Double Patenting
Claims 21-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12234039 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same core features and are not obvious variants of each other. The immediate invention further does not seem to add meaningful structural/architectural limitations beyond the parents orbital window concepts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation " the multi-use space vehicle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 and 31 recites the limitation " the refueling operations”. Claim 27 only recites a refueling operation.
Although the Examiner does not reject the claims 27-31 over 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or (b), the Examiner wishes to point out the excessive use of functional language in the claims. Claim 27 calls for a system for operating a space vehicle having only a propulsion system, a propellant resource, and an operator to initiate operations. The propulsion system only needs to be capable of performing the actions claimed, the propellant resource only needs to be present and able to be refueled, and the operator can be either remote or onboard and either a pilot or a computer which can do the functions of the claim. This creates an exceedingly broad claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holder et al. (US 20200198809) and In view of Gryniewski et al. (US 20080237400).
27. Holder discloses (New) A system for operating a space vehicle (SSTO space vehicle 100), the system comprising: a propulsion system (111) configured to i) launch the space vehicle from a launch site to a target orbit (with main rocket engines 120a-c), and ii) maneuver the space vehicle from the target orbit to a repeating ground track orbit (OMS engines 122a-b for in-space directional control and reorientation – capable of orbital maneuvers as claimed); and an operator (controller 140 capable of issuing operational outputs to the vehicle to enact maneuvers and other operations as claimed here: i) initiate deorbiting from the repeating ground track orbit, and ii) facilitate landing of the multi-use space vehicle at the launch site.
Gryniewski teaches what Holder does not teach a propellant resource 12, 15, 13 and fluid transfer system 41 to facilitate a refueling operation while the space vehicle is in the repeating ground track orbit, wherein the refueling operation includes a rendezvous operation with an orbiting vehicle launched from Earth (as Gryniewski teaches launching spacecraft 12 launching from earth and refueling operations using 41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the refueling propellant resource in Gryniewski in the invention of Holder in order to incorporate the refueling capability to extend operations and on-orbit mission capability.
28. Holder teaches orbital maneuvers (New) The system of claim 27, wherein the propulsion system OMS engines 122a-b are configured to perform two thrust operations to transition from the target orbit to the repeating ground track orbit.
29-30. Holder teaches (New) The system of claim 27, wherein the repeating ground track orbit (as is capable by the operations of the controller 140) allows the space vehicle to overfly the launch site once per day or would also be capable of providing multiple opportunities for the refueling operations within a 24-hour period (by adjusting the maneuvers and operation of OMS engines 122a-b).
31. the combination of Holder and Gryniewski teach the capability to maneuver into a RGT orbit using controller 140 and refueling operations of Gryniewski as claimed above capable of being performed in any desired window of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the refueling propellant resource in Gryniewski in the invention of Holder in order to incorporate the refueling capability to extend operations and on-orbit mission capability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art includes launching spacecraft orbiting changing orbit and deorbiting, for example space shuttle operations, as well as the use of ground track orbits.
The closest prior art does not teach using ground track orbits, repeating over the same launch/landing site at a defined inclination, performing propellant transfer operations during a predetermined window, deciding timing to deorbit, and land back at the launch site.
/JUSTIN M. BENEDIK/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JUSTIN M BENEDIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642