DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-14, 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,385. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences between the claimed subject matter and the patented claims amount to obvious variations of the same invention.
The patented claims disclose a method that includes identify a vocabulary level of a user in a first language and utilizing subtitle information to assist language learning. The instant claims recite substantially the same core concept, but additionally recite operations such as displaying subtitle information, predicting vocabulary familiarity, and identifying unknown words. These differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention because they represent routine and predictable processing steps inherently associated with subtitle-based language analysis system. Displaying subtitles is a conventional operation in subtitle processing systems, since subtitles must be presented to the user in order to enable analysis or extraction of linguistic information. Predicting or determining vocabulary familiarity represents a predictable analytical refinement of identifying a user’s vocabulary level. Identifying unknown words is merely a logical and expected result of comparing subtitle content to a user’s vocabulary level. Therefore, the instant claims do not render the claims patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Instant Application 19/037,688
Patented 12,238,385
1. A method comprising:
identifying, using control circuitry and based on a user profile associated with a user,
a vocabulary level of the user in a first language; during playback on a first device, of a media asset on a first device associated with the user,
displaying subtitles in the first language for at least a portion of the media asset, the subtitles comprising a plurality of words in the first language;
determining, based on the vocabulary level and the user profile, a subset of words of the plurality words that are unknown to the user; and
generating for display, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an input to bookmark a word of the subset of words; and based on receiving the input: identifying a start time and an end time for display of a subtitle in which the word is contained; and storing the start time, the end time, and an identifier of the media asset in association with the word.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising:
storing a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time; and based on receiving a selection of the bookmark, replaying the stored segment.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying a vocabulary level of the user in the first language further comprises:
determining, based on the user profile,
a language learning history related to the first language; and determining, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: transmitting, to the second device, the subset of words and the respective explanations.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: adding the subset of words and the respective explanation of each word to a list of words and corresponding explanations that have previously been generated for display during playback of the media asset; and automatically scrolling the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device.
7. The method of claim 5, further comprising: based on receiving a selection of the bookmark: retrieving the identifier of the media asset; and based on the identifier of the media asset, the start time, and the end time, replaying a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time comprises instructing the first device to perform a rewind operation to the start time.
9. The method of claim 7, wherein replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time comprises: instructing the first device to pause playback of the media asset; retrieving, at the second device, the segment of the media asset; and replaying at least audio data of the segment on the second device.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: retrieving a portion of the subtitles, the portion including a word of the subset of words; and transmitting, to the second device, the portion and the respective explanation of the word of the subset of words.
11. A system comprising:
input/output circuitry; and control circuitry configured to: identify, based on a user profile associated with a user,
a vocabulary level of the user in a first language; during playback of a media asset on a first device associated with the user, display subtitles in the first language for at least a portion of the media asset,
the subtitles comprising a plurality of words in the first language;
determine, based on the vocabulary level and the user profile, a subset of words of the plurality words that are unknown to the user;
generate for display, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words.
15. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
receive an input to bookmark a word of the subset of words; and based on receiving the input: identify a start time and an end time for display of a subtitle in which the word is contained; and store the start time, the end time, and an identifier of the media asset in association with the word.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
store a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time; and based on receiving a selection of the bookmark, replay the stored segment.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured, when identifying a vocabulary level of the user in the first language, to:
determine, based on the user profile,
a language learning history related to the first language; and determine, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured, when generating
for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective
explanation of each word of the subset of words, to:
transmit, to the second device, the subset of words and the respective explanations.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured, when generating
for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective
explanation of each word of the subset of words, to:
adding the subset of words and the respective explanation of each word to a list of words and
corresponding explanations that have previously been generated for display during playback of the
media asset; and automatically scrolling the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device.
17. The system of claim 15, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
based on receiving a selection of the bookmark:
retrieve the identifier of the media asset; and
based on the identifier of the media asset, the start time, and the end time, replay a
segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time comprises instructing the first device to perform a rewind operation to the start time.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein the control circuitry is configured, when replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time, to:
instruct the first device to pause playback of the media asset; retrieve, at the second device, the segment of the media asset; and replay at least audio data of the segment on the second device.
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured, when generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words, to:
retrieve a portion of the subtitles, the portion including a word of the subset of words; and
transmit, to the second device, the portion and the respective explanation of the word of the
subset of words.
1. A method for fast, intuitive, personalized language learning from subtitles, the method comprising:
identifying
a vocabulary level of a user in a first language; during playback, on a first device, of a media asset,
extracting subtitles in the first language for at least a portion of the media asset, the subtitles comprising a plurality of words in the first language;
predicting, based on the vocabulary level,
a subset of words of the plurality words that are new to the user;
generating for display, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words;
receiving an input to bookmark a word of the subset of words; based on receiving the input:
identifying a start time and an end time for display of a subtitle in which the word is contained; and storing the start time, the end time, and an identifier of the media asset in association with the word;
storing a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time; and based on receiving a selection of the bookmark, replaying the stored segment.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying a vocabulary level of the user in the first language further comprises:
retrieving, from a user profile associated with the user, a language learning history for the first language; and determining, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying a vocabulary level of the user in the first language further comprises:
retrieving, from a user profile associated with the user,
a language learning history for the first language; and determining, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: transmitting, to the second device, the subset of words and the respective explanations.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: adding the subset of words and the respective explanation of each word to a list of words and corresponding explanations that have previously been generated for display during playback of the media asset; and automatically scrolling the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to receiving a selection of the bookmark: retrieving the identifier of the media asset; and based on the identifier of the media asset, the start time, and the end time, replaying a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time comprises instructing the first device to perform a rewind operation to the start time.
9. The method of claim 7, wherein replaying the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time comprises: instructing the first device to pause playback of the media asset; retrieving, at the second device, the segment of the media asset; and
replaying at least audio data of the segment on the second device.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises: retrieving a sentence from the subtitles, the sentence including a word of the subset of words; and transmitting, to the second device, the sentence and the respective explanation of the word of the subset of words.
11. A system for fast, intuitive, personalized language learning from subtitles, the system comprising:
input/output circuitry; and control circuitry configured to: identify
a vocabulary level of a user in a first language; during playback, on a first device, of a media asset,
extract subtitles in the first language for at least a portion of the media asset,
the subtitles comprising a plurality of words in the first language;
predict, based on the vocabulary level, a subset of words of the plurality words that are new to the user;
generate for display, via the input/output circuitry, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words
receive an input to bookmark a word of the subset of words; based on receiving the input: identify a start time and an end time for display of a subtitle in which the word is contained; and store the start time, the end time, and an identifier of the media asset in association with the word;
store a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time; and based on receiving a selection of the bookmark, replay the stored segment.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry configured to identify a vocabulary level of the user in the first language is further configured to: retrieve, using the input/output circuitry, from a user profile associated with the user, a language learning history for the first language; and determine, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry configured to identify a vocabulary level of the user in the first language is further configured to: retrieve, using the input/output circuitry, from a user profile associated with the user, a language learning history for the first language; and determine, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry configured to generate for display, via the input/output circuitry, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words is further configured to: transmit, to the second device, the subset of words and the respective explanations.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry configured to generate for display, via the input/output circuitry, on the second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words is further configured to: add the subset of words and the respective explanation of each word to a list of words and corresponding explanations that have previously been generated for display during playback of the media asset; and automatically scroll the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device.
17. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to in response to receiving a selection of the bookmark: retrieve the identifier of the media asset; and based on the identifier of the media asset, the start time, and the end time, replay a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the control circuitry configured to replay the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time is further configured to instruct the first device to perform a rewind operation to the start time.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein the control circuitry configured to replay the segment of the media asset corresponding to the display time is further configured to:
instruct the first device to pause playback of the media asset; retrieve, at the second device, the segment of the media asset; and replay at least audio data of the segment on the second device.
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry configured to generate for display, using the input/output circuitry, on a second device associated with the user, the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words is further configured to:
retrieve a sentence from the subtitles, the sentence including a word of the subset of words; and
transmit, to the second device, using the input/output circuitry, the sentence and the respective explanation of the word of the subset of words.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application 2017/0344530 Krasadakis.
2. Regarding Claim 1, Krasadakis discloses A method comprising:
Identifying (Fig. 2; [0039], “System 200 analyzes content, identifies words”), using control circuitry (Fig. 10; [0041], “Application-specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs)”) and based on a user profile associated with a user (([0022], “user segments or profiles can be used to set up an initial language profile for a user that can be modified as additional activity is received… update the person's expected vocabulary.” [0096], “profiles can be used to set up an initial language profile for a user”), a vocabulary level of the user in a first language (Fig. 5: 342; Fig 6: 354; [0070], “The user language data store 226 can include raw language data gathered by the user activity monitor 230. The raw language data can include a user's reading data and reading patterns. The raw language data can include knowledge about an individual user, such as the languages used by the user and proficiency the user has in each language. The user language data store 226 can also include a phrasebook that lists recently looked up words. In one aspect, the phrasebook can be part of the Vocabulary Analytics Store (VAS) 227”…[0071] “The VAS 227 can comprise a subset of user-specific language data. The subset can include all of the signals described previously as input to the machine classifier or other statistical modeling technique”…[0091],… “determine the user's vocabulary and ultimately determine whether other words are known or unknown”…[0095], “The binary classification machine can be trained to analyze user data in the VAS related to vocabulary knowledge”);
during playback ([0030], “a user consumes content (videos)”) of a media asset on a first device associated with the user (Fig. 1: 102a-102n user device [e.g. 102a]; [0036] “user device maybe a video player”),
displaying ([0045], FIG. 3, a content display) subtitles in the first language for at least a portion of the media asset, the subtitles comprising a plurality of words in the first language ([0043],“video content, the annotation could take the form of overlaid text or rich text aligned with the exact moment of the appearance of the unknown word in the video… annotation can take the form of subtitles aligned with the exact moment of the appearance of the unknown word in the audio”);
determining, based on the vocabulary level ([0091], “user’s vocabulary…”) and the user profile ([0095]-[0096], “The user can be associated with profiles. These profiles can be used to determine whether a word is likely known or unknown”), a subset of words of the plurality words that are unknown to the user (Figs. 2, 4-6, 9: 930 determine that a subset of words in the text are potentially unknown to the user, see [100], “The vocabulary enrichment component 220 includes an unknown word predictor 222, an annotation engine 224, a user language data store 226, a public language data store 228, and a user activity monitor 230. These components can work together to identify words that are potentially unknown to the user and generate annotations within the content that can allow the user to better understand unknown words within the particular context”); and
generating for display (Fig. 1: 102(a-n), see [0036], “smart watch, mobile device” [ e.g., each device generates for display]), on a second device associated with the user (Fig. 1: user device 102b [e.g., second device]), the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words (Figs. 4-6, [0039], “vocabulary enrichment component 220 could be located on different computing devices.” [0050], “The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.””).
3. Regarding Claim 2, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 1, wherein identifying a vocabulary level of the user in the first language (Fig. 5: 342; Fig 6: 354; [0070], “The raw language data can include knowledge about an individual user, such as the languages used by the user and proficiency the user has in each language.” [0091],… “determine the user's vocabulary and ultimately determine whether other words are known or unknown”…) further comprises:
determining, based on the user profile ([0095], “These profiles can provide additional input to the classifier and be used to determine whether a word is likely known or unknown”), a language learning history related to the first language ([0022], “user segments or profiles can be used to set up an initial language profile for a user that can be modified as additional activity is received… update the person's expected vocabulary.” [0057], “The reading data can include text from content read by the user, a classification of content read by the user, reading analytics, and other data related to the user's reading habits.” [0070], “The user language data store 226 can include raw language data gathered by the user activity monitor 230. The raw language data can include a user's reading data and reading patterns. The raw language data can include knowledge about an individual user, such as the languages used by the user and proficiency the user has in each language” [0095], “The binary classification machine can be trained to analyze user data in the VAS related to vocabulary knowledge”); and
determining, based on the language learning history, a familiarity level of the user with the first language ([0053], “the system can learn the languages understood by an individual person, derive preferences from observing user events, and select the language of the annotation accordingly. a translation of an unknown word from a first language into a user's native language (or any language with which the user has a higher fluency level than the content language) is provided when all available synonyms in the first language are also likely unknown to the user. The user's known languages can be explicitly provided by the user or learned by observing the language of content the user consumes or composes”).
4. Regarding Claim 5, Krasadkis in view of Wan discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an input to bookmark a word of the subset of words ([0070], “The user language data store 226 can also include a phrasebook [e.g., bookmark] that lists recently looked up words.” [0092], “The requested words can be entered in a phrasebook that can be part of or separate from the VAS.” Fig. 9: block 950,“select an unknown word from the subset that has a confidence score that is higher”); and
based on receiving the input:
identifying ([0044], “components [e.g. 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, and 230] can work together to identify words that are potentially unknown to the user”) a start time and an end time for display of a subtitle in which the word is contained ([0034], “session organizes all the words consumed by the user along timestamps [e.g. start and end times] and is a key input for VAS post processing and enrichment”); and storing the start time [e.g., timestamp is storing start time], the end time [e.g., timestamp storing end time], and an identifier of the media asset in association with the word ([0039], “identifies words in the content that are likely unknown for a particular user at a point in time.” ([0044], “components [e.g., 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, and 230] can work together to identify words that are potentially unknown to the user”).
5. Claim 11 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method
6. Claim 12 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method claim 2.
7. Claim 15 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 3, 10, 13, and 20are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2017/0344530 Krasadakis in view of U.S. Patent Application 2011/0164175, Chung et al. (hereinafter Chung).
9. Regarding Claim 3, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display (Fig. 1: 102(a-n), see [0036], smart watch, mobile device), on the second device associated with the user (Fig. 1: user device 102b), the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words (Fig. 5: 342, [0050], The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.”) further comprises:
the subset of words (Fig 9; [0100], “a subset of words in the text”) and the respective explanations (Figs. 4-6, 9, [0039], “vocabulary enrichment component 220 could be located on different computing devices.” [0049]-[0050], “The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.””).
Krasadakis does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the second device
However, Chung teaches transmitting, to the second device (Figs. 1-2, [0037], Communications path 424 may allow transfer of data such as audio, video, text, etc. between wireless communications device 406 and user equipment 402 and user computer equipment 404. [0038], subtitles may be streamed from user equipment 402 (e.g., a set-top box) to wireless communications device 406 over communications path 424… subtitles may be obtained by wireless communications device 406 from a media provider (e.g., media content source 416 (FIG. 12)) via the Internet)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the combination of Krasadakis to allow transmission of subtitles and its explanations of a subset of words onto a second device as taught in Chung for the purposes of improving user’s language learning seamlessly in a connected environment.
10. Regarding Claim 10, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display (Fig. 1: 102(a-n), see [0036], smart watch, mobile device), on the second device associated with the user (Fig. 1: user device 102b), the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises (Fig. 5: 342, [0050], The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.”):
retrieving a portion of the subtitles, the portion including a word of the subset of words (Fig. 4: 330; [0042], retrieve content 210 for identification of unknown words [i.e., portion] upon receiving an indication that the user is accessing content. [0049], [0051], The system can retrieve real examples of the unknown word being used, from the content consumed across users, geographies, and context. The system can select the most relevant and/or most popular examples. The example can be a complete sentence using the particular word); and
Krasadakis does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the second device
However, Chung teaches transmitting, to the second device (Figs. 1-2, [0037], Communications path 424 may allow transfer of data such as audio, video, text, etc. between wireless communications device 406 and user equipment 402 and user computer equipment 404. [0038], subtitles may be streamed from user equipment 402 (e.g., a set-top box) to wireless communications device 406 over communications path 424… subtitles may be obtained by wireless communications device 406 from a media provider (e.g., media content source 416 (FIG. 12)) via the Internet)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Krasadakis to allow transmission of subtitles and its explanations of a subset of words onto a second device as taught in Chung for the purposes of improving user’s language learning seamlessly in a connected environment.
11. Claim 13 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method claim 3.
12. Claim 20 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2017/0344530 Krasadakis in view of U.S. Patent Application 2022/0382448, Lu et al. (hereinafter Lu).
14. Regarding Claim 4, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display (Fig. 1: 102(a-n), see [0036], smart watch, mobile device), on the second device associated with the user (Fig. 1: user device 102b), the subset of words and a respective explanation of each word of the subset of words further comprises (Fig. 5: 342, [0050], The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.”):
adding the subset of words ([0075], words that are searched by the user are added to the phrasebook. For example, words looked up in a dictionary or submitted to a translation service could be included in the phrasebook) and the respective explanation of each word to a list of words (Fig. 5: 342, [0049]-[0050], The definition 342 of circumambulate 320 is “to walk all the way around something.”. [0065], a general list of unknown words for a specific user, such as those found in a phrasebook associated with the user, could be used to generate a list of synonyms for these words) and corresponding explanations that have previously been generated for display during playback ([0087], [0099], video recording) of the media asset ([0046], The user could have seen a word previously…[0097], recently looked up words by the user are automatically added to the phrasebook); and
Krasadakis does not explicitly disclose automatically scrolling the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device.
However, Lu teaches automatically scrolling the list such that the subset of words is visible on a display of the second device (Fig 7c; [0021], interface that currently displays the first language (which may also be referred to as the source text), and automatically scrolls down a screen).
It would have been obvious to modify Krasadakis to add an automatic scrolling on a smartphone/tablet/smartwatch device as taught in Lu for the purposes of minimizing user input for going through a list of words while reading. Hence, improving on user reading experience in a digital space.
15. Claim 14 is a system claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in the method claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 5,
Krasadakis discloses further comprising:
storing a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time ([0034], This session organizes all the words consumed by the user along with timestamps is a key input for VAS post processing and enrichment); and in response to receiving a selection of the bookmark, replaying the stored segment.
Krasadakis does not explicitly disclose storing a segment of the media asset;
in response to receiving a selection of the bookmark, replaying the stored segment.
Claim 16 is a system claim, objected with respect to the same limitation objected in the method claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, Krasadakis discloses The method of claim 5, further comprising:
retrieving the identifier of the media asset ([0039], identifies words in the content that are likely unknown for a particular user at a point in time); and
Krasadakis does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving a selection of the bookmark;
based on the identifier of the media asset, the start time, and the end time, replaying a segment of the media asset beginning at the start time and ending at the end time.
Claim 17 is a system claim, objected with respect to the same limitation objected in the method claim 7.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422