DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston (3,069,042) in view of Immel (6,742,554).
Re Claim 1, Johnston – a tank for storing liquified gases – discloses a tank [Fig. 1] with an outer tank [38]; an inner tank [40] disposed inside the outer tank with a space therebetween and having a shape having a longitudinal direction [Fig. 1]; a first strap [44] including a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first end being connected to an inner surface of the outer tank and the second end being connected to an outer surface of the inner tank [Fig. 1]; and a second strap [45] including a third end and a fourth end opposite to the third end, the third end being connected to the inner surface of the outer tank and the fourth end being connected to the outer surface of the inner tank [Fig. 1], wherein the first strap and the second strap extend along the longitudinal direction of the inner tank, and a distance between the second end and the fourth end is shorter than a distance between the first end and the third end in the longitudinal direction [Fig. 1].
Johnston does not expressly disclose that the tank is able to hold hydrogen gas for fuel to an engine. However, Immel – a tank with overheat protection for compressed gas – discloses an outer tank [Immel,. 12] and an inner tank [Immel, 72] in which the container is used for hydrogen gas [Immel, 26, Col. 4 Lines 23-25]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the container can be used for hydrogen gas. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B) for substitution of material. One of ordinary skill would be able to fill the Johnston container with hydrogen gas, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, to store hydrogen gas for a fuel cell engine [Immel, Col. 4 Lines 23-25], and since the two tanks are supported to stabilize the tank [Immel, Col. 5 Lines 53-55].
Re Claim 2, Johnston in view of Immel discloses the invention according to Claim 1 above; further, the combination discloses the second end and the fourth end are adjacent to each other [Johnston, Fig. 1]. The examiner notes the 2nd and 4th ends are adjacent to each other with respect to the 1st and 3rd ends of the straps attaching to the tank.
Re Claim 3, Johnston in view of Immel discloses the invention according to Claim 1 above; further, the combination discloses the first end, the second end, the third end, and the fourth end are arranged in one plane along the longitudinal direction [Johnston, Fig. 1].
Re Claim 4, Johnston in view of Immel discloses the invention according to Claim 1 above; further, the combination discloses the first end and the third end are each pivotally connected to the inner surface of the outer tank [Johnston, at 49], and the second end and the fourth end are each pivotally connected to the outer surface of the inner tank [Johnston, at 49, Fig. 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/ROBERT J HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736