit braking mode such as wherein the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine such as the system which increases the air flow in the engine intake to increase an exhaust manifold pressure as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of increasing a stopping power of a vehicle when encountering downhill terrain by increasing the engine braking torque. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Second, regarding the arguments involving dependent claims 2 and 3, particularly regarding the argument that, “Plianos’ transition is triggered by a predicted speed exceeding a fixed upper speed limit on a hill, not by the vehicle reaching a cruise-control target speed in the second wheeling mode (claim 2) or by fulfillment of the claimed braking condition in the second freewheeling mode (claim 3). The specific trigger logic recited in claims 2 and 3 (a direct transition from the engine-off FM2 to an actively-controlled engine braking mode, by-passing coasting, upon reaching the target speed or upon fulfilment of the predicted braking condition) is therefore not taught by the combination,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding dependent claims 2, the claim does not limit the inventive concept to where the vehicle reaches a cruise-control target speed. Therefore, Plianos remains relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure, despite being directed to speed exceeding an upper limit, due to its teachings regarding switching freewheeling modes.
Even if the claims were limited to this feature, Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0017]) “The coasting entry criteria may comprise release of an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal of the vehicle, and the vehicle speed exceeding a predetermined value. Alternatively, the coasting entry criteria may comprise torque not being required to be delivered to the driveline to maintain a speed set by a cruise control system within a predetermined range. The method can therefore be applied to a vehicle in which the acceleration and braking of the vehicle are manually controlled by a driver or in which the acceleration of the vehicle is automatically controlled by a cruise control system.”
Regarding dependent claim 3, particularly teaching directly switching from the second freewheeling mode upon a fulfillment of the braking condition, Plianos teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “As the vehicle 100 passes the crest of the hill shown in the terrain map 124, its speed increases. Over halfway down the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the current speed of the vehicle 100. Near the end of the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the upper speed limit represented by upper horizontal line 118. At this stage, some form of braking will be required to ensure that the vehicle does not exceed this speed. An arrow marked ‘A’ indicates the distance for which the vehicle 100 will be coasting in this scenario.”
Plianos additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054]) “The vehicle may include one or more braking mechanisms, and the coasting mode may include providing braking via at least one of the braking mechanisms in order to increase a total coasting distance and/or time. Braking in this way may allow a speed of the vehicle to be controlled in such a way that the vehicle may coast further and/or improve its overall fuel efficiency.” Therefore additional braking capacity may be introduced from alternative systems.
Examiner is interpreting determining the need to introduce additional braking after predicting a speed upper limit will be reached during downhill travel as an example of, “fulfillment of the braking condition,” under broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the subject matter of Plianos has been applied in the rejection through this interpretation and is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure.
Therefore, the rejections of the claims have been maintained.
Claim Interpretation
The term “coasting mode” in independent claims 1 and 16 is used by the claim to mean a situation in which the output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is connected to the one or more drive wheels, and fuel supply to the engine is interrupted,” yielding inherently some engine breaking due to the engine being connected to the drive wheels depending upon throttle input, while the accepted meaning is, “that the output shaft is not connected to the transmission, in other words, coasting in neutral.” The term not indefinite, as specification clearly defines the term.
The term “engine breaking mode” read in light of the specification must be interpreted as (Applicant Specification, (Paragraph [0058]) “Operating the engine so as to generate a braking effect means that the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine, thereby slowing down the vehicle,” in order to be properly separated from the “coasting mode.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsden et al. (US 2019/0351908 A1, hereinafter Marsden) in view of Hu et al. ( US 2020/0156643 A1, hereinafter Hu)
Claim 1 Discloses: (Original)
“A computer system for controlling a powertrain system of a vehicle, “the powertrain system comprising an internal combustion engine connectable to one or more drive wheels, the computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to selectively operate the powertrain system in:”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor.”
Marden additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0054-0055]) “The automatic transmission 131 is coupled to a driveline 150 that includes a power transfer unit (PTU) 141 and rear drive shaft 151 … The PTU 141 is operable in one of a 2 wheel drive configuration in which it is arranged to drive a pair of rear wheels 115 of the vehicle 100.”
“a first freewheeling mode, in which an output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is disconnected from the one or more drive wheels, and fuel is being supplied to the engine;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0079]) “In the ‘idle coasting’ mode the engine 121 is fuelled in a manner sufficient to cause it to run at idle speed and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150.”
“a second freewheeling mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is non-rotating, and the engine is disconnected from the one or more drive wheels;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0080], Lines 1-3) “In the ‘off coasting’ mode the engine 121 is switched off and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150.”
“a coasting mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is connected to the one or more drive wheels, and fuel supply to the engine is interrupted;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-14) “During coasting in which the IC engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission, the vehicle is allowed to roll, without application of the accelerator pedal. In this condition fuel may be cut-off (so-called ‘deceleration fuel shut-off’) and the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
“… wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a vehicle target speed; determine that a freewheeling mode condition is fulfilled based on any one of topography data and vehicle data;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0017], Lines 1-3) “The coasting entry criteria may comprise release of an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal of the vehicle, and the vehicle speed exceeding a predetermined value.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 7-14) “Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
“determine that the powertrain system is operating in either the first freewheeling mode or the second freewheeling mode;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraphs [0010-0011]) “the method comprising: … detecting that coasting entry criteria have been met.”
“if the powertrain system is operating in the first freewheeling mode and an acceleration level fulfills an acceleration level condition, control the powertrain system from the first freewheeling mode to the coasting mode, allowing the vehicle to accelerate until reaching the vehicle target speed;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0096]) “It is to be understood that if the off coasting mode is unavailable, the powertrain 120 is caused to remain in the idle coasting mode. The off coasting mode may be unavailable, for example, if the engine 121 is required in order to ensure the continued delivery of one or more services such as power to a heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or if the electrical load placed on the vehicle by one or more other systems is sufficiently high such as an electrical seat heating system, a vehicle lighting system such as a headlight system, or one or more other systems.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0093]) “In some embodiments of the present invention, if the vehicle 100 is approaching a corner the PEO function may cause the controller 10 to inhibit the off coasting mode due to the expectation of acceleration in/out of the corner and braking beforehand.”
Reference Element 3 of Figure 2 portrays that once idle or off coasting is subsequently disallowed due to a detected inhibition, the system would transition directly to overrun mode.
“and if the powertrain system is operating in the second freewheeling mode, further determine to maintain the second freewheeling mode, allowing the vehicle to accelerate until reaching the vehicle target speed, or until a braking condition is fulfilled.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraphs [0080-0082]) “In the ‘off coasting’ mode the engine 121 is switched off and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150. In order for the ‘off coasting’ mode to be allowable, a set of ‘off coasting’ mode entry conditions must be met, which in the present embodiment are the following two conditions: (1) Neither of the accelerator pedal 161 and brake pedal 163 are depressed; and (2) The vehicle speed exceeds a predetermined minimum off coasting entry speed, in the present embodiment 20 kph,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 4-8) “Accordingly it is desirable to … cause the powertrain 120 to transition to the idle coasting mode and ultimately the off coasting mode as quickly as possible following accelerator pedal lift-off.”
“and an engine braking mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is connected to the one or more drive wheels, and the engine is further being operated so as to generate a braking effect;”
Marsden does not explicitly teach an engine braking mode where the engine is further being operated to generate a braking effect.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach an engine which is further being operated so as to generate a braking effect.
Hu teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems are provided for electrically-assisted engine braking. In one example, a method may include operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake. The enhanced air flow into the engine intake increases an exhaust manifold pressure, thus increased a braking force provided by engine braking,” wherein, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 2-11) “the controller 12 of FIG. 1, may be configured to determine events where slowing of the HEV by non-mechanical braking, such as regenerative and/or engine braking, may be desired. For example, the controller 340 may receive information from a vehicle gyro sensor that the HEV is descending a hill. The vehicle may accelerate undesirably during downhill travel. As another example, a request for speed reduction may be indicated by a tip-out at an operator-controlled input device such as an accelerator pedal controlling delivery of fuel to the engine 320.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with an explicit braking mode wherein the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine such as the system which increases the air flow in the engine intake to increase an exhaust manifold pressure as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of increasing a stopping power of a vehicle when encountering downhill terrain by increasing the engine braking torque. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Claim 4 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle target speed is controlled by a predictive cruise control system.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0017]) “The coasting entry criteria may comprise release of an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal of the vehicle, and the vehicle speed exceeding a predetermined value. Alternatively, the coasting entry criteria may comprise torque not being required to be delivered to the driveline to maintain a speed set by a cruise control system within a predetermined range. The method can therefore be applied to a vehicle in which the acceleration and braking of the vehicle are manually controlled by a driver or in which the acceleration of the vehicle is automatically controlled by a cruise control system.”
Claim 5 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the fulfillment of the braking condition by predicting a maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode, and determine that the braking condition is fulfilled if the predicted maximum vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle target speed.”
Marsden does not explicitly teach determining fulfillment of the braking condition by predicting a maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode, and determining that the braking condition is fulfilled if the predicted maximum vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle target speed.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach determining fulfillment of the braking condition by predicting a maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode, and determining that the braking condition is fulfilled if the predicted maximum vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle target speed.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0063], Lines 1-6) “At 412, the method includes determining if the braking torque supplied by regenerative braking meets the brake torque demand to slow the vehicle speed to a desired speed. The amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with an explicit braking mode wherein it is determined that the braking condition is fulfilled if the predicted maximum vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle target speed as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of increasing a stopping power of a vehicle when encountering downhill terrain by increasing the engine braking torque in order to reach a desired speed profile. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Claim 6 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The computer system of claim 5, wherein the maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode is predicted from the topography data and the vehicle data.”
Marsden does not explicitly teach the maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode being predicted from topography data and vehicle data.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach the maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode being predicted from topography data and vehicle data.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0063], Lines 1-6) “At 412, the method includes determining if the braking torque supplied by regenerative braking meets the brake torque demand to slow the vehicle speed to a desired speed. The amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with an explicit braking mode wherein the maximum vehicle speed for the engine braking mode is capable of being predicted from topography data and vehicle data as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using topography vehicle data to determine a desired braking profile in order to achieve a speed profile. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-9) “A duration of the braking demand may be estimated based on feedback from a navigation system, GPS, or other location tracking device. Additionally or alternatively, traffic data, topography, weather, and other current information may be used to determine the duration of the braking demand. For example, if a vehicle is driving downhill, a grade and length of the hill may be determined to estimate an amount of braking desired and the duration of the braking.”
Claim 7 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The computer system of claim 5, wherein predicting the
Marsden does not teach an explicit engine braking mode.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach the preceding limitations of Claim 7.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine,” and that, (Paragraph [0055], Lines 9-13) “For a particular engine system, the braking torque may be maximized by tuning the torque generated by the TEMG to rotate the turbocharger so that the turbine speed is below a maximum tolerable speed specific to the turbine.”
Hu additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0072], lines 1-3) “If the braking torque does not exceed the braking torque demand, the method continues to 514 to determine whether a change in vehicle speed is requested.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of a vehicle, with an explicit braking mode wherein the braking condition is fulfilled if the required engine braking power exceeds the available engine braking power in light of Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known technical effect of determining available engine braking power, in order to determine if additional braking is need to reach a desired speed profile. As Hu describes, Hu teaches, (BACKGROUND/SUMMARY, Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine.”
Claim 8 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine fulfillment of the braking condition by comparing available engine braking power with required engine braking power, and wherein the braking condition is fulfilled if the required engine braking power exceeds the available engine braking power.”
Marsden does not teach an explicit engine braking mode.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach the preceding limitations of Claim 8.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine,” and that, (Paragraph [0055], Lines 9-13) “For a particular engine system, the braking torque may be maximized by tuning the torque generated by the TEMG to rotate the turbocharger so that the turbine speed is below a maximum tolerable speed specific to the turbine.”
Hu additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0072], lines 1-3) “If the braking torque does not exceed the braking torque demand, the method continues to 514 to determine whether a change in vehicle speed is requested.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of a vehicle, with an explicit braking mode wherein the braking condition is fulfilled if the required engine braking power exceeds the available engine braking power in light of Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known technical effect of determining available engine braking power, in order to determine if additional braking is need to reach a desired speed profile. As Hu describes, Hu teaches, (BACKGROUND/SUMMARY, Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine.”
Claim 9 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein, if the powertrain system is operating in the second freewheeling mode, the processing circuitry is configured to determine a starting time for a needed engine braking operation.”
Marsden does not teach determining a starting time for a needed engine braking operation, but does estimate period for expected freewheeling modes.
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 4-10) “Values of second and third time periods may also be set in accordance with the expected coasting period. For example, the expected coasting period may be determined from data received from on-board systems such as navigation systems or radar systems. The expected coasting time may also take an indicated driving style based on historical driving data into account.”
Hu does teach determining a starting time for a needed engine braking operation.
Hu teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems are provided for electrically-assisted engine braking. In one example, a method may include operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake. The enhanced air flow into the engine intake increases an exhaust manifold pressure, thus increased a braking force provided by engine braking,” and additionally portrays adjusting the VGT vanes to increase manifold pressure/breaking torque at time periods t1-t4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of a vehicle, with an explicit time determination for a needed engine braking operation as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield- the well-known benefits of timing the application of additional engine torque towards a scenario such as a downhill slope wherein additional breaking is required. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0074], Lines 1-3) “Example operations during an engine braking event that does not include use of mechanical vehicle brakes are shown in a timeline map 600 in FIG. 6,” and further that, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Claim 10 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine that [[a]]the freewheeling mode condition is fulfilled based on vehicle data indicative of one or more inhibitors to set the engine in a state, in which the output shaft of the engine is non-rotating.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraphs [0080-0082]) “In the ‘off coasting’ mode the engine 121 is switched off and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150. In order for the ‘off coasting’ mode to be allowable, a set of ‘off coasting’ mode entry conditions must be met, which in the present embodiment are the following two conditions (1) Neither of the accelerator pedal 161 and brake pedal 163 are depressed; and (2) The vehicle speed exceeds a predetermined minimum off coasting entry speed, in the present embodiment 20 kph.” The Examiner is interpreting the engine switching off as including the feature of having the output shaft being non-rotating.
Claim 11 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the braking effect in the engine braking mode by actively controlling the engine to increase the internal resistance within the engine.”
Marsden does not explicitly teach implementing an engine braking mode by actively controlling the engine to increase the internal resistance within the engine
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach implementing an engine braking mode by actively controlling the engine to increase the internal resistance within the engine
Hu teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems are provided for electrically-assisted engine braking. In one example, a method may include operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake. The enhanced air flow into the engine intake increases an exhaust manifold pressure, thus increased a braking force provided by engine braking,” wherein, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 2-11) “the controller 12 of FIG. 1, may be configured to determine events where slowing of the HEV by non-mechanical braking, such as regenerative and/or engine braking, may be desired. For example, the controller 340 may receive information from a vehicle gyro sensor that the HEV is descending a hill. The vehicle may accelerate undesirably during downhill travel. As another example, a request for speed reduction may be indicated by a tip-out at an operator-controlled input device such as an accelerator pedal controlling delivery of fuel to the engine 320.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with an explicit braking mode wherein the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine such as the system which increases the air flow in the engine intake to increase an exhaust manifold pressure as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of increasing a stopping power of a vehicle when encountering downhill terrain by increasing the engine braking torque. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Claim 12 Discloses: (Original)
“A powertrain system comprising the computer system of claim 1, an internal combustion engine, a controllable clutch, a transmission arranged to be coupled to the internal combustion engine by means of the controllable clutch, and wherein the transmission further comprises an output shaft configured to be coupled to a driven axle of a set of wheels.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0099], Lines 6-8) “The transmission 131 is connected to the PTU 141 by means of a clutch device, the PTU 141 forming part of the driveline 150.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0054-0055]) “The automatic transmission 131 is coupled to a driveline 150 that includes a power transfer unit (PTU) 141 and rear drive shaft 151 … The PTU 141 is operable in one of a 2 wheel drive configuration in which it is arranged to drive a pair of rear wheels 115 of the vehicle 100.”
Claim 13 Discloses: (Original)
“A vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001], Lines 4-5) “Aspects of the invention relate to … a vehicle.”
Claim 14 Discloses: (Original)
“The vehicle of claim 13, further comprising a powertrain system comprising an internal combustion engine, a controllable clutch, a transmission arranged to be coupled to the internal combustion engine by means of the controllable clutch, and wherein the transmission further comprises an output shaft configured to be coupled to a driven axle of a set of wheels.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0099], Lines 6-8) “The transmission 131 is connected to the PTU 141 by means of a clutch device, the PTU 141 forming part of the driveline 150.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0054-0055]) “The automatic transmission 131 is coupled to a driveline 150 that includes a power transfer unit (PTU) 141 and rear drive shaft 151 … The PTU 141 is operable in one of a 2 wheel drive configuration in which it is arranged to drive a pair of rear wheels 115 of the vehicle 100.”
Claim 15 Discloses: (Original)
“A vehicle comprising a powertrain system comprising an internal combustion engine, a controllable clutch, a transmission arranged to be coupled to the internal combustion engine by means of the controllable clutch, and wherein the transmission further comprises an output shaft configured to be coupled to a driven axle of a set of wheels.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001], Lines 4-5) “Aspects of the invention relate to … a vehicle.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0099], Lines 6-8) “The transmission 131 is connected to the PTU 141 by means of a clutch device, the PTU 141 forming part of the driveline 150.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0054-0055]) “The automatic transmission 131 is coupled to a driveline 150 that includes a power transfer unit (PTU) 141 and rear drive shaft 151 … The PTU 141 is operable in one of a 2 wheel drive configuration in which it is arranged to drive a pair of rear wheels 115 of the vehicle 100.”
Claim 16 Discloses: (Original)
“A computer-implemented method for controlling a powertrain system of a vehicle, the powertrain system comprising an internal combustion engine connectable to one or more drive wheels, the powertrain system being selectively operable in:”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor.”
Marden additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0054-0055]) “The automatic transmission 131 is coupled to a driveline 150 that includes a power transfer unit (PTU) 141 and rear drive shaft 151 … The PTU 141 is operable in one of a 2 wheel drive configuration in which it is arranged to drive a pair of rear wheels 115 of the vehicle 100.”
“a first freewheeling mode, in which an output shaft of the internal combustion engine is rotating, the engine is disconnected from the one or more drive wheels, and fuel is being supplied to the engine;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0079]) “In the ‘idle coasting’ mode the engine 121 is fuelled in a manner sufficient to cause it to run at idle speed and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150.”
“a second freewheeling mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is non-rotating, and the engine is disconnected from the one or more drive wheels;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0080], Lines 1-3) “In the ‘off coasting’ mode the engine 121 is switched off and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150.”
“a coasting mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is connected to the one or more drive wheels, and fuel supply to the engine is interrupted;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-14) “During coasting in which the IC engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission, the vehicle is allowed to roll, without application of the accelerator pedal. In this condition fuel may be cut-off (so-called ‘deceleration fuel shut-off’) and the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
“ … wherein the method comprises: determining, by a processing circuitry of a computer system, a vehicle target speed; determining, by the processing circuitry of the computer system, that a freewheeling mode condition is fulfilled based on any one of topography data and vehicle data;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0017], Lines 1-3) “The coasting entry criteria may comprise release of an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal of the vehicle, and the vehicle speed exceeding a predetermined value.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 7-14) “Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
“determining, by the processing circuitry of the computer system, that the powertrain system is operating in either the first freewheeling mode or the second freewheeling mode;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraphs [0010-0011]) “the method comprising: … detecting that coasting entry criteria have been met.”
“if the powertrain system is operating in the first freewheeling mode and an acceleration level fulfills an acceleration level condition, controlling, by the processing circuitry of the computer system, the powertrain system from the first freewheeling mode to the coasting mode, allowing the vehicle to accelerate until reaching the vehicle target speed;”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0096]) “It is to be understood that if the off coasting mode is unavailable, the powertrain 120 is caused to remain in the idle coasting mode. The off coasting mode may be unavailable, for example, if the engine 121 is required in order to ensure the continued delivery of one or more services such as power to a heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or if the electrical load placed on the vehicle by one or more other systems is sufficiently high such as an electrical seat heating system, a vehicle lighting system such as a headlight system, or one or more other systems.”
Marsden additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0093]) “In some embodiments of the present invention, if the vehicle 100 is approaching a corner the PEO function may cause the controller 10 to inhibit the off coasting mode due to the expectation of acceleration in/out of the corner and braking beforehand.”
Reference Element 3 of Figure 2 portrays that once idle or off coasting is subsequently disallowed due to a detected inhibition, the system would transition directly to overrun mode.
“and if the powertrain system is operating in the second freewheeling mode, further determining, by the processing circuitry of the computer system, to maintain the second freewheeling mode, allowing the vehicle to accelerate until reaching the vehicle target speed or until a braking condition is fulfilled.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraphs [0080-0082]) “In the ‘off coasting’ mode the engine 121 is switched off and the transmission 131 is disconnected from the driveline 150. In order for the ‘off coasting’ mode to be allowable, a set of ‘off coasting’ mode entry conditions must be met, which in the present embodiment are the following two conditions: (1) Neither of the accelerator pedal 161 and brake pedal 163 are depressed; and (2) The vehicle speed exceeds a predetermined minimum off coasting entry speed, in the present embodiment 20 kph,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 4-8) “Accordingly it is desirable to … cause the powertrain 120 to transition to the idle coasting mode and ultimately the off coasting mode as quickly as possible following accelerator pedal lift-off.”
“and an engine braking mode, in which the output shaft of the engine is rotating, the engine is connected to the one or more drive wheels, and the engine is further being operated so as to generate a braking effect;”
Marsden does not explicitly teach an engine braking mode where the engine is further being operated to generate a braking effect.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Hu does teach an engine which is further being operated so as to generate a braking effect.
Hu teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems are provided for electrically-assisted engine braking. In one example, a method may include operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake. The enhanced air flow into the engine intake increases an exhaust manifold pressure, thus increased a braking force provided by engine braking,” wherein, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 2-11) “the controller 12 of FIG. 1, may be configured to determine events where slowing of the HEV by non-mechanical braking, such as regenerative and/or engine braking, may be desired. For example, the controller 340 may receive information from a vehicle gyro sensor that the HEV is descending a hill. The vehicle may accelerate undesirably during downhill travel. As another example, a request for speed reduction may be indicated by a tip-out at an operator-controlled input device such as an accelerator pedal controlling delivery of fuel to the engine 320.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with an explicit braking mode wherein the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine such as the system which increases the air flow in the engine intake to increase an exhaust manifold pressure as taught by Hu, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of increasing a stopping power of a vehicle when encountering downhill terrain by increasing the engine braking torque. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example. The target speed may be based on the speed of the HEV prior to downhill travel or the reduction in vehicle speed may be proportional to an amount that the operator releases the accelerator pedal, as determined by a pedal position sensor.”
Claim 17 Discloses: (Original)
“A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 16.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor.”
Claim 18 Discloses: (Original)
“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 16.”
Marsden teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “This invention relates to a method of reducing energy consumption of a vehicle, in particular, but not exclusively, by controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle. Aspects of the invention relate to a method, to a controller, to a vehicle, to a non-transitory computer readable carrier medium carrying computer readable code, to a computer program product, to a non-transitory computer readable medium and to a processor.”
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsden in view of Hu, further in view of Plianos et al. (US 2019/0100208 A1, hereinafter Plianos)
Claim 2 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to the engine braking mode, thereby by-passing the coasting mode.”
Marsden does not explicitly that upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to the engine braking mode, thereby by-passing the coasting mode.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Plianos does teach that upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to a mode with some engine braking through the connection of the driveshaft. However, Plianos does not teach an explicit engine braking mode.
Plianos teaches an equivalent to the second freewheeling mode, teaching that, (Paragraph [0124]) “Engine-off sail (also known as sailing, freewheeling, high speed free rolling) is a state in which the drivetrain is opened (the internal combustion engine and the transmission are decoupled) and the IC engine is cut. No fuel is used and losses are minimised. As long as there is an efficient method to restart the engine, this is usually the most efficient of coasting states.”
Plianos additionally teaches an equivalent to the coasting mode, teaching that, (Paragraph [0123]) “Engine over-run (also known as engine braking, deceleration fuel shut-off, engine connected coasting) is a state in which the internal combustion (IC) engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission. The vehicle is allowed to roll, without application of the accelerator pedal. In this condition fuel may be cut-off (so called deceleration fuel shut-off or fuel-cut) and the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting’ and includes the (zero throttle or zero fuelling) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
With regards to teaching directly switching from the second freewheeling mode upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed, Plianos teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “As the vehicle 100 passes the crest of the hill shown in the terrain map 124, its speed increases. Over halfway down the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the current speed of the vehicle 100. Near the end of the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the upper speed limit represented by upper horizontal line 118. At this stage, some form of braking will be required to ensure that the vehicle does not exceed this speed. An arrow marked ‘A’ indicates the distance for which the vehicle 100 will be coasting in this scenario.”
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach operating the engine so as to generate a braking effect means that the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine, thereby slowing down the vehicle as required for an engine braking mode.
Hu does teach operating the engine so as to generate a braking effect means that the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine, thereby slowing down the vehicle as required for an engine braking mode.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine,” and that,(Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example,” the braking torque of which may be created by, (Abstract, Lines 3-4) “operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with the capability to switch from the second freewheeling mode of some manner of additional breaking upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed as taught by Plianos, and the explicit capability for an engine to actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine in order to meet slowing down requirements, thereby slowing down the vehicle as required for an engine braking mode as taught by Hu, to effectively bypass the claimed “coasting mode,” in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of immediately applying additional engine braking beyond merely connecting the driveshaft as needed to achieve a desired speed profile, particularly on a downhill slope. As Plianos describes, (Paragraph [0104]) “Near the end of the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the upper speed limit represented by upper horizontal line 118. At this stage, some form of braking will be required to ensure that the vehicle does not exceed this speed.” Capability to apply additional engine braking additionally achieves the benefit of mitigating wear on mechanical brakes. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine … Without additional assistance, slowing of the engine may rely solely on mechanical brakes, rendering the mechanical brakes prone to overheating and subject to frequent usage, thereby accelerating degradation of the mechanical brakes.”
Claim 3 Discloses: (Original)
“The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, upon a fulfillment of the braking condition in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to the engine braking mode, thereby by-passing the coasting mode.”
Marsden does not explicitly that upon a fulfillment of the braking condition in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to the engine braking mode, thereby by-passing the coasting mode.
However, Marsden does teach capability to control a vehicle wherein, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-14) “the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting.’ and includes the (zero throttle) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
Plianos does teach that upon a fulfillment of the braking condition in the second freewheeling mode, directly switch from the second freewheeling mode to a mode with some engine braking through the connection of the driveshaft. However, Plianos does not teach an explicit engine braking mode.
Plianos teaches an equivalent to the second freewheeling mode, teaching that, (Paragraph [0124]) “Engine-off sail (also known as sailing, freewheeling, high speed free rolling) is a state in which the drivetrain is opened (the internal combustion engine and the transmission are decoupled) and the IC engine is cut. No fuel is used and losses are minimised. As long as there is an efficient method to restart the engine, this is usually the most efficient of coasting states.”
Plianos additionally teaches an equivalent to the coasting mode, teaching that, (Paragraph [0123]) “Engine over-run (also known as engine braking, deceleration fuel shut-off, engine connected coasting) is a state in which the internal combustion (IC) engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission. The vehicle is allowed to roll, without application of the accelerator pedal. In this condition fuel may be cut-off (so called deceleration fuel shut-off or fuel-cut) and the vehicle slowly decelerates due to engine braking (‘engine over-run’) and other external factors. Such coasting may be referred to as ‘engine-connected coasting’ and includes the (zero throttle or zero fuelling) condition in which the vehicle can maintain speed without assistance from the IC engine or electric machine, such as rolling downhill, as well as the (zero throttle) level-driving condition in which speed is deliberately permitted to fall without braking of the vehicle wheels by means of the braking system.”
With regards to teaching directly switching from the second freewheeling mode upon a fulfillment of the braking condition, Plianos teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “As the vehicle 100 passes the crest of the hill shown in the terrain map 124, its speed increases. Over halfway down the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the current speed of the vehicle 100. Near the end of the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the upper speed limit represented by upper horizontal line 118. At this stage, some form of braking will be required to ensure that the vehicle does not exceed this speed. An arrow marked ‘A’ indicates the distance for which the vehicle 100 will be coasting in this scenario.”
Plianos additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054]) “The vehicle may include one or more braking mechanisms, and the coasting mode may include providing braking via at least one of the braking mechanisms in order to increase a total coasting distance and/or time. Braking in this way may allow a speed of the vehicle to be controlled in such a way that the vehicle may coast further and/or improve its overall fuel efficiency.” Therefore additional braking capacity may be introduced from alternative systems.
Hu does teach operating the engine so as to generate a braking effect means that the engine is actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine, thereby slowing down the vehicle as required for an engine braking mode.
Hu teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine,” and that,(Paragraph [0069], Lines 5-12) “for method 400, the amount of speed reduction enabled by the braking torque may be a difference between a current vehicle speed and a target speed for downhill descent, for example,” the braking torque of which may be created by, (Abstract, Lines 3-4) “operating a turbocharger by an electric motor during engine braking to increase air flow to an engine intake.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Marsden which is capable controlling the status of an internal combustion and a transmission of the vehicle with the capability to switch from the second freewheeling mode to some manner of additional breaking upon the vehicle reaching the vehicle target speed as taught by Plianos, and the explicit capability for an engine to actively controlled to increase the internal resistance within the engine in order to meet slowing down requirements, thereby slowing down the vehicle as required for an engine braking mode as taught by Hu, to effectively bypass the claimed “coasting mode,” in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of immediately applying additional engine braking beyond merely connecting the driveshaft as needed to achieve a desired braking profile, particularly on a downhill slope. As Plianos describes, (Paragraph [0104]) “Near the end of the hill, the speed is predicted to exceed the upper speed limit represented by upper horizontal line 118. At this stage, some form of braking will be required to ensure that the vehicle does not exceed this speed.” Capability to apply additional engine braking additionally achieves the benefit of mitigating wear on mechanical brakes. As Hu describes, (Paragraph [0002]) “In diesel-powered and lean burning boosted gasoline-powered vehicles, a desired rate of deceleration of an engine may not be available by releasing an accelerator pedal due to unthrottled air flow to the engine … Without additional assistance, slowing of the engine may rely solely on mechanical brakes, rendering the mechanical brakes prone to overheating and subject to frequent usage, thereby accelerating degradation of the mechanical brakes.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Christen et al. (US 2015/0046050 A1) teaches, (Abstract) “The invention relates to a method and device for changing from a coasting or free-rolling mode of a motor vehicle with an internal combustion engine and an automatic clutch, which is disengaged during the coasting or free-rolling mode, to a fuel cut-off mode, in which the clutch is engaged, wherein before engagement of the clutch the internal combustion engine is brought to a revolution rate at which the engagement of the clutch induces no or only small changes in revolution rate in the drive train, and whereby the fuel supply to the internal combustion engine is reduced following engagement of the clutch. Under one or more predetermined conditions the increase of the drag torque of the internal combustion engine acting on the motor vehicle during the changeover from coasting or free-rolling mode to fuel cut-off mode takes place so slowly that the change is not usually noticed by the driver.”
Polimeno et al. (US 2013/0190998 A1) teaches, (Abstract) “An automotive electronic control system for a motor vehicle is provided. The automotive electronic control system is designed to cause the motor vehicle to enter a freewheel running condition with internal combustion engine off if the automotive electronic control system determines, based on received quantities indicative of operative conditions of the motor vehicle, occurrence of a driver-performable action indicative of the will of the driver to enter a freewheel running condition with internal combustion engine off and occurrence at or within a given time from the occurrence of the driver-performable action and the maintaining for a given time of specific predetermined entry conditions. The automotive electronic control system is further designed to cause the motor vehicle to leave a freewheel running condition with internal combustion engine off if the automotive electronic control system determines, based on the received quantities, occurrence of at least one of specific predetermined exit conditions.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664