DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12223149. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the current application are made broader than claims of US Patent 12223149 based on the Applicant removing identical limitations and creating new dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6, 8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2015/0091859) in view of Jung (US 2017/0031465).
Regarding claim 1, Rosenberg teaches a pen for interacting with touch screen, the pen comprises: an AC coupling circuit operable to: receive a sense signal from the touch screen [0567]; and
transmit a transmit signal to the touch screen ([0571],. Although Rosenberg teaches the limitations as discussed above he fails to explicitly teach a sense-regulation circuit operable to: generate a comparison signal based on the sense signal and representation of transmit data; an convert the representation of the transmit data into transmit signal.
However in the same field of creating a method of communication between two device Jung teaches a sense-regulation circuit operable to: generate a comparison signal based on the sense signal and representation of transmit data (Fig. 11 comparator 235 [0083]); an convert the representation of the transmit data into transmit signal ([0104-105][0110-0111] teach how the adjusted delay/offset is processed and output).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sensing system as taught by Rosenberg with the sensing method as taught by Jung. This combination would provide in improved touch performance by improving the synchronization process of the sensing system as taught by Jung [0013].
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches a processing circuit operable to: receive data (pressure data) and generate representation of the transmit data based on the data ([0090-0091]signal processor 250 receives digital representation of data).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches data source circuit that comprises: a sensing element operable to: sense a condition of the pen; and generate a condition signal based on the sensing the condition; and a data sense circuit operable to generate the data based on the condition signal and a reference signal ([0089] Fig. 11 pressure sensing element ).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches wherein the condition comprises one or more of: a pressure; a tilt; a color selection; a mode selection; another operational condition of the pen; and an environmental condition ([0089] pressure).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches wherein the processing circuit comprises: a processing module operable to generate digital outbound data based on the data; and a digital to analog converter operable to generate the representation of the transmit data based on the digital outbound data (0089-0091])
Regarding claim 8, Rosenberg teaches wherein the AC coupling circuit comprises: a first AC coupling circuit for receiving the sense signal from the touch screen; and a second AC coupling circuit for transmitting the transmit signal to the touch screen ([0574] Fig. 98).
Regarding claim 11, Rosenberg teaches wherein the touch screen is capable of interpreting the transmit signal as an input to the touch screen([0573-0574] [069] and the method as described with respect to Fig. 104).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches wherein the sense-regulation circuit is further operable to: receive the sense signal from the AC coupling circuit; and receive the representation of the transmit data ([0090] reception buffer 231 receives touchscreen signal from switching part 220. Transmission of pressure data [0089-0091] signal processor 250 receives digital representation of data.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2015/0091859) in view of Jung (US 2017/0031465) and Rebeschi (US 2015/0193025).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenberg in view of Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above and Jung further teaches a conductive pen tip (Fig. 8 element 210) but the combination does not explicitly teach a conductive pen shell and cone.
However in the field of manufacturing a stylus device for interaction with a touch sensing device, Rebeschi teaches a stylus with a conductive tip; and a conductive pen shell and cone ([0057] teaches conductive emitter portion 520 may include all or a portion of the pen tip, transition region (cone) or a portion of the main body (shell).).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sensing system as taught by Rosenberg with the sensing method as taught by Jung and the stylus as taught by Rebeschi. This combination would provide in improved touch performance by improving sensing of the stylus from multiple angles of contact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621