DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"vibration isolating members " in claim 5. Because (A) “members” denote the placeholder/nonce term, (B) “vibration isolating” denotes the function, and (C) no structure is recited to perform the recited function of isolating from vibrations. In effect, the phrase is similar to “means for isolating from vibrations”, thus invoking 35 USC 112f.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Considering the details outlined in the specification (Fig. 10; paragraph 0051) the limitation, “vibration isolating members” is interpreted as, e.g., “annular tube-like structures comprised of rubber”, or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0029811 A1 to Stålberg et al (hereinafter Stålberg).
Regarding Claim 1, Stålberg discloses an electric transmission comprising:
[a work electric motor (30);
a travel electric motor (20)] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0048); and
[a power combining mechanism (6) that combines output of both of the electric motors] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0058, torque generated by [the work electric motor] may only be transferred…via [the power combining mechanism]…the different gear ratios provided within…are used for transferring torque generated by both electric machines 20, 30 to the…output…), wherein,
[at least the output of the travel electric motor is variably controlled to change the output of the power combining mechanism] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0049),
[both of the electric motors and the power combining mechanism are assembled in a common casing (13) to form a unit (1)] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0057, 0058), and
[the output of the work electric motor and the output of the power combining mechanism are respectively taken out from the casing] (Fig. 2, paragraph 0048, and paragraph 0050 disclose that the output of the work electric motor is taken out from the casing via element 5; Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049 discloses output of the power combining mechanism is taken out from the casing via element 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Stålberg discloses the electric transmission according to claim 1, wherein [a work-machine drive shaft (3) to which the output of the work electric motor is transmitted and a travel drive shaft (4) to which the output of the power combining mechanism is transmitted are supported in parallel by the casing and protrude outward in a same direction] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0048 – 0049).
Regarding Claim 4, Stålberg discloses the electric transmission according to claim 1, wherein [the power combining mechanism is structured such that transmission output of the power combining mechanism is maximized when the output of the travel electric motor is maximized in one direction, and transmission output of the power combining mechanism is minimized or zero when the output of the travel electric motor is maximized in another direction] (paragraph 0006, …an electric powertrain in which torque generated by two electric machines may be efficiently used for a variety of applications with different requirements on driving torque; paragraph 0018, the gear ratio used for torque transfer between [the travel electric motor] and the propulsion axle…may be selected depending on the application; 0062, The electric machines may be configured to be drivable in both directions; paragraphs 0003 and 0021 further describe efficient output of the power combining mechanism operatively coupled to the travel electric motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stålberg in view of DE 102020119290 A1 to Fietkau.
Regarding Claim 3, Stålberg does not appear to explicitly disclose rated power output of electric motors.
Fietkau discloses [an electric transmission (19), wherein rated power output of a work electric motor (4) is greater than rated power output of a travel electric motor (7)] (Fig. 5; paragraph 0036, [the work electric motor] … is equipped with a higher rated power than [the travel electric motor 7]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of electric transmissions, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the teachings of Fietkau to substitute the electric motors of Stålberg with the electric motors of Fietkau because the results would have been predictable and one so skilled would expect to achieve at least the advantage that Fietkau describes in paragraph 0012:
the use of different electric motors improves the possibility of being able to operate at least one of the electric motors with high power and thus high efficiency in different operating states.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stålberg in view of US 2015/0028180 A1 to Patel et al (hereinafter Patel).
Regarding Claim 5, Stålberg discloses the electric transmission according to claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose a work vehicle having a machine body frame supporting the electric transmission having vibration isolating mounts.
Patel discloses [a work vehicle (10)] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0028) comprising:
a machine body frame (12)] (Fig.1; paragraph 0046),
wherein [a casing (16) of a power train element (14) is structured to be supported on a machine body frame (12) in a vibration-proof manner] (Figs. 5A, 5B; paragraph 0003) via [a pair of vibration isolating members (100) on at least right and left outer side portions of the casing] (Figs. 1, 3A; paragraphs 0028, 0032).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of electric transmissions, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have structured the electric transmission of Stålberg using the teachings of Patel such that the electric transmission of Stålberg is structured to be supported on the machine body frame of the work vehicle of Patel in the vibration-proof manner via the pair of vibration isolating members of Patel on at least right and left outer side portions of Stålberg’s casing. Doing so would not have been beyond the skill of an ordinary artisan and one so skilled would have appreciated at least one of the advantages that Patel mentions in paragraph 0003: isolating frame movement and stresses from the engine, sound and vibration isolation, aligning the engine relative to the frame and drivetrain components, and/or limiting movement of the engine relative to the frame.
Conclusion
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611