DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Applicant’s case, no. 19/037,528, with an effective filing date of January 27, 2025. Claims 1, 5-7, 10-13, 16-18, and 20-22 are currently pending. Claims 2-4, 8-9, 14-15 and 19 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 have been added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 6, 2025, is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated August 2, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous drawing objections, however based on the amendments a new drawing objection has been made; withdraws the previous specification objections; withdraws the previous claim objections, however based on the amendments a new claim objection has been made; and maintains the previous prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed August 2, 2026, have been fully considered but they
are moot.
Regarding the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1 and 13 as being anticipated by Nelson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0343800 A1) [hereinafter referred to as Nelson], the Applicant has elected to amend the claims. However, due to said amendments, new reference Velde et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0340725 A1) [hereinafter referred to as Velde] has been necessitated. Therefore, a new rejection based on 35 USC § 103 has been made and is discussed in detail below.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues (see pages 14-17) that although Nelson discloses a guidance program in [0044-45] where a first and second point regard a specific linear segment planned path and [0041] s.3, produces a resultant ground elevation or a resultant grade between a first point and a second point (e.g., along with adjacent paths of the vehicle spaced by a vehicle width) that lie in a common plane which is construed as a cutting edge vector), that Nelson allegedly does not disclose the limitations:
initial reference position comprising respective initial position for each of a first point of interest and a second point of interest, wherein a cutting edge vector is defined in association with the first and second points of interest;
continuously monitoring each of first and second points of interest relative to their respective the initial positions; and
controlling the cutting edge vector relative to the target profile.
However, Velde teaches in [0021] s.2, that virtual boundaries may be beneficially utilized in conjunction with the operation of a dozer, a motor grader, an excavator, a backhoe, or similar work vehicle equipped with an (e.g., integrated) grade control system, with the MRF joystick system providing MRF-generated tactile feedback to aid an operator in positioning an implement in a manner imparting a ground surface with a desired grade or topology. Specifically, in such embodiments, elevation coordinates defined by design data loaded into the work vehicle's onboard computer may be utilized to establish such virtual boundaries and generate varying MRF resistance effects based upon the proximity of the (e.g., cutting edge) of the implement relative thereto. This is diagramed below in Fig. 6, which is utilizing an excavator as an example, but as discussed above the use of a dozer or grader fall within the scope of the reference. The work implement is given a floor and ceiling virtual boundary which provides feedback to the joystick of the operator to ensure proper and even depth is actualized. This is construed as a first and second point of interest relating to a work implement that define a cutting edge vector of a work implement, wherein the virtual boundaries are continuously monitored relative to their initial position to provide said feedback. Therefore, this argument is moot.
Regarding claim(s) 13 Applicant argues that, while differing in scope, this/these claim(s) recite(s) similar features to claim 1 and its/their rejection(s) should likewise be withdrawn. However, this argument is unpersuasive for the same reasons as given above.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are patentable by virtue of their dependency. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully
rejected for the reasons as given above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first point of interest, a second point of interest, and cutting edge vector must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 and 17 contain a typographical error where the claims each recite dependence on claim 15, however claim 15 has been canceled by the Applicant. For purposes of prosecution, claims 16 and 17 will be interpreted as being dependent on claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0343800 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Velde et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0340725 A1), hereinafter referred to as Velde.
Regarding claim 1, Nelson discloses:
A method of operating a work machine comprising a plurality of ground-engaging units supporting a machine frame and driven to cause the work machine to travel across a ground surface (see Figure 10 below regarding character 14 supporting character 12), the work machine further comprising a work implement supported by and moveable relative to the machine frame and configured to controllably work the ground surface (see Figure 10 below regarding character 16), the method comprising:
determining an initial position in a three-dimensional coordinate system for a point of interest associated with the work implement ([0044-46] which describe coordinates in three-dimensional (3D) space relative to the work implement with the first point ([0044] sentence (s.) 3) relating to an initial position of the vehicle and the work implement);
determining a target profile for the ground surface associated with a work area and in the three-dimensional coordinate system ([0041] s.3, target implement implement height may comprise one or more absolute elevations or one or more real world elevations that may vary in accordance with a known profile, which is construed as a target profile for the ground surface associated with a work area and a real-world 3D coordinate system); and
during an operating mode corresponding to a working operation and involving travel of the work machine via a plurality of headings across the work area:
continuously monitoring a current heading and a current position in the three-dimensional coordinate system for points of interest ([0035 s.1,the location-determining receiver 30 may comprise a Global Positioning System Receiver (GPS) or any satellite navigation receiver for providing: (1) position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for a vehicle, or (2) position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for an implement of the vehicle); and
generating control signals to at least one actuator for automatically controlling relative to the target profile within the three-dimensional coordinate system ([0041] s.2, the guidance program provides data messages, control data messages, or observed vehicle elevations (and vehicle location) from the location determining receiver 30 to a controller (e.g., height controller) or a lift actuator to maintain a target implement height, [0043], the controller 20 sends control signals or data messages to the one or more actuators (121, 221) to control any implement heights, implement attitudes, or implement angles in accordance with the guidance program, [0077] s.1, data processing system checks for the existence or presence of correct conditions to adjust automatically the implement height and/or tilt based on the guidance plan or guidance program via the lift actuator, the tilt actuator, or both, and [0123] s., the extension and retraction of the actuators may be automatically controlled by activation of the system by the operator).
However, although Nelson discloses the guidance program in [0044-45] where a first and second point regard a specific linear segment planned path and [0041] s.3, produces a resultant ground elevation or a resultant grade between a first point and a second point (e.g., along with adjacent paths of the vehicle spaced by a vehicle width) that lie in a common plane which is construed as a cutting edge vector) as discussed above, it does not explicitly disclose:
initial reference position comprising respective initial position for each of a first point of interest and a second point of interest, wherein a cutting edge vector is defined in association with the first and second points of interest;
continuously monitoring each of first and second points of interest relative to their respective the initial positions; and
controlling the cutting edge vector relative to the target profile.
However, Velde teaches in [0021] s.2, that virtual boundaries may be beneficially utilized in conjunction with the operation of a dozer, a motor grader, an excavator, a backhoe, or similar work vehicle equipped with an (e.g., integrated) grade control system, with the MRF joystick system providing MRF-generated tactile feedback to aid an operator in positioning an implement in a manner imparting a ground surface with a desired grade or topology. Specifically, in such embodiments, elevation coordinates defined by design data loaded into the work vehicle's onboard computer may be utilized to establish such virtual boundaries and generate varying MRF resistance effects based upon the proximity of the (e.g., cutting edge) of the implement relative thereto. This is diagramed below in Fig. 6, which is utilizing an excavator as an example, but as discussed above the use of a dozer or grader fall within the scope of the reference. The work implement is given a floor and ceiling virtual boundary which provides feedback to the joystick of the operator to ensure proper and even depth is actualized. This is construed as a first and second point of interest relating to a work implement that define a cutting edge vector of a work implement, wherein the virtual boundaries are continuously monitored relative to their initial position to provide said feedback.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, by incorporating the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of, as acknowledged by Velde in [0004] s.6, improving safety and efficiency of the work vehicle operation.
Regarding claims 2-4, 8-9, 14-15 and 19, the Applicant has elected to cancel said claims, which subsequently are no longer under consideration.
Regarding claim 5, Nelson, as modified by Gilbeck, discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the respective positions and movement for the first point of interest are determined via at least signals received by a first receiver associated with the work implement and the respective positions and movement for the second point of interest are determined via at least signals received by a second receiver associated with the work implement (see claim 1 regarding [0044] and [0039] use of multiple location-determining receivers that may determine the height and the tilt of the implement).
Claim 16 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 5 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Nelson, as modified by Gilbeck, discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the respective positions and movement for the first point of interest are determined via at least signals received by the receiver associated with the work implement and the respective positions and movement for the second point of interest are determined via at least signals from an inertial measurement sensor associated with the work implement ([0036] a sensor fusion module for combining sensor inputs from the location-determining receiver 30 with one or more other sensors (e.g., 223, 123) for estimating position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for an implement of the vehicle which is construed as a inertial measurement sensor associated with the work implement).
Claim 17 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Nelson discloses:
A work machine comprising:
a machine frame (see Fig. 10 below);
a plurality of ground-engaging units supporting the machine frame and driven to cause the work machine to travel across a ground surface (see Fig. 10 below);
a work implement supported by and moveable relative to the machine frame and configured to controllably work the ground surface ((see Fig. 10 below); and
one or more processors ([0005] s.5, observed height is controlled in accordance with the guidance program (e.g., the target height) if the system or the data processor is operating in a guidance mode) configured to:
determine an initial position in a three dimensional coordinate system for a point of interest associated with the work implement ([0044-46] which describe coordinates in three-dimensional (3D) space relative to the work implement with the first point ([0044] s.3 relating to an initial position of the vehicle and the work implement);
determine a target profile associated with the ground surface within a work area and in the three dimensional coordinate system ([0041] s.3, target implement height may comprise one or more absolute elevations or one or more real world elevations that may vary in accordance with a known profile, which is construed as a target profile for the ground surface associated with a work area and a real-world 3D coordinate system); and
during an operating mode corresponding to a working operation and involving travel of the work machine via a plurality of headings across the work area, to:
continuously monitor a current heading and a current position in the three dimensional coordinate system for the point of interest relative to the initial position ([0035 s.1,the location-determining receiver 30 may comprise a Global Positioning System Receiver (GPS) or any satellite navigation receiver for providing: (1) position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for a vehicle, or (2) position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for an implement of the vehicle);
and generate control signals to at least one actuator for automatically controlling the current position of the point of interest relative to a corresponding position of the target profile within the three dimensional coordinate system ([0041] s.2, the guidance program provides data messages, control data messages, or observed vehicle elevations (and vehicle location) from the location determining receiver 30 to a controller (e.g., height controller) or a lift actuator to maintain a target implement height, [0043] the controller 20 sends control signals or data messages to the one or more actuators (121, 221) to control any implement heights, implement attitudes, or implement angles in accordance with the guidance program, [0077] s.1, data processing system checks for the existence or presence of correct conditions to adjust automatically the implement height and/or tilt based on the guidance plan or guidance program via the lift actuator, the tilt actuator, or both, and [0123] s., the extension and retraction of the actuators may be automatically controlled by activation of the system by the operator).
However, although Nelson discloses the guidance program in [0044-45] where a first and second point regard a specific linear segment planned path and [0041] s.3, produces a resultant ground elevation or a resultant grade between a first point and a second point (e.g., along with adjacent paths of the vehicle spaced by a vehicle width) that lie in a common plane which is construed as a cutting edge vector) as discussed above, it does not explicitly disclose:
initial reference position comprising respective initial position for each of a first point of interest and a second point of interest, wherein a cutting edge vector is defined in association with the first and second points of interest;
continuously monitoring each of first and second points of interest relative to their respective the initial positions; and
controlling the cutting edge vector relative to the target profile.
However, Velde teaches in [0021] s.2, that virtual boundaries may be beneficially utilized in conjunction with the operation of a dozer, a motor grader, an excavator, a backhoe, or similar work vehicle equipped with an (e.g., integrated) grade control system, with the MRF joystick system providing MRF-generated tactile feedback to aid an operator in positioning an implement in a manner imparting a ground surface with a desired grade or topology. Specifically, in such embodiments, elevation coordinates defined by design data loaded into the work vehicle's onboard computer may be utilized to establish such virtual boundaries and generate varying MRF resistance effects based upon the proximity of the (e.g., cutting edge) of the implement relative thereto. This is diagramed below in Fig. 6, which is utilizing an excavator as an example, but as discussed above the use of a dozer or grader fall within the scope of the reference. The work implement is given a floor and ceiling virtual boundary which provides feedback to the joystick of the operator to ensure proper and even depth is actualized. This is construed as a first and second point of interest relating to a work implement that define a cutting edge vector of a work implement, wherein the virtual boundaries are continuously monitored relative to their initial position to provide said feedback.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, by incorporating the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of, as acknowledged by Velde in [0004] s.6, improving safety and efficiency of the work vehicle operation.
____________________________________________________
Claim(s) 7, 11-12, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0343800 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Nelson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0343800 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Velde et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0340725 A1), hereinafter referred to as Velde, and Gilbeck et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0364873 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gilbeck.
Regarding claim 7, Nelson, as modified by Velde, disclose signals from at least an inertial measurement sensor associated with the work implement in [0036] a sensor fusion module for combining sensor inputs from the location-determining receiver 30 with one or more other sensors (e.g., 223, 123) for estimating position data, elevation data, attitude, roll, tilt, yaw, heading data, motion data, acceleration data, velocity data, or speed data for an implement of the vehicle which is construed as a inertial measurement sensor associated with the work implement, wherein a current position of the point of interest relative to the machine frame is determined in a three dimensional coordinate system associated with the work machine in [0043] s., the controller 20 sends control signals or data messages to the one or more actuators (121, 221) to control any implement heights, implement attitudes, or implement angles in accordance with the guidance program, but they do not explicitly disclose:
wherein respective positions and movement of each of the first and second points of interest are determined via signals from a remote source to a receiver associated with the machine frame of the work machine and
wherein a respective current position of each of the first and second points of interest relative to the machine frame is determined in a first three dimensional coordinate system associated with the work machine and converted to a current position of the respective point of interest in a second three dimensional coordinate system associated with the target profile.
However, Gilbeck teaches in [0011] where the user input may be received in association with a first mapping unit and translated into first position data in a coordinate system independent of the work machine, construed as a first three dimensional coordinate system. Furthermore, the first position data may then be converted into second position data in a coordinate system associated with the transport vehicle, construed as a second three dimensional coordinate system. Gilbeck further teaches in [0036] of a user interface that may broadly take the form of a display unit which include various controls or user inputs (e.g., a steering wheel, joysticks, levers, buttons) for operating the work machine, including operation of the engine, hydraulic cylinders, and the like and may be generated on a remote (i.e., not onboard) computing device. Furthermore, signals from a user input received via the first user interface may correspond to one or more desired discharge locations in the at least a portion of the worksite to be worked.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, as modified by the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, by incorporating the remote user interface teachings of Gilbeck, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of improving the accuracy of the work implement as the user may be able to have a better frame of reference regarding the work area.
Claim 18 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 7 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Nelson, as modified by Velde, discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the target profile is determined at least in part via user input received from a user interface in association with the working operation ([0041] s.3, target implement height may comprise one or more absolute elevations or one or more real world elevations that may vary in accordance with a known profile, which is construed as a target profile for the ground surface associated with a work area and a real-world 3D coordinate system).
However, Nelson, as modified by Velde, does not explicitly disclose:
profile is determined at least in part via user input received from a user interface in association with the working operation
However, Gilbeck teaches in [0011] where the user input may be received in association with a first mapping unit and translated into first position data in a coordinate system independent of the work machine, construed as a first three dimensional coordinate system. Furthermore, the first position data may then be converted into second position data in a coordinate system associated with the transport vehicle, construed as a second three dimensional coordinate system. Gilbeck further teaches in [0036] of a user interface that may broadly take the form of a display unit which include various controls or user inputs (e.g., a steering wheel, joysticks, levers, buttons) for operating the work machine, including operation of the engine, hydraulic cylinders, and the like and may be generated on a remote (i.e., not onboard) computing device. Furthermore, signals from a user input received via the first user interface may correspond to one or more desired discharge locations in the at least a portion of the worksite to be worked.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, as modified by the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, by incorporating the remote user interface teachings of Gilbeck, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of improving the accuracy of the work implement as the user may be able to have a better frame of reference regarding the work area.
Claim 20 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 11 above, therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Nelson, as modified by Gilbeck, discloses:
The method of claim 1, comprising, upon determining the initial position and the target profile, generating indicia guiding manual control of the work implement with respect to the target profile, wherein automatic control of the cutting edge vector is enabled when the current positions of first and second points of interest are within a defined proximity with respect to the target profile ([0041] s.2, the guidance program provides data messages, control data messages, or observed vehicle elevations (and vehicle location) from the location determining receiver 30 to a controller (e.g., height controller) or a lift actuator to maintain a target implement height, [0077] s.1, data processing system checks for the existence or presence of correct conditions to adjust automatically the implement height and/or tilt based on the guidance plan or guidance program via the lift actuator, the tilt actuator, or both, and [0123] s., the extension and retraction of the actuators may be automatically controlled by activation of the system by the operator and see Velde regarding the virtual boundaries),
but Nelson, as modified by Velde, does not explicitly disclose:
generating output signals to a display unit
(see claim 1 regarding manual and automatic control indicia and claim 2 regarding a user interface comprising a display).
However, Gilbeck teaches in [0036] of a user interface that may broadly take the form of a display unit which include various controls or user inputs (e.g., a steering wheel, joysticks, levers, buttons) for operating the work machine, including operation of the engine, hydraulic cylinders, and the like and may be generated on a remote (i.e., not onboard) computing device. Furthermore, signals from a user input received via the first user interface may correspond to one or more desired discharge locations in the at least a portion of the worksite to be worked.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, as modified by the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, by incorporating the remote user interface teachings of Gilbeck, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of improving the accuracy of the work implement as the user may be able to have a better frame of reference regarding the work area.
Claim 22 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 12 above, therefore claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12.
____________________________________________________
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0343800 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Velde et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0340725 A1), hereinafter referred to as Velde, and Yang et al. (CN Pat. Pub. No. 113723786 B), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
Regarding claim 10, Nelson, as modified by Velde, discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the target profile associated with the work area is retrieved from data storage (see claim 1 regarding target profiles and [0023] The data storage device may store program instructions or one or more software modules, such as a programming module, a guidance module and a mode controller)
via a vector based digital geographic data file.
However, Yang teaches on pg. 2 ¶10 s. 2-3 that the real-life three-dimensional scene within the project area integrates two types of data with different high and low precision into the same scene; and by loading thematic vector data released by various departments such as natural resources, water conservancy, environmental protection, and forestry, the data is set to be overlaid and displayed according to the terrain. In this way, two-dimensional vector data is superimposed on the three-dimensional basic geographical information scene to realize three-dimensional display of two-dimensional GIS data.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls, navigation, and controlling a work implement of a work vehicle before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the controlling a work implement of a work vehicle of Nelson, as modified by the virtual boundary teachings of Velde, by incorporating the vector based digital geographic data teachings of Yang, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of, as acknowledged by Yang in pg. 2 ¶10 s. 3, realizing three-dimensional display of two-dimensional GIS data.
Claim 21 recites a machine having substantially the same features of claim 10 above, therefore claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see:
Roscoe et al. (WIPO Pat. Pub. No. 2023/117194 A1) is directed towards encoding the generated geometric data in a GIS format may comprise encoding the generated geometric data in a raster-based GIS format. Encoding the generated geometric data in a GIS format may comprise encoding the geometric data in a postGIS table, a shapefile, a map tile, or a comma-separated variable file.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith A von Volkenburg/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665