DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the adhesive stripes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the low-density foam panel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "high-density" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 20230140264).
As to claim 1, Wei discloses a product comprising: a substrate layer 7 having upper and lower exterior surfaces; an adhesive layer 3 comprising a non-reactive hot-melt pressure sensitive adhesive (¶54, 57, 61; Fig. 1; 2.3).
As to claim 2, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the adhesive has a melting point determined by differential scanning calorimetry (DCS) according to ISO 11357-3 using a standard rate of 2 ºC/min as claimed (¶31).
As to claim 3, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the adhesive may comprise of a styrene block copolymer (¶55).
As to claim 8, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the substrate 7 may comprise of a low-density material such as insulation board (¶3).
As to claim 9, the product of claim 8 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the insulation board may comprise of extruded expanded polystyrene (XPS) (¶187).
As to claim 10, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the substrate 7 may comprise of a cement material (¶3).
Claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above. Wei discloses that the product is produced by providing a substrate layer 7, applying a non-reactive hot-melt adhesive in a melted form to the exterior surface of the substrate, allowing it to cool so as to set/solidify (¶54, 57, 61; Fig. 1; 2.3).
As to claim 13, the method of claim 12 is taught as seen above. Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20230140264) in view of Haufe et al. (US 20240417598).
As to claim 4, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Wei fails to specifically teach or disclose whether the adhesive may comprise of a discontinuous layer/pattern. It is the position of the Examiner that using a discontinuous adhesive layer/pattern is known and conventional in the art of bonding structural laminates and would have been obvious at the time of the invention. Haufe discloses a method of making a sealing element for a roof (Abstract). Haufe discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use discontinuous adhesive elements (stripes) to bond components in a sealing element (Fig. 7-8; ¶18-20). Haufe discloses that the adhesive may cover at least 50% of the surface of the substrate (¶285). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the discontinuous adhesive pattern of Haufe that covers only at least 50% in the product taught by Wei because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional adhesive bonding pattern for use in a roof sealing component. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 5, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Claim 5 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 4 above since Haufe discloses that discontinuous adhesive patterns are known and conventional in the art.
As to claim 6, the product of claim 5 is taught as seen above. Haufe discloses that the discontinuous adhesive elements are stripes (Fig. 7-8; ¶18-20).
As to claim 7, the product of claim 6 is taught as seen above. The size and spacing between the discontinuous adhesive elements would be obvious since this amounts to a change in size which is obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As to claim 14, the method of claim 12 is taught a seen above. Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20230140264).
As to claim 11, the product of claim 8 is taught as seen above. Wei fails to specifically teach or disclose that the roofing substrate of claim 8 may have spacers placed upon it. It is the position of the Examiner that using spacers on roofing substrates such as the one disclosed by Wei is known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious at the time of the invention since this a known and conventional means for ensuring the proper spacing of a substrate at the time of installation.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20230140264) in view of Malofsky et al. (US 20020031644).
As to claim 15, Wei discloses a method of making a roofing substrate of claim 1 (¶54, 57, 61; Fig. 1; 2.3) but fails to specifically teach or disclose how the roofing substrate may be attached to a structure substrate. Malofsky discloses a method of fastening a molding to a wall (Abstract). Malofsky discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to press a molding with adhesive with sufficient pressure to effect adhesive bonding between the molding and the desired structure substrate such as wood (Fig. 8; ¶92-93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the bonding method of Malofsky in the method taught by Wei because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional method of bonding an insulation board to a desired structure. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 16, the method of claim 15 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the insulation substrate may be concrete or wood (¶54, 57, 61; Fig. 1; 2.3).
As to claim 17, the method of claim 15 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that the roofing structure with roofing membrane is used to provide a new green roof (¶8), but fails to specifically teach or disclose the substrate that the roofing structure is attached to such as a roof deck, roof rafter, roof framing member. It is the position of the Examiner that a roof deck, roof rafter, and roof framing member are known and conventional structural members in the art known for forming a roof and would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to attach the roofing structures of Wei to.
As to claim 18, the method of claim 15 is taught as seen above. Wei discloses that a roofing membrane 8 may be placed on a surface of the cover board 7 (Fig. 1, 2.3).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745